Experiences with saps on holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

greenflash wrote: »
    Package holidays are not my thing at all but was forced to go down to the Costa del Sol with the outlaws a few year ago. Most obvious thing I noticed about the unwashed hordes was the English lads wear England jerseys so show how English they are, while the Irish lads wear English club jerseys to show how Irish they are. Saps

What's sappy about wearing a football jersey on holidays. I've only an Irish one but only time I wear it is when at a match or on the beach. No different from a T-shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭NordieSteve

Went to Spain last year and there was a scummy family from Tallaght in the resort, typical drunk smoke damaged parents and their rat faced little brats. Wouldn't mind but I went to get away from idiot dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Collie D wrote: »
    What's sappy about wearing a football jersey on holidays. I've only an Irish one but only time I wear it is when at a match or on the beach. No different from a T-shirt.

If you read between the lines you'll see that I clearly wrote "when you see someone on or near a beach in Southern Europe, wearing a Manchester United or Liverpool shirt, they are invariably Irish". They also usually pack a Celtic jersey for a spare and and Ireland one if they're going out somewhere nice for the evening.

Anyway, in my opinion, anyone over the age of 12 who wears a football top in any situation other than playing football is a sap, whether on holiday or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Flight from Boston to Amsterdam a couple of years ago. Was stuck in between a christian group who all insisted on holding hands to pray, included in this was a prayer for the captain and crew, the passengers, the employees that worked at the airports, the food preparers, the other passengers, each other for the experience, Jesus for bringing them to a new place etc. I tried to switch seats but as it was a full flight no one wanted the middle seat on a 747. Was really pissed off with them when the plane took off, by the time it landed I couldn't even hide my contempt. Painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Personally, I'm deloyrah that the tattooed, boozie, shouty, flag-waving Nordie morons go on holidays overseas. Almost every year, while they're gone, we set off for the Wee North for a week or two. The Northerners remaining at home (that is the Northerners who don't travel miles to be offended by an Orange or Green march) are the most welcoming, charming and generous people you could meet. The weather can't be depended upon but the welcome can.

We're also blessed for a few weeks when we arrive home because the tattooed, boozie, shouty, GAA shirt-waving "Free State" morons are overseas on holidays.

Ahhhhh! Ireland in Summer! Shur, where would you get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

If you read between the lines you'll see that I clearly wrote "if you see someone on or near a beach in Southern Europe, wearing a Manchester United or Liverpool shirt, they are invariably Irish". They also usually pack a Celtic jersey for a spare and and Ireland one if they're going out somewhere nice for the evening.

Anyway, in my opinion, anyone over the age of 12 who wears a football top in any situation other than playing football is a sap, whether on holiday or not.

How can you clearly write something between the lines?

Meh, your opinion and you're entitled. Snobbery IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

A skobe family plonked themselves next to me on a flight back from Krakow last year. I'd noticed them in the departure area and knew they were going to be a pain. And I also knew that, with my luck they'd end up next to me...

They'd bought loads of cans at the gate so they could get even more drunk during the flight. I'd say I got passively drunk from the stink off them - and I like beer! (And then the 15 year old daughter passed out on top of her equally drunk mother who was next to me, and when the plane was making the final approach into Cork, the cabin crew had an awful job waking the pair of them up to put their seat belts back on...)

Gobshytes.

I was also on a package holiday in Golden Sands Bulgaria about 10 years ago, one of those bunker hotels had a load of Swedish flags draped on it, and all these young Swedish lads were sniping tourists with cheap air rifles they'd bought in the resort. One of my friends got a pellet in the hand, lucky it wasn't an eye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I was on a late Dub to LHR flight a few years back, the 10pm BMI flight that was never more than half full.

There were three traveller ladies returning to London after a big funeral, all three as you'd expect were mire than a bit merry, but otherwise perfectly pleasant.

As the flight was delayed after boarding, the cabin crew brought the drinks trolley out, which was when the hilarity began.

The two youngest, who were I'm guessing sisters in their early forties starti g having an argument about who was going to drive when they got back to London

"you can bleedin drive, it's your car"
    "i can't, I'm too pissed"
    "so am I"
    "yeah, but I've got a driving licence, if I get stopped I'll lose it"
    "fair point, but I'm not driving, ma can drive"

Looks over the far side of plane where "ma" is slumped in a corner snoring her head off with Guinness froth coming out of her nose.

"Aah Feck it ma, I'll bleedin drive then"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

*claps when plane lands* That was a good landing, wasn't it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

darkdubh wrote: »
    You are clearly a member of the master race.Us pale Paddys must do you homage.Heil!

thats more like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,362 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

pundy wrote: »
    Santa ponsa in majorca. i love spain, but this place is HORRIBLE. it's horrible because it's full of pasty culchies from ireland. The english/german orientated resorts happen to be much nicer and better vibes, better people.

I'd actually consider this a very racist remark. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Cork Lass wrote: »

Just don't try irony on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Technically speaking that was an "excellent" landing, being one after which the equipment may be re-used. Any landing you walk away from is a "good" landing.

Probably. He'd also enjoy the South of Spain, which is full of pasty-faced shaven-headed ex-special forces Russians who always give the impression when looking at you that they're wondering what you might look like without your head. :pac:

While I'm here, I don't bother my hole with the whole aeroplane rigmarole anymore. These days when I pop down to Antibes for a week or two, I drive. Two wheels, or four, depending on the humour. :cool:

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

im not a culchie, and im only half irish. im far from pasty.

I'm guessing your mixed race or non white.Have you experienced racism?Is that why you don't like "pasty" Irish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Thought this thread was about people using SAP on holidays.... disappointed :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

If you read between the lines you'll see that I clearly wrote "when you see someone on or near a beach in Southern Europe, wearing a Manchester United or Liverpool shirt, they are invariably Irish". They also usually pack a Celtic jersey for a spare and and Ireland one if they're going out somewhere nice for the evening.

Get out of here ya clown! Does this go for all Sports Tops or just football jerseys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Flight from Boston to Amsterdam a couple of years ago. Was stuck in between a christian group who all insisted on holding hands to pray, included in this was a prayer for the captain and crew, the passengers, the employees that worked at the airports, the food preparers, the other passengers, each other for the experience, Jesus for bringing them to a new place etc. I tried to switch seats but as it was a full flight no one wanted the middle seat on a 747. Was really pissed off with them when the plane took off, by the time it landed I couldn't even hide my contempt. Painful.

Did they say a prayer for you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

bear1 wrote: »
    Thought this thread was about people using SAP on holidays.... disappointed :(

Nothing like a bit of ERP on the beach. :)

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of ERP on the beach. :)

Just don't let those Oracle bastards come near ya.. feckin nightmare so they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

oh here we go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yeah this brunette sap kept sunbathing topless by the pool. I couldn't concentrate on the soccer on the bar tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

YFlyer wrote: »
    Did they say a prayer for you? :D

No one burst into flames so I presume not. :cool:
    They asked me if I would like to join in- didn't even make an effort to hide my distain for what they were doing. Others who weren't with the group thought it was lovely, not enough to switch seats but still lovely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I'm guessing your mixed race or non white.Have you experienced racism?Is that why you don't like "pasty" Irish people?

Hes not really foreign Y,know.Hes only pretending, to appear more sophisticated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

It's a shame some of pilgrims on here aspiring to be accepted into stratosphere of the Irish social elite haven't quite made enough money to escape the pain of having to holiday with the people they so sneeringly look down upon.

Hard lines. Hope you choke on your cous cous and kale salads you miserable clowns.

I am pie wrote: »
    It's a shame some of pilgrims on here aspiring to be accepted into stratosphere of the Irish social elite haven't quite made enough money to escape the pain of having to holiday with the people they so sneeringly look down upon.

Hard lines. Hope you choke on your cous cous and kale salads you miserable clowns.

Fuppin hell.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

TheGlass wrote: »
    Yeah anyone that feels the need to bring flegs with them on holiday should generally be avoided
    FYP :pac:
    Riamfada wrote: »
    When I was a kid we used to go to a complex in Spain. The complex had two towers and one was for northies and the other for free staters.They were purposefully segregated because of the amount of Irish there. There were Union Jacks and Red Hand flags hanging off one and tricolours off the others.

Meanwhile the Germans had theirs all over the sunbeds.
    I know someone who when aboard found something similar happened, but the english would come to the Irish bar, as all the craic would be in the Irish bar :D
    Santa ponsa in majorca. i love spain, but this place is HORRIBLE. it's horrible because it's full of pasty culchies from ireland. The english/german orientated resorts happen to be much nicer and better vibes, better people.
    Was in Majorca once with the family, in the North East section. All families, and no muppets at all.
    [/B]

Get out of here ya clown! Does this go for all Sports Tops or just football jerseys?
    I found the sports tops to be great when in Amsterdam! Could avoid any coffee shop which had a large congregation of them. Later in the night, most of said clowns were drunk. Strong alcohol + very strong weed can lead to frayed nerves, but luckily myself and my friends were only in coffee shops when it got late.

FYI; bar sold drink + some weed, coffee shop sold lots of weed, but only some drink. Thus the yobs tended to stay clear of most of the coffee shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭luketitz

Yakuza wrote: »
    In 2000, on a leg from Singapore to Sydney, about 20 Kuwaitis got on (approx 10 kids, 7 blokes and 3 women). When I saw the Qantas air hostesses (who must be a fairly seasoned at dealing with asshole passengers) roll their eyes when they came through the air bridge, I got a bad feeling and boy, I wasn't disappointed. Apart from take-off and landing, the kids were running riot for pretty much the whole flight (all 9 hours of it (felt like 19)). Running up and down the aisles, bouncing on the seats, screaming and shouting. It was before I had kids myself, so I was utterly intolerant of them. (I may have mellowed somewhat regarding kids in general :)). The adults (presumably some of the kids' parents were among them) made exactly zero attempt to remonstrate with them, or to restrain/curtail their behaviour. I think they were actually proud of the shennanigans they got up to. I only know they were Kuwaiti as I overheard one of the stewardesses say something "faakin Kuwaitis" to a colleague as I passed them on the way to the bog. Whereever they were from, they were a spoiled bunch of brats. They'd be all in their 20s now, I wonder if they're any better behaved.

Wow, that's almost identical to what I came on to groan about!

On a flight from Phuket to Bangkok (only an hour) last Christmas seemed like an endless test of hellish endurance as about 15 wild Kuwaiti kids cluttered about, kicking chairs, spilling drinks, screaming and generally being the devil's spawn ran about making everyone's life hell while the three accompanying adults (parents and an aunt was my guess) made zero attempt to stifle any of it and even contributed with loud, ignorant shouting of their own with zero regard for anyone else.

I have kids myself and would never allow any of them to act like this, it was insane and the entire crew and passengers seemed genuinely shocked at just how badly-raised these kids were. you could tell the adults felt somewhat embarrassed by the frosty reception by all around, but i was shocked to see them make no attempt to stop it, other than throw iPads and soft drinks at the little demons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ruubot2 wrote: »

Ages since I was on a flight when the pilot got the clap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

[/B]

All sports tops. Clearly. How would this even be something you'd need to question?

Oh I was on a flight to Birmingham a while back with a drunken stag crew. They were all roaring and screaming and hassling the stewardess the whole way over. So she rang ahead and had the police arrest them when we landed. It was HILARIOUS watching them all STFU when it dawned on them that they were now heading to the slammer.

G'wan Ryanair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

TheGlass wrote: »
    Yeah anyone that feels the need to bring flags with them on holiday should generally be avoided

1,000,000% yes. GAA jerseys abroad is another I avoid.