Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Turn up the radio and avoid bumps ;)

Always have the radio on. I looked under and everything seems in tact :pac: Just conscious when coming near a ramp. Ahh feck it, be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

An ad on DD states -

"Car has never been driven in anger and has always been driven sensibly!"
    "Washed and cleaned after every spin"
    "wheels could do with a refurb (dog pissing on them)"

:pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CianRyan wrote: »
    Yes to the noise, no to the American't style drifting.

MOAR entry spread, MOAR sideways, MOAR exciting. Please.
    Can't believe how early that M3 started shedding speed for the first bend, you couldn't pull that ****e at Ebisu or Meihan, you'd have the whole track put your hole!

You know that Daigo Yoshihara came over here a couple of years ago he couldn't believe what even the amateurs were doing when coming into the corners. He said that we are the only country after the japs that have that balls to the wall type attack when drifting.

It's quite evident when you see even the young Jack Shanahan going over to the uk and taking overall first at round 1 this year. Anytime we go over there we clean up!!

We have so many drivers in the US now too. So we are running at the top of drifting and there's never a word :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

YbFocus wrote: »
    You know that Daigo Yoshihara came over here a couple of years ago he couldn't believe what even the amateurs were doing when coming into the corners. He said that we are the only country after the japs that have that balls to the wall type attack when drifting.

It's quite evident when you see even the young Jack Shanahan going over to the uk and taking overall first at round 1 this year. Anytime we go over there we clean up!!

We have so many drivers in the US now too. So we are running at the top of drifting and there's never a word :rolleyes:

Oh god I know!
    Sure that's why we're spoiled over here, personally I can't watch the American drift events because there's no drama, no excitement.
    It's literally all covered up by a smoke screen.

You only have to go to a drift day in Mondello to see some mental head ****s in action.
    Can't believe I misses the first Matsuri!

The only guy I'd watch over there is Saito. He is insane :)

You may meet us for the next drift day Cian, get you onboard!!

We are planning a day around the 20th of May :)

I was talking to a certain someone about trailering the Mazda out and splitting the day between us, if I can get the cooling system sorted then the 20th of May could be interesting!
    More than likely the one after that though. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Dai yoshihara
    Daigo saito

:P silly Yb!

I may tip along to that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I was talking to a certain someone about trailering the Mazda out and splitting the day between us, if I can get the cooling system sorted then the 20th of May could be interesting!
    I'm sure it would fit in the back of the truck...

This is just a day that we (As in one car) is organising :)
    Place in Castlecomer called goldstone. €50 for the day and you have free reign of the track!
    We can organise for a bit later to suit yourself as its always more fun with 2 or more cars :)
    Dai yoshihara
    Daigo saito

:P silly Yb!

I may tip along to that too!

There was only a "go" in it :)

I thought Cian was the only other drift fan about these parts!

You're more than welcome!

This is the track, small and low enough speed so not much can go wrong :)

Well jaysus for €50!
    I'll order a Thermo and fluids during the week money allowing! :D
    See about getting a large bolt from somewhere too. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Yes and then we send out a Mediocre soccer team and everyones mad about them.

I wonder if its the fact that drifting is car related stuff - I don't think the Irish are big into their cars tbh - generally speaking

And in all honesty - im as guilty as sin for not really taking much notice of drifting

Well jaysus for €50!

StiggyWeldingDiff2.jpg

Mx5 would be grand on that track, get her welded up :D

Or is it already?

Well jaysus for €50!

Might pop along to this meself.... hmm... what to bring, (zed/truck/carina :P)

Old diesel wrote: »
    Yes and then we send out a Mediocre soccer team and everyones mad about them.

I wonder if its the fact that drifting is car related stuff - I don't think the Irish are big into their cars tbh - generally speaking

And in all honesty - im as guilty as sin for not really taking much notice of drifting

Motorsport is not a big thing in Ireland, its a total shame.

Do you remember us winning the A1GP? I was ecstatic and then totally dismayed when the news didn't even report it!!!

We have huge names now across the globe.

I remember this being the run where the world went holy ****.

Darren McNamara (Now in FormulaD) when he was a relative nobody, drifting in Silverstone against Kazama (A drift God) in his famous Kei Office S15. Darren as far as I can remember had about one third of Kazama's power.

The whole place went mental with who is this chap that just put it to Kazama :D

Yet to be welded, it's had nothing done really since I bought it, other than fuel and a few laps of the estate. (Few goes on the bypass by lads with open drive)

I've sent it sideways a few times and it is dying for a welder, it'll go so well until one wheel catches more tranction and you end up VERY close to kerbs. Still, haven't even rubbed a wheels.

That track looks perfect to getting the basics down, nice and slow with loads of corners. :D
    CHP, the Zed!
    It may be Auto but it never changed gear anyway. :p

Yet to be welded, it's had nothing done really since I bought it, other than fuel and a few laps of the estate. (Few goes on the bypass by lads with open drive)

I've sent it sideways a few times and it is dying for a welder, it'll go so well until one wheel catches more tranction and you end up VERY close to kerbs. Still, haven't even rubbed a wheels.

That track looks perfect to getting the basics down, nice and slow with loads of corners. :D
    CHP, the Zed!

That mx5 is a cool car (I was one of the lads with open drive ;) ) but it needs power steering.

Oh and of course I would bring the zed. I doubt the truck would fit on the track and the carina is just lolz. (A rwd conversion would be good though)

CHP, the Zed!

It's like the e60 then, once you loose momentum at all it just tries to kill you by snapping straight :D

It's a concrete surface, so in the dry it's a tyre shredder but in the wet its like a skating rink. Literally to hold the car with any angle is almost impossible :)

The 300 is the only way to go CHP. It's one of these places that if you slap it into the tyres you just drag it out with someone elses car laughing.

Not like mondello or anything, totally relaxed and a great learning spot.

It does not need power steering, it weighs less than a tonne. You need to stop being a little girl about it. Haha

Once that it tries to self centre when drifting your ok. That makes it much easier :) If not she'll be a pig on the limit :)

It does to an extent. I'd say it'll be a little hand full for what I've read online.
    Great to learn in, very rewarding and when you jump to an S Chassis they'll slide for you like a piece of piss.

It does to an extent. I'd say it'll be a little hand full for what I've read online.
    Great to learn in, very rewarding and when you jump to an S Chassis they'll slide for you like a piece of piss.

You'll just have to help it on slightly :)

The friends s14 is crazy, into the corner and let the steering go. It'll pick up exactly the right point and you go with it. Just throttle control and slight changes to get the apex then :)
    Impress and you may get a shot in it :)

So is this slowly becoming Boards first drift day??

She'll steer back to centre all right, does have a habit of keeping the motion going right the way round so you have to catch it. Some track time and I'd say I'll have it well under control, just need that practice.
    I'll do my theory work now so, try my hardest to impress. :D haha

Not sure how boards would feel about drift days but it's happening anyway.
    Best not start a thread just yet. :p

Not sure how boards would feel about drift days but it's happening anyway.
    Best not start a thread just yet. :p

Yep I'd say it'd be banned for hooliganism!!

I'd expect a small turnout :)

Wonder would MM put the 335i to the track. Door to door :)

Yep I'd say it'd be banned for hooliganism!!

I'd expect a small turnout :)

Wonder would MM put the 335i to the track. Door to door :)

I'd have brought the 535d if I still had it.
    Still, should be fun in a zed too.

In the interests of not being banned I suggest that the organizer of this should pm a mod if they want it to be a boards thing! (Count me in anyway either way...., I've done some drifting but never on a track)

I'd have brought the 535d if I still had it.
    Still, should be fun in a zed too.

In the interests of not being banned I suggest that the organizer of this should pm a mod if they want it to be a boards thing! (Count me in anyway either way...., I've done some drifting but never on a track)

Cian is still unsure of having his car ready as of yet so I reckon we should wait a while :)
    Get a manual box while you're waiting :D

Cian is still unsure of having his car ready as of yet so I reckon we should wait a while :)
    Get a manual box while you're waiting :D

Oh it's in process. Cheapest quote I've gotten so far is £1200, and that's up north.
    Looking around from a few reccomended places but they want double the price. It would be so much easier if I could just source a manual donor zed and do the change myself but ain't no way in hell I'm taking that on!

Oh it's in process. Cheapest quote I've gotten so far is £1200, and that's up north.
    Looking around from a few reccomended places but they want double the price. It would be so much easier if I could just source a manual donor zed and do the change myself but ain't no way in hell I'm taking that on!

Sure get a manual 300 and we'll attack it some evening :) I'm sure a few of us would help out!
    The boxes in them are really strong and transferable to the s chassis's too. We'll be getting one once the sr one goes. Which isn't too far away going by the noise the synchro meshes are making :rolleyes:

I'll gladly be what help I can.
    Or if you still have the 318 then, strip it and weld it then sell the seats and extras for note than the rest of the car is worth... Like I've been saying for weeks. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I've had my Dad's E Class since this morning, and already I have had one person recoil in horror at the fact its petrol

Sure get a manual 300 and we'll attack it some evening :) I'm sure a few of us would help out!
    The boxes in them are really strong and transferable to the s chassis's too. We'll be getting one once the sr one goes. Which isn't too far away going by the noise the synchro meshes are making :rolleyes:

I wish it were that simple. Seen a "no log book" one for sale for £1k in the uk, but it's gone now. I didnt have the cash at the time to buy it.
    To be honest, I'd rather not spend money right now as I'm saving up for my trip to the US in august. I expect to come back with something new and I'd rather spend my money on some new yank metal than on fixing a jap drift car.

It's on my to do list though, and cheers for the offer - might take you up on it in the future!