Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

RedRunner wrote: »
    Unofficial time...20:28.....thrilled with that. Report ltr

Great stuff RR. You are already getting close to the sub 20. Why not give it a bash in Kilcock at the end of the month?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057223729

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Unofficial time...20:28.....thrilled with that. Report ltr

Well done - figured it must have been a good one; you looked happy on the way out. Anything under 23 mins tears the lungs out of me so I can only dream of that sort of time at the minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Great time RR - really solid progression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done.
    Nice PB :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!
    Well done:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Brilliant :D
    tang1 wrote: »
    21 minutes well & truly blitzed, great stuff RR.
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Great stuff RR. You are already getting close to the sub 20. Why not give it a bash in Kilcock at the end of the month?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057223729
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Well done - figured it must have been a good one; you looked happy on the way out. Anything under 23 mins tears the lungs out of me so I can only dream of that sort of time at the minute!
    Great time RR - really solid progression.
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    Well done.
    Nice PB :)
    Ososlo wrote: »
    FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!
    Well done:D

Thanks everyone. I was in a world of pain coming down that last straight but it was all worth it!

As regards the Kilcock 5K Meno, if it wasn't for the fact that Ive signed up already for 5miler the next day I'd have considered it alright. I don't think I'm anywhere near sub 20 shape yet though tbh . Doing BHAA 5k in Irishtown on July 16th so maybe that might be a good place to have a pop at sub 20 with a few more speed sessions under my belt. Sounds like a great race though from your description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Well done! Great stuff.

Reckon sub 20 will be the next time you do a 5k.

Friday 6th June

Rested. legs still a bit stiff and sore so a bit of stretching and hot bath seemed to sort that out.

Saturday 7th June- St Anne's Park Run

Up nice and early and had some porridge as I wanted a good 90 mins to 2hrs gap between eating and running. Got there nice and early and did an easy 2 mile to warm up and threw in a few strides. It was very humid so I was physically dripping sweat before I started and had left the water back in the car. I was hoping I wouldn't regret not bringing it with me but I had been well hydrated from night before so thought I should be fine.

Lined up a few rows from front and when the run started the plan was to just try find a comfortable hard pace that I could deal with for the first lap. I thought if I could keep around 6:50 pace that would be ideal. A glance at watch early on put me 6:40-6:45 pace and it felt manageable so decided to try keep it sub 6:45 and see how I got on. Half way split was about 10:26 if I remember correctly as they were calling it out so I knew I was ahead of my PB at that stage as it as 10:38 when I ran 21:12 last time out.

First mile done in 6:44. New territory for me but wasn't feeling too bad and was aware that the hard work would really star in lap 2. Going into lap 2 the goal was just to try and maintain the effort and pace as long as possible. At this stage I was beginning to pass people although was passed by a couple myself too but it felt good to start picking off people as I progressed through lap 2. Mile 2 done in 6:52. Not sure what was cause of drop in pace , tiredness or maybe subconsciously trying to conserve some energy for last section of run. At this stage I had pretty much abandoned the watch and was just trying to keep a good consistent pace and was picking runners ahead of me to either hang onto or try to catch up with. This strategy seemed to work for me. As we turned onto the avenue for last time knowing that there was another 900m to go and beginning to really feel the pain, it was just a mental battle from there on. My body wanted to stop but the mind kept it going and tbh the thoughts of being able to report a good time on here is a great incentive too(So thank you Boards!).

It was the hardest finish I've had in a long time. I really dug in and didn't give up right till the end. I was thinking back to the 10k in Paris where I didn't respond to a team mate passing me and had been disappointed with myself then so was going to give this everything.

Crossed the line in 20:28:58 on my watch but official time was 20:30 for 28th place and 3rd in my age category. Last mile and bit in 6:39 (4:53)

Really pleased with that. To top the day off, my eldest son got presented with trophy today for Most improved player this season.

1 mile cooldown brought total to 6.06miles for day.

WTD|28.07
    MTD|43.40
    YTD|861.34

Strong finish indeed judging by the sub-5 pace for the last bit! Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

That's a great performance Red, fair play to you!

*Edit, And well done RR Junior on his award! :)

Sunday 8th June - LSR

13.02miles @9:03

Easy run , Blustery along the coast made it difficult in parts. Bit of a niggle in my right glute/hamstring. Some foam rolling and stretching again later with recovery run planned for tomorrow.

Good end to a good week.

WTD|41.10
    MTD|56.43
    YTD|874.37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

"It was the hardest finish I've had in a long time. I really dug in and didn't give up right till the end. I was thinking back to the 10k in Paris where I didn't respond to a team mate passing me and had been disappointed with myself then so was going to give this everything."

Great running RR - that avenue really can seem like a never-ending straight at the end of a tough run. Fair play to you for digging deep like that, well done.

Monday 9th January

A comfortable 5.55mi@8.48

Had just been thinking how well everything has been going for me and how I am really enjoying my running at the moment, then it all went wrong.

Was doing my stretching routine after the run , had something to eat then went back to do a bit of foam rolling for the glutes and hamstring. Decided to roll my back from the lower back right up to the shoulders. Physio had recommended this before and I had seen the technique on some Youtube videos too. I had done it before with no issues. You can see where this is going now... well I started rolling and when I came to the lower back the pressure just felt a bit wrong, no pain just didn't feel right so I stopped it and it was grand and went off to have the shower. As I stepped out of the shower, something must have gave way because I felt a pain in my lower back and now I'm having trouble just doing standard stuff. This is the disc problem again that I had before. The rolling must have done something to upset the disc and now it must be bulging slightly so it's solpadeine city right now and living in hope that it will feel better in the morning. If not, its no running for me until I am happy that it is back to normal, which could be anything from 1-3 weeks:(...Really annoyed with myself now. Why the fc&k did I decide to use the roller on my back ???? Stupid, Stupid Stupid!

I was planning a step back week next week to avoid any chance of overtraining. Looks like it'll be happening a week early now!:rolleyes:

WTD|5.55
    MTD|61.98
    YTD|879.92

Really hope it's nothing and you wake up feeling wonderful RR:) Think positive thoughts!

Thanks Ososlo. With a bit of luck it'll be fine in a day or two. I've had a few good weeks training so at this stage I could live with even taking a week off if I have to. As long as I'm ok for June 30 when marathon training starts I'll be happy.

Fingers crossed for you, R. I know all too well what you are feeling. Hope it turns out to be just a twinge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Maybe it is just a dream. You have jumped 6 months into the future after all! ;)

Hope it's sorted in the morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Hope you are waking much improved !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Look after the back RR, hopefully the rest will sort it out for you.

Back not good this morning. Had to get out of bed in stages. Probably rest of week off for me now.:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Bad news. Hopefully it'll settle soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Ah balls. Injuries all over the place at the moment. Hope it's nothing too serious and just a muscle pull or something.

Edit - Sorry I didn't see the most recent comments before posting Red. Get it looked at asap. Running is great and all but you don't want to faff about where your back is concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Back not good this morning. Had to get out of bed in stages. Probably rest of week off for me now.:-(

Sorry to hear that! I know how you feel -- I'm crippled with my back too -- too much time at my desk without a break, I think. Last night was the first night in ten that it didn't wake me up several times and this morning was the first morning I didn't have to roll out of bed instead of sitting up, so maybe it's starting to get better. Fingers crossed yours is better really soon. I feel your pain!)

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that! I know how you feel -- I'm crippled with my back too -- too much time at my desk without a break, I think. Last night was the first night in ten that it didn't wake me up several times and this morning was the first morning I didn't have to roll out of bed instead of sitting up, so maybe it's starting to get better. Fingers crossed yours is better really soon. I feel your pain!)

Thanks Helen , Hopefully we can both shake it off soon. And just as I was starting to catch up with your times:);)

Take it easy. I'm on the nurofen express now. As soon as the pain goes I'll get a bit more religious again on the back strengthening exercise that I should have been doing all the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Thanks Helen , Hopefully we can both shake it off soon. And just as I was starting to catch up with your times:);)

Take it easy. I'm on the nurofen express now. As soon as the pain goes I'll get a bit more religious again on the back strengthening exercise that I should have been doing all the time!

Catch up? You've been smashing my times!!

You ran 21.12 at St Anne's a few weeks ago, so you spurred me on and I sprang into action and ran 20.55 there the next week ... but THEN you ran 20.30, so I don't think I'll be catching you ever!! I was plodding around to a 21.01 in Malahide while you were scorching up the paths in St Anne's :-)

Hopefully we'll both be better soon! I'm actually allowed to run - I feel fine when running & walking etc, it's lying down and sitting that hurt!

I'm going to race next Tuesday, and then come back to Santry the following Wednesday when the kids' group finishes for the summer. Hopefully see you there!

Hey R, how are things? Any improvement?

Was doing my stretching routine after the run , had something to eat then went back to do a bit of foam rolling for the glutes and hamstring. Decided to roll my back from the lower back right up to the shoulders. Physio had recommended this before and I had seen the technique on some Youtube videos too. I had done it before with no issues. You can see where this is going now... well I started rolling and when I came to the lower back the pressure just felt a bit wrong, no pain just didn't feel right so I stopped it and it was grand and went off to have the shower. As I stepped out of the shower, something must have gave way because I felt a pain in my lower back

Proof if ever it was needed that stretching/foam rolling is bad for yo.

Hope you get well soon RR.

You don't do any at all? Do you never get injured or niggles?

I sometimes do those generic stretches to look the part before/after races :P. No, I never ever ever get injured :o

Cheers meno. I'm heading out now for a few miles. First run since Monday. Nursing a hangover so it's guaranteed to be nice and slow. Report back later.