Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

Some mentioned the FA Cup. It's about effing time we won that competition again! The Arse are level with us now in number of victories, 11. We haven't won it since 2004.

What do we hope for Netherlands? Do we cheer them or do we hope they crash out of the group, so Van Gaal can start "early"? Their group is difficult enough with Spain and Chile there (and Australia, but that's an easy one).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,216 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

My Ryan Giggs memory?

Fluffing that shot against Portsmouth. We could have had another treble. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Paddy_R wrote: »
    Any predictions of league positions for the duration of his 3 year contract?

I'd have to guess 3-3-3.

Ah Jaysus, even the most ambitious of us United fans, wouldn't be predicting three Trebles in three consecutive years.

I noticed this quote from one of the Glazers in the announcement:
    "Louis joins us at an exciting time and has already communicated some great ideas for how the club can move forward. The board is right behind him in his plans and everyone here is already looking forward to the start of next season.”

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Headshot wrote: »
    I'm reading that Ryan Giggs thread and just shows why I seldom post outside this thread. Very spiteful people out there that are far to tribalistic.

Thanks Giggs for being a great servant to utd

This is how it's done HS.

A little write-up about the new Dutch coaches at United. Some of you might find it informative.

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/who-are-manchester-uniteds-new-coaches-frans-hoek-marcel-bout-1449196

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

My Ryan Giggs memory?

Fluffing that shot against Portsmouth. We could have had another treble. :(

I prefer to remember him for this....

One of the greatest goals you'll ever see.

One final question and I'm off: When will the club upgrade their website? It has looked the same forever and needs an overhaul to catch up with modern web design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

sigmundv wrote: »
    One final question and I'm off: When will the club upgrade their website? It has looked the same forever and needs an overhaul to catch up with modern web design.

Apparently, the club are/were looking for a new social media manager. So if thats correct, you'd presume things would need changing. They have for quite a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

sigmundv wrote: »

It really is the most unwelcoming website. I just stopped visiting it because of stupid annoying popups. Some of which I couldn't even get rid of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

TheTownie wrote: »
    He fell out with Van Bommel too and although past his best was still an influential figure at Bayern.

Had run ins with Badstuber, Robben and Ribery too.

Not that any of this is a sin and a lot here are delighted to hear such stories but it will be interesting to see how people react if he casts aside/falls out with one of the less confrontational players.

Can't say I heard anything concrete about himself and Van Bommel, would be open to hearing more? Just that there were rumours Van Bommel found him hard to work with (Two Dutch guys not getting along eh!?)

Badstuber he gave his chance to, again, I don't know a whole lot about any falling out. Robben can be a little **** and Ribery is hardly an angel either but I know Robben at least is quite positive in his comments about Van Gaal

Dont think you can put either of them in the less confrontational category either, or Van Bommel :)

Edit: I am on record as saying that long term I am not in the Van Gaal camp,but for the job at hand I dont think there is a better choice out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

That Giggs thread is a car crash, Shame two of my favourite players retire in the same week and probably two of the best pro's ever to play the game, Giggs and Zanetti fair play to them for the success they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,082 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Ashley Cole ‏@TheRealAC3

"I am weighing up my options for playing next season with my agent and sadly it does not look like chelsea will be one of them"

Sign him up Louis

ShaneU wrote: »
    Ashley Cole ‏@TheRealAC3

"I am weighing up my options for playing next season with my agent and sadly it does not look like chelsea will be one of them"

Sign him up Louis

No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Ashley Cole ‏@TheRealAC3

Sign him up Louis

post-25055-NOPE-Louis-CK-gif-nAu4.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Now we're being linked with Mandzukic, why oh why

Shaw for £30m or Cole for free, I know who I'd pick

We already have/had a great LB well past his best why would you want Cole? Add to the fact he's probably one of the most dislikable footballers around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Shaw for 30m?

It'd be very short sighted of us to sign Cole in that we'll be at this point in 2 or 3 years time going 'we need a left back' wondering why we didn't sign Shaw who has fantastic potential.

We have always tried to sign the best young talent and develop it. I really don't care how much we spend on players like Shaw because it's important we spend money and rebuild.

My point is that's £25-30m that could be spent on more important areas in need of improving like CB and CM.

Ye Evras been solid for years thankfully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Jonathon Wilson on Second Captains said that he wouldn't be surprised to see Ander Herrera come to United as he's very much a midfielder in the van Gaal mould. I have to say that I wasn't that impressed with him this year but Wilson knows his stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,023 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Ashley Cole ‏@TheRealAC3

Sign him up Louis

rather stick a fork in my eye than have him wear our red shirt

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Ye Evras been solid for years thankfully

Our best 2 centre backs also just left the club, and Cleverley is starting games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

We should be buying 3-4 players for that kind of money given we make.

It won't be a case of a CM or LB or CB. It's all of them. And it's about time.

Well I hope that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Our best 2 centre backs also just left the club, and Cleverley is starting games.

All those positions need to be sorted, signing a LB won't effect the other positions that need to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Daily Mail reporting that Mandzukic has had a bust-up with Pep and will be our first signing. BBC reported it in their gossip section, so it is probably false. Hope we get some transfer business sorted quickly to avoid a Summer like the last one.

On LvG, he wasn't my first choice initially but having watched some videos of interviews, speeches etc., it's clear he takes no sh*t. Just what we need for the clearout. We may not win anything for a few years, but we have to be getting top 4 next season, and you can be sure we'll be in a better place whenever he leaves than where we are now. Exciting times.

beno619 wrote: »
    All those positions need to be sorted, signing a LB won't effect the other positions that need to be addressed.

It would effect the transfer budget left for other areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Id rather shaw to learn how to defend better watching cole than evra in training. Cant stand cole but him and shaw would be a better 2 than shaw and evra.