Topaz and Brian Cowan

• 17-05-2014 08:43PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭

Topaz is now on my boycott list.
    Not supporting that fecker.

Join my boycott, or don't, I don't care what you do, but I'm not spending any money there ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I don't anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

He's hopeless at making sandwiches. The arse falls out of them like everything he touches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I wonder does he turn up for work mouldy drunk there too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

You'll make such a dent into Topaz!

Go you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

stoneill wrote: »
    Topaz is now on my boycott list.

Why so?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

This is about the millionth thread on this subject and Topaz are still in business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Are we supposed to guess the reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

What has Brian Cowen got to do with Topaz?? Did he eat it or something? :confused:
    Texaco FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Last week, I needed petrol.

I was passing a Topaz garage, then flashbacks of Cowan's goverment in power came back to me. The lies, the deceit, the incompetence, the arrogance...and FF's bank bailout.

I drove on half-a-km further to fill up at Texaco instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Days 298

Im happy. Inevitable FF get to power few winks and some brown envelopes and cheaper petrol for all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mickey H wrote: »
    What has Brian Cowen got to do with Topaz?? Did he eat it or something? :confused:

Himself and Colm Doherty (former AIB chief) were appointed as company directors by Denis O'Brien.

Nice work if you can get it... not much of a reason to boycott the company though, imo

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/retail-and-services/brian-cowen-and-former-aib-chief-appointed-to-board-of-topaz-1.1782038

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

I had to use a Topaz today, they seem to be making buying fuel itself as hard as possible. I ran service stations myself years ago and if it took so long to start the pump and pay for your fuel we'd have been out of business.

They seem to be focused on coffee/deli/shop sales/stocking shelves, must be where the money is now. Up to them, I'll use any other chain where possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Himself and Colm Doherty (former AIB chief) were appointed as company directors by Denis O'Brien.

Nice work if you can get it... not much of a reason to boycott the company though, imo

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/retail-and-services/brian-cowen-and-former-aib-chief-appointed-to-board-of-topaz-1.1782038

It's a good enough reason for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair enough, and each to their own. I've boycotted stuff before myself.

Do people think that O'Brien or Cowen are going to be the ones to feel the effects of it though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

jetsonx wrote: »
    Last week, I needed petrol.

I was passing a Topaz garage, then flashbacks of Cowan's goverment in power came back to me. The lies, the deceit, the incompetence, the arrogance...and FF's bank bailout.

I drove on half-a-km further to fill up at Texaco instead.

Most of that came from the governments before Cowan's (which he was a part of too to be fair).

I find this demonisation of Cowan to be a little sickening to be honest. It's like we've found a boogeyman/villain and he's going to be held solely responsible for our plight. It doesn't matter that the reasons for it go far beyond one man and one political party.

Bet if Bertie had been appointed to the board of a fuel supplier in 2006, no one here would have been suggesting to boycott it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

If he came out of the shop to put my petrol in....... I'd let him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭jetsonx

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Most of that came from the governments before Cowan's (which he was a part of too to be fair).

I find this demonisation of Cowan to be a little sickening to be honest.

I agree with you. The problem has deep roots with many players. Brian Cowan should not be made the bogeyman.

But, what people see is not so much as an ex-Taioseach but two representatives (Cowan and O'Doherty) from the old guard when the ship ran aground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I find this demonisation of Cowan to be a little sickening to be honest. It's like we've found a boogeyman/villain and he's going to be held solely responsible for our plight. It doesn't matter that the reasons for it go far beyond one man and one political party.

Bet if Bertie had been appointed to the board of a fuel supplier in 2006, no one here would have been suggesting to boycott it.
    Cowen was finance minister during the boom, and then taoiseach when the other dirtbag jumped from the sinking ship. Turned up buckled drunk one morning for a radio interview too while leader of our country.
    Topaz can have the useless bollox. I'm sure he'll be great craic at their christmas party. If they have a free bar, they're fcuked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 thirdtime

It's just not on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

Side note - there was a seriously hilarious Gift Grub on Today FM on Thursday, so funny. Anyone got the link to it? Can't find it on the site and really want to hear it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 amorphous

riveratom wrote: »
    Side note - there was a seriously hilarious Gift Grub on Today FM on Thursday, so funny. Anyone got the link to it? Can't find it on the site and really want to hear it again!

No, the elites have censored it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

SimonLynch wrote: »
    I had to use a Topaz today, they seem to be making buying fuel itself as hard as possible. I ran service stations myself years ago and if it took so long to start the pump and pay for your fuel we'd have been out of business.

They seem to be focused on coffee/deli/shop sales/stocking shelves, must be where the money is now. Up to them, I'll use any other chain where possible.

Its where the money has always been in Ireland. The margin on fuel is about 2-3% max. Money has always been made on the forecourt sales like papers, cigarettes, etc. You never see self-service petrol station where you pay for your fuel at the pump in Ireland. As the real money is made when you buy other stuff like cigarettes(especially in Ireland because we dont sell them in vending machines like Germany and Austria)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I boycott all boycotts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

And me. In fact, I was out the gap as soon as I heard Fathead O'Brien.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Topaz was bought with a 'loan' acquired from Anglo of €185 million.. which was made possible when B Cowan nationalised Anglo Irish Bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I thought that Brian Cowan had converted to tofu burgers or something like that.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

ah now. His government had the most blatant lies. How many times did he deny a bank bailout, while he was arranging the damn thing?
    How many times did he deny we were in recession when the data blatantly showed we were in a recession?
    He showed up to a radio interview obviously still drunk, but denied that too.
    In fairness, when FF got killed in the elections, his old cronies decided to turn around and say they were against everything and it was all Cowen :rolleyes: But still, he blatantly lied through his teeth constantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Fuel is ****e
    Board is ****e
    And they're Shell in disguise that's enough for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

Is Cowen "suckin' Diesel" ? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

EyeSight wrote: »
    ah now. His government had the most blatant lies. How many times did he deny a bank bailout, while he was arranging the damn thing?
    How many times did he deny we were in recession when the data blatantly showed we were in a recession?
    He showed up to a radio interview obviously still drunk, but denied that too.
    In fairness, when FF got killed in the elections, his old cronies decided to turn around and say they were against everything and it was all Cowen :rolleyes: But still, he blatantly lied through his teeth constantly

I don't recall him lying about the bank bailout at all. Got quotes for that?

I also don't recall him lying about recession?

He went on air hungover. He wasn't drunk. It wasn't right but the man was under unimaginable pressure at the time. He was at a do the night before and had obviously had a few. Hardly a hanging offence.