Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunshine hits Dublin - The annual skanger scumbag beach invasion begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Again there's no comparison.

Why not?

Both groups wreck the amenity value of areas there for all of us to enjoy by their selfish and loutish behaviour?

wazky wrote: »
    I'm as confused as you are at this stage.

I'm not confused - you posted using the words "chaps" then edited to change that for "kids" - as if all this is the equivalent of some kind of out of control school trip.

The feral skangers in question may lack a political ideology (in comparison the far right), but it doesn't mean they don't wreck places and intimidate people when they descend on a location.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Hmmmm. Railway lines, unemployed and displaced undesirables...... Pigeon House sitting idle.

Maybe the solution is to cart the scum there, forcibly, to a lovely place where the Social Services (or S.S. If you will) can build 'changing rooms' beside the old smoke stacks and give them some jobs.

Think of the amount of gold chains, sovereign rings and stolen Nikes that could be recovered.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Is it illegal to drink booze on a beach?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Jawgap wrote: »
    I'm not confused

I beg to differ, old chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Karl Stein wrote: »

Drinking in public is not illegal in Ireland, but it can be banned in specific areas by local authority by-laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I don't know much about the skanger invasion, but Bray sounds like a fucking fairytale; do they have unicorns there now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

DominoDub wrote: »
    It is not just the beaches ....stay well clear of Grand Canal Dock during hot weather ..as that is time for some to have their annual bath .on the plus side it gets their hands out of their jocks for a few mins.

Came across this video of The Pendennis Cup,sailing event at Falmouth Cornwall featuring a flying display by The Red Arrows..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wiRHL4BqyQ

However what struck me was the numbers and composure of the audience...same sand,same sea,same sky,same sun.....somewhat different behavioural pattern....why ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Rother

I'm not confused - you posted using the words "chaps" then edited to change that for "kids" - as if all this is the equivalent of some kind of out of control school trip.

The feral skangers in question may lack a political ideology (in comparison the far right), but it doesn't mean they don't wreck places and intimidate people when they descend on a location.

Go to Wicklow or Wexford and listen to people talking. Chaps = Kids
    You're flogging this one to death. I were you I would just let it go now. You arent doing yourself any favours and we are all tired of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

jimgoose wrote: »
    Drinking ... can be banned in specific areas by local authority by-laws.

They should just ban alcohol from the piers and beaches in areas that attract large crowds of young people.

You need to enforce it though. Gardai were next to useless in Howth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

It's the crowds that do it - big mobs in small areas can often lead to trouble - that's pier pressure for you.

Rother wrote: »
    Go to Wicklow or Wexford and listen to people talking. Chaps = Kids
    You're flogging this one to death. I were you I would just let it go now. You arent doing yourself any favours and we are all tired of it.

Thank you for your guidance.......btw - who is this 'we' you referred to? And how did you get yourself elected to the post of AH spokesperson?

Moving swiftly along........I wonder how much of the alcohol in question was purchased in the locality and how much was ferried there?

One solution might be to ban alcohol on the DART on certain days and for residents to pressure local retailers not to sell alcohol before a given time on holiday weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I seem to recall back about 10 years ago the guards got very public in imposing €50 spot fines for drinking in public, I'd suppose the beach would fall under this brief :confused: Added to the fact that the vast majority of these revellers are underage, there's no reason the gardai can't be handing out fines left right and centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

satguy wrote: »
    Two days every year some kids go out and spend a few bob in the off licence in Howth and make some noise.
    Moving swiftly along........I wonder how much of the alcohol in question was purchased in the locality and how much was ferried there?

No purchases made by them yesterday in Howth. They just invaded the Centra offie in numbers and robbed the place. Same for a few other outlets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,112 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

One solution might be to ban alcohol on the DART on certain days and for residents to pressure local retailers not to sell alcohol before a given time on holiday weekends.

Alcohol is banned on the DART at all times already. There are plenty of laws in place already to limit the purchase and consumption of alcohol by under 18's. The amount of Gardaí needed to police the place properly would be huge if it had to be done regularly, what is needed is heavy handed policing for the next time the weather improves, Gardaí in Howth need to have video cameras issued to record those breaking the law so that there can be no question in court as to offences being committed and that any tazering, pepper spraying or batoning by Gardaí can be justified by video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭burtslimpslon

Donabate is another place the scumbags like to infest. They come down to their caravans down by the beach, about 500 people and cause trouble, cycling around on their half mountain bike half barbie bike things and starting fights with teenagers from donabate. Im not even from donabate and i see this happening, when i visit friends. Little gremlins, they're all from finglas,ballymun and the likes.
    wish they would just leave.

GDY151

tricky D wrote: »
    No purchases made by them yesterday in Howth. They just invaded the Centra offie in numbers and robbed the place. Same for a few other outlets.

The quantity of thieving required for the reported 100 people in the "riot" to have been all pished would have been huge if you take a 5-6 can amount to take effect, a full clearout of all cans of alcohol on open sale in each retailer in Howth would have been needed which would amount to a full looting. They had to have brought the bulk of alcohol with them.

The reality is though that alcohol would have had little to do with the cause of problems in Howth yesterday, these people are out and out scum to begin with, drinking or not, they are raised by similar scum and live like this all their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Cracking down on drinking, dispelling large crowds, restricting access and transport etc will do f*ck all to solve this problem. All of the aforementioned happen regularly with other groups of decent people and don't lead to the kind of havoc that happened here.

What we need to do instead is figure out what causes skangerness and do something about that. The simple fact is that your average group of teenagers drinking on a beach will just have fun and go home, the idea of stabbing or anything along those lines won't cross their minds because they don't have a psychotic mindset.

What causes the "skanger" demographic to begin with? What causes these particular groups of people to lack the basic human empathy that most people have, wherein you don't hurt others simply because it's not something you get any pleasure from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

residents to pressure local retailers not to sell alcohol before a given time on holiday weekends.

residents have no right to tell a business what they can and can't do, i would expect if residents put pressure on retailers to do something that will cause them to lose business that the retailers will tell the residents to get stuffed, more guards are whats needed to deal with the ferrel not residents thinking their something special and trying to force business to lose money and custom which in turn will lead to less tax take

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Alcohol is banned on the DART at all times already. There are plenty of laws in place already to limit the purchase and consumption of alcohol by under 18's. The amount of Gardaí needed to police the place properly would be huge if it had to be done regularly, what is needed is heavy handed policing for the next time the weather improves, Gardaí in Howth need to have video cameras issued to record those breaking the law so that there can be no question in court as to offences being committed and that any tazering, pepper spraying or batoning by Gardaí can be justified by video.
    heavy handed policing doesn't work on the ferrel

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Cracking down on drinking, dispelling large crowds, restricting access and transport etc will do f*ck all to solve this problem. All of the aforementioned happen regularly with other groups of decent people and don't lead to the kind of havoc that happened here.

What we need to do instead is figure out what causes skangerness and do something about that. The simple fact is that your average group of teenagers drinking on a beach will just have fun and go home, the idea of stabbing or anything along those lines won't cross their minds because they don't have a psychotic mindset.

What causes the "skanger" demographic to begin with? What causes these particular groups of people to lack the basic human empathy that most people have, wherein you don't hurt others simply because it's not something you get any pleasure from?

that would be the right thing to do patrick, the problem is doing such isn't politicaly acceptable and then the wannabe right wingers will bitch on about PC brigades/PC/bleeding hearted libberals, meanwhile the nonsense continues with suggestions to deal with it that have proven to be unworkable but the proper suggestion gets ignored.

residents have no right to tell a business what they can and can't do, i would expect if residents put pressure on retailers to do something that will cause them to lose business that the retailers will tell the residents to get stuffed, more guards are whats needed to deal with the ferrel not residents thinking their something special and trying to force business to lose money and custom which in turn will lead to less tax take

You're right they don't, but they can, for instance, boycott the business in question and / or object to their liquour licence when it comes up for renewal.

The business selling alcohol that fuels (it doesn't 'cause') this behaviour is making a profit at the expense of the rest of community who are deprived access to the amenity.

You're right they don't, but they can, for instance, boycott the business in question and / or object to their liquour licence when it comes up for renewal.

The business selling alcohol that fuels (it doesn't 'cause') this behaviour is making a profit at the expense of the rest of community who are deprived access to the amenity.

rubbish, nobody is being deprived of anything, people can use the amenity if they wish, they don't because of the ferrel but they are not being stoped from doing so, objecting to a drinks licence is pointless as the ferrel will still come anyway, more guards is the only solution

GDY151

Getting things handed to them from the day they were born like free houses if you get your lady friend pregnant, medical card, dole for life with no pressure to ever get a job and contribute to society, this lifestyle gets handed down from scangerite parent to child. When your before the courts you play the dealt a bad card in life spiel and get away scot free every time. When your raised in a State like this you see that the way of the scanger is a clear and good lifestyle choice that we could all look at taking. They get a sense of anger when they see anyone with a lifestyle built by hard work, this encourages them to damage property and attack others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Getting things handed to them from the day they were born like free houses if you get your lady friend pregnant, medical card, dole for life with no pressure to ever get a job and contribute to society, this lifestyle gets handed down from scangerite parent to child. When your before the courts you play the dealt a bad card in life spiel and get away scot free every time. When your raised in a State like this you see that the way of the scanger is a clear and good lifestyle choice that we could all look at taking. They get a sense of anger when they see anyone with a lifestyle built by hard work, this encourages them to damage property and attack others.

This is such rubbish. There's plenty of hardworking, everyday parents who think they've raised normal, well-behaved kids. In reality their kids are up to all kind of things that the parents wouldn't believe. In fact they'd refuse to believe even if shown a video of said behaviour because, "Johnny is such a nice teenager. It's the influence of the people he hangs around with."

I went to a school with plenty of well off families and that in no way guaranteed that the kids there weren't off terrorising anyone they could both in and out of school.

I also knew plenty of people my age who came from impoverished areas, to single, non-working mothers relying on the dole and children's allowance who were as decent and honest as any parent could hope for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Article is a little sensationalist. I was there with the burd for the day and while they were annoying they didn't massively disrupt our day or anything. Didn't see any violence and the Gardai broke them up within a couple of hours of them arriving.

On a side note I also happened to be in Portmarnock last year the day of that mini riot. I have terrible luck.

Thank you for your guidance.......btw - who is this 'we' you referred to? And how did you get yourself elected to the post of AH spokesperson?

Just stop.

Rother wrote: »
    Just stop.

I've moved on (I took the advice of the voice of de people.....), you're the one who keeps going back to it.....

Move on, give it up man.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Seriously people need to sort out their attitudes towards different socio economic classes. We need to drive down education barriers based on socio economic distinctions to end thinking like this.

I know plenty of complete and utter scumbags who come from well off backgrounds. Plenty who start fights with other rugby heads every weekend and plenty in UCD who get locked every week and destroy peoples property week in week out. The ag society in UCD (mostly the sons of farmers) have destroyed hotels, pubs and estates around the Belfield/clonskeagh with zero respect for the people living there. Only a few years ago the pub The Goat was completely destroyed by the well off self entitled scum.

Anyway for all we know the children were from Howth. We have no evidence as to where they hail from only prejudice.