Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

tossy wrote: »
    Kudos to you dude, i was hoping i'd feel the wrath of the high horse brigade and have a little fun. doing 155 with a camera in one hand and thumbs up with the other lol.

The engine light was the giveaway. Good camera skills though, I tried to catch my needle sweep but the phones not up to much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

The give away was you tried to cover the other guages but I could still see the needles even on my phone !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

Didn't try cover up the gauges, completely forgot about the temp gauge just worked out nicely.

I tried taking a pic first but couldn't catch it so took a video and took a still from it lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I knew that was the case, but was hoping to tease you all a bit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Interslice wrote: »
    DOEing the vans working out pricey.

111 for the test
    43 for the re test.
    Set of rear springs 160 (one broken)
    brake load valve 120
    front wishbone bushes 35
    Bit of labour to set tracking and pressing bushes 60
    reg plate connector 1 euro

550ish all in

There goes any craic for the next few weeks :(. None of them are really parts you can get second hand either apart from the reg plate bulb conector which I got for a euro. Tax is out in three days too.

He didn't notice the moog track rod end has split already. Only lasted a year :cool:.

That's crap man. Hope you get it sorted as cheaply as possible. I wasn't joking about the new test system seems to have gone from one extreme to the other. I always laugh when I here people on here giving out about the nct 111 euro vs 55 euro. Every year vs every four, two. I think the nct are more likely to give you the benefit of the doubt and yet still people give out about the nct granted it's not normally the regular posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Interslice wrote: »
    It's on the inside of the dashboard when you open the drivers door. It is on a golf anyway :).

Cheers mate! I assume the golf interior is the exact as a bora anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Jaysus there's nothing but people posting their new cars today... well wear to ye all!

Anyhow, the new concept passat. Due to be out here Jan 15. These are some of the drawings.

Maybe it's been posted before...

10401489_718592514886130_1580777322423808317_n.jpg

10414911_718592518219463_5474194559003360026_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

tossy wrote: »
    Kudos to you dude, i was hoping i'd feel the wrath of the high horse brigade and have a little fun. doing 155 with a camera in one hand and thumbs up with the other lol. The engine light is the give away.

To be fair, at 155 the check engine light would probably come on in that yoke :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Page 155 and all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

2002 Ford Focus 1.4 for sale from a friend of mine if anyone knows someone interested.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-1-4ltr-ford-focus/7027641

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Bpmull wrote: »
    That's crap man. Hope you get it sorted as cheaply as possible. I wasn't joking about the new test system seems to have gone from one extreme to the other. I always laugh when I here people on here giving out about the nct 111 euro vs 55 euro. Every year vs every four, two. I think the nct are more likely to give you the benefit of the doubt and yet still people give out about the nct granted it's not normally the regular posters.

This one took about 30/35 minutes. I think last years was around 20. He seemed to go though the suspension and running gear very thoroughly up on the ramp but otherwise it appeared similar enough. Can't complain about the test tbh though, all of it is justified bar the price. 150 quid for under a hours work in total is a bit much. The cost for the DOE centre hasn't changed either, it's still 70 plus vat for the test, just a 21 euro RSA levy is added on.

2002 Ford Focus 1.4 for sale from a friend of mine if anyone knows someone interested.

Looks like a grand car. For some reason I laughed when I seen the towbar as going by what's said here that 1.4 engine struggles to pull the car around never mind a trailer :pac:

If it was a year or two newer, Zetec or higher spec, black and was a 1.6 I'd take it. So as you can see it meets lots of my criteria :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Done with college FOR EVER as of Monday afternoon. Jumped into the mighty Primera straight after the exam and booted it all the way to Galway :cool: Been on the piss since :p

It's on trips like that that I don't miss the levin, the primera just laps up the motorway miles like nobody's business :)

Looks like a grand car. For some reason I laughed when I seen the towbar as going by what's said here that 1.4 engine struggles to pull the car around never mind a trailer :pac:

I knew there'd be some smart fecker who would bring up both the 1.4 and the hitch. I just didn't know that 1 person could be such a smart ass lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I had one of those 1.4's there alright no rocket but can move under it's own weight. The power is 84bhp. The 1.6100bhp is much better to drive and nippy enough fun on backroads and great at road holding. There isn't much difference in fuel economy and they both do about 35 on a motorway. This will change depending on you're driving style though.

Aren't the mk1 73bhp/75PS?

Even the mk2 wasn't 86bhp

Well, as the ad says, it's a good car for a new driver or as a second car and it's solid and reasonably priced so I said I'd let ye know like!

You should know it doesn't work like that here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Anyone know what's going on on the road to Trim?

A massive amount of racing cyclists out. Some of them very hard to spot.

I also wonder why the bottom of my car looks like an oil-bomb exploded between the gearbox and the brake lines. All fluids appear to be in their correct places and there's never anything in the drive when it's moved. But it's utterly covered.

Maybe Joe Duffy spilled something when changing the gear oil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

It's times like this i love my car :D

Took it out for a spin, threw it into corners and it was like c'mon is that all you got? Gave it some welly, and it just kept going and going, outside the hammers of hell were going at it and inside, I may as well have been at home doing nothing, even my woolly hat was undisturbed :P

For 1 and a half tonne estate it is incredibly responsive in all aspects of the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

in before the vectra chassis gets mentioned:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Kinda falling for the ST all over again with all this selling talk.

Stacey you slag :(

OSI wrote: »
    Hour much is the tax and insurance lad. Is she tight on daysul yeah? Petrol? Ah feck off, do I look like Richard Branson?

LOL :D

In other news, I have my LED angel eyes back again :)

Can you add a driver to a policy for 3 months?

Well if there is only 3 months left on the policy then you can add the person for the remainder of the policy obviously. But I'm not sure if you can add a person starting now and finish day x even though the policy isn't up for renewal.

Ya, the policy is up for renewal next week, family member wants to add one of their childer for the Summer months until they go back to college in September. I'm reading the sticky on it, but I can't find much...

I can't say I've heard of anyone doing that. If the added driver is only learning it could end up costing a lot to get them on for the year and cancel it after the 3 months. I remember when I got the astra and had 3-4 months left on the octavia the amount fbd gave back when we canceled me on the policy was laughable when compared to the premium they charged in the first place.

Ya it's hard to know. But this person has already been insured this past year, so it would be just a continuation of the policy. Ahh, they'll figure it out themselves :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Just leave it, don't change the policy and they'll still be a named driver. You're only adding admin costs every time you change something tbh .