Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Jaysus, all this jail bait it short shorts makes very bad influence on my driving. All you can think off "please be 18!" :D
    One of the most dangerous times of the year for drivers. Be careful on the roads lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Jaysus, all this jail bait it short shorts makes very bad influence on my driving. All you can think off "please be 18!" :D
    One of the most dangerous times of the year for drivers. Be careful on the roads lads!

Feckin foreigners coming over here taking all our wimmenz !

Not on baiiii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I was out by the forty foot yesterday, the same thought crossed my mind a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Entered a competition to win a car... I didn't win... I'm sad now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Ya, does that make a difference?

It's an import, maybe that explains it?

http://www.donedeal.ie/coaches-for-sale/minibus-for-sale/7041670

I nearly went over to the Uk in 2008 to buy a 1992 registered Nissan Bluebird - the T72 model we got over here that was discontinued in 1990.

There was a 1998 registered Scania 143 too - it was featured in one of the trucking mags I seem to recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I've had the misfortune of driving by wes a few times when it was on. All I could think off was I never want a daughter and if I do, I'd sooner let her go to coppers at 14 than wes...coppers is tame in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

My one six octy complained on startup today,usually a pet to start, I check for faults and got
    00516 - Closed Throttle (Idle) Position Switch (F60) - Sporadic
    Any who found the accordian hose split at the engine breather, replaced it €40 for a hose. I cleaned the TB and cleared the code. Fingers crossed.
    20140613_133518_zpsog1cabmd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Sobanek wrote: »
    It is indeed.

You speak very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

My steering wheel wasnt worn when it went into the garage.

Was nice, shiny and freshish leather. And now its worn to bits.... quite annoying.

possible to freshen it up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Could be oil from dirty hands or gloves. Try a damp cloth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Could be oil from dirty hands or gloves. Try a damp cloth.

I will give that a go first thing tomorrow morning !

Cheers !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I will give that a go first thing tomorrow morning !

Cheers !

Did they sort the problem anyway what was wrong with the car ?

Bpmull wrote: »
    Did they sort the problem anyway what was wrong with the car ?

I dont know yet. First step was rreplce fuel filter, hold it for a while and see how it goes but the glow plugs / relay showed up on the diagnostics so gonna get them checked/changed sooner rather than later as it could be the issue also.

The issue is very intermittent on cold early morning starts !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Tbh, glow plugs do **** all in Ireland anyway. It's rarely ever cold enough to actually need them. I'd be willing to bet half the diesel cars in the country have faulty glow plugs if you did diagnostics on them.

If it's the cause of the warning in the dash then I want to get them sorted anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Try start an XUD with faulty glow plugs and you'll know about it ;)

Phwoarrrrr XUD :cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Jaysus i thought that yoke was gona blow :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

So I did a history report on a car, this is the owner list:

16 December 2013 PRIVATE 6
    08 November 2013 PRIVATE 5
    15 October 2013 PRIVATE 4
    10 July 2013 PRIVATE 3
    26 June 2013 PRIVATE 2
    10 May 2013 PRIVATE 1
    04 April 2007 PRIVATE 0

Theres something fishy there anyways!

Its a 207 with the new cooper S engine, I smell a rattley chain possibly. Its owned by a well known dtdirl and frenchcarsireland member and all

And so i let disco stu offer this advice

stu-2.gif

Dont worry I am far, far away now! Timing chain a common issue on those engines

Going to look at these Monday if still for sale
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s60-185bhp-manual-6speed-/7101162
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-accord-2-2i-ctdi/7070382

Happy days! Haven't settled on anything then I'm guessing?

That honda's been up a while judging by the background...maybe more of a reason haggle?

Yeah it has Ive been keeping track of it. It started at 4,500. Theyre really not shifting unless theyre kitted ones.
    I was delighted with the mywheels.ie history checks until I realised they dont give mileage checks

Get yourself the volvo if it checks out, I drove koppabergs s80 and it was a wonderful place to be, moved like no ones business and stupidly comfy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Buy a T5 S60 or E39 and stop fluting around with oddball hatchbacks :p

Entered a competition to win a car... I didn't win... I'm sad now :(

Meant to add to this before. Competition was held by my "local" audi dealer - especially for fathers day. There were only just over 1000 entries, so I thought the odds were good for me :pac: The prize - 141 audi A6 S line auto worth €51k!! :eek: If I had won it I would probably just sell it and buy and older/cheaper car and save the monies!!

Meh :pac:

It's no yaris :P Each year the credit union near me have a raffle for the latest yaris, to them it's the only car in existance, the backbone of the irish motoring community

Was just reading about this on a forum, pretty damn scary!, so just a heads up :)

http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62108