Donald Trump

• 12-05-2014 03:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/commercial-property/trump-card-property-tycoon-lays-out-big-plans-for-doonbeg-1.1792102

this old ****er wants to re-develop a golf course on environmentally protected land in Clare...now if anyone here has been to Clare, you should know the beauty of the place and the sensitivity of its unique environment

Now, i have no problem in people investing in ireland, the more rich americans the merrier....but this man in particular has been known to lie through his teeth, bribe officials and generally just destroy everything in sight for his own gain.

Just look at what he did to Scortland
    http://www.scotsman.com/news/environment/defeated-donald-trump-turns-his-back-on-scotland-1-3301941

This man needs to choke on his own money.
    Now ive sat on the sidelnes with the political situation in ireland, as i have yet to see a convincing argument from those who are prostesting or the governments new policies but i Really would love to see a protest against this guy, one of the few things i would actually feel passionate about protesting against is this gob****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

It's a shame, cos the CC in Clare are well known for their corruption, so it will suit that pile of shít Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Good old Donald Trump. Living proof that a man can make himself boatloads of money after being born with nothing more than boatloads of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

shane9689 wrote: »
    this old ****er wants to re-develop a golf course on environmentally protected land in Clare...now if anyone here has been to Clare, you should know the beauty of the place and the sensitivity of its unique environment
    I don't believe all of county Clare should be under some sort of preservation order, no.
    Now, i have no problem in people investing in ireland, the more rich americans the merrier....but this man in particular has been known to lie through his teeth, bribe officials and generally just destroy everything in sight for his own gain.

From the looks of the Scottish deal he wants to have a golf course that looks natural and fitting with it's environment. It's not like he's building budget apartments either, a golf course like this is going to be for rich people so he can now afford to spend much more money making sure they do the golf course in such a way as to protect the surrounding environment.

I see no reason to assume this will be a bad thing and could more than likely be a good thing for the local area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,037 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Surely the majority of the facility is there already, he will be adding to it just?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

shane9689 wrote: »

First thing I thought of when I saw the headline in the paper today. Take a look at the documentary "You've Been Trumped" sometime if you want to see exactly what he thinks of the local environment and local population of one of his resorts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

He is a spoofer ,but if he brings jobs to Claire ( far less than he will promise i bet ) ,it could be good ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

I find it hard to believe the world still takes this clown seriously after his pronouncements about the Obama "birther" theories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Remember that short lived arcade game he launched in the 90s?

Nobody?

Man I used to love playing Hump a Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Poor old Scortland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I think it's a good thing. Brings tourists and $$$ into the local community. Would you prefer to see it close? It's a lovely part of the country but it needs the yank tourists to keep the community going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

The Rose of Tralee-esque scene that greeted his arrival was bloody embarassing,as were the usual sycophantic questions he was asked on the news at 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I hear he'll be using the souls of orphans to power the golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭xtradel

I'd do his Daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

America's answer to Bill Cullen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I think it's a good thing. Brings tourists and $$$ into the local community. Would you prefer to see it close? It's a lovely part of the country but it needs the yank tourists to keep the community going.

can't see the harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

The property mogul — on a three day visit to inspect to the course — said he would redevelop the protected dunes in an environmentally sensitive way amid concerns for a microscopic snail.

At least he's trying to sound like he gives a shít. A microscopic snail would be no loss compared to the money and employment this could potentially bring.

In fairness, Doonbeg is grand but it's not the main jewel in Clare's crown either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

Im surprised no one mentioned Michael Noonan welcomed him in Shannon. How ridiculous is it that because because some rich American brought a golf course, our Minister of Finance personally greets him. But yet small business who employ a majority of people are completely ignored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

At least Trump turned his back on him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Someday the golf courses will be overrun with guys like Michael Douglas in Falling Down. I love that scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

The Rose of Tralee-esque scene that greeted his arrival was bloody embarassing,as were the usual sycophantic questions he was asked on the news at 1.

Christ, what a cringe-fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I'd do his Daughter.

Ivanka yes! Tiffany No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

anto9 wrote: »
    He is a spoofer ,but if he brings jobs to Claire ( far less than he will promise i bet ) ,it could be good ?

I feel for her. She handed in her CV everywhere --- and nothing. Not even a response. Fair play to Donald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

There is a good documentary about Donald Trump on Netflix. Really shows how ruthless the man is (I guess also explains why he is as rich as he is)

But basically in the 1980s he wanted to get an NFL team but couldnt. IIRC, there wasnt any new teams being created. So he jumps on board with the USFL (United States Football League) with the sole purpose to use the USFC to make the NFL create more teams and in turn destroying the UFSC. Causing alot of people to loose their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

i understand investment is good for the economy guys, im no fool. but this man is not an honest man, if you look at him, he has a history for screwing over the small guy, and locals in the areas that he "invests". hes self interested, and not the kind of business you would want around. This isnt America, we dont need to cling to the balls of every rich man that walks into town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I always get him and Hugh Hefner mixed up. Which one is always surrounded by tits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

hfallada wrote: »
    Im surprised no one mentioned Michael Noonan welcomed him in Shannon. How ridiculous is it that because because some rich American brought a golf course, our Minister of Finance personally greets him. But yet small business who employ a majority of people are completely ignored

They also had a fcuking harpist playing as he got off the plane :rolleyes:

Look at that cringeworthy shite... you'd swear he was a head of state. It's pathetic the lengths this country will go to in order to debase itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

At least Trump turned his back on him!

No that's just his back of his head hair pointing front ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Look at that cringeworthy shite... you'd swear he was a head of state. It's pathetic the lengths this country will go to in order to debase itself.
    Jesus Wept :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

That is actually fúcking tragic. A harpist, violin player and singer. He probably thought they were buskers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

In a way, they were