Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Mutv are showing the Holland Vs Ecuador game live..... Weird one.

Really I cant see it advertised, unless it hasnt been updated:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Tomorrow, tallaght my good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Its all over Twitter, maybe only just been confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Took a look at total spending since the PL was set up for the top 6 spending clubs....Arsenal figures are shocking if your a fan of theirs.

united rank 4th in terms of total spent (Chelsea, City, Liverpool)
    United rank 4th in terms of total income (Spurs, Arsenal, Liverpool)
    United rank 3rd in terms of net spend (Chelsea, City)

=========Spend===========Income============Net Totals

Arsenal
    £435,965,000.00----£373,174,000.00
    £62,791,000.00
    Man Utd----£613,850,000.00----£318,740,000.00
    £295,110,000.00
    Man City----£806,380,000.00----£234,953,000.00
    £571,427,000.00
    Liverpool----£650,305,000.00----£362,470,000.00
    £287,835,000.00
    Chelsea
    £951,099,000.00----£305,075,000.00
    £646,024,000.00
    Spurs
    £577,250,000.00----£419,517,500.00
    £157,732,500.00

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

TheDoc wrote: »
    He even types like those dodgy Asian based fake Agent accounts :(

I've some positive news for all #MUFC fans at 1715. You don't want to miss this one. #megadeal #Bayern #worldclass

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

FutureGuy wrote: »

I've some positive news for all #MUFC fans at 1715. You don't want to miss this one. #megadeal #Bayern #worldclass

We are not signing Toni Kroos. #MUFC #neverwrong #itk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Headshot wrote: »
    Tomorrow, tallaght my good man

I checked online for tomorrow before I posted :p ah I'm sure its true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I checked online for tomorrow before I posted :p ah I'm sure its true.

Here's a great site for sports scheduling

http://liveonsat.com/n2day.php?start_dd=17&start_mm=05&start_yyyy=2014&end_dd=17&end_mm=05&end_yyyy=2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Pep's being fairly disrespectful towards Kroos there, at Bayern your status in the team reflects your pay grade and yet Kroos is way behind a lot of them, when he shouldn't be.

Gotze gets more, Lewandowski will get more, Kroos has been important for them over the past few seasons but gets paid the same as the squad players afaik.

As I said before I can't see Bayern letting his contract run down, so it's either move or sign a new deal this summer.

Can't believe Kroos was called overrated today. I remember 4 years ago I was going mad about him going into the WC and nobody had a clue who he was, I was in Germany with a bunch of Irish people too so it's not like they wouldn't have been exposed to him. Then 2 years ago I was similar with a bunch of people who'd know a lot more about football than the original group and people still knew very little about him. It only seems to have dawned on people just how good he is this season after the Arsenal games. From when he was 18-19 he was absolutely top class but still would be less known than Gotse, Muller, Khedira and so many others around the world who he has achieved much more than. It must play on his mind a bit that he gets shunned for these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

the logical explanation here is that Fellaini was actually not the main intended target but only a back up option.

when all our other targets failed, we then turned to Fellaini as we had nobody else and there was an element of face saving going on to sign him.

it makes zero sense that we waited 2 months to sign him and then ended up over paying - if we really really wanted him, he'd have been signed before we left for preseason.

I agree he was second or third choice but was it not already mentioned that the whole paying more than the but out clause was good business. The buy out clause was 24.5 million (about) and they paid 27. Paying the clause was 24.5 in one go whereas the 27 million over 3/5 years was more favourable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,893 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Strong rumours that Van Persie is to be made captain. Surely he is one of the least deserving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

FutureGuy wrote: »
    We are not signing Toni Kroos. #MUFC #neverwrong #itk
    Keep that flag flying high lad :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

CSF wrote: »
    Strong rumours that Van Persie is to be made captain. Surely he is one of the least deserving?

It's not really about who deserves it, it's about who LVG thinks would be his best captain.

Seeing as he's his captain for the Dutch national team and there are no obvious choices in the Utd squad, I fully expect it to be given to van Persie.

CSF wrote: »

we dont really have anybody apart from him and Rooney tho.

at this point in time we have about 7 guaranteed starters next year, them 2 plus Mata, DDG, Rafael, Evans and perhaps Adnan. when you look for potential captains, its actually depressing just how poor our first 11 has become now and how much lacking in leadership we are.

If we did sign hummels how would ye feel abou him as captain or would ye be against a new player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

If we did sign hummels how would ye feel abou him as captain or would ye be against a new player

You would think a new signing would need a season to settle in before being captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

we dont really have anybody apart from him and Rooney tho.

at this point in time we have about 7 guaranteed starters next year, them 2 plus Mata, DDG, Rafael, Evans and perhaps Adnan. when you look for potential captains, its actually depressing just how poor our first 11 has become now and how much lacking in leadership we are.

I don't think Evans is a guaranteed starter next season, nor andan?

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    I don't think Evans is a guaranteed starter next season, nor andan?

evans is now first choice center back and we will sign another one, Jones and Smalling certainly are not ahead of him in the pecking order anyway.

adnan has young and valencia for competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

v3ttel wrote: »
    Casemiro, too.

I love that you mentioned my hero

<3 Casemiro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

I hadn't even thought about our captain situation until now tbh. I'd give it to Rooney. For all the giving out that's been done about him more often than not his attitude on the pitch has been excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Players we should target and get able- Kroos(maybe) Sissoko, Rakitic ,Ander Herrea,Koke Strootman Shaw looks potentaillly a deal. There is talk of Sanchez potentially leaving however it may be wishfull thinking we could sign him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

evans is now first choice center back and we will sign another one, Jones and Smalling certainly are not ahead of him in the pecking order anyway.

adnan has young and valencia for competition.

You have no idea which order the centre backs will be in under van Gaal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I'd give the captaincy to Mata.

He's dreamy.

I would rate evans as a better option than smalling and jones. I remember thinking back in 2012 that smalling and jones were potentially a great partnership to take over from Rio and Vida sadly they haven't progressed as we would have hoped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Blatter wrote: »

Smalling seems most like a Van Gaal type CB to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

wadacrack wrote: »
    I would rate evans as a better option than smalling and jones. I remember thinking back in 2012 that smalling and jones were potentially a great partnership to take over from Rio and Vida sadly they haven't progressed as we would have hoped

How many games did they get together, both as central defenders though? When we knew the season was a right off, i'd have started the both of them to get some experience with each other.

Still think theres hope there, although I do believe LVG will want to build his team around a Hummels or Garray.

Blatter wrote: »

its very clear Evans is a better CB than the other 2. more experienced, more proven, better footballer.

its like you saying that we cant pick the keeper when we all know it will be De Gea and likewise we all know Mata, Rooney, RVP, will be playing in his first 11.

Van Gaal however may finally be the man to get the best out of Jones and turn him into a footballer. Smalling has more potential but seems even more brittle than Jones. interesting to see Keane say that Jones needs to toughen up as he is always injured.....he is always injured because he is wreckless, he just throws himself into tackles and has no control of himself when he is off his feet. Van Gaal needs to get that out of him and fast.

Fenix wrote: »
    How many games did they get together, both as central defenders though? When we knew the season was a right off, i'd have started the both of them to get some experience with each other.

Still think theres hope there, although I do believe LVG will want to build his team around a Hummels or Garray.
    I think a defender of this level is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Rooney would be my choice.

EVENFLOW