Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impromptu Drift meet **Date TBC**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

CianRyan wrote: »
    That's the idea, we plan to strip the interior (dash needed?) and sell what we don't need to make a bit of cash back. Looking at a great deal if everything works out.

If its for track use only, pull all the sound deadening out, underbody protection, glass except the windscreen, dash doesnt make that much difference and tidies up the inside IMO.

Theres also bits and pieces inside that can be cut out - seatbelt brackets etc. Inside the doors/bonnet/bootlid etc.

Btw, it never goes to plan and ALWAYS ends up costing more than planned. I'll have my machine together during the summer and I've not even started putting it back together and I'm over budget already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

If its for track use only, pull all the sound deadening out, underbody protection, glass except the windscreen, dash doesnt make that much difference and tidies up the inside IMO.

Theres also bits and pieces inside that can be cut out - seatbelt brackets etc. Inside the doors/bonnet/bootlid etc.

Btw, it never goes to plan and ALWAYS ends up costing more than planned. I'll have my machine together during the summer and I've not even started putting it back together and I'm over budget already.

Sound!
    Glass I wasn't sure about seeing as we're in cold and rainy oul Ireland and we'll be driving without race suits. There's a lot of weight there though.

It will be purely track alright, trailered with hopefully a van full of tires.
    Removing weight from the rear is my big one, the less pressure there the better on an underpowered slider.

Pull the glass out ao and replace it with Lexan.

May just put a black sack over my legs if I'm honest, that's more the direction this car will take.

Looks like the deal is done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Don't take the windows out unless you're going to replace them with something you mad hure :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Don't take the windows out unless you're going to replace them with something you mad hure :)

Netting? :p
    I'll look into some plastics but this is to be cheap as possible.
    Needs a part or two, will be checked tonight after purchase and one if the lads will be on to the scrappies.

Netting? :p
    I'll look into some plastics but this is to be cheap as possible.
    Needs a part or two, will be checked tonight after purchase and one if the lads will be on to the scrappies.

Just leave them in for the sake of it and skin everything else :)

I'll give ye a hand no bothers I love that stuff.

Just leave them in for the sake of it and skin everything else :)

I'll give ye a hand no bothers I love that stuff.

Not even the sides and leave the rear? :o
    I'll let you know when it happening, I'm sure we could use an extra hand.
    Won't hurt if you've got a bit of focus, when we try and do anything we just get distracted. Haha

You'll have to have something to replace the glass such as lexan etc. You wont be let out on track with nothing at all.

If you're replacing it, make sure whatever you use is shatter proof.

You'll have to have something to replace the glass such as lexan etc. You wont be let out on track with nothing at all.

If you're replacing it, make sure whatever you use is shatter proof.

Ah that's that then. One for down the line, I'll suffer the glass for the time being. :)

So eh, a sneak peek.
    2na8ej7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Now.... where oh where did you get an e36 :P

It looks nothing like the one you had anyway. :pac:

Oh lord, what was it? A 31*?

We are planning to go out this weekend guys if you want to join in, or we'll go with you in the next few weeks either ways?

Oh lord, what was it? A 31*?

We are planning to go out this weekend guys if you want to join in, or we'll go with you in the next few weeks either ways?

318IS, it's on crappy tyres, the boot is striped and the diff is still open. Right now it goes, once it's totally stripped and the diff is welded it should be a hoot!

We're going over ways of adding power, much to discuss.
    I'd say it'll be a few weeks 'till we're ready, the lads are still doing exams. Cheers though. :)

318IS, it's on crappy tyres, the boot is striped and the diff is still open. Right now it goes, once it's totally stripped and the diff is welded it should be a hoot!

We're going over ways of adding power, much to discuss.
    I'd say it'll be a few weeks 'till we're ready, the lads are still doing exams. Cheers though. :)

No probs we'll go with you whenever. For power go to the scrappy for a 325 or 28i job.

Or sr it :)

I'll be happy to help out as before!

No probs we'll go with you whenever. For power go to the scrappy for a 325 or 28i job.

Or sr it :)

I'll be happy to help out as before!

Once we all decent on the yard I'll let you know.
    Options at the moment seem to be V8 or turbo but there's a GS300 in Kilcock and sure, you know me. :pac:

How about the bank holiday Monday of June 2nd??

Does that give everyone long enough?

Oh and Cian I have 4 e36 rims here, don't ask me how :rolleyes:

Yours if you want them, they'll need tyres and valves.

Well we sold the E36... :pac:
    Looks like we're picking something else up tomorrow though so we may still be game, I'll report back when I know for sure. :)

zed is out,,, i have only 1st and 2nd gear now... no 3rd, o/d or reverse...
    I'll come along as a spectator.

And twist cianryan's arm for a go in his drift mobile (remember I let you drive my zed , ahem ahem :P )

Drive, I just made a lot of noise and smoke. :pac:
    Don't think we'd have any car if not for you!

If ye are trying to trade up, why not go look at the manual 300zx TT in red, has been on DD for a while now, (not the one in a garage, the one that is on UK plates and sold without a loigbook)

That one seems to be gone but there's another one gone up two days ago... Bit too rich though.

Jaysus that black one is for nothing.
    Could use a zed with a manual 'box actually....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

That poor unfortunate yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'm having issues with the title of this thread Yb!!! How can it be impromptu if you're organising it and a date has yet to be set?!???

Feckin' pedantry....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

GvidoR wrote: »
    I don't have a RWD car. :(

Ah you don't need one...many many moons ago, I managed to effectively drift a Renault 5 around half a roundabout. Only caveat was that I was going "oh sh1te, didn't expect ICE there!!!!" during the entire thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

You don't need a RWD to drift take a look at this Mitsubishi Mirage Asti.