Misinformation regarding drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I don't try to justify my fondness for having a smoke to anyone, it's my choice, my body, my business

With respect, what is sad is non-users trying to lambaste us for our personal choices just because it's anathema to them

Different strokes for different folks, I appreciate y'all's concern for my well being but kindly leave me be to enjoy my vice & I will respectfully reciprocate

See, there's no such thing as a victimless crime. That's what drug users like to gloss over. Sure, some people grow their own marijuana but how do you start it off? At some point, all of it can be traced back to someone who broke the law to bring it in. And yeah, marijuana isn't the worst thing in the whole world but there has to be a chain of crime to get it here.

It's nothing to do with concern for your welfare, it's more concern for the society our friends and family grow up and live in. Frankly I don't give a toss about your welfare, but I would rather see the end of drug dealers. I would rather see a society where no 15 year old kid ends up with a huge debt to some local scumbag weed dealer who kicks seven shades of ****e out of them and where they don't try to rob someone's purse to try pay off the money, where their family isn't sitting at home worried sick about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

The profit I'm talking about is the profit made from selling drugs.

Fair enough, just being pedantic then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

See, there's no such thing as a victimless crime. That's what drug users like to gloss over. Sure, some people grow their own marijuana but how do you start it off? At some point, all of it can be traced back to someone who broke the law to bring it in. And yeah, marijuana isn't the worst thing in the whole world but there has to be a chain of crime to get it here.

Actually there is such a thing as a victimless crime. Selling and buying drugs is one of those victimless crimes actually.
    It's nothing to do with concern for your welfare, it's more concern for the society our friends and family grow up and live in. Frankly I don't give a toss about your welfare, but I would rather see the end of drug dealers. I would rather see a society where no 15 year old kid ends up with a huge debt to some local scumbag weed dealer who kicks seven shades of ****e out of them and where they don't try to rob someone's purse to try pay off the money, where their family isn't sitting at home worried sick about them.

If you want to see the end of drug dealers beating up kids then you should be in favour of legalising drugs.
    elefant wrote: »
    Fair enough, just being pedantic then.

It's hardly pedantic to highlight that what you said was the opposite of reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Actually there is such a thing as a victimless crime. Selling and buying drugs is one of those victimless crimes actually.

Selling and buying illegal drugs is not victimless. How the hell is it victimless? And I'm not talking about for just one end user, I mean for everyone involved in it. Kid gets drugs on tick, gets the crap beat out of him. That's victimless? You wouldn't be able to walk into a shop at 15 and buy vodka on tick, hence no problem.

If you want to see the end of drug dealers beating up kids then you should be in favour of legalising drugs.

Weed, maybe. But as it stands it's illegal and so is not victimless. But once it's weed what's next?

I was responding to a comment saying "oh it's only my business". Well it's not because creating demand for drugs creates a whole heap of crime. There are also financial consequences for society as a whole - think of the loss of economic productivity because of drug usage, think of the hospitalizations due to interaction with other drugs/alcohol, think of the overdoses. It's not just an individual's choice with no consequences for other. It's simply not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TheGlass

yeah but why are they not then??

alcohol, in excess, is incredibly harmful, but its regulated and steps are made towards minimising the negative effects (advertsing restrictions/warnings/drink responsible etc)

The arguement that every single one of my friends who take drugs make that "alcohol is the same if not worse"

So why then, has alcohol allowed to remain legalised but drugs not?

Fear of the unknown is a big factor I'd imagine, along with misinformation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

It's hardly pedantic to highlight that what you said was the opposite of reality.

You seem quite confrontational. Obviously if I talk about regulated drug sales being more profitable, I mean more profitable for the government.

Could you really not comprehend that, or are you being deliberately obtuse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Not attempting to gloss over anything, I'm very open about my proclivities

I do grow my own & have done for the last 25 years & not all of it can be traced back to someone who broke the law.

I have an account with 'The Amsterdam Seed Bank' for the same amount of years as I've been growing, curiously the importation & sale of cannabis seeds is completely legal in this country, cultivation is not.

& as much as you couldn't give a toss about my welfare, likewise I couldn't give a toss about some hypothetical 15 year old getting into hypothetical debt or their hypothetical family worrying about it.

If you have the strength of your own conviction, get out there & do something about it, join the Garda, run for office, actively campaign for total prohibition, but until then, you have a nice day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

Both sides of the argument are guilty of misinformation.

Pro drugs come out with rubbish arguments, the likes of:
    Regulation will mean profit from tax take.. Highly unlikely when this is a country where washing diesel and smoking imitation John Player Blue from China is the norm for many.

Regulation will mean better control of ingredients used.. Again highly unlikely as tax free underground growhouses/labs would flourish and it would be very difficult for Guards to prove if end user is stopped with legit product.

People buy alcohol in shops, of course they would buy their drugs there too.. The alcohol industry has been allowed to groom generations in this country through many means, should we let growhouses sponsor sports?

Anti drugs spout some awful cr@p too:

Drugs are bad.. They clearly have some unpleasant aspects but can be quite enjoyable too, hence their popularity. Like many things in life you need to weigh up the pro's and con's. For me the con's far outweigh the pro's.

You will become addicted.. Not true, moderation in some cases will ensure you don't. You may become obsessed with something but people can become obsessed with anything. With some drugs it's all about self control, others will be more physical.

For me there are now many deterrents. It's highly unlikely that your synthetic drugs were made in a lab by some Walter White-esque chemistry expert. More than likely some unfortunate who didn't want to be there but had no choice.
    Next time you see some unfortunate shouting on the Luas or banging up somewhere ask yourself would you lick their finger after they stuck it up their @rse because that's the type of person who is making your next yoke. For me that's more than enough to stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The only misinformation being peddled is that consuming illegal drugs is a harmless, victimless pursuit.
    Why are you singling out illegal drugs, the OP just said "drugs" and did not refer to legality. There is lots of misinformation about legal & illegal drugs, you must have your head in the sand if you think all information given about them is true, which is what you infer, dunno how you have never come across a contradiction in information.

Hey, Im totally uneducated about drugs..i just wonder why they're illegal if they are supposedly so harmless?
    Im not being smart but Id genuinely love to know why people who take drugs think that they are illegal?
    People knowingly take harmful legal & illegal drugs, in your posts you seem to think the majority of users might think they are harmless, which is certainly not my experience.

Selling and buying illegal drugs is not victimless. How the hell is it victimless? And I'm not talking about for just one end user, I mean for everyone involved in it. Kid gets drugs on tick, gets the crap beat out of him. That's victimless? You wouldn't be able to walk into a shop at 15 and buy vodka on tick, hence no problem.
    I expect you could easily buy counterfeit vodka on tick from criminal gangs who produce it. And people who burgle houses & mug grannies do not just buy heroin, contrary to popular myth I think it is highly likely that some of it is spent on booze & smokes. Huge criminal trade in cigarettes too.

Buying & selling drugs certainly can be victimless, just like the buying and selling of any product. Sometimes its not, just like any product.

People can grow & sell to their own friends, no gangs need to be involved.

rubadub wrote: »

Buying & selling drugs certainly can be victimless, just like the buying and selling of any product. Sometimes its not, just like any product.

How would you tax this or should it be exempt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

All of this could be fixed by regulation and taxation. Also weed doesn't "come in" its grown here and there are thousands of grow houses police stop one and two more pop up.

Again, not true. http://www.thejournal.ie/cannabis-toilets-1466376-May2014/

Moomat wrote: »

How did they think they would get away with that :pac:

Your right some is brought in as well but not as much as is grown here now.

How did they think they would get away with that :pac:

Your right some is brought in as well but not as much as is grown here now.

Yes a huge amount is grown here too but an equally huge amount is imported by criminal gangs.
    Much of the weed grown here is in growhouses operated by Asian gangs. Very often the poor fecker who is tending to the plants says he was forced into it. Is he telling the truth? I don't know but it seems reasonable

How would you tax this or should it be exempt?
    Same as homebrewing beer I suppose, there is no excise duty on beer making kits. Its illegal to sell homebrew beer to friends, so weed would be too.

If cannabis was legal I expect most would just buy it from an authorised and regulated outlet, just like most buy their beer & vodka in an off licence rather than make their own or buy it off some shady character to save a few euro. Some get poitin around christmas as a bit of a gimmick, most are quite wary of it though.

Same as homebrewing beer I suppose, there is no excise duty on beer making kits. Its illegal to sell homebrew beer to friends, so weed would be too.

If cannabis was legal I expect most would just buy it from an authorised and regulated outlet, just like most buy their beer & vodka in an off licence rather than make their own or buy it off some shady character to save a few euro. Some get poitin around christmas as a bit of a gimmick, most are quite wary of it though.

But you said people could grow and sell to their friends and I imagine most would regardless of the legality so now we are back to operating underground.

As for buying from shops, like my earlier points and your point, to buy it tax free would be much more attractive so underground places would flourish. You have to remember that the alchol industry spends vast sums on marketing to get you into off licences and pubs. While there would probably be a novelty factor at the start it would soon wear off and drugs would move into underground tax free sales again.

I think it needs a radical re think. Clearly current policy doesn't work, pointless arguments are made by all sides and billions are spent fighting a losing battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 MY CUP OF TEA

People knowingly take harmful legal & illegal drugs, in your posts you seem to think the majority of users might think they are harmless, which is certainly not my experience.

this is a thread about the misinformation surrounding drugs.,ie, drugs being over exaggerated as dangerous/lethal as a form of scaremongering

I was just wondering about the opinions of people who take drugs and why they think it is illegal?

From what I've read on here SOME people think it would be better if drugs were legalised and my question was, well if you think that way..have you any explanation why they havent been?

Like...my opinion is that they are illegal cause they are dangerous..but my opinion carries no weight cause I have never experienced it..if that makes any sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

this is a thread about the misinformation surrounding drugs.,ie, drugs being over exaggerated as dangerous/lethal as a form of scaremongering

I was just wondering about the opinions of people who take drugs and why they think it is illegal?

From what I've read on here SOME people think it would be better if drugs were legalised and my question was, well if you think that way..have you any explanation why they havent been?

Like...my opinion is that they are illegal cause they are dangerous..but my opinion carries no weight cause I have never experienced it..if that makes any sense?

It's an incredibly hard question to answer because they're not illegal everywhere and time makes a big difference as well. The general answer is that illegality is dependent on someone with power making money on a different drug, that could be affected by the illegal drug. It's similar to the fact that importing cheap, generics from Canada is illegal in the states.

As for the idea that legal weed would be ignored and no money would be made, Colorado seems to be doing well. And they have a very similar population size to Ireland, along with similar urban/rural demographics.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/kellyphillipserb/2014/03/11/its-no-toke-colorado-pulls-in-millions-in-marijuana-tax-revenue/

Yes a huge amount is grown here too but an equally huge amount is imported by criminal gangs.
    Much of the weed grown here is in growhouses operated by Asian gangs. Very often the poor fecker who is tending to the plants says he was forced into it. Is he telling the truth? I don't know but it seems reasonable

To be fair, if I was caught in a massive grow house I would pretend to be chinese and say "bigger boys made me do it" too :pac:

But you said people could grow and sell to their friends and I imagine most would regardless of the legality so now we are back to operating underground.
    I said people can grow, not could. I am talking of the current situation, a person can grow and sell to friends. I was saying this as an example of how it could be victimless.

If it was legalised and taxed then this practise is no longer victimless, the tax man looses out, just like I do not regard the unlicenced sale of beer or poitin as victimless.

People grow their own mainly out of necessity, its not like they particularly enjoy the expense and hassle. If legalised I expect a minority would take it up as a hobby, or try it once or twice just like people brewing beer. I only know of 1 friend who brews his own beer, I know nobody who grows their own tobacco, I have seen plants on sale here though.

"underground" sales would certainly still go on, just like with alcohol or tobacco.

You have to remember that the alchol industry spends vast sums on marketing to get you into off licences and pubs.
    And the new cannabis industry would do the same, I am not sure why you think this particular drug would be so different from all the current recreational and medicinal drugs out there.

If alcohol or tobacco were discovered today they would be illegal. Automatically making recreational drugs illegal is the norm, regardless of potential harm -in fact often the more harmless it is the more likely it is to be made illegal. This is since they will say it has a higher potential for abuse if there are no downsides.

If they discovered a new alcohol which gave no hangover it would be open to even more abuse. The "party pill" drug BZP was legal at one stage and seen as an alternative to Ecstasy/MDMA, one reason given for the accepted legality was the fact it gave a terrible comedown (hangover) effect so was not likely to be used frequently. The drug GHB was seen as a possibly alternative recreational drug to alcohol, its even used to treat alcoholics, it was made illegal, fueled by the myth of its widespread use as a date rape drug. Many doctors were opposed to this and viewed it as a safer substance than alcohol. There would be very strong alcohol lobby who would not want any new recreational drugs out there which would take from their trade, especially a safer drug with minimal hangover/comedown effects.

Lots of these new drugs are made illegal to nip them in the bud before they get a strong user base. Once mammy and the local garda are using/abusing the new drug alongside using/abusing alcohol it will be harder to ban it without public outcry.

Due to religious reasons many societies have a deep rooted fear of having citizens freely enjoying altered states of consciousness. Some see it as challenging god or having false gods, the repression of mind altering substances goes back centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Dangerous how? Which drugs?
    Saying drugs are dangerous so all drugs should be illegal doesn't make sense.

I would agree that any drug with scientific proof of it being dangerous should be made illegal but lumping every drug in there just because its a drug and saying it's illegal is ignorant and narrow minded.

At the same time I do think that even illegal drugs should have a place in medical research. One of the most potent pain relievers (morphine) comes from the same plant as one of the most destructive illegal drugs (heroin).

Now I ask you, do you not think that we should revisit/revise the legality of certain topics to ensure the evidence/proof for it's status is not outdated / is still true?

If alcohol or tobacco were discovered today they would be illegal. Automatically making recreational drugs illegal is the norm, regardless of potential harm -in fact often the more harmless it is the more likely it is to be made illegal. This is since they will say it has a higher potential for abuse if there are no downsides.

If they discovered a new alcohol which gave no hangover it would be open to even more abuse. The "party pill" drug BZP was legal at one stage and seen as an alternative to Ecstasy/MDMA, one reason given for the accepted legality was the fact it gave a terrible comedown (hangover) effect so was not likely to be used frequently. The drug GHB was seen as a possibly alternative recreational drug to alcohol, its even used to treat alcoholics, it was made illegal, fueled by the myth of its widespread use as a date rape drug. Many doctors were opposed to this and viewed it as a safer substance than alcohol. There would be very strong alcohol lobby who would not want any new recreational drugs out there which would take from their trade, especially a safer drug with minimal hangover/comedown effects.

Lots of these new drugs are made illegal to nip them in the bud before they get a strong user base. Once mammy and the local garda are using/abusing the new drug alongside using/abusing alcohol it will be harder to ban it without public outcry.

Due to religious reasons many societies have a deep rooted fear of having citizens freely enjoying altered states of consciousness. Some see it as challenging god or having false gods, the repression of mind altering substances goes back centuries.

Yeah this makes loads of sense!... My two main arguements when debating drugs v alcohol with my pharma assisted friends. Is one, I dont have to hide in the toilets and drink jager shots off the back of the cistern and two, i can look at my bottle of beer and read the ingredients.

Legalisation would nullify both these points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Life is great just as it is, without altering one's perception of reality.

Change your reality if it bothers you so much.

Idiots use substances to alter their perception temporarily, rather than actually doing something constructive to change it.

Some of them don't make it/natural selection.
    I find this hysterical. There are many many successful people doing drugs it just happens some are illegal and others aren't.

Lots of people have changed the world for the better used drugs.

The thread is really about information and how making any blanket statements is an issue. So when it comes to idiots those who wilfully ignore reality are the real danger. That would be people who blanketly say drugs are all bad.

Have you never had a drink? The most popular drug in this country

Caliden wrote: »
    Dangerous how? Which drugs?
    Saying drugs are dangerous so all drugs should be illegal doesn't make sense.

I would agree that any drug with scientific proof of it being dangerous should be made illegal but lumping every drug in there just because its a drug and saying it's illegal is ignorant and narrow minded.

At the same time I do think that even illegal drugs should have a place in medical research. One of the most potent pain relievers (morphine) comes from the same plant as one of the most destructive illegal drugs (heroin).

Now I ask you, do you not think that we should revisit/revise the legality of certain topics to ensure the evidence/proof for it's status is not outdated / is still true?

no definitely!..like ive already said im completely uneducated when it comes to drugs!..the same way im uneducated about say rally driving... If someone was to ask me if rally driving should be illegal because its dangerous, I would be in no way able to comment..id ask someone who had done it before for their opion!

I dont see anything wrong being ignorant about something and looking to get a perpective on it?..i think thats the opposite of narrow minded!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

while im hugely in favour of legalisation, i cant agree with this part of your post.

i think people should be allowed grow their own, or go in on a grow between a few people but if the industry has any chance of making it the government will have to have their cut. and it also means the age it can be sold to can be enforced.

so like i said, legal to grow for yourself or as a group of people. or if you dont want to grow it, you buy it from a legit retailer.

this is a way of keeping the unlawful dealing side criminal but the possession side completely legal.

Life is great just as it is, without altering one's perception of reality.

Change your reality if it bothers you so much.
    Eating only chicken sandwiches is great, no need to try different foods. Try them if it really bothers you, but I get by fine with my chicken sandwiches and have never been tempted to try anything else, sure why would I?

People have different appetites for things, be it food, exercise, adrenaline, music, sex etc. Some have very little appetite so cannot understand why others bother with it, that's fine, but at least others might enjoy sex or altered states of consciousness more than you. Dunno why people feel the need to persecute others over something they do not care for.
    Idiots use substances to alter their perception temporarily, rather than actually doing something constructive to change it.
    Are you saying if you use mind altering substances then you are an idiot? this would be most of the population, you do realise alcohol alters your perception. To me the idiots are the ones who go through their life exclaiming their love for their single mind altering drug and refusing to try any others. Just like someone who only ate chicken sandwiches.

Or are they only idiots if the substance is illegal? then theres a hell of a lot of idiot musicians out there. I know successful businessmen who only drink but you might deem them idiots since I have seen them drinking illegally in pub lock-ins.

Steve Jobs was a total idiot, as he said “Taking LSD was a profound experience, one of the most important things in my life. LSD shows you that there’s another side to the coin, and you can’t remember it when it wears off, but you know it. It reinforced my sense of what was important—creating great things instead of making money, putting things back into the stream of history and of human consciousness as much as I could.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

no definitely!..like ive already said im completely uneducated when it comes to drugs!..the same way im uneducated about say rally driving... If someone was to ask me if rally driving should be illegal because its dangerous, I would be in no way able to comment..id ask someone who had done it before for their opion!

I dont see anything wrong being ignorant about something and looking to get a perpective on it?..i think thats the opposite of narrow minded!!!

Sorry, the way that was written it's like they're directly connected.

Of course someone can be ignorant of something but open minded about the subject.

I haven't got a clue about drugs myself but there are studies out there that show some recreational drugs have a place in the medical world as medication for *some* patients.
    I say some because as with any medication, what might work for someone might not work for someone else.

while im hugely in favour of legalisation, i cant agree with this part of your post.

i think people should be allowed grow their own, or go in on a grow between a few people but if the industry has any chance of making it the government will have to have their cut. and it also means the age it can be sold to can be enforcedl.
    I already addressed this, and agree with everything you said there.
    I said people can grow, not could. I am talking of the current situation, a person can grow and sell to friends. I was saying this as an example of how it could be victimless.

If it was legalised and taxed then this practise is no longer victimless, the tax man looses out, just like I do not regard the unlicenced sale of beer or poitin as victimless.

People grow their own mainly out of necessity, its not like they particularly enjoy the expense and hassle. If legalised I expect a minority would take it up as a hobby, or try it once or twice just like people brewing beer. I only know of 1 friend who brews his own beer, I know nobody who grows their own tobacco, I have seen plants on sale here though.

"underground" sales would certainly still go on, just like with alcohol or tobacco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

I already addressed this, and agree with everything you said there.

yeah, i quoted you not realising i was on the 2nd last page. thats what this evil weed does. look at it destroying our relationship before we've even met :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TheGlass

Both sides of the argument are guilty of misinformation.

Pro drugs come out with rubbish arguments, the likes of:
    Regulation will mean profit from tax take.. Highly unlikely when this is a country where washing diesel and smoking imitation John Player Blue from China is the norm for many.

Regulation will mean better control of ingredients used.. Again highly unlikely as tax free underground growhouses/labs would flourish and it would be very difficult for Guards to prove if end user is stopped with legit product.

People buy alcohol in shops, of course they would buy their drugs there too.. The alcohol industry has been allowed to groom generations in this country through many means, should we let growhouses sponsor sports?
    I don't agree with these points.
    1. There's a massive amount of tax taken from alcohol, fuel and cigarettes. Imagine how much bigger the black market would be if these things were illegal.
    2 & 3. It clearly would lead to better ingredients. The vast majority would buy something they know is safe and regulated rather than buy it off something underground as they're forced to now.
    And its highly unlikely they'd be sponsoring sports events, just as cigarette companies aren't allowed (afaik?) and in some European countries alcohol sponsorship is banned. Its not as if legalising them will lead to a free for all with drugs forced onto people. It would be regulated, making things safer for anyone who decides to take drugs, and take a lot of money out of criminals hands.
    Plenty of people would still decide not to take drugs, the majority don't smoke. If heroin was legalized in the morning, there wouldn't be a sudden rush to try it, the majority would keep well clear of it.