Padraig Harrington Golfwear at Dunnes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭plumber77

Could be a good selection for something looking for gear, that's not quite heatons or not even close to Galvin Green. People like me in other words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I actually thought this was a piss take

goes to show you how the mighty have fallen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭gman127

And if you make sure to 3 putt a few times a round there'll be no telling whether it's actually Padraig himself playing!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

stevieob wrote: »

Harrington is a legend! What the fcuk did you ever win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

Fair play, who says golf gear has to be uber expensive.

This is along the same lines as what Adam Scott wears, http://www.uniqlo.com/uk/

That clobber is really affordable and no one give him guff about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Not bad looking gear. Sure why shouldn't Padraig get involved like this with an Irish company? More luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

looks good, will keep any eye out for this line. in the market for a nice pair of trousers for the summer. Sportsdirect is grand but the fit can be a bit off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Westwood has been wearing Dunlop for years.

Roy Keane wore Diableedindoras so what does it matter if paddy is wearing St Bernard.

Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Why is he so happy to be in the bunker?

Aligning with somethig like this is a genius idea, just ask George Foreman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

razorblunt wrote: »
    Why is he so happy to be in the bunker?

Probably happy to have found the bloody ball for once! :)

I think fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭denishurley

hades wrote: »

This is along the same lines as what Adam Scott wears, http://www.uniqlo.com/uk/

That clobber is really affordable and no one give him guff about it.

I've bought a load of Uniqlo stuff and I love it, their pants are brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Is his deal with Kartel gone then? I know they seem to be throwing themselves behind GMac nowadays

Shady Tady wrote: »
    Harrington is a legend! What the fcuk did you ever win?

The Boards Golf Society Captains Prize 2013 :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I've bought a load of Uniqlo stuff and I love it, their pants are brilliant
    What are the sizes like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Telecaster58

I'm with you on this one. He really is a hungry bollox. He'd milk any cow that came to hand. I remember last year he was advertising the swing vest, or something like that. It was excruciating watching the ads, and I've never seen anyone using one. No-one would dare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

I'm with you on this one. He really is a hungry bollox. He'd milk any cow that came to hand. I remember last year he was advertising the swing vest, or something like that. It was excruciating watching the ads, and I've never seen anyone using one. No-one would dare.

Has to be a wind up?

A massive % of tour players past and present have their own off course business interests with a lot of them having clothing brands. Many major winners.

Good luck to them

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Ok so it's not a huge brand but people seem to forget Dunnes have an annual turnover of €3 billion....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Padraig uses it and he looks happy. That's good enough for me.

Padrig_facefront-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Zardoz

hades wrote: »

Padraig's line at Dunnes isnt exactly cheap though ,30 euro for a polo ,40 euro for shorts,60 euro for trousers .
    You'd get far better gear shopping around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭denishurley

What are the sizes like?

Smallish, I'm usually a medium but their large suits me perfectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Outside of Harro die harders, I wouldnt see this as a dunnes master stroke. Even forgetting his recent form and the resultant lack of exposure, Padraig has never (nor has he ever claimed to be) a style icon of the fairways.

Kartel are on to a winner with McDowell who always looks the part, but Padraig not so much. Clashes everywhere and even his hat never seemed to be on him properly. Not that he gives a toss, but Dunnes should, even with his brilliant career to help sales.

Scott's gear might be affordable but he's very coordinated with it. You may not like Poulter's style, but he certainly has it! Luke Donald is another man who could sell clothes imo, always looks very sharp.

The gear looks decent in fairness but I hope Dunnes have a dresser signed up as well..,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Telecaster58

Wombatman wrote: »
    Padraig uses it and he looks happy. That's good enough for me.

Padrig_facefront-1.jpg

Aaargh! That's it. It's like a straitjacket. I bet it was offered to anyone and everyone before it got to him

I think Chris Doak might be in the market for one judging by twitter unless I got the wrong end of the stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Good aul Irish begrudgery is alive and well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

looks good, will keep any eye out for this line. in the market for a nice pair of trousers for the summer. Sportsdirect is grand but the fit can be a bit off

+1 bought 3 Dunlop pants €3:50 each all the same size on the label but about 3inch variation. Can't complain though the price was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

+1 bought 3 Dunlop pants €3:50 each all the same size on the label but about 3inch variation. Can't complain though the price was great.

Good value here too

http://www.mandmdirect.ie/01/sport/golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭unattendedbag

€35 for a t shirt and €60 for trousers is a strange decision as it brings the clothing range into direct competition with the other major brands like Nike, ping, Adidas etc. The quality is not as good as the main brands either, therefore the only people buying this range will be people in love with padraig Harrington or those looking for the irishness in their golf clothes. If they dropped the price about 30-40% and entered the cheaper section of the market then I'd consider it but as it stands there is far superior clothes elsewhere for the same price.

the missus spotted the gear in "Yves Sáint Berrnaard" yesterday and reckoned it all looked like stuff made for her old man.... he is nearly 80!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

€35 for a t shirt and €60 for trousers is a strange decision as it brings the clothing range into direct competition with the other major brands like Nike, ping, Adidas etc. The quality is not as good as the main brands either, therefore the only people buying this range will be people in love with padraig Harrington or those looking for the irishness in their golf clothes. If they dropped the price about 30-40% and entered the cheaper section of the market then I'd consider it but as it stands there is far superior clothes elsewhere for the same price.

There's no way I'm paying 60 quid for a pair of trousers from Dunnes.
    And I've nothing against Dunnes/Penny's etc. I've worn trousers purchased from there before for golf.... Paid about 45 quid less for them....I'll write Paddys name on them with the sparky if they get another round out.

The t-shirts look incredibly plain.