Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impromptu Drift meet **Date TBC**

• 07-05-2014 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭

A few here have shown interest lately in attending a drift day and the talk of it kind of got out of hand in the chat thread so I've started this.

We'll be heading to Castlecomer on the Laois/Kilkenny border late in the month sometime. The place is called Goldstone.
    I will ring and price the track in a few days but it's always €50. Maybe if there were a considerable few it might be fractionally less :confused:

I'm not even driving myself at this one and will be helping out a friend on the day! So drivers and spectators alike and we can have a great day, passenger rides for all :)

So names please and we'll see how we do over the next fortnight or so.

1. YbFocus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

1. YbFocus
    2. toastedpickles - date depending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

After the 23rd :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I just posted for the lulz

YbFocus wrote: »
    After the 23rd :D

Then if i have money :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Wouldn't mind going along to watch or help out somehow. Was pulled into drifting by the RE-Amemiya FD back in 2009. What a car, and Suenaga was/is an incredible driver.

Then if i have money :pac:

Non Drivers are free in, Jesus :D
    I can swing around to get you anyway as it's a bast4rd of a place to find!
    Brian wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind going along to watch or help out somehow. Was pulled into drifting by the RE-Amemiya FD back in 2009. What a car, and Suenaga was/is an incredible driver.

If you're expecting that I think you may give up now :)
    Do come along sure, no need to help out I reckon.
    We've done 4 days now without so much as a hitch :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I don't have a RWD car. :(

Non Drivers are free in, Jesus :D
    I can swing around to get you anyway as it's a bast4rd of a place to find!

Phew! :pac: Well depending on fuel and the like i'll either meet you somewhere or get a lift :)

GvidoR wrote: »

Neither do i but sure come anyways!

GvidoR wrote: »

Neither do I that I'm willing to send onto the track, come for the craic man.
    It's a bit of a spin for you I can see that though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

1. YbFocus
    3. 131spanner - date depending

Putting my name down provisionally, I'll know better when there's a date set :) as a spectator as the 'Rolla isn't great to go sideways :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Neither do I that I'm willing to send onto the track, come for the craic man.
    It's a bit of a spin for you I can see that though :(

Where is the track?
    I'm not thinking about going just curious.

Where is the track?
    I'm not thinking about going just curious.

We'll be heading to Castlecomer on the Laois/Kilkenny border late in the month sometime. The place is called Goldstone.

Wow! even if I was planning on going that's a long way from me.

Just that it's about the only track that allows booking on basically any day without massive fees.
    Maybe we can organise to sign up to a superdrift day if this goes well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

If you're expecting that I think you may give up now :)
    Do come along sure, no need to help out I reckon.
    We've done 4 days now without so much as a hitch :)

Maybe I can take photos. I won't have a car anyway, unless I pass my test AND find an MX-5 that I like AND convince a broker to insure me all in about a fortnight :p

Worth a shot :) You'd pick up a drift ready e36 for peanuts anyway and not have to risk a road car.
    No insurance or anything needed either!

Worth a shot :) You'd pick up a drift ready e36 for peanuts anyway and not have to risk a road car.
    No insurance or anything needed either!

Yes but the cost comes from how would you get it there.

Yeah true sorry, I keep forgetting about the price of the trailer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sure why not
    1. YbFocus
    4. Foxhole Norman - date depending

If it's on Sunday maybe I can make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

We'll have to organise a convoy for us lads from a bit further West... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'll be confirming closer to the date, being further back will help, it'll have to be a weekend though, unless they do evening sessions?

I work 7-4 Monday to Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

1. YbFocus
    4. Foxhole Norman - date depending
    5. Cleveland Hot Pocket - date depending

I put date depending as it is car show season...
    I've never drifted properly before so this should be fun, starting out in a 280bhp zed!

You need the diff welded or you will be at nothing chp. It just won't be fun!

So I know that weekends suit cian, do they suit everyone else too?

Just trying to see what the general consensus is, saturday or sunday also?

Ah I'm not welding the diff..

I'm just going for the laugh really, and to see how the zed does. Don't care about "doing it right" or whatever - just want to get out there and throw the car around sideways.

Re timing, weekends are the only option for me anyway - can do saturday but would prefer sunday

Ah I'm not welding the diff..

I'm just going for the laugh really, and to see how the zed does. Don't care about "doing it right" or whatever - just want to get out there and throw the car around sideways.

Re timing, weekends are the only option for me anyway - can do saturday but would prefer sunday

It'll be much harder though chp and a lot less controllable. It'll never be consistent.

Cool though I know it basically finishes the car as a road car though.

Cool sure I'll see about a weekend as it seems best for everyone!

Drifting in a 3 speed auto should be fun :p

2 speed ;)

She's waiting on a manual conversion.

2 speed ;)

She's waiting on a manual conversion.

Lol. Saw a lovely blue 300 in galway yesterday. Levels of want were off the scale.

But I have other plans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

If I'm not working, I'll go to laugh at ye!

Lol. Saw a lovely blue 300 in galway yesterday. Levels of want were off the scale.

But I have other plans :)

Check out the T-Bird for sale for 3.5k... 7.0 liters of fury and 9-12 mpg
    If I had the cash currently I'd be all over that like an american on a corndog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Hope you're all bringing spare tyres.....;-)

We are anyway, we have plenty of rims. I presume the others recognise that need :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I'd fancy coming along date depending, only problem is the fact I haven't changed out open diff and I'd need some beefier rubber

EazyD wrote: »
    I'd fancy coming along date depending, only problem is the fact I haven't changed out open diff and I'd need some beefier rubber

Forget the diff, get some skinny steelies. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

CianRyan wrote: »
    Forget the diff, get some skinny steelies. :pac:

I like your thinking, cheap set of 14" would do nicely for arsing about

All you boys bringing fwd cars just make sure to stop in Mcdonalds on the way down for some trays.....:-)

This is said track..

trackf.jpg

Essentially a go kart track :P
    That settles it, I'm bringing the truck!

Essentially a go kart track :P
    That settles it, I'm bringing the truck!

That's what it used to be :) I'm not sure he'd let you out to be honest man :)

Doubt you'll get out in anything that doesnt resemble a drift car tbh. They dont usually tolerate timewasters and messers down there, las thing they need is an accident on their hands.

Only joking lads
    I'm sure a matt black zed will be fine

Looking at getting something instead of the Mazda for this and future drift meets.
    Fingers crossed it works out, it'll be better way than learning in what's to be a daily!

Doubt you'll get out in anything that doesnt resemble a drift car tbh. They dont usually tolerate timewasters and messers down there, las thing they need is an accident on their hands.

Very true, we will be bringing two very prepared cars so that might take the light off ye :)

This one should be "well prepared" if it goes ahead, dedicated drifter anyway! Haha

CianRyan wrote: »
    This one should be "well prepared" if it goes ahead, dedicated drifter anyway! Haha

A lot of it is about looking the part, he'll reckon you're ok then.

If you were to, say, turn up in an automatic 300zx in matt black.... :pac:

Are you saying CHP's Fairlady is automatic? :eek:

Does he require a full car, for example... Removing body panels? :p

Yep sadly it is :(