If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Draft Discussion - No Spoilers/Experts/Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Very hard to look past the Vikings as the winner of Round 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Arguably the winners of last years draft too. You put two quality drafts together, especially if Bridgewater can reach a pro bowl level, and they have serious NFC/Superbowl potential down the line.

They already had a very good core prior to last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Anyone else in work since 9ish after staying up to watch it?, matchsticks in me eyes...

Happy enough with Verrett, actually preferred him over Dennard anyway but I was looking for XS'F when we were on the clock. But Verrett has been in SD lots in the lead up to the draft and was quite open about wanting to be a Charger so no doubt we are getting a 100% committed lad.

Could not believe the Miami and Philly picks, stunning.

I think in 3 yrs Bortles will be the best QB to come out of this draft hence why I had him going #1 to Houston.

Valuewise these were the best picks for me - Lewan at 11 and Mosley at 17, feckin Ravens have another stud ILB for 10 yrs and Teddy at 32.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

As always the draft continues to surprise. Just had a look through the remaining picks, think the Bengals got a great deal with Dennard at that spot. Manziel at Cleveland will be interesting to say the least but at least they have Thomas at tackle, Gordon and Cameron are excellent receivers and Ben Tate is decent at RB.

Got 9 picks right in my mock afterall and 26 players out of 32 right in the first round. Happy enough with that.

As always the draft continues to surprise. Just had a look through the remaining picks, think the Bengals got a great deal with Dennard at that spot. Manziel at Cleveland will be interesting to say the least but at least they have Thomas at tackle, Gordon and Cameron are excellent receivers and Ben Tate is decent at RB.

Got 9 picks right in my mock afterall and 26 players out of 32 right in the first round. Happy enough with that.

And the highest paid center in the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,953 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I've never been sold on Teddy Bridgewater and I said it long before his stock started to plummet. I don't think its a great pick and I don't expect it to work out for them.

I'm not sold on Johnny Football either as a pro and Bortles mechanical flaws are not easy to fix imo.

I think the best guy and maybe the three best are still there, those being Derek Carr, Tom Savage and Jimmy Garoppolo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Su'a-Filo still on the board is very interesting.

The Bucs might be very interested in that, I wouldn't be surprised if they were making an effort to move up a few picks for him. But then again with the likes of Bitonio/Kouandjio still on the board there is actually quite a lot of offensive line talent still available, which might make a team moving up for XSF less likely.

I think the Bucs will either take one of those guys or else Louis Nix if he's available. Then again there's Carr still available...

I really like splitting the 1st round up from the 2nd/3rd rounds. It allows a lot more time for ****e-talking and hype, and at the end of the day that's what the draft is all about! Wouldn't mind them splitting the 2nd/3rd apart in future either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I'll be unbiased and say the browns shade it, solely for picking up what should be a top 16 pick next year. Real look to the future for the Vikings with two players that will be a lot better after a couple of year

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I'll be unbiased and say the browns shade it, solely for picking up what should be a top 16 pick next year. Real look to the future for the Vikings with two players that will be a lot better after a couple of year

If they can get Marqise Lee with their next pick, then hats off to them.

i think we may have been overly harsh on mayock last night i started muting him but apparently he got a fair few wrong

The look of a man realising that his immediate employment will be in the Factory of Sadness.

tolMsCD.jpg

Its gas, really. Browns had all the tools going into this Draft to really push themselves on with a few nice additions and build a Championship caliber team. They make a few odd trade ups, draft Manziel in the process, and everyone is shaking their head at them once more.

Knex. wrote: »
    Its gas, really. Browns had all the tools going into this Draft to really push themselves on with a few nice additions and build a Championship caliber team. They make a few odd trade ups, draft Manziel in the process, and everyone is shaking their head at them once more.

im not a huge manziel fan but i still think they had a great draft there defense is going to be very very good (although cbs tend to take a bit to transition to the nfl) and manziel is going to have a good o-line and plenty of weapons on offense if they can grab one of the better rbs in this draft i think they will have "won the draft"

the fact that they not only got a first rounder next year but got the bills first rounder is being highly underrated

im not a huge manziel fan but i still think they had a great draft there defense is going to be very very good (although cbs tend to take a bit to transition to the nfl) and manziel is going to have a good o-line and plenty of weapons on offense if they can grab one of the better rbs in this draft i think they will have "won the draft"

the fact that they not only got a first rounder next year but got the bills first rounder is being highly underrated

Lack of sleep must be kicking in. Already forgot what they got off the Bills!

Trading up makes a bit more sense, then. Still, I'm not so sure they needed to. Waiting and picking up Bridgewater or Carr, for one thing, would perhaps have been more beneficial.

I don't think Manziel will be bad. I just don't think he'll be amazing. Having the likes of Gordon to throw to will certainly help.

They should be fun to watch, and play with on Madden, if nothing else!

Knex. wrote: »
    Lack of sleep must be kicking in. Already forgot what they got off the Bills!

Makes their trades up a lot more sensible, etc.

I don't think Manziel will be bad. I just don't think he'll be amazing. Having the likes of Gordon to throw to will certainly help.

They should be fun to watch, and play with on Madden, if nothing else!

hes been put in a good situation at least i dont think thats looked at enough when rating how a qbs done look at what russell wilson has had to work with as opposed to anyone else in that draft class.

manziel will have no excuses if he cant play and if he stinks it up a bit they can sit him and let him learn for the year and put hoyer back in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

I think it was a good trade up, they obviously had information that someone was going to try jump ahead of them by trading with the vikings. A 5th rounder is ca small price to pay to make certain of getting your guy

The more I think of it, the more I come to the conclusion that if they draft Lee with their first pick tonight, then Manziel couldn't be in a more perfect situation to succeed.

He'll have a very good defence so he hopefully shouldn't have to be carrying the team on his pack and constantly chasing TDs.
    He'll have one the best deep threats in the league in Josh Gordon, who also happens to be one of the best WRs at snagging in wayward passes.
    Likewise on Jordan Cameron, who has a great knack for the latter and is one of the more exciting young TEs in the league.
    He'll have Marqise Lee, who showed in college that he's probably the best receiver in the last 5 years at taking short passes for huge chunks of yardage after the catch.
    He'll have Ben Tate behind him who defences will have to respect, and has shown plenty of ability if he can stay healthy.
    Any he'll have one of the best LT's in the game protecting his blind side, with Alex Mack as one of the best Centers in the game snapping the ball to him.

Bar the coaching situation and the fact he has to live in Cleveland, I can't see a better situation for him to have landed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

i think we may have been overly harsh on mayock last night i started muting him but apparently he got a fair few wrong

I was muting the **** out of him too...

feeling a lot better about the marcus smith pick this morning to the guy has a lot of upside and will probably work his way into the rotation as the year goes on also hes versatile.

would have liked a day one starter but having stepped back and looked at (only a small bit) of tape he has a lot of potential

The more I think of it, the more I come to the conclusion that if they draft Lee with their first pick tonight, then Manziel couldn't be in a more perfect situation to succeed.

He'll have a very good defence so he hopefully shouldn't have to be carrying the team on his pack and constantly chasing TDs.
    He'll have one the best deep threats in the league in Josh Gordon, who also happens to be one of the best WRs at snagging in wayward passes.
    Likewise on Jordan Cameron, who has a great knack for the latter and is one of the more exciting young TEs in the league.
    He'll have Marqise Lee, who showed in college that he's probably the best receiver in the last 5 years at taking short passes for huge chunks of yardage after the catch.
    He'll have Ben Tate behind him who defences will have to respect, and has shown plenty of ability if he can stay healthy.
    Any he'll have one of the best LT's in the game protecting his blind side, with Alex Mack as one of the best Centers in the game snapping the ball to him.

Bar the coaching situation and the fact he has to live in Cleveland, I can't see a better situation for him to have landed in.

He also has a D that is good enough that he won't constantly be chasing games.

by the way that was one of the most entertaining first rounds iv ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

some serious talent left on the board for day 2, really thought Ealy, Lee, Nix and Su'a-Filo would have been picked in the first round. I would love to see the Jets make a move to get Lee tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Living in Cleveland won't do him any harm either. Put it this way, I can't see Drake and co rushing to visit him there which will be good, should keep him focused with as less distractions as possible.

I agree with you, if it doesn't work out for him people can't say he landed in a bad situation. They literally just need one canny WR for him to have as perfect a situation as a rookie can ask for and with so many still left on the board it seems unfeasible that they won't get it.

I like the Browns draft. Gilbert has the potential to be a lockdown corner, he's very capable in press man as it is and up against Antonio Brown, AJ Green and Torrey Smith and co in that division they need as much corner help as they can get. Rookie CB's generally always need time to bed in but if they stick with him they will reap the benefits IMO. I haven't got a clue how Manziel will do, he's impossible to evaluate for me, but I do think it will be boom or bust. If nothing else he'll bring a buzz. Then they added the Bills first rounder which is likely to be top half, possibly top 10.

I don't think they could have done much more in honesty, bar taking Bridgewater of course :pac:

Fastest mental back tracking I've ever done. Mind changed in 30 mins. Fair play, fellas :D

I can't decide between who was the best value pick Lewan, Mosley or Roby. This draft did not pan out like how I thought it would.... but then does it ever!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

Apparently Ebron has been told that he's going to be used just like Jimmy Graham was used in New Orleans.
    Suppose it makes sense seeing as the Lions new OC was the QB coach at the Saints the past 4 or 5 years, but thats quite a big responsibility put on Ebron's shoulders. Should help though that Megatron will still be the defences main focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Delighted, he is just an approval seeking spoiler whore.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Delighted, he is just an approval seeking spoiler whore.

is he though if he was getting them wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I didn't watch NFLN, but from what I've heard he popped up with Bortles at the last second, jumped Barr up about 10 spots from his mock at the last second and did a couple of others too.

Then he started to get some wrong after a barrage of complaints on social media. I'd suggest that they stopped giving him all the the pick in his ear piece after the complaints, or told him to stop spoiling them, hence him starting to get some wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Yea he is, he was at that craic of tipping the picks, someone must have had a word with him later in the evening