What men never think of when asking a woman out.

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I find the expression 'wimmins' extremely grating....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Merkin wrote: »

I saw three wimmins a swimmins.

You really should put down the bottle and just go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

You really should put down the bottle and just go to bed.

Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

pablo128 wrote: »
    Women understand other women, and they fcuking hate each other!

Sooo, true, how did you know? It sucks being a mind reader for only one gender!

Yeah hate them all, if I see someone and they have bewbs, that's it, I hates them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Morag wrote: »
    Nah I'll pass.

Ta da! See it is that easy for women to make a pass at guys! Chin up lads! Chin up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

All wimmins say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Well they don't run after me in the street or anything. :pac:

So that's what I'm doing wrong :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Lou.m wrote: »
    I think to be honest I am used to this attitude.

You tell people you were abused ...get over it...is the response

I am not going to take it personally.

I'm used to it. It's why I can be arsed telling people in real life. They don't get it.

I don't know what kind of people you've been talking to, but I have only once in my life been told to 'get over' being raped. Either online or in real life, bar that one person, I've received nothing but respect, encouragement and empathy if I tell someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I only ever asked two girls out, when I was around 15. I was unsuccessful. The rest of them have just fallen at my feet.* Go me!

May or may not be an entirely accurate representation of how things went down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

im sorry, what is it that guys think of? that women see all men as danger?

psinno wrote: »
    Men are more violent than women.

BREAKING: Biologists discover testosterone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I only ever asked two girls out, when I was around 15. I was unsuccessful. The rest of them have just fallen at my feet.* Go me!

May or may not be an entirely accurate representation of how things went down.

Knocking women out to get a date is generally considered a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

Earthhorse wrote: »
    We should definitely start taking our social cues from Louis CK. He knows what's up.

And South Park. Those guys get it.

And maybe the Police Academy movies. Well, 1 to 3 anyways.

I doubt he expects people to take much advice from his dealings with the fairer sex, but I think he does know what’s up a lot of the time.
    Apart from a handful of people I’m actually friends with, related to or sought help from, Louie was very helpful in cheering me the f*ck up and dragging my fat arse out of a depressing slump of anxiety 2-3 years ago.
    Mostly because I relate to his plight as a single parent and as a father of two young girls, but in general I find most of his views very easy going, even when he is complaining about something. Helped me say f*ck it some of the time anyway.

South Park – never liked it.

Always loved Police Academy and looking back, I probably sounded a lot like Zed when approaching women. Also, how many 80’s children have it to thank for harvesting a healthy, non homophobic attitude to gay people, thanks to the Blue Oyster?..

Hey, don't you go trying to figure out my secrets, you'll have to wait until the book comes out like everyone else. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A common misconception stemming largely from the shocking level of refinement and technique out there. As with mechanical work, there is a hierarchy of tools to be considered, depending on the precise nature of the work at hand. This ranges from an engineer's rubber mallet for delicate, petite, elfin-types, to a goalkeeper's hurley with plenty strapping on it for the beefy Mullingar Heifers. This also tangentially explains the traditional view of long hair being more attractive on women - without it, you have to carry some sort of harness as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ye know what? This "you'll never figure us women out. We're so mysterious" bollocks doesn't wash with me. If a man comes and talks to me in a fairly normal fashion like most people do, I'll be polite. If I find the conversation worth continuing on with because I either fancy him or he made me laugh or said something that grabbed my interest, I will do so. If not, I don't but am always nice about it. I'm a normal woman who likes talking to nice people (believe it or not!) and I won't jump to conclusions about them or fear them because I've no reason to; my track record of this kind of thing has taught me that.

I'm 34 and have been around the block and travelled a good bit and lived in a few countries and I can honestly say 99.7% of my experiences talking to random fellas on nights out (or in cafes or other places sometimes) has been grand. My reaction to them talking to me has always been reasonable and polite...and sometimes more ;) Most people I know can say the same thing.

I come onto Boards and read threads like this and it's like reading the accounts of people from another planet sometimes. Rude, mean women and sleazy, threatening arsehole men. If you never left your flat and only drew your conclusions of interactions between and women from what you read on Boards, you'd presume the sexes hate each other and everyone has screaming matches with every random person who tries to talk to them.

That's not how reality is for most of us. If it IS what happens to on a regular basis, you really have to question what YOU are doing wrong. I enjoy my nights out and when I was single, I liked talking to people, both men and women but it seems some people on here really suffer on a night out and seem to hate it more than they should or more than is good for them. Time to make changes then.

This post probably has no relevance to anything but I find AH so bizarre for this kind of stuff that I have to point out that most of us don't live that way.

Right so. Mallet or hurley for yourself, Ma'am? :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    This ranges from an engineer's rubber mallet for delicate, petite, elfin-types, to a goalkeeper's hurley with plenty strapping on it for the beefy Mullingar Heifers.

The only mallet one needs is the mallet of charm and a rapier wit.
    Ye know what? This "you'll never figure us women out. We're so mysterious" bollocks doesn't wash with me.

This post probably has no relevance to anything but I find AH so bizarre for this kind of stuff that I have to point out that most of us don't live that way.

Well said!

The only mallet one needs is the mallet of charm and a rapier wit...

You mean the goalkeeper's hurley of rapier wit, obviously? Given that, I concur. :cool:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nail on the bloody head LE.
    If you never left your flat and only drew your conclusions of interactions between and women from what you read on Boards, you'd presume the sexes hate each other and everyone has screaming matches with every random person who tries to talk to them.

That's not how reality is for most of us. If it IS what happens to on a regular basis, you really have to question what YOU are doing wrong
    QFT. I suspect that some of this stuff on here is down to some of the demographic that have "never left their flat" so to speak. Male/female interactions are more observed rather than lived and a particular mindset has built up around this.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

jimgoose wrote: »
    You mean the goalkeeper's hurley of rapier wit, obviously? Given that, I concur. :cool:

Feck it anyway, I really should have gone with "a rapier of wit" but it's too late to go back and change it now. The jig's up.

Quite so. But take solace in the 155mm Howitzer of sophistication and culture. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

kingtubby wrote: »
    All scripted for his TV show lads nothing to see here

Yes and really very poorly done. This chap is rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Johnwayne98

Oh indeed I'm not! Rarr! ;)

You women are all so vain, you think you're all so gorgeous just because you have t%#s and p&@&y that some guy will look at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Johnwayne98

Oh indeed I'm not! Rarr! ;)

You women are all so vain, you think you're all so gorgeous just because you have t%#s and p&@&y that some guy will look at you.

I'm almost sure that my immediate assumption that you're one of the people who has never left your flat is spot on then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This is a have cake and eat it problem, as with many of these issues.
    Either women need to stop giving guys such a hard time for taking a chance when they're not interested, OR, they need to stop having this "women shouldn't make the first move" hangup. If guys became as reserved as some women seem to want us to be, while at the same time women didn't become more proactive about going after guys they want, the human race would become extinct within a couple of decades.

In other words, if women want guys to stop pursuing, then they need to stop playing the hard to get game in which many WANT guys to keep trying after an initial rejection. Personally I always back off if no interest is shown, to avoid being labelled a "creep" - but the number of times I've seen women I know act completely indifferent to a guy who likes them and then subsequently say "He was meant to chase me, why did he just stop being into me?" is mind numbingly frustrating. It has to be one or the other. Or else we simple never have relationships and the human race dies out. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

This is a have cake and eat it problem, as with many of these issues.
    Either women need to stop giving guys such a hard time for taking a chance when they're not interested, OR, they need to stop having this "women shouldn't make the first move" hangup. If guys became as reserved as some women seem to want us to be, while at the same time women didn't become more proactive about going after guys they want, the human race would become extinct within a couple of decades.

In other words, if women want guys to stop pursuing, then they need to stop playing the hard to get game in which many WANT guys to keep trying after an initial rejection. Personally I always back off if no interest is shown, to avoid being labelled a "creep" - but the number of times I've seen women I know act completely indifferent to a guy who likes them and then subsequently say "He was meant to chase me, why did he just stop being into me?" is mind numbingly frustrating. It has to be one or the other. Or else we simple never have relationships and the human race dies out. :D

Or people grow up and cop on. You must be quite young, I'm guessing.

We don't need another gender divide thread. We really really don't.

OP, one man does not equal all men. How about you judge individual people for who they are, rather than whether or not they possess a penis. Why on earth is that such a hard thing for so many people to do.