Scaremongering about cannabis on Crimecall right now

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

wowjustwow wrote: »
    I'm an alcoholic. Not the drink every day kind, but the kind who turns into an out of control, I don't know what I'm doing/saying arsehole after hitting the drink. I quit drinking around a year ago and started smoking weed instead. I have been smoking weed on/off since I was 16 so it was nothing new for me.

I'm not going to list the benefits/detriments of cannabis because the anti legalisation/decriminalisation crew just wont listen and those who are pro legalisation already know. But I can say that my life has gotten so much better since I started smoking weed full time its incredible. I smoke a small amount regularly all day every day and cannot stress enough how much better I feel.

I sleep well, eat well and far from feeling less motivated, I find that I am more motivated and focused on the task at hand. My high blood pressure has been significantly reduced and the depression I felt for years while drinking is all but a distant memory.

I'm sure once the world wakes up (as is starting to happen) and realises that prohibition of cannabis must end, we will all be far better off. Alcohol, tobacco and pharmaceutical corporate interests be damned! This country has been so negatively impacted by alcohol it's laughable.

Ask any Garda on the street and they will tell you they would much rather deal with someone who has had a few spliffs than someone who is after drink. Says it all in my opinion.

Fair play to you for getting off the alcohol, so many people never do.

Whats to say you cant be just as happy without smoking weed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

It's such a boring drug. That should be the crime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

I'm an alcoholic. Not the drink every day kind, but the kind who turns into an out of control, I don't know what I'm doing/saying arsehole after hitting the drink. I quit drinking around a year ago and started smoking weed instead. I have been smoking weed on/off since I was 16 so it was nothing new for me.

I'm not going to list the benefits/detriments of cannabis because the anti legalisation/decriminalisation crew just wont listen and those who are pro legalisation already know. But I can say that my life has gotten so much better since I started smoking weed full time its incredible. I smoke a small amount regularly all day every day and cannot stress enough how much better I feel.

I sleep well, eat well and far from feeling less motivated, I find that I am more motivated and focused on the task at hand. My high blood pressure has been significantly reduced and the depression I felt for years while drinking is all but a distant memory.

I'm sure once the world wakes up (as is starting to happen) and realises that prohibition of cannabis must end, we will all be far better off. Alcohol, tobacco and pharmaceutical corporate interests be damned! This country has been so negatively impacted by alcohol it's laughable.

Ask any Garda on the street and they will tell you they would much rather deal with someone who has had a few spliffs than someone who is after drink. Says it all in my opinion.

You substituted one drug for another thats such a shame,I hope you can one day give up the habit that is cannabis also. after coming off these drugs it will take you a month to get your head right but after that you will enjoy the simple things more than any high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Pocoyo wrote: »
    You substituted one drug for another thats such a shame,
    If he went to a doctor would the doctor not do the same? I've never left a doctors office without a subscription for something.

ScumLord wrote: »
    If he went to a doctor would the doctor not do the same? I've never left a doctors office without a subscription for something.

Maybe some short term meds,But what has that got to do with anything does that make it ok for an addict to switch addictions in your eyes? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Huh?

Whats giving up alcohol and then using cannabis as your crutch got to do with going to the doctor?

Alcohol is bad, as is cannabis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

yeah but those are prescription drugs, they're okay because the government and big pharma say so (and the government have had their cut of the pie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 wowjustwow

Cheers bud.

I know I can be just as happy without smoking for sure. I havent had a smoke in over a week and I am not climbing the walls. But I choose to smoke because I enjoy not just the effect it has on my life, but the whole movement. I have become interested in politics as a direct result of the misinformation being presented to the population by a minority with vested interests.

Look at Ming Flanagan sure. At once ridiculed and dismissed by pretty much the entire Dail and a good percentage of the Irish people, now on his way to Europe to represent the people.

Lets be honest here. If you dont drink and are a long time resident in this country, you are pretty much fecked if you want to choose an alternative recreational pastime. I dont see why its fair that I should be seen as a criminal for quietly smoking a few spliffs at home when yer average drunk law abiding citizen will probably engage in multiple acts of antisocial behaviour on their way home from the pub and not even remember it the next morning.

I'm no peddlar, and I am not trying to convince anyone of anything other than to tell my story and ask certain people can they really in good conscience defend their position in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary?

Live and let live. Everyone has the potential to do good and that should be encouraged. Villifying others based on their personal habits is wrong. Choice is freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

Sky TV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

I've never left a doctors office without a subscription for something.
    Naughty nurses illustrated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Maybe some short term meds,But what has that got to do with anything does that make it ok for an addict to switch addictions in your eyes? :rolleyes:
    Cold turkey is one option, replacing one drug addiction with one that's easier to manage is another. Using cannabis to get over the hump of alcohol abuse can be an option. It's much easier to stop smoking cannabis than it is to stop drinking.

If he went to a doctor the doctor would probably put him on meds to help him get over the withdrawals, so I don't see any difference.

You substituted one drug for another thats such a shame,I hope you can one day give up the habit that is cannabis also. after coming off these drugs it will take you a month to get your head right but after that you will enjoy the simple things more than any high.

No offense, but you can't make that assumption. Alcohol was not a crutch as you put it. I drank perhaps once a week at weekends. It had a greater effect on my social standing than anything else. You'd be surprised at the amount of people who despise you based on how you act when you are drunk, and simply dont understand that the lights are on but noones home.

And about getting my head right, well in my opinion my head has been wrong for many many years of listening to such propaganda. It took me adapting my lifestyle to include cannabis to realise that. Its not for everyone for sure, but the benefits far outweigh the negative impacts, and thats a no brainer for me.

No offense, but you can't make that assumption. Alcohol was not a crutch as you put it. I drank perhaps once a week at weekends. It had a greater effect on my social standing than anything else. You'd be surprised at the amount of people who despise you based on how you act when you are drunk, and simply dont understand that the lights are on but noones home.

And about getting my head right, well in my opinion my head has been wrong for many many years of listening to such propaganda. It took me adapting my lifestyle to include cannabis to realise that. Its not for everyone for sure, but the benefits far outweigh the negative impacts, and thats a no brainer for me.

You sure your not smoking some weed now,I believe it was another poster that said weed(not alcohol) was your crutch not i.

Apologies Pocoyo.

I should have included the response to the other posters comment first. The second part of my response was directed to your comment. I should have checked that before replying.

Cheers.