Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning a mule into a race horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ya mad bollix, racing random strangers. You'd never catch me doing that. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Murph_D wrote: »
    Ya mad bollix, racing random strangers. You'd never catch me doing that. ;)

You chase cyclists pretending to be runners :P

Woke up this morning. Went to get out of bed and was met with a sharp pain on the outside of my Achilles. Seems to come and go depending on what I am doing. Changing gears / pressing in clutch whilst driving for example is highly likely to give it a burst. Walking once in a while will feel it. Doesn't seem to be any one particlar position. The pain when there is like a sharp burn. Similar to that sting a cut makes. No running today or tomorrow for sure and a trip to Physio is on cards. Terenure now in doubt which would be gutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Woke up this morning. Went to get out of bed and was met with a sharp pain on the outside of my Achilles. Seems to come and go depending on what I am doing. Changing gears / pressing in clutch whilst driving for example is highly likely to give it a burst. Walking once in a while will feel it. Doesn't seem to be any one particlar position. The pain when there is like a sharp burn. Similar to that sting a cut makes. No running today or tomorrow for sure and a trip to Physio is on cards. Terenure now in doubt which would be gutting.

I find I get similar symptoms in my lower left leg sometimes too and am convinced that it's down to driving as you say. Luckily it's not been too serious for me and I've managed to avoid any further pain by massaging/stretching/foam rolling that area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

PM no need to panic yet- I get random pains all the time often they pass and are just tightness etc... F the physio why not get a massage? Sometimes very easy running loosens this kinda thing out as well- physio will just tell you to do strengthening exercises plenty of us on here go to runners for rubs/ check ups feel free to PM one of us for a rec?

drquirky wrote: »
    PM no need to panic yet- I get random pains all the time often they pass and are just tightness etc... F the physio why not get a massage? Sometimes very easy running loosens this kinda thing out as well- physio will just tell you to do strengthening exercises plenty of us on here go to runners for rubs/ check ups feel free to PM one of us for a rec?

Cheers

To be honest I felt it was some kind of minor tear as the pain is so sharp when it comes but isn't constant. I've had plenty of niggles before but this is on a different level. If it's possibly normal enough though for pain like that to present then all may not be lost ! Might give a gentle run a go tomorrow. Will ice up and rest tonight.

I would have no problem travelling to see anyone who felt they may be able to help out / take a look at it.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I find I get similar symptoms in my lower left leg sometimes too and am convinced that it's down to driving as you say. Luckily it's not been too serious for me and I've managed to avoid any further pain by massaging/stretching/foam rolling that area.

Would if be a sharp burn / moment of a cut type pain you get ?

Congrats on the time today btw !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Would if be a sharp burn / moment of a cut type pain you get ?

Not as bad as that but definitely some tightness. More like the feeling you get if you pull a muscle. I normally stop and stretch on it straight away and then foam roll when I get home. It's been fine so far but I get the feeling if I wasn't stretching as regularly as I am (after every run), it would probably cause me more problems. I think Dr Q could be right. A good massage might sort you right out.
    Congrats on the time today btw !

Cheers :)

Rested for the weekend. The intermittent sharp pain has been occurring less often and when it does is not as sharp. Progress there.

Went out tonight for a 2 mile test. Although the heel is definitely tender there was no occurrence of the sharp pain. Gave it a bit of a burst at 8:00 pace for the last half mile too just to give it a chance to play up under pressure. I will see tomorrow if there has been any kind of flare up / worsening of the issue.

Plan now is conservative. 2-3 miles on Wednesday and maybe again on Friday. Allow things to heal and rest up a bit. Bit more optimistic now for Sunday.

Decided to err on the side of caution and not run again until Sunday. Give this pain / injury the maximum time to heal.

Since I've no running to log I thought I may throw in an update on the weight loss and the Slimming World concept I mentioned a few weeks back.

What I said at the time was ....
    I think it's time to start mentioning weight and diets here. I've gotten myself back down to a current weight of circa 14 St 8 lb. Now when I say gotten myself I haven't exactly being trying too hard diet wise but from this week onwards I am making a proper effort to lose weight as well as up the training / mileage. Mrs Mule has come across a rather intriguing approach to dieting known as Slimming World. Having seen her weight loss plateau she had given this a go and over the last month has lost 10lbs whilst as she puts it "stuffing her face"

Slimming Worlds approach is very different to the likes of weight watchers and even your own generic calorie counting. There is a huge list of food you can eat as much as you want of as long as it is balanced off with a portion of food from a different list (mainly salads, fruits) making up one third of your plate. The basic "free" list of foods includes potatoes, rice, pasta, most meats etc and there are ways of producing / replicating traditional "junk" foods like chips etc which again you can eat unlimited amounts of as long as it is balanced off appropriately. They call it food optimising - don't have a clue what the exact science is but it has worked for Mrs Mule and the 50 or so people in the local class she went to. It's actually fair to say that some of my recent weight loss has been due to eating dinners etc that were based on the programme.

So basically you don't starve yourself at all, can eat virtually unlimited amounts of potatoes, rice, pasta etc and lose weight whilst doing it. Sounds great from a fuel point of view whilst upping the training. I will report back in a month or so with some results. I'm targeting a simple enough 1lb a week which would see me around 12.5 stone for October. If this works out it could be quite easy.

So it's been 4 weeks since then and I have been following the program / concept. Haven't been hungry once. If anything I have been over fed such is the amount of food you can eat on this. I've had a few beers along the way too - generally one night a week 3 to 4 not madly overboard. These would be allowed to a point within the plan. One night out for my wedding anniversary too where the meal and drinks would not have been on plan at all. In short I've still led a reasonable social life and didn't feel restricted or stifled by my food choices. Weight is falling off me though.

4 weeks on and I am now looking at 13 stone something on the scales for the first time probably since October 2012 during my first crack at running. I'm averaging 2lbs a week loss at the moment which is well ahead of target. Although there is still a long way to go and I probably would still be the first one eaten if a plane full of boardises running forum members crashed on a remote mountain range ;), 13 stone something is a far cry from the 17 stone fat boy who got off the couch. Looking forward to Sunday now. A nice PB even if it isn't a sub 40 would be a perfect way to celebrate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Fair play to you PM on the weight loss.
    Best of luck in the race. Know you'll do great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That's a massive achievement. Kudos to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

That's a great achievement, well done.

To be honest guys it is balanced out by letting myself balloon to 17 stone in the first place. As delighted that I am to see weight come off it's just me making up for previous stupidity :D

Wait till you see the before pic !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Great stuff PM well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Fair play to you PM, thats serious dedication. Best of luck in Terenure, you'll fly it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done on the weight loss PM. I'm still waiting to see 13 st on the scales:(

Best of luck on Sunday. You'll do great.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Well done on the weight loss PM. I'm still waiting to see 13 st on the scales:(

Best of luck on Sunday. You'll do great.

You are about 9ft tall though !!! :D

So I was getting ready tonight for tomorrow's race. Asked Mrs Mule did I carry off the boards.ie top without looking like a whale. She took a photo to show that I didn't look like a whale. Threw it beside the "before" pic I mentioned and yeah there's a bit of a difference !! Enough to post a before and after shot I think. Bit more work to do of course but this is a nice half time shot.....

BDBFE007-285D-43F1-8E2A-59828B512C68-930-000000F3D74B2FC9_zps88dabedb.jpg

Actually don't care what time I do tomorrow anymore. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Fair play to you PM, some difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

So I was getting ready tonight for tomorrow's race. Asked Mrs Mule did I carry off the boards.ie top without looking like a whale. She took a photo to show that I didn't look like a whale. Threw it beside the "before" pic I mentioned and yeah there's a bit of a difference !! Enough to post a before and after shot I think. Bit more work to do of course but this is a nice half time shot.....

BDBFE007-285D-43F1-8E2A-59828B512C68-930-000000F3D74B2FC9_zps88dabedb.jpg

Actually don't care what time I do
    tomorrow anymore. :)

Fantastic PM that is some difference, you should be very proud, great achievement.

Best of luck tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Half time shot? You will be like twiggy if you keep going! You look fit and healthy to me, fair play to you.

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Half time shot? You will be like twiggy if you keep going! You look fit and healthy to me, fair play to you.

Lol

It's a very flattering photo. And the boards top does tend to make you look skinnier. ;) I have at least another stone to get off maybe one and a half. But yeah half time is a bit of an exaggeration. Heading into the 4th quarter more appropriate. :)

You gotta lose the goatee though man! ;-)

Well done PM. Keep up the good work and good luck tomorrow...I mean ahem. .later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Jeez PM, that's a big difference. Fair play.

Best of luck today.

You gotta lose the goatee though man! ;-)

Well done PM. Keep up the good work and good luck tomorrow...I mean ahem. .later

Ha that goatee went on as a bet 10 years ago and has stuck ever since. Threatened to shave it off before but the family seem very attached to it. :)

Tell you what. If I get home under 4 hrs in DCM this year I will shave it off afterwards !

41:11
    6 min PB so not too disappointed at all :)

Full report later !

41:11
    6 min PB so not too disappointed at all :)

Full report later !

Great stuff delighted for you. We'll be having that shaving ceremony in McGrattans yet :pac:;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well done, nice running!

Great stuff delighted for you. We'll be having that shaving ceremony in McGrattans yet :pac:;)

Cheers RR

Shaving ceremony in McGrattans lol.