Drinking while playing ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

the lawman wrote: »
    This thread has a little bit of everything. Wonderful.

A golfing C*CK(and bull)TALE ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

snaphook wrote: »
    Are you like Roy McAvoy? Always playing better when you're wasted ;)

It never did Bill Werbeniuk no harm in the snooker arena....

2-4270-google1.jpg

Golf and snooker are very similar games. They both involve getting balls in a hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

A golf club in the hands of someone a bit pissed is potentially a dangerous weapon. I've played a few public courses in the US where drinking was common and it can be very unpleasant to be within slicing range of some of them. Boorish behaviour is all too common on US public courses and a half cut boor hitting a hard projectile is not nice to be around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Howshocowpownw

In Canada golf is all about the craic and getting drunk. For the majority it something to do during hockey offseason. I have to say I was shocked that Ireland of all places wasn't the same. Find it a great place to live, even though this experience left a really sour taste. I won't let it put me off venturing out on some nice summer days in the coming months. It's a great way to spend a day(most of the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

In Canada golf is all about the craic and getting drunk. For the majority it something to do during hockey offseason. I have to say I was shocked that Ireland of all places wasn't the same. Find it a great place to live, even though this experience left a really sour taste. I won't let it put me off venturing out on some nice summer days in the coming months. It's a great way to spend a day(most of the time)

The fact in Ireland we don't get pissed on a golf course left a sour taste in your mouth?
    Have I got that right???

ForeRight wrote: »
    The fact in Ireland we don't get pissed on a golf course left a sour taste in your mouth?
    Have I got that right???

No, the way we were treated. The fact you don't left me surprised that was all. Double read posts maybe :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

I can't understand why you would go drinking on a golf course. I just don't see the attraction with it.

You must have done something for them to step in on you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭dixiefly

No, the way we were treated. The fact you don't left me surprised that was all. Double read posts maybe :)

What was the course as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

What course were you on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Some of the previous golf courses I have worked at actually had "no alcohol" allowed on course Local Rules. Of course is hard to enforce but could be used in the event of unacceptable behaviour.

You would be amazed at the damage done to buggies / course and behaviour by some lads having a few drinks out playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Golf and alcohol do not seem to mix with golf in Ireland.

I think it is a good thing, but it is not the norm in other locations.

But at the same measure (sorry for pun), the relationship with drink is different in other locations.

You will get a puritanical response here , but that is an Irish response to an Irish problem.

In parts of America and other cultures , people wouldnt bat an eyelid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

While I think it's a wind up thread, I think some people posting here saying it should never happen are not drawing a distinction between drinking on course and being drunk on course. They are quite different things.

I think in hot weather a couple of cold bottles of bulmers would damn near hit my g spot.
    I played Concra Friday one week ago on a really sunny hot day and two or three pint bottles over the 4 ish hours would have been lovely.

Someone made the point that the driver or any club could be a real weapon in the hands of someone with drink on board and while that is true I think if it's an issue having 3-4 units of alcohol over a 4hour period you probably have some problem metabolising your alcohol.

Just be a little more measured here and it's all good, no drunk people and one or two social drinks is no harm either.

That said I've never done it and I'd only do it in a cart. I don't use a cart and don't plan to in the medium to long term either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

I was on the Ballybunion website before I read this thread here and they have a no alcohol policy btw
    just saying :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

And you drove home? Awesome! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭TrapperChamonix

Way back in the day I played in a work Golf Soc in the beautiful Harry Colt designed Stoke Poges GC near Beaconsfield. Fairly stiff club, no shorts without knee length socks, must have jacket and tie on in the clubhouse etc etc. Location for the filming of the iconic match between James Bond and Auric Goldfinger.
    We used to play 36 holes a day, 4ball in the morning and foresomes in the afternoon so early starts all round. I was in my mid 20's and drawn with a partner in his 50's who had come up from Michledean (English Welsh boarder). So there we are walking on to the 2nd tee at about 7:40 in the morning when he cracks open a tin of John Smiths and offers me one. I declined but he proceeded to have one every 2 holes and by the time we finished the 18 he was in bits. He didn't show up for the foresomes in the afternoon, THANK GOD. He must have run out of cans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Drinking on the course in Dubai is the norm. There are drinks carts that follow you around. There are coolers built into the golf buggies and when I played the Els course recently there was an air-conditioned bar on the 9th hole...

...& this is in a country where drinking in most places is illegal. BTW, the golf course is the cheapest place to buy beer, its generally €5 a bottle, in most other places its about €9 a bottle/pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

live and let live

as long as people aren't misbehaving then it's not a problem, enjoy your drink sensibly etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

Bad lookout if someone can't do without a drink til they get to the clubhouse. There are enough messers about without lads drinking on the course.

(Drink! Feck! Golf! Girls!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Drinking while golfing is a big no no in this country and Europe in general, you were lucky all they did was throw you off the course,

This is complete garbage.
    In Spain & Portugal they send a buggy bar around the course, actively selling alcohol to anyone on the course who wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

They could have called the Guards had you tested/done for drunk driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

yaboya1 wrote: »
    This is complete garbage.
    In Spain & Portugal they send a buggy bar around the course, actively selling alcohol to anyone on the course who wants it.

That doesn't mean you have to drink. A beer or two over 4 hours is not a problem. Treating a round as a piss up is.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    What course were you on?

The one up past fairview.
    Reoil wrote: »
    They could have called the Guards had you tested/done for drunk driving.

They could have done me for drink driving because I was drinking. Drunk driving not so much as I wasn't drunk :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

First Up wrote: »
    That doesn't mean you have to drink. A beer or two over 4 hours is not a problem. Treating a round as a piss up is.

I didn't say you did. Have a look at what I'm responding to.
    If it's "a big no no", why are they selling it to you on the course?

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Even tough I think the OP is a wind up I'll admit to have knocked back a few tinnies in my time while playing.
    Only awkward thing is where to store the bottle/can between shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I didn't say you did. Have a look at what I'm responding to.
    If it's "a big no no", why are they selling it to you on the course?

^^^ Agree with this - it is certainly not a big no no in the UK, Spain or Portugal but there does seem to be a prevailing attitude in Ireland that it's not on to have a drink while you're playing.

The one up past fairview.

They could have done me for drink driving because I was drinking. Drunk driving not so much as I wasn't drunk :)

Did u get in your car and drive off after drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

etxp wrote: »
    Did u get in your car and drive off after drinking?

Some people can't seem to understand that "drinking" and getting drunk are two different things.

Very Irish perspective really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Wombatman wrote: »
    Some people can't seem to understand that "drinking" and getting drunk are two different things.

Very Irish perspective really.

Not too different in terms of driving in this country though.

You can have one drink, not be drunk of course but if involved in an accident you are a drink driver when in court and forever will carry that stigma.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Not too different in terms of driving in this country though.

You can have one drink, not be drunk of course but if involved in an accident you are a drink driver when in court and forever will carry that stigma.

Only if you fail the breathalyser.