I am a complete idiot.Have you ever been scammed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

I was in Paris once with a friend years ago. I hadn't traveled very often at this point and he seemed quite happy show me tricks and tips when traveling.

When we got to the hotel after a day of wandering he suggested we go to a restaurant in an area that he knew - on our way to get a taxi he stopped by the reception desk and asked the receptionist how much it would cost to get to the area we wanted - she told him around 20 quid. She then asked is he wanted her to order him a taxi he said no... and we left. He then began to smugly explain that if a taxi comes to collect you they charge you more. Instead he was going to just get one at a taxi rank and now that he knew how much it cost - he wouldn't get scammed.

So we're in the taxi on our way and my friend suddenly tells the taxi driver quite abruptly to pull over. He then pointed sharply at the taximeter and starting giving out **** to the driver, saying that it's already over 20 quid and we weren't even half way - calls him a shame on his country and demands he reset the meter.

The Taxi guy pointed out that it was Half 8 and that my friend was pointing at the clock showing which of course was showing 20:30.

Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

I worked for a promotions type company down in Cork one summer, there was a group of us being put up in a hostel/dorm type thing by the company. One day I was approached by a traveller girl asking me for money saying her father had thrown her out, I felt terrible for her and said I'd do one better than that and get her a job and a place to stay as well!
    Talked my manager into letting her stay with us and give her a job, she robbed every one of us blind and walked by me roaring laughing a few days later :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Ravenid

Riamfada wrote: »
    I was scammed by a head case once who was setting up businesses and conning people to do work for him gratis.

And thats how you became a Mod...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭josip

Paid $4 for tiger balm in Kathmandu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

The Master wrote: »
    Once is a scam, 4 times is just your own stupidity
    @OP. The above quote sums it up. Although I would have worded it stronger. 4 Times. 4 bloody times. And then you post it here ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

You really should do your research before you go somewhere OP :P

I reckon spar near me at home are always trying to scam though, mistaking a fiver for a 20, giving back the wrong coins, happens way too often ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I am the one who scams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

I was in Poland in 2009, went to Warsaw. When my friends and I arrived at the train station we decided to get a taxi to the hotel. There was 8 of us so we needed two. We arrived and the drivers began talking amongst themselves and charged us 30 zloty per taxi which was about 5 or 6 quid. Seemed grand to me as it was a 10/15 minute journey. Went the exact same route the next morning and only got charged 15 zloty. Just glad it wasn't more. Should have wondered when the drivers spoke to each other but I was a bit more naive then :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Was in Vegas recently, friend was caught by the 3 card trick. Couldn't believe we stalled for a second to see the setup, noticed it was Hispanics running, it, Hispanics winning and Hispanics on watchout duty. We walked on, looked back to see yer man throwing $100 down. He couldn't believe it when he lost "I was fully sure it was 3".
    Most naive man I know.