A Good Garda story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Very brave on the part of the Garda.

For those saying he was only doing what he was paid to do and that other people also have dangerous jobs, while everyone else flees dangerous situations the Gardai are the ones running toward them.

I have to laugh at all the people critical of the gardai, yet if they find themselves at risk who do they call?

(expecting obvious ghostbusters reference here)

Unless I needed something for insurance, I wouldn't bother calling the guards. It's pointless and frustrating. There is very little chance of them catching or charging someone if you are robbed/assaulted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Unless I needed something for insurance, I wouldn't bother calling the guards. It's pointless and frustrating. There is very little chance of them catching or charging someone if you are robbed/assaulted.

So you would prefer the "zero chance" option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Fair play to him. It's not something I could do. Hope he gets a medal for it.

Valetta wrote: »
    So you would prefer the "zero chance" option?

Yes, if find it less frustrating than going over the same things with 2/3 different Garda and still not getting any result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

TheTorment wrote: »
    http://m.rte.ie/news/touch/2014/0513/616971-raid-meath/

Nice to see the dedication and outright bravery of the force making the news for a change.

I'm sure there are many many gardaí who would do the same.
    Top job fella!

Was trying to think up of a AH gag.

But to be honest, having read the report, it's fair to say that any Guard who blocks in an armed robber's car and stares down the barel of a gun (especially following the events in Co. Louth) has balls of steel and is a credit to his force and his country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Yes, if find it less frustrating than going over the same things with 2/3 different Garda and still not getting any result.

Do you think we should have a police force at all?

I do, but it needs an overhaul from top to bottom. The current system is not fit for purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Good to see the guy has the instinct to do what he thought was the right thing. However no ones life was at risk and he only really endangered himself. There is a fine line between being brave and fool hardy.

If it were my brother or father who did it but got gunned down, I wouldn't be impressed that he put his life on the line for a bag of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Brave, brave man.

Too much to ask that we leave the cynicism, garda bashing and general smart-assness out it for once?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I love the fact that people are sitting here, browsing boards on their laptops sipping a coffee, saying things to the effect of, "Some call it brave, I'd call it stupid," "no ones life was at risk and he only really endangered himself."

It happened in an instant, he chose to intervene and was successful in doing so. Give him the credit he deserves and leave the baseless and pointed generalisations out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Good to see the guy has the instinct to do what he thought was the right thing. However no ones life was at risk and he only really endangered himself. There is a fine line between being brave and fool hardy.

If it were my brother or father who did it but got gunned down, I wouldn't be impressed that he put his life on the line for a bag of money.

He didn't do it for a bag of money though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Fair dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    According to some of the posters here, they guy should be a recipient of The Scott Medal. Lets see how it pans out.

... a lone, off duty and unarmed Guard intervened in an armed robbery, cut them off with his own car and stared down an armed assailent, coming back with both the firearm and the cashbox.

Is this sort of stuff not *exactly* what the Scott Medal is there to recognize?

I'd say this lad is fully in the running for it, or at least should be. Fair play to him if he gets it.

Why is it that you are allowing whatever chip on the shoulder you have for the Gardai impact on what seems to be a clear "win for society" of a story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

donvito99 wrote: »
    It happened in an instant, he chose to intervene and was successful in doing so.
    Yes he was. But given the class of phsyco thugs that have emerged in recent decades, with zero regard for human life he could have very easily ended up in a morgue. If that had happened, you could probably be agreeing with us that a garda, or anyone else, should not have sacrificed their life to save a few quid.

An ill-advised course of action is still advised, even if it happens to work out.
    Give him the credit he deserves
    I do give him the credit. It was a very brave thing to do. But I would not recommend or advice that other gardai do the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

He didn't do it for a bag of money though.

He broke every rule in the AGS hand book.

He is somewhat of a loose canon, maverick type.But give him credit and In fairness, he was happy to pose for pics though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Any chance he would provide a bit of evidence about this or is he making it up as he goes along.
    Of course he's a doctor so he must be telling the truth

The problem with these kind of stories is that the people telling them think that they have to dress them up to make them believable. Now I'm sure you probably outright believe that this fella with "special needs" was arrested for "borrowing" his dads car and you probably believe that the woman was not allowed use the toilet even though there is a toilet inside every cell, and you probably aren't alone either. But I like to think that some people see past the bleeding heart flowery language to what the more likely description of events is. It's things like this that make Gardaí wish they could record inside cells because people like you just don't believe what really happens when you have to look after violent and sometimes crazy prisoners (not guests).

Wait, I'm confused, So the cops knew that internal affairs were setting them up?

I blame that no good Mayor down town

Santa Cruz wrote: »

He was right up the Chiefs ass. But there's an election coming up and he needs to be seen to be tough on corruption.

I say that's fine until the Feds start sticking their noses in and see what Fat Freddie does then. It will be Frisco all over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Wait, I'm confused, So the cops knew that internal affairs were setting them up?
    I say that's fine until the Feds start sticking their noses in and see what Fat Freddie does then. It will be Frisco all over again

That's it... hand in your badge and your gun and get your ass out of my office!

I wouldn't advise that Chief. You don't think I know about you and that floozy down in Atlantic City. I ain't going nowhere and you can get used to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭el pasco

I have read all the posts in the thread.

You are the only one to mention funerals, and it still makes no sense.

I hope you or your famy never need the services of the gardai, as I'm sure at the time they will have far more deserving people to protect.

I hope that his family never needs the service of Garda cause when ever I needed them they were less than useless a complete waste of space quiet frankly and of taxpayers money whenever I call them them never response even when thugs are beating up and robbing innocent people corrupt waste of space alot of Garda are who allowing and aide and abet criminal activity

Wages or kudos? That's all you can imagine people doing a job for. I feel sorry for you. You must live a very selfish world. It's a shame that you would minimise so much good work because of some media fired view of a job, and you extend it to all the most vital jobs in society too. I can only assume you suffer from self esteem issues and feel the need to put down some of the biggest contributors to society because you contribute so little yourself and feel guilty. Again, you have my pity. I can only hope you come to terms with your own failings so you no longer need to put down others and can recognise when someone puts themself before others.

Sorry what on earth are you on about the Garda in this country are corrupt ridden from top to bottom yes their is a good Garda here and there but the amount of corruption is off the scale the you have the Garda who aide and abett this behaviour and look the othe way so to speak which is probably most Gardaí

el pasco wrote: »
    Sorry what on earth are you on about the Garda in this country are corrupt ridden from top to bottom yes their is a good Garda here and there but the amount of corruption is off the scale

No it's not. That's a ridiculous exaggeration. Other than the Boylan case there hasn't been one piece of corruption proven. To my knowledge, none of the penalty points cases have been proven to be corrupt by anyone and none of the Guerin cases involved corruption, no one has given one piece of credible evidence that Gardaí had any bugging in GSOC. It's all speculation. If I'm wrong please show me one piece of proof that isn't based on speculation and I'll reconsider my position.

The Gardaí are what the people have made them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Most of the corruption and abuse of power is the garda on the street while most of the mismanagement that allows it, is at senior level. A cursory viewing of the Morris, Smitwick , and now Guerin reports are testimony to that.
    It is truly an indictment of how terrible our so called police force is that we need a special thread to celebrate when they make headlines for a good reason.

46 workplace deaths in Ireland last year. How many get front page sycophantic eulogies? Yet each is son/daughter, brother/sister, mother/father, uncle/aunt, niece/nephew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Can people not see the difference between a worker dying in a tragic accident and a garda dying at the hand of another while working in protecting the state?

No it's not. That's a ridiculous exaggeration. Other than the Boylan case there hasn't been one piece of corruption proven. To my knowledge, none of the penalty points cases have been proven to be corrupt by anyone and none of the Guerin cases involved corruption, no one has given one piece of credible evidence that Gardaí had any bugging in GSOC. It's all speculation. If I'm wrong please show me one piece of proof that isn't based on speculation and I'll reconsider my position.

The Gardaí are what the people have made them.

Well maybe that's because the Garda are so corrupt!!
    I serious think you need to get your head examined
    Just because corruption cases (which by there very nature are hard to prove in a court of law)
    But the court service in this country as well as the DPP are bent as well
    In my area the local prosecutor also at the same time operates his own practice!

Doesn't mean that it doesn't happen ad that the Garda are bent as f***k

I personally know many Garda who openly boast about taking bribes and dealing drugs and operating brothels etc
    When I went to school the Garda sons were dealing drugs

I know of even a few cases where Garda killed people while drink driving and not one was ever charged because their Garda
    They even started to harass the family of the person killed as they wanted it investigated but got no where

Look at the Morris tribune was one Garda jailed??

In the case of the penalties points scandal yes it was legal but corrupt as in this country they bend the rules so much that's it's a joke this would be illegal in most other European countries

Look at what happened to the Garda whistle blowers they got death threats for exposing wide spread corruption in the while justice system
    Even government ministers are saying the department of justice and the Garda need massive reform
    If the Garda are so good then why is there now talking of massive reform and bringing in a police authority and why did both the minister if justice and the Garda commissioner both resign??

On your last point that "Garda are what people made them"
    No your wrong its what Garda made of themselves

Garda has only themselves for this mess which them brought on themselves no one else to blame

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    46 workplace deaths in Ireland last year. How many get front page sycophantic eulogies? Yet each is son/daughter, brother/sister, mother/father, uncle/aunt, niece/nephew.

Very intersing point never thought of that before

Wonder what the point of this thread is though to be honest