Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

He's a hardy sort alright, he fell off the chimney another day putting up a television ariel, landed on his arse, stood up and headed straight up the ladder again. He's like health and safety's worst nightmare.

I'm sorry im not as tough as some of them old boys ! We are getting softer all the time I think and some of that could be down to health and safety . My own old boy cut his knee with the chainsaw years ago and was hobbling around for yonks but got better eventually . He had an tests and X rays done a couple of years ago and they showed him the gouge still on his kneecap . He couldn't even remember what happen until he told the mother and she told him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Reggie. wrote: »
    Is your auld lad bear Grylls

Ha, iv yet to see him eat a spider or give himself an enema as bad and all as he is!

moy83 wrote: »
    I'm sorry im not as tough as some of them old boys ! We are getting softer all the time I think and some of that could be down to health and safety . My own old boy cut his knee with the chainsaw years ago and was hobbling around for yonks but got better eventually . He had an tests and X rays done a couple of years ago and they showed him the gouge still on his kneecap . He couldn't even remember what happen until he told the mother and she told him

There's a fine line between tough and stupid Moy, I don't think a lot of them knew where it was though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I remember my late uncle lost 3 fingers in one hand and a finger and a thumb on the other. I think it was a tailgate of a trailer or sum thing. When I was young he ust to tell me he ate them when they were in his sambo. It youst to leave me pondering for hours, ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

It is not so much H&S but the excuses that arise from it. Big companies and government are loath to employ directly now due to employment costs. It is easier to subcontract( however not all the answers) H&S has a lot to answer for and those that train/advacote it. It has got to a crazy situtation the extent that large company's want to sub everything as it leaves them one removed from potential liability and the small cotracting can always fold if things go wrong.

A lot is the so called blame cutlure that exists in that there is a tendancy to look for some one to blame. Yes these is certain risks and dangers that need to be reduced but technicall no farmers could employ someone to herd cattle or look at them in a field. Feed ration at grazing etc etc.

There are positives from more awareness but in Ireland like any regulation we seem to go to extremes. At this stage if someone want a lad to paint a house you need a programe manager to look after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

moy83 wrote: »
    He must have a fairly high pain threshold to be able to stitch himself . I would be getting faint if the doc takes out the needle for a jab !
    got my arm stitched with no anesthetic, wouldnt do it again.. fair play to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

It is not so much H&S but the excuses that arise from it. Big companies and government are loath to employ directly now due to employment costs. It is easier to subcontract( however not all the answers) H&S has a lot to answer for and those that train/advacote it. It has got to a crazy situtation the extent that large company's want to sub everything as it leaves them one removed from potential liability and the small cotracting can always fold if things go wrong.

A lot is the so called blame cutlure that exists in that there is a tendancy to look for some one to blame. Yes these is certain risks and dangers that need to be reduced but technicall no farmers could employ someone to herd cattle or look at them in a field. Feed ration at grazing etc etc.

There are positives from more awareness but in Ireland like any regulation we seem to go to extremes. At this stage if someone want a lad to paint a house you need a programe manager to look after him
    I know. It's ridiculous alright. Where I work we had to get a guy in from a subcontractor just to use a grinder to cut some steel. There he was working away and two trained fitters with over 50 years experience between them, standing there looking at him.
    They weren't 'trained' so they weren't covered by insurance to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I know. It's ridiculous alright. Where I work we had to get a guy in from a subcontractor just to use a grinder to cut some steel. There he was working away and two trained fitters with over 50 years experience between them, standing there looking at him.

That's some ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

A friend of mine in the trucking business tells of a place he goes sometimes, where he has to don the full safety harness complete with energy absorbing lanyard while he's walking around on the flat-bed trailer.

The trailer is 4 to 5 foot high.
    The lanyard is 6 foot long.

Doesn't matter, the lad with the white hard hat and the clipboard INSISTS on its use :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I am one of those people that H&S shudder to see unfortunately. Wound opened on my tummy after a fairly serous op, a day after I got the stitches out, I twisted some strange way in the shed and the top 2-3 inched opened. Grand say , I'm not going back to hospital. Bandages and tape.:eek: Only last week I cracked a helmet after coming off the horse. Helmet tore a gash on the back of my head, second time that's happened. No hard really, the helmet was free after the last one did the same, only it gashed the other side of my head :pac:

Maybe I have a wonky sized head.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    I am one of those people that H&S shudder to see unfortunately. Wound opened on my tummy after a fairly serous op, a day after I got the stitches out, I twisted some strange way in the shed and the top 2-3 inched opened. Grand say , I'm not going back to hospital. Bandages and tape.:eek: Only last week I cracked a helmet after coming off the horse. Helmet tore a gash on the back of my head, second time that's happened. No hard really, the helmet was free after the last one did the same, only it gashed the other side of my head :pac:

Maybe you should lock yourself into a padded cell

Reggie. wrote: »
    Maybe you should lock yourself into a padded cell

Sure where do you think I am now:D It's nice in here, could do with a potted plant though.

Knowing you, you would split your head off the pot :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Rua the scamp! ouch though, I visibly winced a the stitches opening youch. Time for a new hat I think! I'd offer you mine, it has had hardly any use since new, but I have a tiny pea head and it's a kids one :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Anyone know how much 150grms of cal mag is. I have no way of measuring such as small quantity.
    I asked in the dairy tread but didn't get an answer. I thought they would know over there but reckon they use it in bulk rather than for an individual cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Base price wrote: »
    Anyone know how much 150grms of cal mag is. I have no way of measuring such as small quantity.
    I asked in the dairy tread but didn't get an answer. I thought they would know over there but reckon they use it in bulk rather than for an individual cow.

5 1/2 ounces in old money, according to our kitchen scales. So just over a quarter pound?

Perhaps 15 grams would be nearer the mark? Quarter pound of Mag powder sounds a hell of a dose! About an ounce?

gadetra wrote: »
    Rua the scamp! ouch though, I visibly winced a the stitches opening youch. Time for a new hat I think! I'd offer you mine, it has had hardly any use since new, but I have a tiny pea head and it's a kids one :o

Rua is being a right scamp! He has learned how to undo the double bolt on his pen now :eek:

And he burst the yoga ball. But I've learned he can jump (into new fields) :D:pac:

Offt, I used to have a really nice Charles Owen helmet, until I found a dead mouse it in. After I put it on my head.

find it alot handier to give them 2 magnessium bullets or use a bucket of hi mag mineral lick

Offt, I used to have a really nice Charles Owen helmet, until I found a dead mouse it in. After I put it on my head.
    at least he was dead:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    find it alot handier to give them 2 magnessium bullets or use a bucket of hi mag mineral lick
    It probably would be a better idea to give her boluses and then I know she is covered. She does not seem to like the taste of the cal mag powder in the nuts and it is supposed to be sweetened :(
    I might add a little treacle or honey to it this evening :)

It probably would be a better idea to give her boluses and then I know she is covered. She does not seem to like the taste of the cal mag powder in the nuts and it is supposed to be sweetened :(
    I might add a little treacle or honey to it this evening :)
    ye think the bullets would ne the better option so

Madness . I was having the craic with a safety officer awhile back , she didnt see it as craic so decided to show me how serious health and safety was ! A small patch in a coco apartment that should have cost 50 squids ended up a 700 by the time I had all my certs and statements done up for her . It was an normal 8' ceiling but she wouldnt let me use a crate or stepladder , I had to get a registered scaffolder to erect the mini scaffolding and sign off on it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

For f""k sake. That's crazy. No wonder the country is banjaxed with that sort of carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sea12 wrote: »
    For f""k sake. That's crazy. No wonder the country is banjaxed with that sort of carry on.

Plenty of madness without looking outside this forum. Under the current proposals for commonage, say a farmer was the only farmer on that commonage, s/he would have to carry ALL of the minimum stock number of the all of the shares, not just his/her own share, to meet GAEC/regulations. You could have a farm capable of supporting 200 sheep, forced to carry 2,000 sheep to satisfy a paper exercise.

Have no problem with farmers having to farm their own share, or letting other farmers farm their share by agreement. But, this forced dictation is absurd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Plenty of madness without looking outside this forum. Under the current proposals for commonage, say a farmer was the only farmer on that commonage, s/he would have to carry ALL of the minimum stock number of the all of the shares, not just his/her own share, to meet GAEC/regulations. You could have a farm capable of supporting 200 sheep, forced to carry 2,000 sheep to satisfy a paper exercise.

Have no problem with farmers having to farm their own share, or letting other farmers farm their share by agreement. But, this forced dictation is absurd.

Well that's not going to work.

Amazing we never hear those stories in the farming ind or journal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sea12 wrote: »
    Well that's not going to work.

Amazing we never hear those stories in the farming ind or journal.

That's just the tip of the iceberg.

A group of farmers have come together and have the first draught I suppose you could call it, of a really practical commonage management system written out.

I'd be one of the most critical farmers of the past headage system and the damage it incurred and even I was surprised about how progressive it is.

Some absolutely critical issues are dealt with such as "managing" the problem of GAEC, which is easily the biggest threat to commonage farmers SFP. So many people think it can be negotiated away, it can't and won't be.

There's also an eloquent methodology of dealing with individual commonages, as no two are the same, and also the stocking levels on the individual farm. This is important to ensure no single farmer feels they are being forced into a system due to the actions of others.

There's also a management agreement, a sort of collective agreement. This is important as it's "collective responsibility" that is the killer, not collective agreement. Reject collective responsibility as a red line issue as no farmer has control over another farmer.

The keys for me are fairness, agreement, and individual responsibility.

Tired now, decided I was going cutting rushes with the strimmer earlier , covered about 3 acres with the odd clump here and there. Very satisfying looking back on a clean piece of ground that is too steep and rocky for the tractor to travel with a topper. Another few starts of evenings and I will have all the hill cleared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

whelan2 wrote: »

Don't know how you would go on if that happened.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Don't know how you would go on if that happened.

Yup it would break your heart , awful thing to happen .