Convicted child killer canvassing for sinn fein[Mod warning-First Post]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

DubVelo wrote: »
    Have any British soldiers ever served time for their actions in NI?

Edit: I'm genuinely wondering, I don't know.

Not as far as I'm aware… I would be fairly well read on the subject of irelands history and particularly the irish fight for independence but i have never come across any mention of a british soldier being convicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I think Lee Clegg did a year or two for shooting two 16 year olds in the back. Of course he was let out.

Two Guardsmen also murdered 18 year old civilian Peter McBride in 1992, shooting him in the back as he ran away when they began to shout at him. They were released after a few years, readmitted to the British Army and subsequently promoted.

The above stories aren't often talked about by the moral outrage brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Lee Clegg is fresh in my mind.

But then again, his conviction was overturned. Real hero soldier and no doubt about it.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Clegg

FTA69 wrote: »
    I think Lee Clegg did a year or two for shooting two 16 year olds in the back. Of course he was let out.

Two Guardsmen also murdered 18 year old civilian Peter McBride in 1992, shooting him in the back as he ran away when they began to shout at him. They were released after a few years, readmitted to the British Army and subsequently promoted.

The above stories aren't often talked about by the moral outrage brigade.

I've never come across them. Any idea where id read up on that??

bumper234 wrote: »
    Not in the least Dan, I just live in the real world ;)

Out of curiosity, considering you're a proud ex-combatant yourself I'm wondering where your sense of moral highground is coming from on this particular issue.

Now, I'm not suggesting you've been responsible for any wrongdoings; but the organisation of which you were a member has a long track record of child casualties (many of which were blatantly deliberate) both in Ireland and abroad. But yet you feel no remorse or shame over being part of such an organisation and I'd also imagine you don't believe that ex-soldiers should be excluded from political life in Ireland or Britain either.

There's more than a touch of hypocrisy about your position on this particular issue to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Can anyone pretending IRA members should not be considered soldiers tell me what non-existent war the British army were deployed to Northern (and Southern) Ireland to fight in?

I've never come across them. Any idea where id read up on that??

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2003/sep/10/northernireland.northernireland

This is an article about Peter McBride. The Clegg case was huge news at the time and his release led to riots across West Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

FTA69 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, considering you're a proud ex-combatant yourself I'm wondering where your sense of moral highground is coming from on this particular issue.

Now, I'm not suggesting you've been responsible for any wrongdoings; but the organisation of which you were a member has a long track record of child casualties (many of which were blatantly deliberate) both in Ireland and abroad. But yet you feel no remorse or shame over being part of such an organisation and I'd also imagine you don't believe that ex-soldiers should be excluded from political life in Ireland or Britain either.

There's more than a touch of hypocrisy about your position on this particular issue to be honest.

How do you know what i feel?

Imagine what you like sir i have nothing against ex soldiers going into politics, I do have a thing about politicians using convicted child killers to help canvas for them. I would feel the same outrage if a British politician used one of Jamie Bulgers killers or any other child killer to help canvass for his campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Let's settle this. A few home truths

All politicians are a shower of ****

And they all have blood on their hands

And iwasfrozen and others are capitalist pigs ;)

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Can anyone pretending IRA members should not be considered soldiers tell me what non-existent war the British army were deployed to Northern (and Southern) Ireland to fight in?

It was simply a glorified criminal conspiracy, not a political conflict. There was absolutely zero political context in the northern state and before 1969 there was never a long-running political dispute contested by a separatist political tradition. The government never practiced internment without trial, torture and collusion with death squads. They never passed inherently political laws nor incarcerated people over politically-motivated activity.

Nope, the Brits were there to stop glorified handbag snatchers and to stop the mad Paddies killing each other over religion.

Sin é.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Curious similarities in the defence of strategies here wouldn't you say Fred?

Just substitute a few names and you have the IRA defence;

there's a difference. That wasn't the deliberate targeting of children. That was indiscriminate killing.
    It was horrific. there's an english philosopher who's a big history buff. He wrote a book about it called "among the dead cities" He examines all the historical evidence in the first half of the book and then examines it from an ethical perspective. He looks to see if there was any excusing it. Were there benefits that justified it. His conclusion is that there is no way, under any ethical framework, that it can be justified.

neither can killing the kids that were with mountbatton.

they're both cowardly acts.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

So if an army is deployed against any threat their opponents are automatically soldiers? Interesting definition. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

My Granddad. He fought in 1616, the war if independance and the civil war. He used to say that the guys in the north weren't soldiers and weren't the IRA. The IRA had been disbanded. the guys in the north were just gurriers with guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Curious similarities in the defence of strategies here wouldn't you say Fred?

Just substitute a few names and you have the IRA defence;

I love the way you guys drag something from history and use it to justify a PIRA atrocity.

Sure, bombing a Macdonalds on a Saturday lunchtime was grand, didn't the British start the opium war?

So if an army is deployed against any threat their opponents are automatically soldiers? Interesting definition. ;)
    I see, the Korea/Vietnam/Iraq/Ukraine excuse.
    We didn't declare war so there was no war.
    Both sides called themselves an army. They were fighting each other.
    Tell me why then one side should not be called a soldier.
    If you want to get into whether they were wearing uniforms or not we can do that too.

Imagine what you like sir i have nothing against ex soldiers going into politics, I do have a thing about politicians using convicted child killers to help canvas for them. I would feel the same outrage if a British politician used one of Jamie Bulgers killers or any other child killer to help canvass for his campaign.

you really dont seem to understand the fact that these people were fighting to end unionism…. the fact that they did receive political status in the past is testament to the fact that britain did regard it as a war and hence the IRA volunteers were classed as soldiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I love the way you guys drag something from history and use it to justify a PIRA atrocity.

Sure, bombing a Macdonalds on a Saturday lunchtime was grand, didn't the British start the opium war?

The IRA are history Fred, the British are still involved in bombing innocent people into the acceptance of their 'gifts' around the world.

Go figure!

you really dont seem to understand the fact that these people were fighting to end unionism…. the fact that they did receive political status in the past is testament to the fact that britain did regard it as a war and hence the IRA volunteers were classed as soldiers.

It's semantics to be honest, if they were soldiers engaged in a war, this was a war crime.

The IRA are history Fred, the British are still involved in bombing innocent people into the acceptance of their 'gifts' around the world.

Go figure!

Oil, oil pipelines, err lizard illuminati something or other.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I see, the Korea/Vietnam/Iraq/Ukraine excuse.
    We didn't declare war so there was no war.
    Both sides called themselves an army. They were fighting each other.
    Tell me why then one side should not be called a soldier.
    If you want to get into whether they were wearing uniforms or not we can do that too.

I suppose the lads in the UVF can be classed as "soldiers" (or brave volunteers :rolleyes:) too?

Or anyone trying to rob a cash-in-transit van that has an army escort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Oil, oil pipelines, err lizard illuminati something or other.

The FACTS speak for themselves I always find Fred.

Well you've defended the British Army a number of times and have stated above that you have no bother with ex-soldiers going into politics. This despite the fact that the British Army has a record of killing children that far supersedes that of the IRA.

Also, can you drop the Jamie Bulger stuff? It's a silly analogy.

Would you have any problem with a politician using an ex-helicopter gunship pilot to canvass? What about someone involved in aerial bombardment in Iraq?

At the end of the day your position boils down to:

IRA= evil terrorists
    British Army = gallant soliders.

And to be honest that sort of black and white nonsense applied to ex-combatants in Ireland is always going to sound hollow. Especially considering you're an ex-combatant yourself.

Grayson wrote: »
    My Granddad. He fought in 1616, the war if independance and the civil war. He used to say that the guys in the north weren't soldiers and weren't the IRA. The IRA had been disbanded. the guys in the north were just gurriers with guns.

My great grandfather did the same…. Fought in 1916, and was shot in the leg at Mbeal na Mblath but he was adamant that Jack Lynch should have allowed the army to mobilise and help the people of the bog side. (this is often seen as the beginning of the troubles)

"An Taoiseach, Jack Lynch, addressed the people of Ireland. He calls on the British government to request an UN Peacekeeping Force, announces the setting up of field hospitals on the border and declares that the Irish government will 'no longer stand by and see innocent people injured or even worse'."

However the help never came so the people of Derry were forced to try and help themselves. The Ira although very badly under armed (with mostly sporting rifles, pistols and historic lee enfield's) attempted to protect the inhabitants of the bogside from the ruc and unionist attacks (i dont like using the word protestant)

I suppose the lads in the UVF can be classed as "soldiers" (or brave volunteers :rolleyes:) too?

UVF? Why not? They were pretty much a division of the BA anyway.
    I'm not going to defend paramilitaries attacking purely civilian targets specifically though. I don't agree with them coming under the GFA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Well seeing as collusion with British security forces was rampant within them, some may view them as another unit of the British forces.

I'm not aware of many of their campaigns going up against military targets though. More random shootings of people based on their religious persuasion, and even this was sometimes irrelevant in the case of the rising sun shooting.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greysteel_massacre

Tsk, and you were doing so well.

The FACTS speak for themselves I always find Fred.

Yeah, because you care about facts don't you?

Facts according to an phoblacht that is.

Thought as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

Grayson wrote: »

your grandfather must have lived a very long life:D

UVF? Why not? They were pretty much a division of the BA anyway.
    I'm not going to defend paramilitaries attacking purely civilian targets specifically though. I don't agree with them coming under the GFA.

Could you define civilian?