Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭premier10

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Just once, a calf that had to be sectioned so can't really use him as a comparison. The mother is large framed with a great frame and confirmation so I'm hoping the calf will be nice as she grows.

Have another PB 2 weeks over to ERE, that bull with the 20% difficulty:pac:[/quote

I sense a section soon enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

premier10 wrote: »
    I sense a section soon enough

Ugh, not another one I hope. She's in on hay for the last 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Anyone read the artical about Ardlea's new lim herdsire bought for E70k in the UK. The guy who reared him only has 3 pbr cows and this was only his second haltered sale. One can only dream!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,490 ✭✭✭tanko

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Anyone read the artical about Ardlea's new lim herdsire bought for E70k in the UK. The guy who reared him only has 3 pbr cows and this was only his second haltered sale. One can only dream!!

Sure stick a few Cerberus straws in your best cows and that'll be you in a couple of years:D

tanko wrote: »
    Sure stick a few Cerberus straws in your best cows and that'll be you in a couple of years:D
    You'll enjoy this then (even if I did'nt) Had a heifer bulling on Wed, told the auld man to ring ai man and use one of the gzp straws on her, however when I came home gzp became wta. He had used one of the tonka straws on her. Flippen 40e straw which can't be got anymore on a commercial heifer. I nearly cried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

It will be hard for him to try and get better prices for his weanlin next year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Do any of you use these types for bigger pipes say 1'' and how do you find them.

All our water pipes are 2inch here and it's all we use.

You'll enjoy this then (even if I did'nt) Had a heifer bulling on Wed, told the auld man to ring ai man and use one of the gzp straws on her, however when I came home gzp became wta. He had used one of the tonka straws on her. Flippen 40e straw which can't be got anymore on a commercial heifer. I nearly cried.

Couldn't help having a good laugh at that. You can be certain that she'll go in calf, no danger of a repeat there. According to semenstore.ie tonka straws are available for €25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Anyone here done the trailer towing test ? Whats involved, I have a daughter doing it so she can tow horsebox with jeep , she has b licence

tanko wrote: »
    Couldn't help having a good laugh at that. You can be certain that she'll go in calf, no danger of a repeat there. According to semenstore.ie tonka straws are available for €25.
    Tanko, your really making my night!!! I paid 40e for mine off powerful genetics. Did'nt know about that site though. So I'll forgive you this time just don't make a habit of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Base price

dharn wrote: »
    Anyone here done the trailer towing test ? Whats involved, I have a daughter doing it so she can tow horsebox with jeep , she has b licence
    There is a very good forum on the motoring thread on boards.ie regarding learner drivers. They are super helpful over there and will answer any question that you have.
    I got some excellent advice when I was applying for my learner permit for OH lorry.
    Apparently,nowdays all trailers need to have correct ballast while doing the test.
    Here is the link
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=909

Tanko, your really making my night!!! I paid 40e for mine off powerful genetics. Did'nt know about that site though. So I'll forgive you this time just don't make a habit of it.

No bother, you're welcome. Can't think of anything else to annoy ya with at the minute:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

GY A1 wrote: »
    got it cut also yesterday while was dry,

Young lad here burned the drive belt off the mower 2 nights in a row. It'd gotten heavy but I think he needs to adjust his driving style:D:D. Got 2 replacements the first time so he was going again in 5 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Do any of you use these types for bigger pipes say 1'' and how do you find them.
    feck another one gone, hope ya come back, everytime i see your name i think of bananas:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    feck another one gone, hope ya come back, everytime i see your name i think of bananas:D

Maybe that's why they are changing their name :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Noah's ark will be called for of this rain keeps up.....is Russell Crowe around to pilot it!?

got the youngest lad a kindle fire hd for his birthday yesterday, rather than having a big party, it worked for about 2 hours and stopped:(:mad: have just been on to amazon and they are sending out a new one, fair play to them.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Maybe that's why they are changing their name :D

Who have we lost now ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

got the youngest lad a kindle fire hd for his birthday yesterday, rather than having a big party, it worked for about 2 hours and stopped:(:mad: have just been on to amazon and they are sending out a new one, fair play to them.

Great idea! And fair play to amazon for doing that.
    I got a good deal on an iRiver a while back, just so useful when travelling. Lots of books to be found online too;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Can I claim a prize :D ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

gozunda wrote: »
    Can I claim a prize :D ?

Maybe half a prize. ....

note to self never plan anything. Plan was to bring kids bowling and take our time coming home, had a lad to milk this evening. We where bowling and my dad rang he needed a hand with a suckler, ended up having to get vet to do a section- first ever section on sucklers in 26 years of having them-I said i would milk and the lad that was to milk would help the vet and my dad. Anyways live aa bull calf he was upside down and backwards. Going to have a glass of wine now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

It feels weird being finished at 6. First time since autumn I'd say since I've been finished with nothing to do. Won't be long lived with silage coming up.

What do you guys and gals do when your finished early :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

It feels weird being finished at 6. First time since autumn I'd say since I've been finished with nothing to do. Won't be long lived with silage coming up.

What do you guys and gals do when your finished early :D

When you have kids, finishing early means you mess around with them for the evening. In your case. ..... give the GF a nudge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭eddiek

what do ye guys use to heat the water for calf milk replacer? small set ups

When you have kids, finishing early means you mess around with them for the evening. In your case. ..... give the GF a nudge

Ah I'll give her a buzz later :)

you might need to give her more than a buzz

Whaaaaa?? I'm clueless :D

Wettest day iv seen in a long time, let cattle in to grass that was knee high in places they are ploughing it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

dharn wrote: »
    Wettest day iv seen in a long time, let cattle in to grass that was knee high in places they are ploughing it :(

Same as that , got the jeep stuck when I was putting down the fence , they did a run around some lovely grass and were putting clods flying after them :mad: