Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

So, wotzgoingon... I don't think you said where you're from. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

GvidoR wrote: »
    So, wotzgoingon... I don't think you said where you're from. :D

I'm Irish also GvidoR. I can't believe you swaped the colt. You got what you wanted anyway a VW. You found somebody to swap very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I'm Irish also GvidoR. I can't believe you swaped the colt. You got what you wanted anyway a VW. You found somebody to swap very quick.

Oh, but you said we wont believe where you're from originally...

Yes, I'm very happy with the Bora so far. I had one before, almost identical to this and it feels so good to be back, heheh. The only thing that could make it better is if it had a 1.8T 20V engine. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Interslice

Its essentially a sump drop, coupled with taking the driveshafts, and subframe out, then getting the engine supported with an engine crane and getting the gearbox out....I think, 600 is the cheapest i got

Is it the crank seal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Interslice wrote: »
    Is it the crank seal?

I think so, according to my mechanic it's the seal where the box connects to the engine, mentioned something about a bellhousing seal, I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 bluesteely

Especially for a slow as hell and unremarkable 1.4 golf.
    I'd understand if it were an r32 or something.

Frankly I'd rather walk than take that car.

It's the ad content rather than the actual car, give the lad some credit. Poor form.

And come on, an R32? If you're going to start throwing out impressive cars, actually start with impressive cars! :-P

Oh, but you said we wont believe where you're from originally...

Yes, I'm very happy with the Bora so far. I had one before, almost identical to this and it feels so good to be back, heheh. The only thing that could make it better is if it had a 1.8T 20V engine. :)

I was trying to be funny saying nobody would believe where I'm from.

I suppose but your still young and I'd say your insurance would have been expensive on the 1.8T
    You can always enjoy the car you have now and save up to get 1.8T in the next year or two.

I think so, according to my mechanic it's the seal where the box connects to the engine, mentioned something about a bellhousing seal, I think

The bell housing seal is just a bit of a gsaket to keep dirt out of the clutch. A quick split the box and engine a gee hair and tech 7 job would sort that. Before forking out 600 quid I'd want to know if it's the clutch cylinder, input shaft or crank shaft seal that's leaking and what effects it's having in the grand scheme of things. You'd normally want the clutch to be gone altogether before splitting the engine and box. If it's just weeping a drop of box oil it's not the end of the world. Just top it up every service or so depending on how bad it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I'm looking at replacing a seal on the car, where the gearbox meets the engine, apparently that seal has gave way and theres a bit of a leak there, 600 quid to get it done, the seal itself is 20 euro or there abouts, I'm running through what has to be done and to be honest, I'm rather daunted by the whole thing :/

i wouldn't be too panicked. the crank seal has been weeping oil in the glanza since the day i got it over 3 years ago. it hasn't gotten any worse and so far *touch wood* no contamination or damage to the clutch. when (if) the clutch ever needs doing or it begins to piss oil, i'l change it.

T Just top it up every service or so depending on how bad it is.

That's a good idea. As €600 is alot of money. My parents had a 2001 Toyota Corola 1.4 vvti that drank oil, and all you had to do was keep toping it up and it drove perfectly.

The bell housing seal is just a bit of a gsaket to keep dirt out of the clutch. A quick split the box and engine a gee hair and tech 7 job would sort that. Before forking out 600 quid I'd want to know if it's the clutch cylinder, input shaft or crank shaft seal that's leaking and what effects it's having in the grand scheme of things. You'd normally want the clutch to be gone altogether before splitting the engine and box. If it's just weeping a drop of box oil it's not the end of the world. Just top it up every service or so depending on how bad it is.

Well to give you a rough idea, I stuck in a litre and three days later its gone :o i'll get a few pics up tomorrow i was going to clean the engine and spot where the leak comes from, I know its coming from that general area but I'm not entirely sure where y'know? A bunch of seals need replacing if you ask me

Ye a good clean down is the only way. Fingers crossed it traveling there from elsewhere.

Fingers crossed, Like with the sump drop i was a bit wary at first but after getting stuck in It was grand, but this...this is next level stuff to me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Went up to gamestop there to collect some midnight release game ( I know nothing when it comes to xbox) I was sure GameStop would be empty and it would be in and out as I don't get why anyone would go for a game at midnight. I just happened to be up. Well the ques when I walked into the place couldn't believe it. There was a guy there with an 11 mk6 golf R line 2.0 tdi 140 seriously nice car. He had vw 17 inch alloys on it I never seen them on a golf before but they really suited the car.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Went up to gamestop there to collect some midnight release game ( I know nothing when it comes to xbox) I was sure GameStop would be empty and it would be in and out as I don't get why anyone would go for a game at midnight. I just happened to be up. Well the ques when I walked into the place couldn't believe it. There was a guy there with an 11 mk6 golf R line 2.0 tdi 140 seriously nice car. He had vw 17 inch alloys on it I never seen them on a golf before but they really suited the car.

Your first midnight release? Yeah how wrong were you :P For gta v there was a queue going around the lenght of the car park when i showed up

Yep first one. I don't think I'll be going again :) the only thing is the que moves quite fast. I should have known they wouldn't keep doing them midnight releases if people weren't showing up. I live in town now anyway so took about 3 mins drive to get there. I probably could have walked it almost as quick but I was lazy about it and drove :pac:

Bpmull wrote: »
    Yep first one. I don't think I'll be going again :) the only thing is the que moves quite fast. I should have known they wouldn't keep doing them midnight releases if people weren't showing up. I live in town now anyway so took about 3 mins drive to get there. I probably could have walked it almost as quick but I was lazy about it and drove :pac:

Ah there good craic i think, a real community feeling going on, or maybe that's just in my town :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Fiat? Why Fiat? It doesn't say Fiat anywhere on it. :eek:

They were standard fit in just about every 1990s Punto;) and other Fiat group cars:)

The idea was you took the entire security card with you when you left the car and the radio would not work without the coded card:cool:

Ah there good craic i think, a real community feeling going on, or maybe that's just in my town :pac:

A yep there was definitely serious excitement at it alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

bluesteely wrote: »
    It's the ad content rather than the actual car, give the lad some credit. Poor form.

And come on, an R32? If you're going to start throwing out impressive cars, actually start with impressive cars! :-P

Well compared to a 1.4 it is :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

€370 for a belt and water pump isn't the worst, especially for a main dealer. Could try giving George a shout but the fuel down and back might wipe any savings for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

8 Weeks later, long time waiting for it! 10hn7ys.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Well wear James! 320d?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Well wear James! 320d?

yip.. 320d sport, lovin it! (poorly hidden mid life crises!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Now just to wait for my new learner permit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I rang the owner of the Colt, its a Russian guy who owns DZ Services garage in Rathcoole Ind. Estate. Anyone living near there wanna go have a look for me to see if its a ball of sh!te? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Can anyone recommend a good indy in North Co Dublin for a friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Now just to wait for my new learner permit !
    What class are you applying for? C license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

What class are you applying for? C license?

I applied for the "D"

Will do "C" after "D" is done for full licence then on to CE

my aim is to get as many as possible without motorbikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good indy in North Co Dublin for a friend?

mad motors in santry kieth hogg id recommend to you .used him a fair bit myself and nice flexible with things ..i don't have his number on my new mobile but ill find it and include it below it if he is any interest to your friend.

www.madmotors.ie.html

M.A.D. Motors
    Unit 7 Lilmar Business Park,
    Santry, Dublin,
    Ireland.
    Telephone: (01) 8835929
    E-mail: info@madmotors.ie