Supermarket Altercation/Trolley rage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

If I was manager I would have had the sale voided and the women removed by security. If it was a younger man instead of an 'old bint' I can guarantee he would've been removed by security.

As for checkout etiquette a lot can be tolerated if you apologize to the customers behind you and get your bread or whatever as quickly as possible and give a nod and a smile when you get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

OP. I would have blown a fuse if I was in your position. It would have taken all my will power not to punch that geebag in the neck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

thelad95 wrote: »
    If I was manager I would have had the sale voided and the women removed by security. If it was a younger man instead of an 'old bint' I can guarantee he would've been removed by security.

As for checkout etiquette a lot can be tolerated if you apologize to the customers behind you and get your bread or whatever as quickly as possible and give a nod and a smile when you get back.

She did apologise to me in a 'it's the checkout operators fault not mine' sort of way, in the same breath as she was giving out about the 'disgusting service', I assume this was because she had been asked to return to the checkout and pay after wandering around continuing to shop for 10 minutes. She apologised for trying to squeeze between my trolley and the checkout divide barrier, half getting stuck and forcing me and everyone else in the line to move backward, when she could have just gone around the barrier beside us. By the time she apologised I was already way, way past it anyway.

She was not that old (mid to late 60's) and did not in any way strike me as someone who was confused or mentally unwell throughout the whole incident. OH and I are both Mental Health Nurses and would give all the allowances in the world to someone we thought was unwell. She presented as snooty and up her own arse, with total disregard for anyone else and a high sense of entitlement to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

It's only when you work or regularly shop in supermarkets that you
    see the worst in human beings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

The whole thing about 'taking the checkout operators name and reporting her to the manager is unbelievably nasty.

1) Lidl and Aldi operate with extremely low levels of staffing and staff can't just go wandering around looking for stuff. If you want that kind of service, go to SuperValu or M&S and pay way more for your groceries.

2) Threatening to report someone to management in a time when jobs are hard to come by is an awful thing to do. This checkout operator's now left with some kind of uncalled for investigation of her behaviour hanging over her and is probably freaking out in case she loses her job.

Luckily the manager was on hand there were witnesses, however in another context it could be the shop assistant's word against the customers and it might not end well for the assistant.

At the end of the day, check out operators jobs involve scanning your groceries, taking payment and perhaps helping packaging (although not in Lidl or Aldi). They aren't some kind of personal shopping service.

If you want personal shopping style service order your groceries online!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I work in a customer service role in public transport and a close friend of mine has actaully worked in the local Lidl for around 7 years.

Both of us agree that women in their 50s/60s are the very worst customers. Ignorant human beings to be honest.

I deal with them in relation to them receiving tickets with their free travel pass which entitles them to travel freely at any time anywhere within Ireland on pretty much any mode of public transport and yet they are still the most rude and unpleasant customers because they are "entitled" to it. You can hand them a return ticket to Belfast that is worth about €110 and the majority won't so much as say "thank you". They are getting to use a service which can literally cost people hundreds of euro for nothing and still they are the biggest whingers.

My friend in Lidl says that they expect their groceries unloaded from the trolley, scanned and then packed into bags and loaded into their car for them despite the fact that they are shopping at a budget supermarket. He lost the rag with on auld one once who was repeatedly a problem and basically said "the stuff you're buying is still on the shipping pallets on the shop floor and every one of our stores has a packing shelf behind the tills. You're in the wrong shop if you are looking for a servant to handle your shopping".

They all think the world owes them something and the story the OP is telling doesn't surprise me in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

SpaceTime wrote: »
    The whole thing about 'taking the checkout operators name and reporting her to the manager is unbelievably nasty.

1) Lidl and Aldi operate with extremely low levels of staffing and staff can't just go wandering around looking for stuff. If you want that kind of service, go to SuperValu and pay way more for your groceries.

2) Threatening to report someone to management in a time when jobs are hard to come by is an awful thing to do. This checkout operator's now left with some kind of uncalled for investigation of her behaviour hanging over her and is probably freaking out in case she loses her job.

Luckily the manager was on hand there were witnesses, however in another context it could be the shop assistant's word against the customers and it might not end well for the assistant.

I really don't think the old bitch will bother with her complaint after I offered to be a witness to the incident and then later, OH politely pointed out her shortcomings to her. And if she does they have my number and the old bint is well aware of that. Also her behaviour will be able to be reviewed by management on CTV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Trolley rage along with the whole burden of other shopping issues is why i choose tesco online.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    I really don't think the old bitch will bother with her complaint after I offered to be a witness to the incident and then later, OH politely pointed out her shortcomings to her. And if she does they have my number and the old bint is well aware of that. Also her behaviour will be able to be reviewed by management on CTV.

That's the worst thing. This woman will absolutely proceed with her complaint because in her mind she was 100% in the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That's the worst thing. This woman will absolutely proceed with her complaint because in her mind she was 100% in the right.

And lidl will read it, have a quick chat with the manager, realize she was totally in the wrong, send her out a few crappy aul' vouchers to shut her up, and that'll be the end of it. Staff will get on with their lives and she'll get on with being a horrible aul' yoke. Everybody wins, except for the horrible aul' yoke, who only thinks she wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

endacl wrote: »
    And lidl will read it, have a quick chat with the manager, realize she was totally in the wrong, send her out a few crappy aul' vouchers to shut her up, and that'll be the end of it. Staff will get on with their lives and she'll get on with being a horrible aul' yoke. Everybody wins, except for the horrible aul' yoke, who only thinks she wins.

I hate when mangers don't sufficiently support their staff, when they're in the right for the sake of losing the custom of one miserable auld f*cking customer. The manager should have cancelled her sale and told her where to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Then she'll continue being a horrible aul yoke though :(

That annoys me more than it should. They should ignore her completely. Listen out for her on Joe Duffy this week, we'll all ring in and say we were there :P busiest Lidl in Ireland!!

Oh, I would so love to see a new user enter the discussion on this thread, username: Horrible Aul' Yoke!

Sometimes you hear about people who really should get to read about themselves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

Worked in retail throughout my college days. Managed a clothing store for over a year too and dealing with these sorts of people lends a certain insight into the truly despicable nature of some people. I would have to agree that the 50+ yr old woman was always the most demanding and entitled. At the slightest friction they would demand to see management and contact head office. It was pathetic.
    I would usually over-do my reactions to their complaints. If they complained about a staff member I'd go out the back with the worker explain what was going to happen, then very theatrically march them out front to the complainant.Then I'd make a big song and dance of this 'poor' womans complaint and basically escalate the issue to the point where I'm firing the staff member in front of the old bitch. The staff member would beg and plead (all the while knowing the score) while the old bitch gets rattled and sees how much damage her spurious complaint has caused then inevitably the old woman's dedication to her cause would waver and she would ask me to reconsider for the staff member's sake. Only twice has any malicious vile old bint not stopped the firing of the staff member and that was pretty awkward especially when they passed the shop the following week while the 'dismissed' staff member was happily working away inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

OP you should have just stuck the head on the old cow and decked her. Thats what would happen in rough areas of Scotland, so thats why old cows don't act like this because they know that being old doesn't excuse you from getting a slap if need be.

Ultra violence has its place for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

OP you should have just stuck the head on the old cow and decked her. Thats what would happen in rough areas of Scotland, so thats why old cows don't act like this because they know that being old doesn't excuse you from getting a slap if need be.

Ultra violence has its place for sure!

I don't think this is the time nor place for that my droog.

droog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

Sorry about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

your husband sounds like a right bully too........................opening a car door, if I was related to the old dear (or bint as you put it) Id be promptly on the garda with your reg, no right to open a car door like that

Oh give over you clown

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Oh give over you clown

S'OK. We told her that earlier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭BandyMandy

People get more doo-lally as they get older, just be thankful she doesn't live beside you! OMG, they make your life hell!

droog?

You can't talk about ultraviolence and not have some knowledge of A Clockwork Orange! :p

You can if you're a fan of late 80's Bay Area Thrash with a Filipino twist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

You can if you're a fan of late 80's Bay Area Thrash with a Filipino twist!

I shan't viddy that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 motivation

Seen it happen many a time before. laughing when I did though

I shan't viddy that

Why not? Lost your otchkies?

I'm cringing, I was quoting Clockwork Orange too.....I shall run and hide, I'm even contemplating opening a new account such is the level of shame!

I've never met such a gloopy chelloveck in all my life. You better stop your govreeting and make a new account before I throw my eggiweggs at you!

You should. That was a totally gloopy oversight...

Edit: Damn you Sparky, you Nadsat ninja!!