Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Colser wrote: »
    You had me going there for a second but I think oglingitis and still believing you have the pulling power of your youth are common traits in most men(too chicken to say ALL) so thats a non runner:pac:;)

Colser the only thing I'd pull nowadays is a muscle (not THAT one... Oh Christ, never mind! :pac:), say nothing about my wife hyperventilating when she met Jerry Flannery! Jaysus, had to tell her to roll her tongue back up! :D

And what's with people that turn off their work mobiles at half three on a Friday? Four o' clock I can understand, but half an hour beforehand so I can't confirm I'm on my way? The fact they turn off the phone is one thing, but turning it off half an hour early? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

And what's with people that turn off their work mobiles at half three on a Friday? Four o' clock I can understand, but half an hour beforehand so I can't confirm I'm on my way? The fact they turn off the phone is one thing, but turning it off half an hour early? :mad:[/QUOTE]

Thats very annoying alright:mad: hope the massage works anyway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Trolleys with sticky handles, *shudder.

People stopping for chats in the supermarket thus blocking the aisles with prams/trolleys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

At 9.50 am I leave my car in to garage to have the rain sensor changed, small thingy behind windscreen, was wandering around Athlone until 3.30pm, was told they had to do a software update too - but jaysus over 5 hours. At least it wasn't raining.

EDIT: Aye and all me personal settings were wiped - radio stations etc very annoying

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

People who seem to think that there is a bit in the mortgage contract (not that most of these people bothered to read it) that states that if the banks get bailed out they no longer have to pay their mortgage. "Sure we bailed them out, its time for them to do something for us." Brilliant idea, increase their debt so we can all split the cost instead of of person who borrowed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Election posters, and then when they are removed the plastic tied are left on the poles or thrown on the ground. Disgraceful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

LynnGrace wrote: »
    People who charged around supermarkets, barging all before them with their fecking trolley. Guess what, the rest of us are here to shop too.
    People who when you let them into traffic, as I did, earlier today, make no acknowledgement whatsoever. Grrrr.

1st point happened today in a tesco i was in. an old couple, pretentious and uptight , swinging their trolley around the end of the isle going into another let the trolley go as it was still moving to go look at an item, the trolley just barely tipped off me , if it wasn't for the man behind me who acted fast and stopped it, it could have been worse ,absolute fcuking gobshoites :mad: that could have been a child.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

oh and forgot to mention, my mother watching eastenders on her iPad while its actually on the tele in front of her , but seems to be watching both :confused: what a tool :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

I managed to smack myself in the nose with a kitchen cupboard door this morning, in my defence it was pre my first cup of coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

I managed to smack myself in the nose with a kitchen cupboard door this morning, in my defence it was pre my first cup of coffee.

Ouch! If it makes you feel better I have mastered the art of hitting myself with doors. Even after a few cups of coffee! :pac:

I really hate that products for sensitive skin are so much more expensive. My face is very sensitive and easily irritated so I bought some Elave spf 45 suncream. It's only a little tube about the size of a tube of handcream, 23 euro:eek::eek::eek: I'll be looking for a cheaper alternative soon as it won't even last a week I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭yr one

Everytime I open a window or door every b@stard fly/bee flies into the house buzzing around the place.

The flys at my bedroom window haven't figured out windows yet, so when laying in bed, every 2-3 mins all you hear is them bouncing off the window.. Kinda like a tiny ping pong ball.

I was very sick in bed with a migraine Wednesday and I counted 43, that was the number when i lost the will to live..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

gramar wrote: »
    Speaking of ladders I hate going up the bloody things.

4 rungs and you'd swear I was dangling from a window sill 10 storeys up.
    I had to put up an outside light at the weekend which was a rung out of my
    comfortzone. A few deep breaths and some self encouragement along the lines of 'get up that effing ladder you big wuss, ffs a child would have it done by now' and I finished an hour later what was a 10 minute job.

There's a lamp shade for a room upstairs that has been waiting to be fitted for about 3 years as it means a top rung climb which I'm incapable of doing.

Well in fairness on any building site in this country, if you have a foot on any part of the top 2 rungs of any height ladder you get in serious sh1t for health and safety. On some sites you will get sent home on the spot, some sites have ladders banned altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I can top that.

A few years back this was...I grabbed a 2litre bottle of Coke from the fridge and stood in front of the cupboard (which was at eye-level) and took a big swig (before anyone says "Use a glass!", I was the only one drinking the Coke).

So I took a big swig but I kinda moved forward and the end of the bottle hit off the cupboard meaning it went forcefully into my face..the opening of the bottle (where you drink from) hit off my front teeth and I somehow managed to cut my lip.

I ran into the bathroom thinking my teeth had fallen out, such was the force, but I just had a busted lip.

I can tell you, it was very hard to get people to believe my story...I'm sure they thought "What a far-fetched tale, she's been beat up by her partner".

fussyonion wrote: »
    I can top that.

A few years back this was...I grabbed a 2litre bottle of Coke from the fridge and stood in front of the cupboard (which was at eye-level) and took a big swig (before anyone says "Use a glass!", I was the only one drinking the Coke).

So I took a big swig but I kinda moved forward and the end of the bottle hit off the cupboard meaning it went forcefully into my face..the opening of the bottle (where you drink from) hit off my front teeth and I somehow managed to cut my lip.

I ran into the bathroom thinking my teeth had fallen out, such was the force, but I just had a busted lip.

I can tell you, it was very hard to get people to believe my story...I'm sure they thought "What a far-fetched tale, she's been beat up by her partner".

That was the first thing I thought after wondering if my nose was going to bruise.

I really hate it when a tv station messes up and repeats an episode of a series. I watched something Saturday last week and when I tuned in last night it was the very same flipping episode as last Saturday night. Somebody should be fired or fired at, I'm not too bothered which:D

I figured I'd take the young lad to the afternoon matinée of 'Maleficent', and it's just the annoyance of the little things that add up -

Cinema tickets - €8.00 for me, €6.00 for him.
    Kids popcorn and drink - €3.50 (wouldn't feed a hungry mosquito).
    3D glasses - That'll be another €1.00 each.

And the film hasn't even started when he goes "Dad, can I get a pack of malteasers and we can share?" (I won't see a smell of them!).

"Be good for us to spend time together" he said... It's not done my wallet any favors, and the movie hasn't even started yet! Eesh! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I figured I'd take the young lad to the afternoon matinée of 'Maleficent', and it's just the annoyance of the little things that add up -

And the film hasn't even started when he goes "Dad, can I get a pack of malteasers and we can share?" (I won't see a smell of them!).

"Be good for us to spend time together" he said... It's not done my wallet any favors, and the movie hasn't even started yet! Eesh! :(

Bring him into a newsagent before hand and bring a backpack with you. Cinema are too expensive. Just don't bring in crisp bags :mad:

Elmo wrote: »
    Bring him into a newsagent before hand and bring a backpack with you. Cinema are too expensive. Just don't bring in crisp bags :mad:

Ah have to say Elmo I'd budgeted about €50.00 altogether, have €20.00 left, and in all fairness Maleficent was brilliant! :D

I wasn't expecting that, well worth it, kind of a modern take on the Sleeping Beauty fairytale :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Ah have to say Elmo I'd budgeted about €50.00 altogether, have €20.00 left, and in all fairness Maleficent was brilliant! :D

I wasn't expecting that, well worth it, kind of a modern take on the Sleeping Beauty fairytale :)

I went to see it yesterday and I really liked it, I think what they did with the story was quite cool :)

That reminds me of the one and only time we took my husbands niece and nephew to the cinema in England. She wanted to see Tigger the movie and her brother wanted to see the Pokemon film so we ended up in different areas so they both got to see what they wanted. I have had a pathological hatred of Tigger ever since then. Mr P said the Pokemon film was just as bad.

I fell asleep during Tigger, as did she:rolleyes: and it cost us a small fortune. We soon discovered that we couldn't take them to any of our usual haunts to eat and at one point the nephew let go of my husbands hand and vanished in a shopping centre:eek: We finally took them for something to eat and left the little guys coat behind, didn't realise it until we got to the train station, then had to go all the way back to get it. Never ever ever took them on a day trip again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

People who stop at the entrance of shops and start a conversation an not giving one fuck that they are causing a huge inconvenience to everyone, will I buy ye a coffee and get a few chairs from the cafe so ye can be more comfortable?
    Next time feck off to the side and dont be blocking up the entrance ye ignorant donkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

People who stop at the entrance of shops and start a conversation an not giving one fuck that they are causing a huge inconvenience to everyone, will I buy ye a coffee and get a few chairs from the cafe so ye can be more comfortable?
    Next time feck off to the side and dont be blocking up the entrance ye ignorant donkeys.

Not as bad as being in a queue and someone is engaging in a full blown conversation with the cashier.Especially when yer about to piss yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Not as bad as being in a queue and someone is engaging in a full blown conversation with the cashier.Especially when yer about to piss yourself.

Another annoying issue with shopping for sure, this is why I have altered my shopping to online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

its June and the weather is poxy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

In work - during the morning coffee break, people who stand in front of the canteen cupboard that contains the coffee / tea mugs, having a conversation. Yez know what time it is, yez know people are trying to get a mug. Move off to the side and out the ****** way before I open the press door in your face.

Cars with noisy exhausts. What is it that makes guys think that having a noisy car is a good thing? It's not, it's pathetic and annoying that they are so desperate for attention that they need everyone to know they have a car. Usually they are just souped up pieces of crap anyway.

What message do they think they are sending with a noisy exhaust other than that they're idiots? It's not impressive and it's not attractive. It just makes me want to take them a side and tell them what pathetic wan*ers they are making so much frigging noise and waking people up at stupid times with their crappy little car. Only a moron would pay to have their car sound like a heap of junk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    its June and the weather is poxy

I thought the weather was great after reading about hoardes of people who made their way to the beach in Howth to knock 7 shades out of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 kdave2

ppl(girls usually) who sit in a pub with their cocktails one girl takes a picture of the drinks shows it to they other girls they start laughing(why its just their own drinks) then you see the girl who took the pic vigorously typing on her phone knowing full well she is putting it on facebook....its not an art gallery...just drink the ****ers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭Heckler

People who, when there is a huge forecourt to park in, drive up to a pump, get out and don't get petrol and go in for milk, fags, whatever taking up a pump for those who actually want fuel. **** of the highest order.