Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Wasn't really worried until I saw Conroy is out. If it wasn't for Conroy we wouldn't have pulled through against Waterford last year. We also had Meehan at that stage.

The main thing in Galway's favour is the old cliche of forewarned is forearmed. If Galway lost it can't be a case they didn't take it seriously enough, its that they won't have been good enough. As Cosmo Kramer says above, London have never been a great league team but have delivered the last few years in championship.

Seriously worried about the lack of any real leaders in the team but its hard to know where football in the county can go if we lose this one. Galway by 6-8 points I hope!

yes they are that bad however galway sound like clare 10 or 15 years ago when we were in the same position ye have a good enough team to win connacht however ye are at risk of winning nothing with a over negative attitude it still exist here in the banner west

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Worthwent14

Great to get the win yesterday and great attitude shown by the players. Team needs a run of a few games to build confidence hopefully we should beat sligo if we get a good start. Have a funny feelin that Roscommon may shock mayo and connacht would be wide open then. Thought yesterday's line up was nearly full strength, only conroy was missing. Who will he replace the next day? Lundy is a great addition who gets through some amount of work and great to have another player in that mould because john o brien was a big loss in the league. Looks very competitive for places now in all positions and that can only bring the team on

I see the GAA set the Galway/Laois game for 4pm.

I'm not 100% on travelling so that's a bit of a kick in the teeth as the 2pm slot for Sunday was completely open with only Fermanagh/Antrim in the football on(was surprised to see that there was only 4 games of note on Sunday).

Limerick and Tipp will obviously be on at 4, and with Wexford/Antrim on at 2 I'm sure RTE will be showing that as well.

I know it would be a bit weird having the home team and top billing game on at 2 and Wex/Antrim at 4, but that Galway game is definitely the pick of those 3 available games.

Hope now I've a way up, radio just doesn't cut it in a close game.
    Wasn't too bad for London as it was over quick.

Hope now I've a way up, radio just doesn't cut it in a close game.
    Wasn't too bad for London as it was over quick.

These lads may be able to help you:
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Galway-Hurling-Supporters-Club/306800140889?ref=ts&fref=ts

Have gone on this bus before, good service for next to nothing. They generally leave 30 minutes after the final whistle of the 2nd game. That can cause problems where there are bigger crowds like in Thurles last year or Limerick for the double header the last day as the traffic backs up but shouldn't be a problem on Sunday.

As for the game itself, in my opinion Galway need to lay down a marker in this match and win well.

The league was a bit of a mixed bag. Some positives but some worrying signs and as usual consistently inconsistent. The positive for me is that the players have all been playing club action in the last few weeks. The club championship has been very competitive this year and this should help in having the players match sharp.

Laois have made significant progress from where they were 3 or 4 years ago but their last few results don't suggest they are going to make the next big leap anytime soon. Its a game Galway should win comfortably if they are to have any kind of ambitions for a decent run in 2014. If they are scrambling around to win this in the last 10-15 minutes I'd be very worried for the year ahead.

Laois will attempt to crowd the middle sector and limit the damage early on. Galway will need to improvise and be more intelligent in possession than they usually are.

It'll be interesting to see how the forwards fare. I amn't convinced we know our best lineup in the forwards. Where Johnny Glynn is positioned will be interesting and as usual the big debate will be where Joe Canning finds himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Stanza2 wrote: »
    Conroy will come in at midfield I'd say. Flynn probably to step down. I would keep Army out but think that he will come in for Lundy. Walsh is a talent for sure and played well today but as said previously is a bit light weight and needs to be brought on slowly. Hoard played well today but dropped deep a lot and left Cummins and Martin in lots of space. Thought that Cummins was brilliant, points off both feet, a class score on the run with the outside of the boot and a goal to round it off, very good day for him. If he keeps fit and as sharp as today he will have a big year

Flynn and O'Currain shouldnt be separated for the next 5 years never mind this year. The are really finding their feet at this level and its turning into a great partnership. Conroy for Hoare and let him drift out, and Army for Lundy or (dare I say) Kavangh imo.

Still hungover from the weekend in London. Great experience, London GAA really know how to make the most of limited resources. They deserve the small fortune they'd have made at Ruislip on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭MfMan

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Flynn and O'Currain shouldnt be separated for the next 5 years never mind this year. The are really finding their feet at this level and its turning into a great partnership. Conroy for Hoare and let him drift out, and Army for Lundy or (dare I say) Kavangh imo.

Still hungover from the weekend in London. Great experience, London GAA really know how to make the most of limited resources. They deserve the small fortune they'd have made at Ruislip on Sunday

Flynn not the greatest of footballers, but if management could get him playing to his strengths, winning ball and not taking too much out of it, (something they could never get poor old Joe Bergin to do!), he could be effective. Wing forwards weren't hectic, Lundy is quick but a poor finisher, Kavanagh hasn't impressed the few times I've seen him play for Galway, though Armstrong is no great improvement here either. Conroy will boost this area when he returns, with probably Shane Walsh moving to a wing slot. Cummins and Martin were good on Sunday but still have to prove it against better opposition.

Great day on Sunday but the match was a non-runner as tests go. Thought O'Donnell and O'Curraoin had killed each other when they collided, could hear the smack all over the ground.

On the hurling front, news on Niall Healy not good unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,010 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Think O'Curraoin is more your conventional midfielder. He will patrol the middle, catch some ball and distribute it. Flynn is more mobile, can get up and down the field and kick the odd score. They potentially could be a very good partnership at senior (and were all through underage football) provided they stay healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

I agree that O'Curraoin is the more conventional midfielder, but Flynn has a lot to offer as well, he just seems so lightweight to me. They are the future though.

Kavanagh needs to show his true ability this year, I would not have him and Army in the same team, they don't work hard enough when we don't have the ball and you can only carry so many like that on a team.

Martin looked way better than I had thought, sharp and hungry for the ball, took his scores very well. Cummins looked the most dangerous any time he was near the ball there was an air of anticipation. He was probably the only forward who could hold his head high against Mayo last year and when we got to Croke Park to play Cork he was electric until he did his hamstring, the Cork corner back was in the Press the next day saying how delighted that he was when Cummins went off, always a sign of a great player when the opposition says that. Shane Walsh is a real talent who you could build a team around, he may need to look around more for what is on, but a class player who will only get better.

It will always be " it was only London" which is true and bigger battles lie ahead, but it was a good step in the right direction. I would like to see us get back to Croker even through the qualifiers and gain the experience and get better. We are not as bad as everyone would have you believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

MfMan wrote: »
    Flynn not the greatest of footballers, but if management could get him playing to his strengths, winning ball and not taking too much out of it, (something they could never get poor old Joe Bergin to do!), he could be effective.
    I'd be in agreement with you up till this year. He's losing his shyness to shooting, as can be seen with his super goal against Meath. The guy is improving an awful lot, maybe more than FOC.

Can definitely see Army and Conroy replacing Lundy/Hoare. Would prefer Army on the bench whereas Conroy has to be in there regardless of who he replaces. Think Walsh has made the breakthrough to starter now. Heard great things about Martin on Sunday which is very positive considering we need somebody to step up for Meehan.

As for the hurlers I was devastated for Healy hearing he might be gone the year. He was the head of Craughwell's sudden revival. We should beat Laois more convincingly because they've been flat out for the last month but Hyland and the gang won't fear Galway, as they shouldn't. If Galway try and run the ball out of FB again we're already in the qualifiers.

It's hard to know what to do with the midfield.

You could argue that Conroys best position is in there.
    At CF it gives the ability to enact those same skills, being a similar role.
    Pushing him into FF though means he could be more effective scoring wise, but also out of games for long periods.

Its a bit like O'Shea for Mayo, started midfield, then he moved to the forwards as he got a bit older, before returning again to midfield.

I guess we at least have the option to move him there, the problem is getting that 4th midfielder in case one is out long term and something happens during a game be it an injury or performance issue.
    Who do you turn to then?.

I have no faith in Higgins anyway, be grand if he was catching a few balls and dishing them off but he's not, and offers nothing in attack.

I think as well the days of kicking 50/50 balls are gone, Dublin obviously perfected it and even watching Donegal in the first half against Derry they were very effective in winning easy ball.
    So it's even more of a nuisance to have someone like Higgins there, better off with lads 6'6 - 6'8 who are mobile, good ball users(which we have 3 options for).
    We just need to find another lad like that, or at least someone who can just win a few balls and dish them off for the times it is kicked long(I suppose regardless of how you set up your own kick outs, the aim is to get the opposition to kick theirs long so fielding will still be a plus to a degree)

Healy a big loss all right.

I'd have had him in my 15 or first forward off the bench.
    Was playing very well and a great free taker to boot, he'd have been our third option as it was I'd imagine.

Sad to hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭24yearslater

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    I agree that O'Curraoin is the more conventional midfielder, but Flynn has a lot to offer as well, he just seems so lightweight to me. They are the future though.

Kavanagh needs to show his true ability this year, I would not have him and Army in the same team, they don't work hard enough when we don't have the ball and you can only carry so many like that on a team.

Martin looked way better than I had thought, sharp and hungry for the ball, took his scores very well. Cummins looked the most dangerous any time he was near the ball there was an air of anticipation. He was probably the only forward who could hold his head high against Mayo last year and when we got to Croke Park to play Cork he was electric until he did his hamstring, the Cork corner back was in the Press the next day saying how delighted that he was when Cummins went off, always a sign of a great player when the opposition says that. Shane Walsh is a real talent who you could build a team around, he may need to look around more for what is on, but a class player who will only get better.

It will always be " it was only London" which is true and bigger battles lie ahead, but it was a good step in the right direction. I would like to see us get back to Croker even through the qualifiers and gain the experience and get better. We are not as bad as everyone would have you believe.
    V hopeful this year that we can make a Connacht final (& give the mayo lads a right rattle - we're not as bad as we looked last year) & get to the qtrs at least. saw them in their final league game in Monaghan, & although we lost I was v impressed. Mind u, I wouldn't let army next or near the team, he's had enough chances at this stage. Always looking 4 a crazy score out near the sideline when there's a man free inside. Would leave Flynn & O'Curraoin alone at midfield, Conroy could start at wing fwrd & move back to help out if needed, just like Bergin in '01. Cummins a great prospect, whilst Walsh has the potential to be our leading fwrd for 10 years. Saw him give Jack McCaffrey the run around in a minor semi 3 years ago, & he was brilliant in the U21 Connacht final v rossies last year. He reminds me of Maurice Fitz the way he solo runs, a real natural.
    Hurlers need to buck up or ship out this year - Laois gave us a fright last year, and they'll be wired up for it again this time around. Last chance for a few lads on that team, especially in the fwrds. I'd include JC in that - he's enough experience got now, he can't be learning all his life. The 2 Turlough Burkes are a huge addition, the rest need to man up now. Clare dispelled the myth about young lads not being able to win - if ur good enough ur old enough. A big year for them, need to leave club rivalries aside if we want to go anywhere.

Haven't been biggest fan of FOC or Flynn as a partnership but they are really growing into senior football! They need a consistent run of games together at this level. They've been playing well the last few games and deserve to stay together. Higgins mighnt be the best but hes an option if someone is injured or hoare too. Id leave 1-9 as it was the last day although its probably a bit harsh on moore. I dont see what or where all this fuss about armstrong comes from. He has rarely done it for galway and has been given an abundance of chances. Is leave him on the bench, he'd be more effective as an impact sub. Kavanagh hasn't yet shown his Kildare form for galway! Only change that i would make from last day is conroy for Kavanagh and put conroy in at full with hoare on wing. Altho hoare did well inside and is a big strong target man. Team has improved a lot in last number of weeks. Goalkeeper is very solid and kickouts have improved an awful lot and the fullback line have Hanley back. Half back line looks like its got a good shape for first time in few years. Midfield performing well and the forwards doing the business. Bench is lookin strong too with good competition for places. Hopefully we'll do the business against sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

O'Curraoin was excellent for his club in the Peile na Gaeltachta so far, got black carded today v harshly. Ran the show and created the score that sealed the win last night. Greats hopes for this guy

Was watching but missed the start and kinda outta the loop at club level. Why weren't Denvir or Ó' Gríofa playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,010 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Was watching but missed the start and kinda outta the loop at club level. Why weren't Denvir or Ó' Gríofa playing?

Think they are both injured.

Ó'Gríofa especially has had awful injury problems considering he was a very good underage player for Galway a few years back.

Ó'Gríofa hasn't played a senior match in the League even for Galway yet IIRC. He always seems to be injured which is a shame as he had a lot of potential from minor where he caught Cork out big time despite losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Serious gulf in class in the senior comórtas final yesterday.
    Kilcar were some outfit and probably had another gear or two to go up if needed. Tough weekend for MB. 4 tough matches in three days. one of which went to extra time. There will be alot of sore bodies this morning I'd say. Caherlistrane must be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

In fairness, Kilcar started as 1/12 favourites. It wasn't a contest for long periods. O'Curraoin had a good game for MB.

Kilcar looked like they had another gear in them. 3 mchughs we're impossible to cope with. Not to mention they had mcBrearty on the sidelines. FOC was very good along with their 2 wingbacks who tried very hard. Denver also tried hard wen he came in. Those 4 players and o conaire really took the fight to kilcar but kilcar had quality all over the pitch. FOC looks like he's maturing into leader and improving plenty which is good news for galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Team news: King, Costello, Duane, Concannon and Ó Connell have all been released from the Galway senior football panel.

Whats going on lads? Seen this tonight on Tribesmen facebook page. Seems a strange one 3 of 4 James' lads leaving the panel, Duane gone for a second time this season. Concannon was outstanding Vs Cortoon on Saturday. Must be disrepute in the camp.

That King the Ballinasloe keeper? Think he was only there as cover anyway; Egan, (a solid keeper also, St. James? ) is / was also on the panel, think management were particularly concerned for the London game as Healy was suspended. Not sure about O'Connell or Costello, just weren't good enough / pushing hard enough I think. The other two, same reason as before. Pity, Duane in particular, was a first teamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭fearruanua

MfMan wrote: »
    That King the Ballinasloe keeper? Think he was only there as cover anyway; Egan, (a solid keeper also, St. James? ) is / was also on the panel, think management were particularly concerned for the London game as Healy was suspended. Not sure about O'Connell or Costello, just weren't good enough / pushing hard enough I think. The other two, same reason as before. Pity, Duane in particular, was a first teamer.

Yeah, I don't think King, O Connell and Costello were ever really in the mix up to make a championship team. But the other two are big losses in my opinion especially duane. Looks like Joss Moore could be out for a while. Who will they put corner back?
    Obviously the two boys they didn't learn their lesson after the last time this happened : (

Keith Kelly will prob go corner back now mullholland seems to like him altho aongus teirney looked ok in the league v Donegal hes another option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

sonnky wrote: »
    Team news: King, Costello, Duane, Concannon and Ó Connell have all been released from the Galway senior football panel.

Whats going on lads? Seen this tonight on Tribesmen facebook page. Seems a strange one 3 of 4 James' lads leaving the panel, Duane gone for a second time this season. Concannon was outstanding Vs Cortoon on Saturday. Must be disrepute in the camp.

The James lads went on the beer after their club match last weekend so were released. Dunno about the rest

Any thoughts on the starting 15 for the next day?
    I'll go with
    Breathnach
    O Neill
    Hanley
    Teirney
    Bradshaw
    O Donnel
    Varley
    Flynn
    O curraoin
    Armstrong
    Walsh
    O brien (Kavanagh may be injured)
    Cummins
    Hoare
    Martin
    (If conroy is fit for swap for Lundy and put hoare at wing forward)

Doomsday approaches for both teams.

The best thing about 2014, is that both managers are in the final year so they either achieve something or if they fail we can look elsewhere.

Both seem fairly weak tactically.

We turned up to play Laois again without any evident game plan, criminal after the game last season.

Mulholland has two sets of U21 All Ireland winners to work with yet in some respects we seem further back than we were from 2001-2011 which is some indictment(Champ win against Armagh, narrow loss to Cork and London win versus league 2014, Mayo 2013, Waterford/Tipp 2013 and ironically Cork again which while a decent performance, we should have shut that out).

Just looked like headless chickens most times I watched, I think the footballers are capable of pushing on to the most respectable level since 2001 ala Kildare with the right man in place.
    Maybe he'll surprise in year 3 and come up with some amazing gameplan that gets the best out of the players instead of them looking like they're playing of instinct.

While the footballers don't have as much on line in their semi, the hurlers will have a pretty straightforward path to the final if they win on Sunday.

If we were to play at 100% that would be more than enough to blow the current contenders out of the water, the footballers can't say that.
    If we can get by KK and play to 80% then that will be more than enough to take out Dublin/Munster Loser and whoever the final throws.
    It's certainly in their hands, as bad as we were last year we still nearly revived both games against Clare/Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

If we were to play at 100% that would be more than enough to blow the current contenders out of the water, the footballers can't say that.
    If we can get by KK and play to 80% then that will be more than enough to take out Dublin/Munster Loser and whoever the final throws.
    It's certainly in their hands, as bad as we were last year we still nearly revived both games against Clare/Dublin.

Full agreed...

4 games from greatness, completely achievable if they actually believe in themselves and each other.

The danger is that both managers could manage their sides out of winning positions, Cunningham in particular just doesn't inspire confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

While the footballers don't have as much on line in their semi, the hurlers will have a pretty straightforward path to the final if they win on Sunday.

Jesus Gilberto I don't know if you're being sarcastic or just messing or what, but right now I wouldn't trust our hurlers to have a straightforward path to anywhere. They're capable on their day we know that, but those days are just too few and far between and Cunningham's persistence with the same failed tactics doesn't help matters either. Hate to be a pessimist but I honestly think KK will win with a bit to spare on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Completely agree. The hurlers are an excellent team if they put their heart in it. Some problems exist:

A. No team spirit. I noticed in the Laois game that there was very little encouraging between players. At times in the first half they played as singles disregarding the other 14 players.

B. Joe Canning. Not him himself of course. He would do much better as a distributor in the middle of the field. He was our goal-getter back when we lacked talent up front, but we have 6+ other forwards just as capable as him. Even play him as a third midfielder scoring the odd point now and again. Realistically we need him to score 0-02 a game. Cooney can handle the frees. Take some pressure off him.

And here is the reasons why I think it's all or nothing for us this year:

A. Goalkeeping. We have arguable our best keeper at the moment in Colm Callannan. I find his shot stopping just as good as the best keepers. His puckouts have good direction and distance plus he can score from his own half.

B. Defense. Our best defensive set-up in a very long time. Tannion has made an excellent defender/sweeper aswell as the two Burkes. Conceeding only 6-137 in the 9 games this year its about 1-16 a game which is an excellent record.

C. Abundance of talent up front. With the likes of C Mannion and J Flynn in this year we really have competition for the forward line. Each chipping in with 0-2 each a game (approx.) sometimes more. As well as the goal-intentions of Glennon and the FF the last day whos name escapes me, we have good scoring ability.

D. Cunningham. Anthony Cunningham is our most tactically driven manager in decades and if anyone can do it he can.

My ideal line-up for Sunday:

1. Callanan
    2. Coen
    3. R. Burke
    4. Moore
    5. Burke
    6. Tannion
    7. Harte
    8. Brehony
    9. Canning
    10. Flynn
    11. Cooney
    12. N. Burke
    13. Mannion
    14. Glynn
    15. D. Burke

16. Ryan (G)
    17. Hayes (Replace J Flynn after 50.00)
    18. Smith (Replace Brehony after 45.00)
    19. Collins (Replace Harte after 50.00)
    20. Glennon (Replace Mannion after 55.00)
    21. J. Cooney (Replace N. Burke after 60.00)