Drinking while playing ??

• 27-05-2014 01:46PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭

So myself and a friend like to go golfing a couple times a year. We don't take it serious, just like to hire a cart have a few drinks and a bit of craic.

However the other day, we were asked to leave the course. Which of course we refused as we had paid our money. The reason we were given was that we were drinking ?? Is that against the rules ? Would everybody be asked to leave because of this or was it because we weren't members ?

Eventually we had to drive off and forget the golf as we were being harassed every hole and almost physically being stopped from taking our shots. Which was a disgusting and left myself and my friend very upset. Don't worry we will be making a complaint and hope to see that man lose his job, for his outrageous behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Was it against the club rules? I would presume it's against most clubs rules, especially if you're operating a golf cart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭davo2001

Put it like this, if you were playing tennis at a tennis club and you were drinking while playing would you be expected to leave?
    If you were playing soccer at a soccer club and were drinking while playing would you be expected to leave?

IMHO, yes you would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

TBF, golf isnt really a play a few holes and have a few drinks in this county, at least not in my opinion.

Personally I'm bloody glad of it too.
    People drinking are usually roaring and shouting across the course, blissfully unaware of everyone else.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

So myself and a friend like to go golfing a couple times a year. We don't take it serious, just like to hire a cart have a few drinks and a bit of craic.

However the other day, we were asked to leave the course. Which of course we refused as we had paid our money. The reason we were given was that we were drinking ?? Is that against the rules ? Would everybody be asked to leave because of this or was it because we weren't members ?

Eventually we had to drive off and forget the golf as we were being harassed every hole and almost physically being stopped from taking our shots. Which was a disgusting and left myself and my friend very upset. Don't worry we will be making a complaint and hope to see that man lose his job, for his outrageous behavior.

Ok from this I am gathering that you drove off after you were drinking?

How much did you have to drink and were you been loud/acting the maggot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Cart plus drink plus Irish Fella = no cart, possible law suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Hip flask in the winter is your only man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,212 ✭✭✭Panrich

What brought you to the attention of the man in the first place? Did he see you drinking?

For me personally it's hard enough to hit any decent shots when I'm stone cold sober so I don't see the attraction in adding a few beers to the mix. I don't mind a few afterwards when doing the post mortem.

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Was it against the club rules? I would presume it's against most clubs rules, especially if you're operating a golf cart.

Given that many clubs (Druids Glen springs immediately to mind) are willing to sell you alcoholic drinks in the middle of your round, I doubt that.

I guess it depends on whether OP was drunk, as opposed to 'having a drink'. If the former I have no sympathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Honestly I'm glad they did throw ye out cos I think it's totally not on. If you want drinks and craic go to a pub.
    Imagine the mayhem that would ensue if half the guys on the course were on juice. I'm not saying that's what you did but usually drink goes hand in hand with messing around and inappropriate behaviour. Can't say I'd like that around me when playing golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Jesus, in the US they bring the drinks out to you on a cart. I'm not sure why they'd be so against having a few drinks here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Howshocowpownw

GreeBo wrote: »
    TBF, golf isnt really a play a few holes and have a few drinks in this county, at least not in my opinion.

Personally I'm bloody glad of it too.
    People drinking are usually roaring and shouting across the course, blissfully unaware of everyone else.

Ah ! In Canada it would be strange to see people not drinking/drunk. Except in a couple places.
    Panrich wrote: »
    What brought you to the attention of the man in the first place? Did he see you drinking?

For me personally it's hard enough to hit any decent shots when I'm stone cold sober so I don't see the attraction in adding a few beers to the mix. I don't mind a few afterwards when doing the post mortem.

No we were keeping to ourselves. The man first approached us on one of the first few holes. After we actually got the ball on the green, we drove on and went to put the ball in the hole and people at the hole beside start shouting at us !! drink wouldn't have been visible to them, not that we were hiding it.

After we actually got the ball on the green, we drove on and went to put the ball in the hole and people at the hole beside start shouting at us !! drink wouldn't have been visible to them, not that we were hiding it.

You didn't drive onto the green did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Think I'll crack open a tinnie and sit back for this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭Russman

Nino Brown wrote: »
    Jesus, in the US they bring the drinks out to you on a cart. I'm not sure why they'd be so against having a few drinks here.

Stereotypical generalisation coming up :D

Because usually Irish guys can't just have one or two. Put a few lads together, essentially in a field with buggies and its a recipe for mayhem......

".....you'll never make it over that ditch ya mad thing......"
    "....course I will, sure its only a couple of feet....."
    "....fiver says you can't....."
    ".....right, you're on...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Given that many clubs (Druids Glen springs immediately to mind) are willing to sell you alcoholic drinks in the middle of your round, I doubt that.

I did not know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭Russman

After we actually got the ball on the green, we drove on and went to put the ball in the hole and people at the hole beside start shouting at us

You drove onto the green ??

or is this a wind up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

Drinking while golfing is a big no no in this country and Europe in general, you were lucky all they did was throw you off the course,

Drinking while golfing is a big no noin this country and Europe in general, you were lucky all they did was throw you off the course,

Yeah, you could have got the death penalty! And nobody likes the death penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Russman wrote: »
    You drove onto the green ??

or is this a wind up ?

He was probably driving on the wrong side of the green too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

No we were keeping to ourselves. The man first approached us on one of the first few holes. After we actually got the ball on the green, we drove on and went to put the ball in the hole and people at the hole beside start shouting at us !! drink wouldn't have been visible to them, not that we were hiding it.

Why do you suppose people on a nearby hole started shouting at you.

This is a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

Nino Brown wrote: »
    Yeah, you could have got the death penalty! And nobody likes the death penalty.
    Ah dunno about that, it has it's merits in some cases, you know like for the sake of civilisation and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Stop biting lads!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    I did not know that!

Slieve Russell too. Cant think of any more right now. Depends on the event I guess. I know I played in a few classics etc where there would be a bbq and a beer after the 9th. Can be enjoyable but only if you're not taking your game too seriously.

Sorry OP for going off track a little :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Boskowski wrote: »
    Honestly I'm glad they did throw ye out cos I think it's totally not on. If you want drinks and craic go to a pub.
    Imagine the mayhem that would ensue if half the guys on the course were on juice. I'm not saying that's what you did but usually drink goes hand in hand with messing around and inappropriate behaviour. Can't say I'd like that around me when playing golf.

What a totally ridiculous statement - as stated earlier many courses have a cart that brings you beer.

If you or your mates can't have a drink without "messing around or inappropriate behavior" that's your lookout.

Personally I don't drink often on the course unless I am with friends on a nice summers day having a bounce game(with 2 or 3 cold beers) - to say it's unacceptable is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Drinking while golfing is a big no no in this country and Europe in general, you were lucky all they did was throw you off the course,

You've obviously not played in Scotland very often.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Sean_pop

Personally I would have no problem with someone drinking on a Golf course as long as they do it in moderation and they do not become loud and Obnoxious to others.:cool::cool: What course did this happen on???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Howshocowpownw

Really ? what more should have happened ? We were robbed of money we paid, abused and shamed. I've half a mind to go and see a lawyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Really ? what more should have happened ? We were robbed of money we paid, abused and shamed. I've half a mind to go and see a lawyer.

Come back Conno!!! All is forgiven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

You need to hide your hooch better. Buy a bottle of Lucozade, get rid of its contents and fill it with whiskey instead. Job done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

What a totally ridiculous statement - as stated earlier many courses have a cart that brings you beer.

If you or your mates can't have a drink without "messing around or inappropriate behavior" that's your lookout.

Personally I don't drink often on the course unless I am with friends on a nice summers day having a bounce game(with 2 or 3 cold beers) - to say it's unacceptable is nonsense.

I don't think it's unacceptable per se. I'm sure you and your mates can handle it and I can too. I played in the US and the buggy had a mini fridge and we had 2 or 3 each.
    But I'm glad it's not the norm here cos if a sufficient number of lads were doing it you would have messin and incidents. I have no doubt about that.
    Maybe my first post was a bit rigorous but where do you draw the line? I'm much happier with it not being allowed tbh.
    Plus what about danger and liabilities? I know it's not quite the same but would you allow drink and clay pigeon shooting for example?