How much have you changed in the last 5 years?

• 08-06-2014 11:55AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭

I was reading back through my very first posts on boards today. Why, I don't know, just decided to have a creep on myself for a change...

Anyway, as I was reading them I was having a serious cringe! I joined boards 2 years ago, only 2 years ago and from what I read, I have changed soo much as a person in them 2 years. Then I had a think about how much I have changed in the last 5 years.

I'm a lot more open minded and not as uptight and prudish as I was 5 years ago. I also don't panic as much as I used to, sure it'll be grand.

So, has your outlook and attitude changed drastically in the last 5 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I grew my first pubic hair in the last five years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

5 years ago, I was in a bad relationship, was morbidly obese, had severe mental health issues that prevented me from working, didn't get on wwith my family, and was self harming.

Now, I'm mentally healthy and happy, in a great relationship, have a great relationship with my family, am not obese, have a job, and haven't self harmed in near enough to 5 years. I'm also a lot more confident and assertive and have a good level of self respect and love for myself. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Congratulations, what an acheivement. :) Keep it up, you might have another 5 in the next 5 years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

5 more years & you'll ger your second!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Went from Magnolia to Fuchsia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

No. I'm still a bollocks

5 years ago, I was in a bad relationship, was morbidly obese, had severe mental health issues that prevented me from working, didn't get on wwith my family, and was self harming.

Now, I'm mentally healthy and happy, in a great relationship, have a great relationship with my family, am not obese, have a job, and haven't self harmed in near enough to 5 years. I'm also a lot more confident and assertive and have a good level of self respect and love for myself. :)

That's really good to hear Green_screen. :)<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

I had a mustache.

I also used to really like a certain type of cheese but now I'm fairly ambivalent about it.

I used to owe €220k off my mortgage but after 5 years of diligent repayments, no holidays, no days out, DIY haircuts for meself, herself and the kids, thats gone down now to €225k.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I used to owe €220k off my mortgage but after 5 years of diligent repayments, no holidays, no days out, DIY haircuts for meself, herself and the kids, thats gone down now to €225k.

Ah yes, Ireland is a special place where you sacrifice your bollox and still end up owing more.

I had a million in the bank, and was on the verge of a working breakdown.Now im still financially comfortable but happier than ever on a salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I'm 5 years older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

There was a Ted Talk there recently about how we never stop changing, although we do most of our changing in our teens to mid twenties, which I find really reassuring.

http://www.ted.com/talks/dan_gilbert_you_are_always_changing

I also lost a load of weight, sadly my boobs shrank too. :( I prefer my figure now and the fact that I can actually run!!

I realised that I am not going to move to Manchester and marry the guy I was madly in love with in secondary school. :( Oh to be young and naive.

I also discovered you don't get pregnant just by looking at a penis. I was terrified of them, no joke!

There was a Ted Talk there recently about how we never stop changing, although we do most of our changing in our teens to mid twenties, which I find really reassuring.

I'm 22, so that explains a lot!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

maguic24 wrote: »
    I'm 22, so that explains a lot!!

I'm mid-twenties now, so hopefully that means I'm going to continue to be an absolute legend :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I became a father…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

When I was 20 I couldn't drive, didn't smoke, didn't exercise, ate garbage, mostly listened to hip hop, watched the odd fight

Now I drive, smoke, exercise a fair bit when I can, eat alot better though still have a taste for junk, STILL listen to hip hop, have became more obsessed with boxing & mma

I've started seeing an old flame that I was out of contact with for most of that time, but is now back on the cards.

Lots of things change, lots stay the same. I know myself alot better than I did 5 years ago, that's for sure

/edit even in the past year, I've changed job for better pay/hours/working conditions/holidays & been on 2 holidays and changed a lot in that time. Probably one of my bigger years for change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

maguic24 wrote: »
    Congratulations, what an acheivement. :) Keep it up, you might have another 5 in the next 5 years!
    5 more years & you'll ger your second!

It should be any day now!! :D

Maybe if you concentrate really hard another one will sprout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

5 years ago I was unemployed and living in Leitrim. It wasn't a bad time, I think I drunk the equivalent of 10 pints over the space of twelve months. I still used to cook spuds for the dinner. The recession was getting a lot of coverage, I thought my final year college project was excellent and that it might get published or something. My parents were fit to kill me but we struggled on. Not much has changed other than I have more memories, both good and bad and I guess I've learned a bit in my professional and personal life -nothing new just doing some stuff that I used to do a bit better ... and I moved to Galway then to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I'm mid-twenties now, so hopefully that means I'm going to continue to be an absolute legend :cool:

Unless you're turn into a total arsehole when you hit 28. It's possible! The changing never ends! Yay! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I cringe at posts I wrote last week, never mind 2009.

anncoates wrote: »
    I cringe at posts I wrote last week, never mind 2009.

When I'm sleepy, I talk utter shiite. Or I don't pick up on things and end up embarrassing myself.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I've lost 9 stone
    I can actually run.
    I have a job, living in my own place.
    I'm much more socially capable than I was.
    I discovered I don't dislike certain things, i.e mustard, as much as I thought I did, and other things, like cheese and quiche, I dislike even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

“Isn't it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back, everything is different...” - C.S. Lewis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Five years ago I was a knowitall, cantankerous, bitter old bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Five years ago I was a knowitall, cantankerous, bitter old bastard.

And today you're a knowitall, cantankerous, bitter old bastard.....with a touch of grey?

I'm 27, and it's only in the last year or so that I really feel like I've 'become' myself.

Sure we're all works in progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

You mean you've outgrown Bebo? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

5 years ago I was in a crappy relationship, had a crappy haircut, a crappy job and undiagnosed mental health problems.
    Right now, I'm happier than I was. I'm still single but it has it's good and bad moments. Still unemployed but at least I'm not working for a shower of gobshites and I'm growing my hair out to shoulder length.
    As for my mental health issues, I'm fully diagnosed, on medication and managing things on a day by day basis to the best of my abilities.
    Things are far from perfect but at least I'm contented for the moment.
    Still, a holiday would be nice... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Follaton_Wood

More than I'd have ever imagined. Looking back, I took far too much for granted, but looking forward - those rose tinted glasses don't help anyone.