Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Smidge wrote: »
    These threads always make me :D.
    The baying for blood from kids because they have a Dublin accent, which automatically make them scumbags.
    I would LOVE to see AGS handle real criminals in the same manner. You know, ones that weren't half their size.
    But rest assured the streets are a whole lot safer now these "hardened criminals" have been hauled off and more paperwork can be done, which means less guarda presence on the streets in the event of something serious happening. :rolleyes:

Did you just type that out of your arse or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

coolemon wrote: »
    Skangers. Where are you from?

Galway, thought it was obvious...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Did you just type that out of your arse or what?

No.No I didn't. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Parents should be made pay a fine if their kids arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Mark Oxford

Smidge wrote: »
    These threads always make me :D.
    The baying for blood from kids because they have a Dublin accent, which automatically make them scumbags.
    I would LOVE to see AGS handle real criminals in the same manner. You know, ones that weren't half their size.
    But rest assured the streets are a whole lot safer now these "hardened criminals" have been hauled off and more paperwork can be done, which means less guarda presence on the streets in the event of something serious happening. :rolleyes:

These lads are the hardened criminals of the next decade.

Bunch of scumbags ,never contributed anything never will.

Gardai have one tough job while those morons get support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

ondafly wrote: »
    This video is a breath of fresh air. Finally little muppets are getting arrested. We all know the type who hang around causing trouble for society. It's about time they are getting picked up. I hope more guards act in this fashion and we can finally get back to a more civil society where actions have consequences.

It always baffles me how in Dublin there are always gangs of these scrotes just hanging around intimidating people whereas in any other capital city that I've been I've never seen anything like it.

Get off the tourist trail and you'll see similar and worse. The only difference in Dublin is that they venture into the City Centre. Have you ever been to the outskirts of Paris, Brussels or Barcelona?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Yes i agree but gards should be arresting real crims not kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It always baffles me how in Dublin there are always gangs of these scrotes just hanging around intimidating people whereas in any other capital city that I've been I've never seen anything like it.

Define intimidating. In your opinion, what does and does not constitute intimidation?
    I ask because there seems to be a pervasive attitude at the moment that a group of young people hanging around are automatically intimidating regardless of what they're actually doing. The use of "mosquito" devices in Britain to "disperse groups of loitering youths" - without any reference to the context of what they're actually doing wrong - underpins this. So how do you personally define intimidating behaviour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

This video is a breath of fresh air. Finally little muppets are getting arrested. We all know the type who hang around causing trouble for society. It's about time they are getting picked up. I hope more guards act in this fashion and we can finally get back to a more civil society where actions have consequences.

The problem is that nothing will happen to them, and this little escapade will only serve to embolden them. The story of the time they stood up to the 'pigs' will give them kudos in their circle.

You do realise that Dublin isn't the only county in Ireland to have teenagers in it?
    But before you even answer that I know the reply...... "Teenagers down the country don't behave like that" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,976 ✭✭✭amacca

The problem is….quite a large majority of these "people" cannot be made do anything they don't want to do.

they always have a quite a vocal group of bleeding hearts/interest groups arguing their case when their own wriggling proves ineffective

then come the solicitors/barristers

its quite an industry.

No. Totally disagree with this. We should be very reluctant to introduce vicarious criminal liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Ah fir fook sakes

And that 2+ min clip gave you that indebt insight, did it?
    Your fortunetelling abilities astound me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

you have to draw the line somewhere,if they get away behaving like this to a garda why not try it on someone else who gives them a dirty look?it is not acceptable to behave like this in society and the sooner they learn it the better,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Get off the tourist trail and you'll see similar and worse. The only difference in Dublin is that they venture into the City Centre. Have you ever been to the outskirts of Paris, Brussels or Barcelona?

No. The only difference is that that you would not see that level of disrespect for the police anywhere else.

Hootanany wrote: »
    Yes i agree but gards should be arresting real crims not kids

By all means arrest them if the are committing a REAL crime, but no.
    Easy pickings here and a lot of throwing around of weight. Would these same guards deal with a real scumbag in the same manner. The answer is a resounding no. I've seen it with my own eyes. Too much risk and hassle for the guard, better to kick the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Gardai have a tough job but arresting kids isn't part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,976 ✭✭✭amacca

No. Totally disagree with this. We should be very reluctant to introduce vicarious criminal liability.

perhaps……how about instead we don't incentivise parents that are not in position to support their child properly to pump out more and more of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

D1stant wrote: »
    No. The only difference is that that you would not see that level of disrespect for the police anywhere else.

Give police in any other country any sort of sh!t and you'll find yourself kissing pavement getting cuffed and fcuked into the back of a waiting paddywagon.

Oh and 'accidentally' bumping your head on your flight passage in, repeatedly.

D1stant wrote: »

Have you seen how the police deal with this stuff across Europe? That's why they're not disrespected in the same way. By the way I'm not disagreeing with you. It's just that jurisdictional comparisons don't really tell us anything.

amacca wrote: »
    perhaps……how about instead we don't incentivise parents that are not in position to support their child properly to pump out more and more of them.

Fair enough. But let's tie this back to the video. What makes you think those children are not supported properly, if that's what you're saying. I was an absolute brat when I was a kid, and regularly insulted people in positions of authority. But it wasn't my parents fault. They couldn't have done more to keep me on the straight and narrow. It was down to me, and I failed.

Yes but they have earned respect not scorn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Have you seen how the police deal with this stuff across Europe? That's why they're not disrespected in the same way. By the way I'm not disagreeing with you. It's just that jurisdictional comparisons don't really tell us anything.

Have lived in Australia, Kids don't talk back or act up to police with guns, You are told 1 time you are not cooperating adult's as well, Then you eat pavement if you continue to be uncooperative. I'm sure everyone has seen reality cop shows from USA and other places were they take zero nonsense.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Its gas reading the comments here about this bunch of lads when I know one of them personally.
    Im involved with a charity in the area-a foster home for teenagers and the lad at the end is from that home. I give these lads work experience and if they work out I try get them into a full time job.My record so far isn't too bad...one lad is almost finished his apprenticeship and then this lad ****s up.
    The young lad in the blue shorts had the opportunity of a lifetime when he was offered an apprenticeship with us about 6 months ago.
    He was a great kid and deserved a chance and I tried to give him that chance. Unfortunately he fell in with a bad crowd from the area and tries to be the hard man around them when in reality hes the nicest kid you could meet and not at all like that whens hes not around these other lads.

Seeing him in that video has almost brought me to tears as I really really tried with him to sort his crap out.

So please stop judging people when you know nothing about them.I can only speak for this lad who I know well and he really doesn't deserve half the criticism aimed at him.Hes had a really bad upbringing living in homes for most of his life. Its really unfair to judge him without knowing anything about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nobody seems to be addressing the societal double standard here. If being disrespectful warrants a hiding, then this should apply equally to everyone, Gardai included.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Its gas reading the comments here about this bunch of lads when I know one of them personally.
    Im involved with a charity in the area-a foster home for teenagers and the lad at the end is from that home. I give these lads work experience and if they work out I try get them into a full time job.My record so far isn't too bad...one lad is almost finished his apprenticeship and then this lad ****s up.
    The young lad in the blue shorts had the opportunity of a lifetime when he was offered an apprenticeship with us about 6 months ago.
    He was a great kid and deserved a chance and I tried to give him that chance. Unfortunately he fell in with a bad crowd from the area and tries to be the hard man around them when in reality hes the nicest kid you could meet and not at all like that whens hes not around these other lads.

Seeing him in that video has almost brought me to tears as I really really tried with him to sort his crap out.

So please stop judging people when you know nothing about them.I can only speak for this lad who I know well and he really doesn't deserve half the criticism aimed at him.Hes had a really bad upbringing living in homes for most of his life. Its really unfair to judge him without knowing anything about him.

Mountjoy Sq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Hellrazer wrote: »

I'd say that was hard for you to watch so. 1 step forward, 3 steps back. Mostly just deciding whether the Gardai were correct in their actions here, which i would say they are. Can't just let people away with that kind of carry on, regardless of their circumstances. Hope the lad gets back on track and stops wasting peoples time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

coolemon wrote: »
    Skangers. Where are you from?

I thought it would have been obvious from his username that he was from Dublin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Kerryfootball

Hellrazer - people are judging video on it's merrits.
    Having watched that I think the guards gave every opportunity to disperse and they instead mouthed off like little thugs.
    I wonder If these lads are in homes and not working were they get the money for smart phones to be filming there pals.