Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning a mule into a race horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Have missed this log. Must catch up on your exploits over the next few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

PM Junior had his first birthday party today - how fast that year went :eek::eek::eek: Indulged a bit on the junk food nibbles so went out tonight for a POP run. POP = Pig Out Punishment run. Not that I am following a particular plan but this was an extra run simply done to burn off some of the calories eaten earlier. Plan was a 3 miler on a local loop I do.

10 steps into the run and I was back where I was at 4.5 miles yesterday. Cruising along. Sod it I said, go with it, see how the pace goes. Didn't look at the watch. Just ran. 1 mile in and the split came in at 9 min. :eek: wasn't expecting it to be that fast. At that point I figured I would keep going with the pace and see how close I could get to a strava segment record which is a 3k section of that route. Maintained the pace all the way round to that point and slowed briefly - actually walked across a dual carriageway I needed to cross to get back home. By the other side of the road my breathing was back to normal. WTF ? OK let's crack on so and finish off the 3 miles at this pace. Again not really looking at the watch but I knew in the back of my head I was on a good time (for me anyway) so I decided to do a little extra after the 3 miles were up so I would hit 5k - and a comparison point.

Finished a bit tired but again breathing back to normal within a minute. The run was not at all out pace - maybe 90% effort. Turned out I smashed my segment record and also put down a PB for 5k too of 27:04. (1:20 faster than official PB!) And all without being flat out either. :) Obviously unofficial so won't be taking it as gospel. What a contrast / difference 1 day can make.

Splits: 8:59, 8:39, 8:43, 7:30 (.2 mile add on at finish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

PM Junior had his first birthday party today - how fast that year went :eek::eek::eek: Indulged a bit on the junk food nibbles so went out tonight for a POP run. POP = Pig Out Punishment run. Not that I am following a particular plan but this was an extra run simply done to burn off some of the calories eaten earlier. Plan was a 3 miler on a local loop I do.

10 steps into the run and I was back where I was at 4.5 miles yesterday. Cruising along. Sod it I said, go with it, see how the pace goes. Didn't look at the watch. Just ran. 1 mile in and the split came in at 9 min. :eek: wasn't expecting it to be that fast. At that point I figured I would keep going with the pace and see how close I could get to a strava segment record which is a 3k section of that route. Maintained the pace all the way round to that point and slowed briefly - actually walked across a dual carriageway I needed to cross to get back home. By the other side of the road my breathing was back to normal. WTF ? OK let's crack on so and finish off the 3 miles at this pace. Again not really looking at the watch but I knew in the back of my head I was on a good time (for me anyway) so I decided to do a little extra after the 3 miles were up so I would hit 5k - and a comparison point.

Finished a bit tired but again breathing back to normal within a minute. The run was not at all out pace - maybe 90% effort. Turned out I smashed my segment record and also put down a PB for 5k too of 27:04. (1:20 faster than official PB!) And all without being flat out either. :) Obviously unofficial so won't be taking it as gospel. What a contrast / difference 1 day can make.

Splits: 8:59, 8:39, 8:43, 7:30 (.2 mile add on at finish)

Just caught up with your log, great progress keep it up

4.3 miles @ 10:05 Avg Pace

Family issues meant I had to abandon last nights club run at very short notice. Had a spare hour tonight so got out for an easy one.

Minimal effort. Felt good. Pace maybe a little fast for an easy run but I'm happy to take it.

Gorgeous day for a longer run. It's very rare I get the chance to run in daylight and sunny daylight at that. Too warm for a jacket so out I went in just the T Shirt. Last time I did that there was wobbly bits flying in all directions. Not so much today which was a great feeling to see the physical changes in the weight loss rather than just on the scales.

8 miles done at avg 10:07 pace. Mile 7 a bit slower as it was into a strong head wind. Although mile 7 was a little of a struggle overall this was nice relaxed pace.

Longest run I have done since 2012 believe it or not and again signs of progress and overall recovery. Was tempted to make it 10 at one point but I took the planned route home to make it the originally planned 8 miles. Slow and steady progress is the plan. No point in jumping up the mileage like that and risking injury especially with the Achilles niggles. I had the aerobic engine though to keep going far past 8 miles so again a sign of progress.

Overall a very pleasant run.

3 mile recovery run @ 10:45 avg pace.

Is it possible to run too slow ? Was quite an effort to hold back the pace on this but I am sandwiching this run in between 2 longer runs so pace had to be kept slow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Is it possible to run too slow ? Was quite an effort to hold back the pace on this but I am sandwiching this run in between 2 longer runs so pace had to be kept slow.
    Since I stopped looking at the watch for recovery runs (but check it afterwards) my recovery runs are way slower than they used to be. Running them by feel I'm often hitting 12 min miles and I'm not ashamed to say that anymore:P
    I really don't think there's any such thing as 'too slow' for recovery or easy. Pace shouldn't come into it at all imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

I've been reading up on this a lot and see that many elite Japanese and Kenyan runners run their recovery runs at 9 and 10 min/mile pace so I think that allows me to run at least 12 min/mile;) if not slower.

Ah don't get me wrong. Not ashamed of the pace at all. It was more a case of tonight it was more of an effort to run that slow than it would have been to increase pace a little bit.

The question was in that scenario are you sabotaging the recovery run by running at a pace slow enough to require an effort to stay that slow ? If that makes sense to anyone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I would say no.
    With your 10k time, you easy runs should be slower than 11:30/mile according to jack daniels. This would asume your recovery runs should be even slower.
    http://www.runbayou.com/jackd.htm

Compare yourself to some on here: based on a best 5k time of 27 minutes?? That's 8:40/mile or 520 seconds/mile. Tonight's recovery run was done at 645 seconds/mile. which is approx 25% slower than your 5k pace.

Now look at some of the faster runners around the boards. TRR, KrsutyC etc would race a 5k at about 5 min/mile (300 seconds). If they were to do recovery runs at 25% slower than 5k pace that would be 375 seconds or 6:15/mile. Do you see TRR or KC doing recovery runs at 6:15/mile? No. You won't see them even doing easy runs at that pace. Their easy pace is about a minute slower than 6:15/mile and recovery pace slower again.....

menoscemo wrote: »
    I would say no.
    With your 10k time, you easy runs should be slower than 11:30/mile according to jack daniels. This would asume your recovery runs should be even slower.

Compare yourself to some on here: based on a best 5k time of 27 minutes?? That's 8:40/mile or 520 seconds/mile. Tonight's recovery run was done at 645 seconds/mile. which is approx 25% slower than your 5k pace.

Now look at some of the faster runners around the boards. TRR, KrsutyC etc would race a 5k at about 5 min/mile (300 seconds). If they were to do recovery runs at 25% slower than 5k pace that would be 375 seconds or 6:15/mile. Do you see TRR or KC doing recovery runs at 6:15/mile? No. You won't see them even doing easy runs at that pace. Their easy pace is about a minute slower than 6:15/mile and recovery pace slower again.....

Thanks for the interesting bit of perspective :)

Unfortunately running is out of question for a few days at least after I injured my back at work. Walking is painful so running would be stupid at best. Little bit pissed off about it but what can you do !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Sorry to here that PM, look after the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

menoscemo wrote: »
    I would say no.

Jaysus you explained that well, thank you.

tang1 wrote: »
    Sorry to here that PM, look after the back.

+1...hope its not too serious

Back not 100% right but good enough to get out for a run.
    Dropped into Amphibian King and picked up a new set of Brooks Ghost 6 runners.
    Got dropped off 5k from home to give them a spin.

5k @ 9:30 pace. As usual a bit too fast but I've been laid up for over a week and had a lot of running energy to get rid of. :)

God I missed running. Delighted to be back. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Good to hear your back at it!

Club hill session tonight.

Session was meant to be a 1 mile warmup with 8 x .5 mile reps up the hill at Chapelizod gate, across the back and then back down.

I actually only did 6 as I felt 8 would be pushing it a bit too much. The watch doesn't record too accurately here with the tree coverage playing havoc with moving time etc so the splits off the watch are faster than they actually were.
    From memory though I ran:

4:15, 4:16, 4:25, 4:21, 4:28, 4:42

First two reps were ran with runners that are a bit faster than me, copped on to myself and ran my own training for the next 3. Was struggling a bit for rep 6 and lost nearly 20 seconds. That made my mind up for sure not to push out for the full 8.

All in all though a solid 4 miles running.

Well I made a hash of my run today :)

Had an earlier than expected finish from work and found myself at home with about an hour to spare before having to be back home to mind Mr. Baby whilst mrs mule went on the school run. Figured I could get a little warm up walk and 4 easy miles circa 11:00 / 11:30 pace in.

Mistake 1 - Didn't eat properly. Had had breakfast at 5am and then two slices of toast at 1pm just before the run. Stupid in hindsight and the reason why I felt so bad 2 miles in to a very slow run.

Mistake 2 - Got slightly lost on way back :) My estate is quite big - about 2500 houses in it and loads of little side roads and linked roads within. There is a main boulevard running all the way around in a U shape out to the main road. We live at the very back of it and therefore can go in either entrance. However on one side the path is very uneven with steep slopes, a few metres of flat another steep slope etc whereas the other side is a smooth constant hill. I was tight on time and thought it would be a smart idea to run through the middle of the U as such. This led me through parts I am not overly familiar with and ultimately to a dead end. At the dead end there was a pathway down beside a small apartment block which I thought would be a pedestrian short cut to the back of the houses on the far side. Turned out it actually led to an enclosed communal garden for the apartments which I duly ran a small lap of much to the bemusement of the family having a picnic. :D Ended up having to double back. This resulted in an extra half mile being ran and at a higher pace than it would as I had to leg it home.

Two lessons learned in proper forward planning.

4.5 miles avg pace 10:35 skewed by messing up the last mile but was a little quicker than 11:00 in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Lost in your own estate! Brilliant (sub)urban planning by the mandarins of the Celtic Tiger. Good job you'd had that toast, in retrospect. Well run, sir.

Great running day today :)

Got up early to get a run in before settling down to watch the London Marathon.

7.5 miles at avg pace 10:05
    Comfortable and easy all the way - first couple of miles were at 10:30 pace but settled down under 10:00 not quite by design. I wasn't paying attention to the watch just to effort level.

Back in for a morning and afternoon of marathon and tracker watching. Some great times amongst the boardsies and some hard luck stories too. That's the beast that is the marathon. My appetite is well wetted now for later in the year.

A friend from the UK running his first marathon went out at a suicidal pace for the first 5k. Knew looking at the split that he was going to be in a lot of trouble later. He was. Finished walking at 5:28:28. Fecker still beat my first go :p He's interested in giving it another go in Dublin so there is a bit of extra incentive to knuckle down now.

Club track session tonight.

1.5 mile warmup at 9:30 pace. Dragged along behind the group a bit who were off at approx 9:00 pace but that would have been too fast for a warm up for me.

Then 8 x 600m blow outs with 150m light jog / walk rest in between.

Inexperience was a big factor here. I have never done that length of a track session. Had no idea what pace to aim at. Didn't know what I was running at either. Turned out that I was too fast and unsustainable.

Splits were:

2:48, 2:49, 2:51, 2:56, 3:03, 3:10, 3:11, 3:05

Paces:

7:28, 7:33, 7:38, 7:47, 7:58, 8:17, 8:38, 8:13

7:28 is warp speed for me to be fair. :pac: My unofficial PB 5k pace is 8:43 so 7:28 was a bit ambitious. Probably would be able to sustain a constant 7:50 / 8:00 which I would aim for next time round.

That said all times were under 5k pace and it's great to get an idea of where I'm at across new aspects of training.

Just shy of 7 miles at 10:03 avg pace.

It was a damn hot day and this was more of a struggle than expected. It was meant to be a 5 miler with me setting off for a run towards the Phoenix Park and Mrs Mule following in the car and collecting me on the way. Missed each other and she ended up at the park without seeing me. Had a few mins rest after 5 miles whilst I went to the shop and bought a drink. Knocked out the other 2 then. As hot as it was it was really nice weather to be out and about in.

Gentle 3 mile recovery / easy run @ avg pace of 10:53

Nothing more to say on the run !

I think it's time to start mentioning weight and diets here. I've gotten myself back down to a current weight of circa 14 St 8 lb. Now when I say gotten myself I haven't exactly being trying too hard diet wise but from this week onwards I am making a proper effort to lose weight as well as up the training / mileage. Mrs Mule has come across a rather intriguing approach to dieting known as Slimming World. Having seen her weight loss plateau she had given this a go and over the last month has lost 10lbs whilst as she puts it "stuffing her face"

Slimming Worlds approach is very different to the likes of weight watchers and even your own generic calorie counting. There is a huge list of food you can eat as much as you want of as long as it is balanced off with a portion of food from a different list (mainly salads, fruits) making up one third of your plate. The basic "free" list of foods includes potatoes, rice, pasta, most meats etc and there are ways of producing / replicating traditional "junk" foods like chips etc which again you can eat unlimited amounts of as long as it is balanced off appropriately. They call it food optimising - don't have a clue what the exact science is but it has worked for Mrs Mule and the 50 or so people in the local class she went to. It's actually fair to say that some of my recent weight loss has been due to eating dinners etc that were based on the programme.

So basically you don't starve yourself at all, can eat virtually unlimited amounts of potatoes, rice, pasta etc and lose weight whilst doing it. Sounds great from a fuel point of view whilst upping the training. I will report back in a month or so with some results. I'm targeting a simple enough 1lb a week which would see me around 12.5 stone for October. If this works out it could be quite easy. :)

10 mile LSR @ 10:48 avg pace

Really happy to be logging my first double digit mileage run since getting back out there. Slow and comfortable pace maintained all the way round. Breathing absolutely fine - sang a few bars of each song on the player to make sure all was good (I had the luxury of open and empty roads for most of the run so as not to inflict my less than dulcet tones on the general population) Legs started to feel it towards the last mile in particular and certainly feel it now. :p First week for a long time into 20+ miles too. Not spectacular of course versus most here but for me it's a step up and progress. Will take things a little handier next week though just to err on the side of caution injuries wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good man, that is progress. Put in a very enjoyable 10-miler today as well.

2.5 mile recovery run in the gorgeous surrounds of St Anne's Park. First time there - went on a family day out to see what it was like. Packed the running gear in case an opportunity arose for a quick one.

What a gorgeous place to run. Had a really enjoyable half hour jogging and exploring. I will be back for a longer run here for sure. Great spot !

2.5 mile recovery run in the gorgeous surrounds of St Anne's Park. First time there - went on a family day out to see what it was like. Packed the running gear in case an opportunity arose for a quick one.

What a gorgeous place to run. Had a really enjoy and half hour jogging and exploring. I will be back for a longer run here for sure. Great spot !

What time were you there at? You could have done the 10 mile race if you were there this morning;)

It's a great spot alright. Plenty of variety, little hills, trails, flat stretches, grass, the whole shebang!

RedRunner wrote: »
    What time were you there at? You could have done the 10 mile race if you were there this morning;)

It's a great spot alright. Plenty of variety, little hills, trails, flat stretches, grass, the whole shebang!

It was mid afternoon. I didn't even know about the 10 miler. Was that the race Quirky was raving about earlier ? Would be a great spot to race in. I work every Saturday or I would be there for the park run most weeks.

That's the one alright. I try and get in there sometimes for training runs. Hopefully will make my StAnnes park run debut soon too.

You're making great progress btw. Keep it up.