Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade and Retro General Chat in Karkariko Village Tavern: Live Ocarina Music

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Adult entertainment!
    Got you ;)
    So, House of the Dead it is!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Adult entertainment!
    Got you ;)
    So, House of the Dead it is!

It was more like dead or alive volleyball :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Adult entertainment?

Photos or it didnt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Found the video of this adult fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Yes. Aside from the economic benefit, you can play them as there were intended instead of the concessions made for their PAL equivalents.

Have you imported one? Any idea on the import duty I'll be hit on one?

Where would I get a plug for one? Or can I use a plug adaptor on one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

I have been emailing Richard Hutchinson as per Ciderdude's advice, and Richard only has Vecflash carts for sale at the mo, no Vecmulti's. So you can add and remove games yourself.

Anyone got one of these? Worth going for? Cheers!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Los Lobos wrote: »
    I have been emailing Richard Hutchinson as per Ciderdude's advice, and Richard only has Vecflash carts for sale at the mo, no Vecmulti's. So you can add and remove games yourself.

Anyone got one of these? Worth going for? Cheers!

The USB Vecflash units are well worth having.
    Installing games involves flashing via USB rather than just popped onto a SD card, but it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Doge

Speaking of which, just saw this on

Mortal Kombat X trailer

Reminded me of this! :D

Btw nothing grinds my gears more than when Publishers put some ****ty Rapper over a trailer for a game that doesn't suit it at all.

COD is very guilty of this.

Keno wrote: »
    Where would I get a plug for one? Or can I use a plug adaptor on one?

So I've come to find this is a very bad idea that will fry your console!

I need a Stepdown Transformer or funilly enough, a Sega Master System power supply will work with it supposedly.

Will the one below work, does anyone know?

http://www.dayga.co.uk/US-to-UK-Stepdown-Transformers/UK-to-US-Stepdown-Voltage-Converter-45-watt

waveform wrote: »
    Reminded me of this! :D

Btw nothing grinds my gears more than when Publishers put some ****ty Rapper over a trailer for a game that doesn't suit it at all.

COD is very guilty of this.

Hahaha

I actually really liked the trailer. Bit different but I just liked it, better than that ****ing techno song played for the millionth time and definitly better than Adema ( Because that style of music didnt age at all :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Will the one below work, does anyone know?

I think they're good for most US or Jap consoles, but I would prefer to source suitable 220v power supply if it was possible.

I picked up a psu for a super famicom from Consolegoods a while back, it doesen't get near as warm as the original jap psu plugged in to one of them adapters you were looking at.

Consolegoods are a decent supplier, maybe not the cheapest but I never had a problem with anything I got from them before and I've only heard good things said of them.

Click the snes icon on the left and go into consoles and accessories to see the range of psu for us and jap consoles.
    http://consolegoods.co.uk/

Monkeykube wrote: »
    I think they're good for most US or Jap consoles, but I would prefer to source suitable 220v power supply if it was possible.

I picked up a psu for a super famicom from Consolegoods a while back, it doesen't get near as warm as the original jap psu plugged in to one of them adapters you were looking at.

Consolegoods are a decent supplier, maybe not the cheapest but I never had a problem with anything I got from them before and I've only heard good things said of them.

Click the snes icon on the left and go into consoles and accessories to see the range of psu for us and jap consoles.
    http://consolegoods.co.uk/

Thanks for that. I was looking at that site earlier but since it was a bit more expensive I said I'd choose the other one.

"UK mains adaptor/power supply unit for imported USA SNES consoles" for £13.90 do the job?

Also, will the cables with the console work on our TV's or will I have to buy new ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Thanks for that. I was looking at that site earlier but since it was a bit more expensive I said I'd choose the other one.

"UK mains adaptor/power supply unit for imported USA SNES consoles" for £13.90 do the job?

Also, will the cables with the console work on our TV's or will I have to buy new ones?

The lads name is Robert Webb, best to send him a mail to make sure on the psu but to me it looks like the one you want. You may get cheaper shipping with parcel motel given the weight of the psu, cables are different on the ntsc consoles so you will need a rgb cable. They have the cable listed at 5.90 on the same page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Anybody having difficulty with Ebay, I just logged in and reset my password as per the mail from Ebay and blamo!! my account is suspended.

Well that's strange as I have not bought or even logged into Ebay for over a year.
    Just waiting for a reply from a customer assistant, not happy at all with them :(

Edit: Fair play they sorted it immediately, seems to be a small issue with the password reset mumbo jumbo.

pdbhp wrote: »
    Anybody having difficulty with Ebay, I just logged in and reset my password as per the mail from Ebay and blamo!! my account is suspended.

Well that's strange as I have not bought or even logged into Ebay for over a year.
    Just waiting for a reply from a customer assistant, not happy at all with them :(

Edit: Fair play they sorted it immediately, seems to be a small issue with the password reset mumbo jumbo.

Once someone doesn't buy a BMW on your account and have it shipped to the Philippines you should be fine!

That's what I was expecting but when I checked my account there was no suspicious activity (except my suspicious activity).
    There was no issue at all the nice girl helped me out and it took approx. 2 minutes, fair play to her.

pdbhp wrote: »
    That's what I was expecting but when I checked my account there was no suspicious activity (except my suspicious activity).
    There was no issue at all the nice girl helped me out and it took approx. 2 minutes, fair play to her.

She didn't say she was called Sinead but spoke with a heavy eastern European accent?
    If so expect a shipping container full of strippers to be delivered to your house in the morning.
    Be sure to be in so you can sign for the delivery.
    A large gent called Vlad will swing by in an unmarked van to collect them....

She didn't say she was called Sinead but spoke with a heavy eastern European accent?
    If so expect a shipping container full of strippers to be delivered to your house in the morning.
    Be sure to be in so you can sign for the delivery.
    A large gent called Vlad will swing by in an unmarked van to collect them....

I would love a container full of strippers to turn up, it would beat the usual bills that come through the door.

I presume they were in the Ireland office in Blanch and have heard ye olde tales of the Nissan Micra of lore

You ramraiding genius....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,597 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

And another console is about to be officially declared 'retro': http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2014-06-03-sony-to-discontinue-psp-in-japan-next-month

Start vacuum wrapping your UMDs for maximum grading potential!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,423 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm just amazed Sony are still making PSPs. For a console I always thought was a bit of a failure, 10 years really isn't shabby at all.

I guess all those jrpgs gave it a second lease of life!

Well the PSP became the JRPG machine of choice from about 2011 onwards and the Vita has now taken over so for once Sony and Co. are doing something right.

Ordered the Vecflash today, heres hoping it lands by friday, can't wait! Now, any recommendations of what games to start with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Got a couple of them Ikea Detolf cabinets today to try tidy stuff up. Every time we went to get them over the last few weeks they would be sold out by 10:30am

need to figure out where I'm going to put them before I build them so I assume they will lye unbuilt for weeks :)

They are nice though.

trailbreaker77-44444-albums-cool-stuff-picture11791-10-5-13.jpg

There heavy bastard. Hope you didn't have to get the bus!

Los Lobos wrote: »
    Ordered the Vecflash today, heres hoping it lands by friday, can't wait! Now, any recommendations of what games to start with?

I don't think you understand, everything will fit in it, all the official releases and all the homebrew that matters, it'll all fit and the flashing software will make a decent menu too so it's simple to navigate.

Hmm, Richard himself said it holds 31 games, so with homebrews etc its a lot more than that. I think there are the guts of 80 odd games out there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

So NTSC-U for gamecube, is this an actual thing?
    Seem some for sale and wasn't sure if they were legit.

Sent off stuff from an eBay sale last Wednesday up to the buyer in Dublin. It was just standard post. Buyer is saying the item still didn't arrive

Anybody have experience with anything like this?