Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'm missing for a weekend on here and the whole place is a shambles :)

Come on lads, with what went on at that meet I think people are at each others throats, everyone needs to calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

YbFocus wrote: »
    I'm missing for a weekend on here and the whole place is a shambles :)

Come on lads, with what went on at that meet I think people are at each others throats, everyone needs to calm down.

Hey you! STFU!

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Well just back from a great drive on back roads. From Claremorris through Robbeen and on to Moorehall. There is a main road from Claremorris to Hollymount but I kept to the back ones. Lots of hard braking, gear changes and high reving.

Ok it might sound like I was driving like a lunatic which I was in places where I could see far ahead. Met a few people out walking and cycling and kept my distance while passing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,745 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

This thread should be called midnight club mk 2.

This thread should be called chat thread as that's what was going on, we were talking of our opinions on what goes on on the roads at night.

Nothing more or nothing less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

What happened around here?

Good question. Motors is like a Dublin beach on a summers day, attracting condom jizz escapees to puff up their chests and act the big men that they hope to be one day. Hot air and bravado, showing off and acting like little dicks when they meet. It's pathetic.

Motors used to be akin to a broad-sheet type motoring forum with intelligent content along with the occasional cartoon-like contribution for the children who wandered in here. Even then, it was intelligent, not the kind of horse**** some of its current posters go on with. It was the online equivalent of the motoring supplement in the Sunday Times, something for everyone with an interest in cars and motoring.

Now, it's like a jizz stained tabloid, one that lots of little tossers get a kick out of, but that kind of disgusts anyone who remembers how it was. You know, people who could tell the difference between a quasi-scumbag with a piece of dirt car acting the bollox in public and an enthusiast who drove something old, but special, and who shunned the kind of carry on that some of the idiots in here thing is okay.

This forum has gone to hell. When I read some of the stuff posted in here recently by regulars, I picture the people writing it and this is what they look like:

pic_adam_and_paul_9lg.jpg

That's what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Truckermal wrote: »
    Any evidence to back that up?? Actually don't bother you annoying little troll. Yourself and sign man are well met and make a lovely couple actually. .:pac:

The irony is that he wrote off his almera driving like a tool and still sees nothing wrong with doughnuts on public roads, well met with other cian to be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Again with the sly digs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

While I wouldn't have said it as eloquently as BreadNBuddha managed, I agree. The forum's not what it once was.

I don't think it's rose-tinted vision either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Funny how new motors posters(lets be honest alternate accounts)are popping up here once there is a bit of drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

that did take a turn quite quickly in terms of the attitude on the forum.

I'm probably one of the more younger drivers in the forum here but im not into the whole leaving marks on the road scene or racing etc. (unless say an organized day at mondello)
    i'd be more , get the most mpg from driving, how to take out an egr valve to clean it and reassemble and other things like that for keeping smoke down too and how to clean certain parts of car/interior etc. basically i like the motors section of boards to help fix things or general how to stuff.

but for donuts im not into but at the same time i'm not going to argue with anyone if thats what they do in their time etc, i wouldn't support it personally and wont have much sympathy if something went wrong.

Funny how new motors posters(lets be honest alternate accounts)are popping up here once there is a bit of drama.

It's not funny at all.

What started out as embarassment, turned into despair, turned into long time motors posters turning their backs and walking away.

Who could blame them? Trying to reason with people who spend all day talking about rotboxes, how to get away with traffic offenses, fines and points, how they're buying cars they simply not, how chengshinling tyres are best because their mate the drifter uses them..... Moronic crap.

There's a group of posters here that have brought down the tone of the forum in the past while. Some of the die-hard long serving posters and many more recent posters try to keep things ticking over, to keep some sensibility, but that bunch of idiots makes it almost impossible.

How many times have people here been half way through typing a reply to something when they give up, realising that all that will happen is their post gets lost in a sea of total bollox? I have. Why offer a cap full of medicine when the patient will be forced to take it with a bucket of festering ****e?

Super Gurrier. A suitable name for a troublemaker. Oh, must go, time for the ironing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

I only ever left a donut on the road once....

Which was my lesson never to eat while driving with the window open, because it was one of the really nice ones with the pink icing from Eurospar.

I have never come across someone with an attitude like yours on here that's for sure. I'm a young chap on here with a respectable car and I get my kicks from the track not the road.
    There may be 1 or 2 on here that need addressing but 99% of us are damn straight and only out to help others.

So stop with the generalising and attacking everyone. Supergurrier is super helpful around here and shows you know nothing of this forum.
    If we're going on names should we just assume that you're a fat, religious obnoxious cvnt?

I have nothing against anyone on here expressing an opinion but attacking posters in your manner and generalising the forums users as you have is just not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

that did take a turn quite quickly in terms of the attitude on the forum.

I'm probably one of the more younger drivers in the forum here but im not into the whole leaving marks on the road scene or racing etc. (unless say an organized day at mondello)
    i'd be more , get the most mpg from driving, how to take out an egr valve to clean it and reassemble and other things like that for keeping smoke down too and how to clean certain parts of car/interior etc. basically i like the motors section of boards to help fix things or general how to stuff.

but for donuts im not into but at the same time i'm not going to argue with anyone if thats what they do in their time etc, i wouldn't support it personally and wont have much sympathy if something went wrong.

Exactly the same position as myself. I do enjoy driving quickly too but I get no fun out of burnouts, donuts etc, drifting can be cool if done right but IMO not on roads or Centra's car park. I don't understand how people who do it think that it's fun and IMO it can be fairly antisocial too. Once it's done in a very quite place away from anyone else who can see/hear it and the people doing it stop as soon as people not involved show up then it's fairly harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

It's not funny at all.

What started out as embarassment, turned into despair, turned into long time motors posters turning their backs and walking away.

Who could blame them? Trying to reason with people who spend all day talking about rotboxes, how to get away with traffic offenses, fines and points, how they're buying cars they simply not, how chengshinling tyres are best because their mate the drifter uses them..... Moronic crap.

There's a group of posters here that have brought down the tone of the forum in the past while. Some of the die-hard long serving posters and many more recent posters try to keep things ticking over, to keep some sensibility, but that bunch of idiots makes it almost impossible.

How many times have people here been half way through typing a reply to something when they give up, realising that all that will happen is their post gets lost in a sea of total bollox? I have. Why offer a cap full of medicine when the patient will be forced to take it with a bucket of festering ****e?

Super Gurrier. A suitable name for a troublemaker. Oh, must go, time for the ironing.

Can I ask what do you define as a rot box?
    One of the posters who you refer to, has a stunningly clean 24 year old mx5.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Why? Is it unbelievable that someone who buys an AE86 doesn't buy it for a particular purpose?

By no means do I think people that buy AE86's don't use them for drifting and diffing but I don't think that anyone would do rings in them in a position where they're likely to right them off or cause the damage you speak of, unless trey are just daft.

There's always one arsehole that will act the maggot in one, he may well live down your way but he does not represent all twin cam owners.

In regards to the rest of you, I've reported posts where I feel I had to.

YbFocus wrote: »
    I have never come across someone with an attitude like yours on here that's for sure. I'm a young chap on here with a respectable car and I get my kicks from the track not the road.
    There may be 1 or 2 on here that need addressing but 99% of us are damn straight and only out to help others.

So stop with the generalising and attacking everyone. Supergurrier is super helpful around here and shows you know nothing of this forum.
    If we're going on names should be just assume that you're a fat, religious obnoxious cvnt?

I have nothing against anyone on here expressing an opinion but attacking posters in your manner and generalising the forums users as you have is just not on.

I'm not attacking posters, and the jibe at Supergurrier was more because he's being cynical about the reasons why some people are getting pissed off with what's going on here.. I'm also not calling people abusive names, like you're trying to do (and quite well too, I tip my hat to you for that one!) and I'm definitely not defending other people doing things that I believe to be wrong. Example, Drifting, donuts and all that crap is fine at a track day, down in the yards in Tullow or whatever, but not on the public roads. Ever. Saying it's okay doesn't make it okay. People can decide what they would do, and ignore everything else. That's easy. But say it if you don't think it's right, if you wouldn't do it yourself. If you don't make excuses for yourself, why would you try to excuse someone else doing it? Don't just say Ah lads, sure it's grand, nobody got hurt. That day has already come for families up and down the country. If that's the attitude that's being shown to visitors who come to Motors on boards then it's a poor picture ye paint of yourselves. So, no, it's not okay. Little bollixes acting the bollix should find somewhere else to play.

Let me also say that I have NEVER on this forum said it was alright to do the aforementioned on a public road or that I have partaken in it.

My point?
    Stick it up your hole and don't try to tarnish my reputation like that.

It came across as if you were attacking posters in fairness.

I never said it was correct to be at that stuff on the road, of course its not.
    But it happens and as long as they do it where they have a good field of view and they have the brains to back off once they see the hint of a light then I'm not to upset with them doing so.
    Drifting should never be done on the roads, you're carrying far too much momentum to react to anything quickly.

Donuts on a straight road on the other hand, you clutch it and pull in in 1 second dead. Not that I do them, it is such a waste of tyres compared to drifting and not any real fun either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,745 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

CianRyan wrote: »
    Let me also say that I have NEVER on this forum said it was alright to do the aforementioned on a public road or that I have partaken in it.

My point?
    Stick it up your hole and don't try to tarnish my reputation like that.

You said it was fun on the last page, you also agreed with another poster who said it was ok to do it at night because other cars could be seen coming.

Reputation?? LOL. Some people really do have an elevated opinion of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You iron fast.

One of the posters who you refer to, has a stunningly clean 24 year old mx5.....

Read my earlier posts. There's a difference between someone having something old, whether it's because of budget or simply because they like the car, that's generally cared for as best they can and then somebody who just buys an old car so he doesn't have to give a **** when he crashes it, it dumps its crusty sump oil out through the turbo, or he otherwise wrecks it when driving it like a dickhead.

The first guy, hats off to him, no matter what his wheels are. The second guy is a gob****e, every morning and every night, and all the hours between. He's an arsehole that deserve filling with a big farmers boot greased with cow****e. There's no need to be defending that kind of a tool. There's some here that are just that kind of creature, and you all know it.

So don't be defending them. They'll think it's all great craic until it's all over and we're reading about their court case or arranging to be at their funeral. Think it doesn't happen? It does. Up and down the country. The kind of crap being written here lately is by the same kind of gob****es. Nice fellas, until someone gets hurt. So check your own attitude there lad. Nobody wants to be pissing anyone off but its time to get down to business now. Horseplay is fine in the back garden when you're a kid, but has **** all place on the road behind the wheel. Full ****ing stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Can I just say, wiring is NOT fun on a 37 year old car :(

Kaiser D wrote: »

I would have thought the wiring would have been very minimal :)

Not that I'd have a clue either way I'm shocking at wiring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Kaiser D wrote: »

Are you rewiring the whole car or just trying to find a fault. Nothing worse than wires thrown everywhere. When I went to fix the fault with my bluetooth handsfree a few weeks ago whoever installed it just threw everything in behind the dash nothing taped up correctly and what was taped was taped used masking tape not insulation tape says it all really. Turned out to be a blown inline fuse in the end so was grand.

Oh and by the way, I'm not referring to any individual here. Make assumptions and associations as much as you want, but I'm not attacking any individual here. I don't care if someone has a stunningly clean 24 year old Raleigh Grifter, if they're a careless tool, their set of wheels won't change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I am not into burning rubber, in this day and age it is just a waste of tyre and money.

However people drifting, doing burnouts and donuts late at night on deserted roads are all a part of Irish culture at this stage IMO and should not surprise anyone but can be an annoyance in populated areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

CianRyan wrote: »
    By no means do I think people that buy AE86's don't use them for drifting and diffing but I don't think that anyone would do rings in them in a position where they're likely to right them off or cause the damage you speak of, unless trey are just daft.

There's always one arsehole that will act the maggot in one, he may well live down your way but he does not represent all twin cam owners.

In regards to the rest of you, I've reported posts where I feel I had to.

WTF is an AE86??

Quazzie wrote: »
    You said it was fun on the last page, you also agreed with another poster who said it was ok to do it at night because other cars could be seen coming.

Reputation?? LOL. Some people really do have an elevated opinion of themselves.

I did say it's fun, I really enjoy doing donuts, holding a clean circle, etc.
    do I do it on a public road? No. Do to make stupid assumptions.

Is it easy to see light from a few KM's away on a rural road with a lot if visibility? Yes.
    Everyone that ever driven on one knows that.

Speaking of people with elevated opinions off themselves...