Shatter gives away the payment, or does he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Valetta wrote: »
    Of course it's ok.

It's his money.

Not according to the leader of his party. But as long as technically its his.
    Do you think that 70k if unclaimed would have gone to sick kids? Things dont work like that.

Do you work in the Government ? You have no idea were it would have gone And have you proof 100% of this money will go to sick kids ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

blackwhite wrote: »
    Tax free allowances were abolished in 2001.

We have tax credits these days.

Since then, for anyone who pays income tax via PAYE (which would include all Dail politicians), and for self-employed individuals since 2013, you do not receive a tax credit for charitable donations.
    Instead, the charity can make a claim to Revenue, and revenue will pay the charity an amount equal to what the tax credit would have been worth.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/it/leaflets/chy3.pdf

Woah Woah Woah....

Dont let the Truth get in the way of false outrage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Not according to the leader of his party. But as long as technically its his.

Do you work in the Government ? You have no idea were it would have gone And have you proof 100% of this money will go to sick kids ?
    No sorry, didn't know I was required to provided sworn affidavits and peer reviewed evidence for discussions on after hours, my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,252 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

It's irrelevant to my point which remains that it was his money to do what he wanted with.

Two questions:

Do you think it is correct of a former Government minister to accept €70,000 of taxpayers money from a severance package that he had been involved in abolishing because he resigned before the package had been abolished?

Do you think its correct that this tax payers money is handed to a minister's pet charity given the hardship that some taxpayers in this country are going through due to the high taxes we pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

he shouldn't have taken it, so self promoting of him to make a big hoohaa about publicly giving it to charity.
    Obviously he was never taught that discretion is the better part of valour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Sweet Jesus. Some people here would have kicked Shatter no matter what he did.

Fair play to the man. I take my hat off to him and f**k the cynics.

No sorry, didn't know I was required to provided sworn affidavits and peer reviewed evidence for discussions on after hours, my bad.

Then I suggest maybe not making sweeping statements about were the money would have gone if left in the government coffers. It's not like we have had any problems with charity's In Ireland not managing their money correctly. I don't blame the guys on the ground from charity's I do though get very suspicious of these so called higher ups and the amount of them. Anyone ever wonder why Ireland has so many charity's ? And again I’m Sure J&J do some fantastic work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Man donates Money.

People still complain.

Man donates YOUR money if you are a taxpayer.

Technically he is still taking the payment, the fact that he is donating it make no difference, as it make no difference to us how he'd have spent it.

He is spending the money. It will show on his accounts and will show as an expense to the charity as a deduction.

Red Nissan wrote: »

Technically he is still taking the payment, the fact that he is donating it make no difference, as it make no difference to us how he'd have spent it.

He is spending the money. It will show on his accounts and will show as an expense to the charity as a deduction.

There is no expense allowance from which he can benefit, the charity however can claim the tax back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Far play, and a big kick in the teeth to Enda & Co in light of the medical card scandal. Beats SF donating their salary over ave ind wage back to Party! (Does that include ink cartridge expenses?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,252 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

upyores wrote: »
    There is no expense allowance from which he can benefit, the charity however can claim the tax back.

And in the meantime we can all continue to put up with austerity knowing that our taxes are going towards revitalising the economy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

The Jack and Jill Foundation have welcomed the move.

fair dues to him, he took it and did good with it, better than not taking at all,
    at least it was put to good use.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

What deduction tho?

goat2 wrote: »
    fair dues to him, he took it and did good with it, better than not taking at all,
    at least it was put to good use.

Yea, its amazing how much self promoting publicity you can buy with €34,000 of other peoples money these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Rucking_Fetard

Pic of Jack & Jill Bank Acc with Donation in it or it didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

i think he would not say he was doing it unless he meant it, many people are now going to benefit from it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Stroke of Genius.

I was hoping he'd pocket it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭blackwhite

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/it/leaflets/chy3.pdf

No it won't.

Why do people who clearly don't have a f***ing clue what they're talking about still insist on spouting sh*te like it's gospel?

*Especially when a link to educate themselves on the facts has already been provided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭seligehgit

The man can't win no matter what he does...fair play to him,he did the right thing.

seligehgit wrote: »
    The man can't win no matter what he does...fair play to him,he did the right thing.

No he did not his party leader said he would expect him to toe the party line just because the law was not passed did not mean he should have claimed the money.

upyores wrote: »
    Yea, its amazing how much self promoting publicity you can buy with €34,000 of other peoples money these days.

You really think that's why he did it? What's he promoting himself for anyway? Sure he isn't up for election this time and I doubt he'll run in the next general election either. Can't imagine he wants to do Enda and the boys any favours either.

The man had to do something. He couldn't donate anonymously because there was a demand from the public to know what he was going to do. He could have left it but if people really think that the money would have gone to a good cause or back to the taxpayer, I despair.

I usually find when people are looking for hidden agendas and slagging people off for acts like this, they are usually judging the likes of Shatter by their own low standards.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    You really think that's why he did it? What's he promoting himself for anyway? Sure he isn't up for election this time and I doubt he'll run in the next general election either. Can't imagine he wants to do Enda and the boys any favours either.

The man had to do something. He couldn't donate anonymously because there was a demand from the public to know what he was going to do. He could have left it but if people really think that the money would have gone to a good cause or back to the taxpayer, I despair.

I usually find when people are looking for hidden agendas and slagging people off for acts like this, they are usually judging the likes of Shatter by their own low standards.

Seem to be alot of defenders out of the woodwork now 70K of taxpayers money got donated. Must make up for all the passed mistakes eh ? Amazing how short some peoples memory's are. You cant buy good publicity like this ... Oh wait.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

What a shower of miserable bastards ye all are.

When he was going to receive the payment it was a fortune and now that he is donating it to charity it's only "a few euro".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Fast forward twelve months; That 70 thousand euro donation was merely "resting" in my account.

#cynical barsteward.

Seem to be alot of defenders out of the woodwork now 70K of taxpayers money got donated. Must make up for all the passed mistakes eh ? Amazing how short some peoples memory's are. You cant buy good publicity like this ... Oh wait.

I'm not a massive fan of a lot of what Shatter did in office but I'm still capable of judging this act some way objectively. By the way, what do you think he needs the good publicity for?

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I'm not a massive fan of a lot of what Shatter did in office but I'm still capable of judging this act some way objectively. By the way, what do you think he needs the good publicity for?

Diverting media/papers away for old stories ? As at the moment it looks like donating taxpayers money to a charity of your own choice can clear that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Man donates Money.

People still complain.

Man agrees to abolish severance payments as they are unfair.

Man decides to take severance payment because he's different.

Man decides to take state money (citizens money... the money I gave to the state in taxes) and give to charity of his chosing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Fieldsman

Did any of the outgoing Ministers return their 'severance allowance' and who thought up the wonderful idea in the first place ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair play to him my hole. He broke the law as minister of justice, misled the Dail, blackened the name of a decent man, was 'forced to resign' (sacked in any other walk of life) and accepted a severance package after all of that, and people are saying fair play to him?

No wonder the country is in the state its in when idiots like that have the power to vote. A master-stroke in cute hoorism if ever there was one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Given that there's approximately 1m people paying income tax in the country...... would you like your 7 cents back?

Or if you work on the assumption that the population of the country is approx 4.6 million people then its approx 1.5 cent per person.

I'm sure if you head down to Jack & Jill's offices and tell them how much you don't want them to have the money they'll be happy to return your few coppers.