Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭daithi7

Why do people do that? Do they do it deliberately or is it entirely unconscious behaviour once they've got a phone to their ear? If they do it deliberately, are they genuinely unaware that the person on the other end can understand you if you speak at a normal conversational level?

Not sure, but it's bloody annoying. I got an evening train a while back, which I normally really enjoy, as its a peaceful time for a read, a think, a chat with a fellow commuter or a snooze, or all of the above. Anyway this old boy had the loudest phone voice & ringtone I have ever heard, and he proceeded to take or make a call at volume levels Bruce Springsteen would have been proud of, every 15-20 mins, ffs, totally oblivious to all the people he was sharing the carriage with... priceless!!

I actually seriously considered showing him how to put his phone on silent, and how to text to shut him up!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Some people, usually older ones, seem to think that a mobile functions much like a bean-tin-and-string set-up where they have to roar into it to make sure the person on the other end hears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 jake66

People parking at petrol pumps when they are only popping into the shop for a coffee or a few messages.
    Meanwhile there is a line of cars waiting to actually use the pump.
    Its as if its beneath them to walk any distance, as their needs are more important than yours....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    What annoys me is that people think the speed limit is the average cruising speed.
    I think the real annoyance is drivers who dont acknowledge there are faster drivers driving below or above the speed limit and dont have the courtesy to allow the faster driver to move past when safe to do so.

We are in the same boat. Every room needs to be done at this stage and got the kitchen done at the weekend.
    I dont mind the painting, it's the f*cking preperation and the edges between the ceiling/skirting/door frame and the wall that p*ss me off.

How would one have the courtesy to let someone move past? If someone wants to OT they can - or do you mean the "slow" driver should pull in? If I'm 10km off the speed goal limit, I'm not going to be going out of my way to pull in and let others pass. They are of course more than welcome to OT when it's safe to do so.

jake66 wrote: »
    People parking at petrol pumps when they are only popping into the shop for a coffee or a few messages.
    Its as if its beneath them to walk any distance, as their needs are more important than yours....

especially when the bastards see you, but F*** right off into garage anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

jake66 wrote: »

This drives me insane:mad::pac:..also the ones who get petrol then stroll in to pay then amble back to the car looking at change in their hands or some other delaying tactic..get slowly back in the car..adjust the mirror or arrange stuff on the dash or some other ridiculous carry on just to hold up the next car as long as possible:mad: What is wrong with these people????

Also when you come up to a junction with lights and the car in front is turning right..why cant they pull forward a little and let the rest of us pass up inside them..instead they hold everyone up and turn just as the light goes red..its just common sense ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

daithi7 wrote: »
    Not sure, but it's bloody annoying. I got an evening train a while back, which I normally really enjoy, as its a peaceful time for a read, a think, a chat or a snooze, or all of the above. Anyway this old boy had the loudest phone voice & ringtone I have ever heard and he proceed ed to take or make a call at volume levels Bruce Springsteen would have been proud of every 15-20mins, totally oblivious to all the people he was sharing the carriageway with... priceless!!

I actually seriously considered showing him how to put his phone on silent and how to text to shut him up!!
    I used to get a bus at one stage, and the entire bus would be treated to this same one's sagas. She had a voice anyway that would shatter glass at 50 yards, and would spend the entire journey on the phone, yelling out the unexciting details of her day, her plans for the evening, what her little darlings did at school, who said what to her at work, you name it, we heard it, at top volume :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Finding out the hard way that you could really do with investing in a telescopic camera lens. Just back from Dublin Zoo and you can barely see any of the apes in my photos because they're so bloody far away from the barriers. :( Still, got a funny shot of a penguin so I can't complain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

LynnGrace wrote: »
    I used to get a bus at one stage, and the entire bus would be treated to this same one's sagas. She had a voice anyway that would shatter glass at 50 yards, and would spend the entire journey on the phone, yelling out the unexciting details of her day, her plans for the evening, what her little darlings did at school, who said what to her at work, you name it, we heard it, at top volume :mad:

Funny how we (in Ireland & UK) tend to (strangely) suffer this nonsense in silence in fear of causing a scene.

In Germany, for example, it would be far more common for most commuters to tell the blowhard to STFU.

Funny how we (in Ireland & UK) tend to (strangely) suffer this nonsense in silence in fear of causing a scene.

In Germany, for example, it would be far more common for most commuters to tell the blowhard to STFU.

I have come close, believe me. It's down to lack of self awareness or the smallest bit of consideration for others, IMO. Same with the gobdaws with the tinny music from their earphones and so on.
    Glad I don't have to take a bus often now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Why do my salads have to be so fattening and unfilling:( I probably make the most unhealthy salads on the planet. There'd probably be less calories in a deep fried cheese pizza, yet I'm still hungry:(

just destroyed the whole bleedin dinner.
    Everything all out on the plates on the counter, as ye do, then my daughter goes to take glasses from the press, and a few of them fell down, smashed to a million pieces , all over the counter , plates, floor.

Dinner in bin now :(

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    How would one have the courtesy to let someone move past? If someone wants to OT they can - or do you mean the "slow" driver should pull in? If I'm 10km off the speed goal limit, I'm not going to be going out of my way to pull in and let others pass. They are of course more than welcome to OT when it's safe to do so.

And that my dear Holmes is the issue in a nutshell.

You may not be aware but drivers are supposed to drive at or around the speed limit, so it's actually illegal to drive too slow!!

So if you are driving 10km/hr below a limit (say 60 or 80 km/hr), you are already not just being an anti social driver but you are breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

@ daithi7...could you put the word "Some" before the points on your earlier posts?;)
    Im guessing you drive a Beemer or Audi :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

So if you are driving 10km/hr below a limit (say 60 or 80 km/hr), you are already not just being an anti social driver but you are breaking the law.

:confused: what? 10km under the limit is not illegal. Or anti social. Stop your crazy talk.

Jake1 wrote: »
    just destroyed the whole bleedin dinner.
    Everything all out on the plates on the counter, as ye do, then my daughter goes to take glasses from the press, and a few of them fell down, smashed to a million pieces , all over the counter , plates, floor.

Dinner in bin now :(

Aww, what a rotten thing to happen. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

People. People everywhere. I don't want to deal with that. I just got home and it's so nice and quiet but I have to got to do some shopping. I wish I could I make myself invisible because I really don't want to deal with any more people today :(

Gongoozler wrote: »
    :confused: what? 10km under the limit is not illegal. Or anti social. Stop your crazy talk.

in a 30,50, 60 or 80 km/hr zone, 10km/hr is more than 10% below the limit, that is both anti social and (I presume) illegal, as it is not at or around the speed limit, is it??

Oh so you were presuming it's illegal. I see. Nah, I don't think it works like that.

Colser wrote: »
    @ daithi7...
    1. could you put the word "Some" before the points on your earlier posts?;)

2. Im guessing you drive a Beemer or Audi :pac:

Colser, fair cop on 1, some well actually most Volvo , most white car and most SUV drivers are pet annoyances for reasons given heretofore.

on 2. afraid you are wrong on both counts. ;)

but I get where you're coming from I suppose.....

Oh so you were presuming it's illegal. I see. Nah, I don't think it works like that.

And you just don't think it works like that....

perhaps you might explain how it actually does work!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

czechlin wrote: »
    People. People everywhere. I don't want to deal with that. I just got home and it's so nice and quiet but I have to got to do some shopping. I wish I could I make myself invisible because I really don't want to deal with any more people today :(

Ain't that the truth, chief.

Hell is other people.

(Apart from us of course 'cause we're all fecking great)

Here is the guidance on slow driving from (some of ;) ) the authorities responsible for road safety:

“The Rules of the Road states that you must keep up with the pace of traffic flow, while obeying the speed limit. It also says that while you must keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front, you should not drive so slowly that your vehicle unnecessarily blocks other road users. If you drive too slowly, you risk frustrating other drivers, which could lead to dangerous overtaking,” a spokesperson said.

full article here:
    http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=15868:slow-down-speed-up-or-pull-over&catid=103:between-the-lines&Itemid=100187

And you just don't think it works like that....

perhaps you might explain how it actually does work!?

I don't know how it works, but common sense would suggest it wouldn't be illegal to do 40 in a zone with a 50 limit.

Here is the guidance on slow driving from (some of ;) ) the authorities responsible for road safety:

“The Rules of the Road states that you must keep up with the pace of traffic flow, while obeying the speed limit. It also says that while you must keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front, you should not drive so slowly that your vehicle unnecessarily blocks other road users. If you drive too slowly, you risk frustrating other drivers, which could lead to dangerous overtaking,” a spokesperson said.

full article here:
    http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=15868:slow-down-speed-up-or-pull-over&catid=103:between-the-lines&Itemid=100187

I already know this, as should all drivers. You haven't added anything to your side of the argument. It says nothing about 10km below the limit being illegal.

And I think you may need to graduate from the 'isn't ignorance just bliss' school of mindless group think before attempting to advise others on " re-education camps"!

p.s. whatever re-education camps are

I already know this, as should all drivers. You haven't added anything to your side of the argument. It says nothing about 10km below the limit being illegal.

oh heaven spare us from tedium.....

it does however say a lot about not driving so slowly that you hold up other drivers, and obviously that is the substantive point I am making.

The original poster stated that they would not pull in if driving 10km/hr below the limit while holding other drivers up.

I simply pointed out to them that type of driving is both anti social and in fact illegal!! (subject to a whole bunch of provisos obviously, which I'm not getting into here cos life is just too bloody short!)

In response to that the politically correct calvary came on screaming and shouting hysterically..... which is their favoured state of being mostly (which is itelf another pet peeve of mine, actually ;) )