Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunshine hits Dublin - The annual skanger scumbag beach invasion begins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

It is not just the beaches ....stay well clear of Grand Canal Dock during hot weather ..as that is time for some to have their annual bath .on the plus side it gets their hands out of their jocks for a few mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Augmerson wrote: »
    Living in Germany at the moment, incredible weather over here. Hasn't been lower than 19 degrees the past few days, 31 at the highest. Lots of people out and about, going to lakes, green areas and just hanging around.

There never seems to be any trouble. In the city center of Freiburg there is always a Police presence. They don't mess around. They have Dog units and are not afraid to break out the Baton either apparently. I haven't been here long so I am sure there is more to see and that there are anti-social problems here, it can't be perfect. Just seems that the Police will **** you up and arrest you without hesitation. Gardai back home either don't have those powers or the law restricts them.

I was in dusseldorf last year eating in a restaurant on a hot day. Some scanger with no shirt on took a piss on the window of the restaurant whilst his mates laughed their heads off at the looks of disgust in our faces.

What does this prove? That scangers exist everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Rother

Presumably these teenagers have parents?

Isn't the best way to deal with this in their pockets?

For example you could have a 3 strike rule for the kids and teenagers and anything after that could result in dole being incrementally cut for the parent(s) if they fail to control their children.

If something like that was bought in then I am 100% sure the minds of the feckless would be focused very quickly!

Charge a tenner each way on the dart on sunny days.
    Hire inspectors to check tickets as people get on the train.
    You wont see any of them then.

I was in dusseldorf last year eating in a restaurant on a hot day. Some scanger with no shirt on took a piss on the window of the restaurant whilst his mates laughed their heads off at the looks of disgust in our faces.

What does this prove? That scangers exist everywhere?

I bet if he had his shirt on it would have been an Offaly shirt :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Rother wrote: »
    Charge a tenner each way on the dart on sunny days.
    Hire inspectors to check tickets as people get on the train.
    You wont see any of them then.

So all the normal people who want to use the beach have to pay extra cos of all the scumbags?

cloud493 wrote: »
    So all the normal people who want to use the beach have to pay extra cos of all the scumbags?

Its the only way i'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's not just a Dublin phenomenon. It's happening all over Ireland. As soon as the temperature rises above 14 degrees, out come the wife beater top wearing scumbags with their homemade/prison tattoos and the seemingly chronic case of crabs, if that's what the constant hands down the tracksuit pants is about.

The female skangers are all sporting their Summer tracksuits too, elasticated waists make it easier access for the scumbags to access their knickers I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Living in Germany at the moment, incredible weather over here. Hasn't been lower than 19 degrees the past few days, 31 at the highest. Lots of people out and about, going to lakes, green areas and just hanging around.

There never seems to be any trouble. In the city center of Freiburg there is always a Police presence. They don't mess around. They have Dog units and are not afraid to break out the Baton either apparently. I haven't been here long so I am sure there is more to see and that there are anti-social problems here, it can't be perfect. Just seems that the Police will **** you up and arrest you without hesitation. Gardai back home either don't have those powers or the law restricts them.

Can we not have ONE thread where we wish this country was Germany!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

This happens every year. The first weekend when schools finish is usually bedlam, but by mid June things calm down.

The gardai were actually very good last year in portmarnock. There was a bit of hassle on the first day that schools finished, I think they were taken by surprise, but after that the guards were checking every person getting off the train, confiscating drink, same for the buses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Living in Bettystown.

From now until September the beach is virtually a no go area during the day (except early morning) - the skanger migration is in full swing and the caravan trailer parks are full with tat encrusted, trackie bottom wearing emaciated (and some not so emaciated) people and their feral kids.

Still, the slabs of beer they buy keep our local Tesco in business through the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,169 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

There never seems to be any trouble. In the city center of Freiburg there is always a Police presence. They don't mess around. They have Dog units and are not afraid to break out the Baton either apparently. I haven't been here long so I am sure there is more to see and that there are anti-social problems here, it can't be perfect.

:p Yeah! I picked up a couple of German hitchhikers last year, ended up having them stay for a few days (my son needed the conversation practice for his German oral :pac: ) and we brought them to a live music&dance event at the weekend. A few hours into the evening, as the hall filled to capacity, they were starting to get twitchy so I asked if they wanted to go home. "No," they said, "but if this was Germany, with this many people, there'd be a fight just about to start about now!"

There was no fight, they relaxed a bit and we (finally) got them dancing for a couple of hours. :cool:

Jawgap wrote: »
    Living in Bettystown.

From now until September the beach is virtually a no go area during the day (except early morning) - the skanger migration is in full swing and the caravan trailer parks are full with tat encrusted, trackie bottom wearing emaciated (and some not so emaciated) people and their feral kids.

Still, the slabs of beer they buy keep our local Tesco in business through the winter.

I used to think Bettystown was a lovely little village and that I would like to live there. Until one day I had the misfortune to be there on a sunny summer day. What a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Can we give the majority one way tickets to Australia / America / Canada?

Rother wrote: »
    I used to think Bettystown was a lovely little village and that I would like to live there. Until one day I had the misfortune to be there on a sunny summer day. What a difference.

Yep, 9 months of the year it's a great spot.......the other 3 you learn to avoid the beach after about 10/11am, and to stay out of the pubs.......

........on the plus side, you regularly get to see skanger-mobiles pulled from the sea when they've been caught by the rising tide - despite the copious number of warning signs posted when there's an afternoon high tide, there'll always be one who ignores the signs or thinks they don't apply to him (it's nearly always a him):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Germany does have scangers usually related to Football or right wing skin heads.Nothing in comparison to Dublin though which is a league of its own .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

anto9 wrote: »
    Germany does have scangers usually related to Football or right wing skin heads.Nothing in comparison to Dublin though which is a league of its own .

Really?, comparing the right wing gangs in Germany to a few kids drinking on a beach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,715 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

everlast75 wrote: »
    You'd have to try and nuke the Sun during the daytime obviously. .

The heat would melt the nuke before it got there, we'll have to wait until next winter when the sun has cooled down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Presumably these teenagers have parents?

Isn't the best way to deal with this in their pockets?

For example you could have a 3 strike rule for the kids and teenagers and anything after that could result in dole being incrementally cut for the parent(s) if they fail to control their children.

If something like that was bought in then I am 100% sure the minds of the feckless would be focused very quickly!

In fairness I doubt much of the kids parents (the Howth parents anyway) are on the dole. That said fine them.

wazky wrote: »
    Really?, comparing the right wing gangs in Germany to a few kids drinking on a beach?

A few chaps?

You make it sound like there's quite the shooting party have stopped off on their perambulations to enjoy a modest stiffener before heading back to the house in time to dress for dinner.......

This is what it looks like after they've rolled through......

Nice edit.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

No i am comparing them with the Zombie/Druggies in the heart of Dublin every day and night.Maybe you have been going around with your eyes closed ?

Nice edit.......

Whatever do you mean?

Email notifications in real time do not lie.......:D

Nice try, though.

Email notifications in real time do not lie.......:D

Nice try, though.

You must be terribly confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Its is amazing that you could get up to 100 Garda at a provincial rugby match of 15,000 people (where trouble is very rare) but when a similar number of Skangers descend on a beach you might get 3-4. I know its hard to predict the weather but it is farcical.

Clearly there's a glitch in the Matrix.......

Dear Jawgap,

wazky has just posted the following in the "Sunshine hits Dublin - The annual skanger scumbag beach invasion begins." thread, in the After Hours forum:

"
    ---Quote (Originally by anto9)---
    ---End Quote---
    Really?, comparing the right wing gangs in Germany to a few chaps drinking on a beach?"

Clearly there's a glitch in the Matrix.......

Id appreciate it if you refrained from editing my posts, thanks.

Why'd you swap the word out, anyway? Inquiring minds want to know.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

anto9 wrote: »
    No i am comparing them with the Zombie/Druggies in the heart of Dublin every day and night.Maybe you have been going around with your eyes closed ?

Again there's no comparison.

Why'd you swap the word out, anyway? Inquiring minds want to know.......

I'm as confused as you are at this stage.