Hanafin Running, Against FF wishes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

Everlong1 wrote: »
    Let's bring back the dolt Callelly and make it a hat trick.

What happened to him anyhow ? Last I heard he was in court for falsifying expenses claims - phone bills or something ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Well depends. Is the chimp from my area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭fullaljackeen

I believe the vote fairy will visit count centres across the country and magic up a load of votes for Fianna Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

c_man wrote: »
    Well depends. Is the chimp from my area?

Was the chimps father from the area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,060 ✭✭✭✭josip

I met her a few times in her clinic as the local TD.
    She struck me as arrogant and confrontational, unlike Barry Andrews, who was a dote.
    But perhaps for that reason, I wouldn't have thought she was a normal Fianna Fail, snout in the trough, parish pump politician.
    I also doubt she was part of the Cowen drinking gang in the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Can they not just boot her out of the parliamentary party altogether if they're so opposed to her running? Then they could sue her for improper use of their name etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Bambi wrote: »
    Was the chimps father from the area?

And will he fix the road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

gandalf wrote: »
    They haven't gone away you know.....

We all partied...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And will he fix the road?

Chimps are great men for funerals, its just the Dublin meeja are agin them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Where they mad in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

like father like daughter. her oul lad wouldnt f off at the time of the divorce referendum and now she wont f off

if she gets no votes does she forfeit any cash like what happens in the uk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The only reason why FF didn't win a seat in Dun Laoghaire was because they ran 2 candidates (Hanafin and Andrews) and split the vote. This allowed whackjob Richard Boyd-Barrett to get a seat, who has an extremely tiny chance of winning his seat back due to Sean Barrett being exempt and his votes going anywhere that isn't Boyd-Barrett.

If Hanafin wins the Council Vote she is a banker to get back into the dail, assuming they run one candidate.

PS Kate Feeny is a hotty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

Can they not just boot her out of the parliamentary party altogether if they're so opposed to her running? Then they could sue her for improper use of their name etc!

She's not in the parliamentary party. I think the problem is that even if they wanted to, the Secretary of Fianna Fáil signed her papers, so that's what the returning officer has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭donegal11

They are sticking two fingers up to the electorate by a candidate they don't want to run refusing to remove herself?

All that can happen there is the FF vote Is diluted , to their detriment.

She is giving FF by way of Michael Martin the two fingers and if the electorate don't want her they won't elect her:confused: (my guess is they do)

With Proportional Representation you can't dilute the Party vote only improve it with transfers.

Fianna Fail want to give a girl who only recently moved to Dublin a handy seat like her mother got as a senator, who is also well connected with party heads such a Cowen http://www.herald.ie/news/im-flattered-to-be-tipped-as-first-lady-taoiseach-29098520.html. But locally there must have been some resentment hence why hanafin was asked to run.

How many students who move to dublin for jobs get asked to run as councillors in areas they barely know? Cronyism/Nepotism at it worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

ScumLord wrote: »
    FF could forward batman and I still wouldn't vote for them.

Gerry Adams: The night is darkest just before the dawn. And I promise you'the dawn is coming.
    *Crowd shouts back*
    Gerry Adams: Very well. Take the Batman into custody.
    [everyone at the press conference looks confused]
    Gerry Adams: I am the Batman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

donegal11 wrote: »
    She is giving FF by way of Michael Martin the two fingers and if the electorate don't want her they won't elect her:confused: (my guess is they do)

With Proportional Representation you can't dilute the Party vote only improve it with transfers.

Fianna Fail want to give a girl who only recently moved to Dublin a handy seat like her mother got as a senator, who is also well connected with party heads such a Cowen http://www.herald.ie/news/im-flattered-to-be-tipped-as-first-lady-taoiseach-29098520.html. But locally there must have been some resentment hence why hanafin was asked to run.

How many students who move to dublin for jobs get asked to run as councillors in areas they barely know? Cronyism/Nepotism at it worst.

Cheers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

So a parachute candidate from Sligo, with strong connections to old FF, versus a former Deputy Leader of old FF. The illusion of choice.

Sadly I think Hanafin will get narrowly elected due to the increase in the number of seats in the constituency, her conservative views, and a sympathy vote arising from the odd perception that she has been persecuted during this whole debacle.

In case anyone needs a reminder...
    SOCIAL and Family Affairs Minister Mary Hanafin is refusing to give up her old school job as she amasses a teaching pension which would cost her nearly €400,000 if she were a private sector worker today.

Her teaching pension is in addition to the Rolls Royce retirement nest eggs she enjoys as a TD and minister.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/hanafin-to-cling-to-her-400000-pension-pot-26643538.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

josip wrote: »
    I met her a few times in her clinic as the local TD.
    She struck me as arrogant and confrontational, unlike Barry Andrews, who was a dote.
    But perhaps for that reason, I wouldn't have thought she was a normal Fianna Fail, snout in the trough, parish pump politician.
    I also doubt she was part of the Cowen drinking gang in the Dail.

For her entire time as a TD she continued to collect her teacher's salary. She also had her partner fast tracked to become a circuit judge, three days before the pay for new circuit judges was cut.

Yeah, she's a snout in the trough fianna failer alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The problem is given the age profile of the electorate around that area I would say the old biddy is a shoe in to get elected.

FF have not changed at all, they still have someone in charge who sat at the cabinet table when all the bad decisions were being made. He has proven himself with this episode to being as inept as Cowen was.

I know everyone says the current crowd are bad but they are just beginners compared to the bunch of chancers in FF. They are experts at feathering their own and their sponsors nests, it sickens me to think that parasites like MH will be bleeding more tax payers money out of the system.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Give us Barrabas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭donegal11

So a parachute candidate from Sligo, with strong connections to old FF, versus a former Deputy Leader of old FF. The illusion of choice.

Sadly I think Hanafin will get narrowly elected due to the increase in the number of seats in the constituency, her conservative views, and a sympathy vote arising from the odd perception that she has been persecuted during this whole debacle.

In case anyone needs a reminder...

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/hanafin-to-cling-to-her-400000-pension-pot-26643538.html

That article is older then the date suggests she quit her teaching post long ago hence why she is currently unemployed teaching wise, and every one of the TD's where at it, Enda kennny teached for 4 years and was entitled to full teachers pension. Joke of a system.

And Hanafin will win because she knows the area well unlike Feeney who more than likely got pushed forward because of her links with old FF(perhaps better connected) and the fact shes a decent looking women in a male dominated party.

Martin made a show of himself, he made a big deal of running 2 FF candidates in an area and wanted to hand his favorite a seat rather than the electorate decide. Look at the majority of areas they all have at least 2 party candidates. Hanafin was asked to run and accepted and wasn't going to be messed about just because Feeney had a hissy fit at the last moment. If Feeney can't get elected of her own back it's no ones problem but her own.

And it's all old FFjust like it's all old FG and Labour the only party that don't have the baggage of family connections is Sinn fein but they have more then enough question marks about them north of the boarder to make up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

It's not her fault if she gets voted in. She is more than entitled to stand. If the people vote for her then they cannot complain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

whoa whoa whoa.let's not make hasty comments we might regret. This is Batman we're talking about, regardless of party. **** would get done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Indeed, unfortunately however many of the Irish people are amnesiac gombeen idiots just out for themselves at the end of the day. Some FF dolt comes to the door and dangles some shiney giveaway policy in their face or tells them the financial crash was really FG or Labour or SF's fault and they'll lap it up, all will be forgiven.

FF understand this aspect of the Irish psyche better than any of the others, which is one of the reasons why they have historically been so successful regardless of the amount of sleeze and overt corruption that permeates within that organization.

Depressingly, their comeback is assured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

That chimp you speak of would probably be more able at managing the economy than they were!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Hopefully people will remember that in the final days of FF in government she signed off on the payment of €750m to UNSECURED bondholders.