Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

silly lyrics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

silly lyrics are ubiquitous even in the greatest of songs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

REM lyrics were originally deliberately onomatopoeic, and the Killers line is based on a literary quote- hunter s. thompson, a pretty solid reference.:cool: Rammstein makes sense in german, in a hammer-rock-talking-shyte-but-cool sort of way. Ich will.

But it's still utter bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

"Now you get to watch her leave out the window
    Guess that's why they call it window pane"
    - Eminem.

Good Lord...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Some of the time ain't lyrics just written to a melody so really you could say anything and as long as it went with the melody you'd be grand.

I was never really a lyrics buff tbh, though I do love a good timely grunt or a "yeah" thrown in to keep things fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Some of the time ain't lyrics just written to a melody so really you could say anything and as long as it went with the melody you'd be grand.

I was never really a lyrics buff tbh, though I do love a good timely grunt or a "yeah" thrown in to keep things fresh.

LOL.

I think you/re in the wrong thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Meangadh wrote: »
    "Now you get to watch her leave out the window
    Guess that's why they call it window pane"
    - Eminem.

Good Lord...

I thought that was really clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

We'll invite the family round
    And drink some English tea
    And I stick up my finger
    And watch football on tv

Brian Mc Fadden - Real to me

Who is he giving the finger to? Actually that whole song should be in this thread for it's appalling lyrics.

I blush when I hear that song. An appalling song, by an Appalling Eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Lot of cool lyrics getting a bad rep here. Thread title is being misled.

Lyrics can be cool and silly at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

fryup wrote: »

are you getting mixed up in your am's & pm's ?

4 am is the morning

I know. It's a tautology. You don't need to say both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Suas11 wrote: »
    Lyrics can be cool and silly at the same time.

I believe "If there's a bustle in your hedgerow" is the very epitome of that statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

IMO One of the most nonsensical lines in any song.
    So we put our hands up like the ceiling can’t hold us..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Oh na na what's my name

Rihanna, rihanna is your ****en name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 fitzy211

David Guettas poor attempt to be both admiring and respectful 'I’m trying to find the words to describe this girl without being disrespectful, damn you’re a sexy b****!' Eh well done there :)

Also 'Don't go breaking my heart. I couldn't if I tried' is this a comment on the resilience and durability of someones heart??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

maguic24 wrote: »
    I thought that was really clever.

I cringe every time I hear it. It's like a really bad Dad joke.

Meangadh wrote: »
    I cringe every time I hear it. It's like a really bad Dad joke.

Oooooohhhhhh...I see.

I think Dad jokes are hilarious. They're so awful, they're hilarious!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

KKkitty wrote: »
    I'm blue da ba di da ba di.

Is it not "I'm blue, I've odeed iv a died,iv odeed iv a died, iv odeed iv a died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭impr0v

Me not working hard?
    Yeah, right! Picture that with a Kodak
    Or, better yet, go to Times Square
    Take a picture of me with a Kodak

- Pitbull, Give me everything tonight.

Why, pitbull, why go to Times Square? Also, you're supposed to be a fúcking rapper! You rhymed Kodak with.......wait for it.....Kodak!!!
    What the actual fúck? :mad:

The video explains this. Basically he is shilling as hard as he can for Kodak (which went bust soon afterwards). The reference to Times Square is because there was a big Kodak billboard there at the time, showing him holding a Kodak camera. So you could take a picture with a Kodak, of him with a Kodak.

In short, he is a wordsmith of the highest calibre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The reflex is an only child he's waiting in the park
    The reflex is in charge of finding treasure in the dark
    And watching over lucky clover isn't that bizarre
    Every little thing the reflex does
    Leaves you answered with a question mark

Huh :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

7am, waking up in the morning
    Gotta be fresh, gotta go downstairs
    Gotta have my bowl, gotta have cereal
    Seein’ everything, the time is goin’
    Tickin’ on and on, everybody’s rushin’
    Gotta get down to the bus stop
    Gotta catch my bus, I see my friends (My friends)

Kickin’ in the front seat
    Sittin’ in the back seat
    Gotta make my mind up
    Which seat can I take?

It’s Friday, Friday
    Gotta get down on Friday
    Everybody’s lookin’ forward to the weekend, weekend
    Friday, Friday
    Gettin’ down on Friday
    Everybody’s lookin’ forward to the weekend

Partyin’, partyin’ (Yeah)
    Fun, fun, fun, fun
    Lookin’ forward to the weekend

7:45, we’re drivin’ on the highway
    Cruisin’ so fast, I want time to fly
    Fun, fun, think about fun
    You know what it is
    I got this, you got this
    My friend is by my right
    I got this, you got this
    Now you know it

Kickin’ in the front seat
    Sittin’ in the back seat
    Gotta make my mind up
    Which seat can I take?

It’s Friday, Friday
    Gotta get down on Friday
    Friday, Friday
    Gettin’ down on Friday

Fun, fun, fun, fun

Yesterday was Thursday, Thursday
    Today i-is Friday, Friday (Partyin’)
    We-we-we so excited
    We so excited
    We gonna have a ball today

Tomorrow is Saturday
    And Sunday comes after...wards
    I don’t want this weekend to end

R-B, Rebecca Black
    So chillin’ in the front seat (In the front seat)
    In the back seat (In the back seat)
    I’m drivin’, cruisin’ (Yeah, yeah)
    Fast lanes, switchin’ lanes
    Wit’ a car up on my side (Woo!)
    (C’mon) Passin’ by is a school bus in front of me
    Makes tick tock, tick tock, wanna scream
    Check my time, it’s Friday, it’s a weekend
    We gonna have fun, c’mon, c’mon, y’all

It’s Friday, Friday
    Gotta get down on Friday
    Friday, Friday
    Gettin’ down on Friday

Fun, fun, fun, fun

It’s Friday, Friday
    Gotta get down on Friday
    Friday, Friday
    Gettin’ down on Friday

Fun, fun, fun, fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Mix your milk with my coco pops, milky milky coco, mix your milk with my coco pops, milky milky riiiight.
    My humps, my lovely lady lumps.
    I gotta feeling that tonight's gonna be a good night
    That tonight's gonna be a good night
    That tonight's gonna be a good good night [x4]

Tonight's the night
    Let's live it up
    I got my money
    Let's spend it up

Go out and smash it
    Like Oh My God
    Jump off that sofa
    Let's get get OFF

I know that we'll have a ball
    If we get down
    And go out
    And just loose it all

I feel stressed out
    I wanna let it go
    Lets go way out spaced out
    And loosing all control

Fill up my cup
    Mozoltov
    Look at her dancing
    Just take it off

Let's paint the town
    We'll shut it down
    Let's burn the roof
    And then we'll do it again

Let's do it, let's do it,
    Let's do it,
    Let's do it, and do it, and do it,
    Let's live it up
    And do it, and do it, and do it, do it, do it,
    Let's do it,
    Let's do it
    Cause
    I gotta feeling (ooooo hoooo) that tonight's gonna be a good night
    That tonight's gonna be a good good night [x2]

Tonight's the night (Hey!)
    Let's live it up (Let's live it up)
    I got my money (I'm paid)
    Let's spend it up (Let's spend it up)

Go out and smash it (Smash it)
    Like Oh My God (Like Oh My God)
    Jump off that sofa (C'mon)
    Let's get get OFF

Fill up my cup (Drank)
    Mozoltov (La' Chaim)
    Look at her dancing (Move it Move it)
    Just take it off

Let's paint the town (paint the town)
    We'll shut it down (Shut it down)
    Let's burn the roof
    And then we'll do it again

Let's do it, let's do it,
    Let's do it,
    Let's do it, and do it, and do it,
    Let's live it up
    And do it, and do it, and do it, do it, do it,
    Let's do it,
    Let's do it, do it, do it, do it

Here we come
    Here we go
    We gotta rock (rock,rock,rock,rock)

Easy come
    Easy go
    Now we on top (top,top,top,top)

Feel the shot
    Body rock
    Rock it don't stop (stop,stop,stop,stop)

Round and round
    Up and down
    Around the clock (clock,clock,clock,clock)

Monday, Tuesday,
    Wednesday, and Thursday
    Friday, Saturday
    Saturday to Sunday

Get get get get get with us
    You know what we say
    Party every day
    Pa pa pa Party every day

And I'm feelin (ooooo hoooo)
    That tonight's gonna be a good good night

I gotta feeling (oooooo hoooo) that tonight's gonna be a good night
    That tonight's gonna be a good good night

Ooooooo hooooo

Anything by the BEP, really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Hit me with your rhythm stick
    Hit me, hit me
    Das ist gut! C'est fantastique
    Hit me, hit me, hit me
    Hit me with your rhythm stick
    It's nice to be a lunatic
    Hit me, hit me, hit me

Ian Dury and The Blockheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

Don't use the rules
    They're not for you, they're for the fools
    And you're a fool if you don't know that
    So use the rule you stupid fool

-The Clash

....Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Fiolina

"My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard, and they're like, it's better than yours"

What does this even mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭dmc17

fryup wrote: »
    Silly lyrics in songs, let me get the ball rolling.....

Paul Simon diamonds on the sole of her shoes

"she's a rich girl she don't try to hide it diamonds on the soles of her shoes"

well yes she is hiding it.. if they are on the soles of her shoes i mean duh! who's going to see them there????

Thin Lizzy jailbreak

"tonights there's going to be a jailbreak somewhere in this town"

i mean duh!! somewhere in this town?? how about the jail

(i) You'll see the soles from behind when she's walking. It's really showing your wealth when you can afford to put diamonds on the soles of your shoes.

(ii) There are multiple jails in the town. Where is the jailbreak gonna be?

Fiolina wrote: »
    "My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard, and they're like, it's better than yours"

Spoken like someone who has never had the boys come to her yard :)

It means her milkshake brings all the boys to the yard? What's so hard to understand about that?

Damn, now I want a mint milkshake. :( Where is the yard?

It means her milkshake brings all the boys to the yard? What's so hard to understand about that?

Damn, now I want a mint milkshake. :( Where is the yard?

You shake it, and I'll be over with some mint leaves, mojitos, Cadbury mint choc & breath mints asap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Aimed at boys of a horny age, I would have thought it axiomatic :) Milk shake ...... cocktail shake ........ ever see them being shook? There you have it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Psychic spies from China
    Try to steal your mind's elation
    Little girls from Sweden
    Dream of silver screen quotations
    And if you want these kind of dreams
    It's Californication

Surprised RHCP haven't come up yet. Good band tbf, but very questionable lyrics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Psychic spies from China
    Try to steal your mind's elation
    Little girls from Sweden
    Dream of silver screen quotations
    And if you want these kind of dreams
    It's Californication

Surprised RHCP haven't come up yet. Good band tbf, but very questionable lyrics!

Always thought it was silver screen flirtations, would make more sense I think!