Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Power after going out, OH in shower, I was making a bottle & though baby fell. Funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

gadetra wrote: »
    It certainly is! I do 200-300k a week, training twice a week and racing once a week on top of it. It really is addictive-you won't find it till your spending hours out on the bike!
    €500 will get you a grand second hand bike. For that you will be looking at an aluminium frame, carbon forks, and I would want at least Shimano tiagra as a groupset, you may even get 105 on an older bike. Wheels and groupset are where it's at weight and quality wise, the most popular frames have a lifetime guarantee (trek, giant, specialised, felt, fuji, but not from Cube, lapierre, my head is empty at the min). Wheel wise, look for something that has had the wheelset upgraded, stock wheels can be ****e and it's what bike companies save money on, or buy one with crappy wheels and upgrade yourself. Adverts, done deal and eBay are your man.

Also buying bikes is addictive. I 'need' another two. :D

Sportives are a nice aim,I always trained and cycled on my own. 100+k is way easier when your with people, and you stop for tea and cake in the middle ;)

Yes. Was looking at a giant defy 4 and a specialised bike too. Will have a right look today. The defy http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/giant-defy-for-sale/6960204

The one bike would di me as I could also do up the mountain bike I have. Or upgrade the road bike as time goes on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Went to check the sheep and a stray alstation dog on field. It killed a few hens on me last month. Managed to catch him and tie him up. Rang guards and dog warden. I know it's a local dog.

Some people shouldn't be allowed have dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

sea12 wrote: »
    Went to check the sheep and a stray alstation dog on field. It killed a few hens on me last month. Managed to catch him and tie him up. Rang guards and dog warden. I know it's a local dog.

Are the sheep OK?

Yep luckily I was there at right time. Had my little girl with me and was more worried about her as wasn't sure what way dog would react when I tried to catch him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I'm hoping to divide a field into two paddocks, Paced it out today and measured 206 paces. So I'm thinkling 206 metres. Measured it there on Google Earth and got 208 metres. Should have saved myself the long walk. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I'm hoping to divide a field into two paddocks, Paced it out today and measured 206 paces. So I'm thinkling 206 metres. Measured it there on Google Earth an dgot 208 metres. Should have saved myself the long walk. :D

Ah but would you have trusted Google on its own ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

What happens now,? Does the warden take him?
    What the cops say? I doubt they cared?

Only got the voicemail of the warden so left a message. Cops didn't really care. Said they would ring me back if anybody rang in with missing dog. Usual stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Only got the voicemail of the warden so left a message. Cops didn't really care. Said they would ring me back if anybody rang in with missing dog. Usual stuff

Not very helpful.
    Well done in catching him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Not sure if it is as it seems. Ireland is not unique in consumers buying cars at start of year.So car makers have to stockpile. all year long until Jan1st. Only now would the stockpile be reduced down. Google maps is not real time so you cannot check at present.
    True, but they have been pulling prodn the last few qtrs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Damo810 wrote: »
    Yes. Was looking at a giant defy 4 and a specialised bike too. Will have a right look today. The defy http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/giant-defy-for-sale/6960204

The one bike would di me as I could also do up the mountain bike I have. Or upgrade the road bike as time goes on :D

Hmmm I think you could get a better bike to be honest. It is a grand entry level machine, but it has a Sora group set, I would get something with Tiagra+ if I were you. Good tyres though. That's the entry level Giant road bike too, and it's a couple of years old. You can do better for €500 IMO, but it is a great starter bike, should be reliable. But you will want to upgrade.

And the correct number of bikes is n+1, n being the number of bikes you already own, the minimum being 3. It's a slippery slope! I don't think I will ever have enough bikes. Well ones that work. Only 1 is operational at the moment, I keep canibalising the other ones for parts that are essential to their rolling abilities. :rolleyes:
    The Rules:
    http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I'm hoping to divide a field into two paddocks, Paced it out today and measured 206 paces. So I'm thinkling 206 metres. Measured it there on Google Earth and got 208 metres. Should have saved myself the long walk. :D

I've used this in the past, is it as accurate as google earth?

http://www.acme.com/planimeter/

Damo 810, if I had €500 to spend I would be after this (once I'd changed the bars):
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057211987

gadetra wrote: »
    Damo 810, if I had €500 to spend I would be after this (once I'd changed the bars):
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057211987

Mullingar is a bit away from me (Based in Mayo) but i'l look into it tomorrow!

Donedeal returned the following that would be closer to me..

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/road-bike-for-sale/6740266

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/cube-peloton/6620987

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/trek-alpha-1-2/6673038

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/bicycle-for-sale/5809968

54cm bike would suit be better than a 58cm so 2 of the above might be out already! I'l fire up a thread on the cycling forum tomorrow!

I love the look of that carbon trek, and good wheel and group set. However, I would wonder how old it is (carbon can get flexi as it ages), has it ever been races/crashed etc.
    If a 54cm is your size I would be very wary of getting a 58, unless you put a tiny stem on it and have the saddle right up along the rails it may be uncomfy. I am not gone on number two, I wouldn't buy a Cube having heard about cracks on frames etc. but some people love them and have no bother with them so to each their own. The last two are 58cm so maybe out.
    Fire up a thread in cycling, you will get a whole raft of helpful replies way more knowledgeable than me. Oh I wish I was bike shopping. *sigh*.
    I'd have the Ridley, it's a great set up for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »
    They would tell me if they notice anything strange when cutting her up

That's a pity after bringig her on to bulling age.

We lost one two years ago like that.
    After a PM turned out it was White Muscle disease from a selenium diffeciency. Were in a low selenium and high molibdium area here. Her heart wasn't well enough developed and once she got to a certain weight her heart couldn't manage and she died from heart failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

So l could be right!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,005 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Muckit wrote: »
    So l could be right!! :D
    will let ya know when i know:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Feckin sick again this morning, Mayo doesn't agree with me!

Mayo doesn't like having ye foreigners about!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Get the shakes when ya cross the border

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Gods way of punishing me for leaving the promised land...... Gods such a b...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

_Brian wrote: »
    That's a pity after bringig her on to bulling age.

We lost one two years ago like that.
    After a PM turned out it was White Muscle disease from a selenium diffeciency. Were in a low selenium and high molibdium area here. Her heart wasn't well enough developed and once she got to a certain weight her heart couldn't manage and she died from heart failure.

Interesting, iv never came across White Muscle disease I must look it up.

when i was calving a cow the other day-calf was massive- there was a pop. Did anyone ever hear this before, would it have been her hip? She is standing but she isnt putting weight on one side.

10256123_709286555777183_7634445827209746622_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭Charliebull

10256123_709286555777183_7634445827209746622_n.jpg

no wonder you get asked for ID

g[/IMG]
    <snip>

So true. Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭naughto

when i was calving a cow the other day-calf was massive- there was a pop. Did anyone ever hear this before, would it have been her hip? She is standing but she isnt putting weight on one side.
    its not your own hip by any chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Interesting, iv never came across White Muscle disease I must look it up.

Indeed..
    The other thing the vet thought it could have been was blackleg around the heart. I've never heard of that either but the vet said it can be the cause of unexplained sudden deaths in otherwise healthy animals..

When I checked the maps we are indeed in a low Selenium area, combined with a high molybdenum area... I see some weanlings that went out in the spring are already showing copper diffeciency on their coats.. Just waiting on All Trace bolus for them at the moment but gave some a copper shot Saturday anyway.