Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

klose wrote: »
    It was johnson, he got done badly a few times, also moved out of the way for the deflection if the first goal.

They both had the opportunity to do it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

kfallon wrote: »
    Why did the hell didn't Coutinho just take Bolasie (spelling??) out of it for the second goal. Take a yellow card and let us regroup!

In a word; experience.

He's a young lad and it probably wouldn't occur to him - he's on the receiving end of those type of fouls frequently probably and it likely dissuade you on a subconscious level from making them yourself.

Someone who makes them for a living (Lucas, Flamini, Mikel etc) would've without a second thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Benimar wrote: »
    That shouldn't have been a problem though. Palace had 9 men in that pic which meant Liverpool should have been 3 on 2 at the back (probably Johnson & Flanagan as FBs and either Lucas or Allen)

The problem was there was no player on the edge of the box to drop in if needs be. It looks as if it should have been the 2nd from the left (Stevie G?) but he got too far ahead of the ball.

Where I do think Rodgers got it wrong last night was the Coutinho for Sterling sub. Johnson was getting roasted so he should really have just 'parked' Sterling in front of him as protection. Either that or bring Agger on and put Flanagan on the right. Johnson had done well in the first half but went to s*ite in the 2nd.

Still gutted this morning. Yes we had a great season in comparison to what we thought last August, but it doesn't disguise the fact that we blew a very winnable league title. Its ok to say we will be back next year, but will we? You really can't be passing up the chance we had this season, especially the way we did.

Obviously the defence needs sorting. I think we need two new FBs. Johnson is not reliable enough and as much as I like Flanno, I think I'd be happier if he was squad cover. The GK and CBs need to sort themselves out or we need to replace at least one of them with a dominant presence. If one of the 3 had the organisational skills/leadership of Carra, last night (and other blown leads) would not have happened. Saying that, you wouldn't expect a pub team to lose a 3 goal lead with 11 minutes to go in such an important game.

Pretty much agree with all that. Thing with the break is palace did have 9 men in that pic but once they break thats it, its 3v3 and we're playing catch up. Coutinho isnt streetwise enough to take out Bolaise and Johnson then doesnt really do anything to affect the attack. No bodycheck, no tackle , nothing...gets beaten, drops off and allows Bolaise to pick out Gayle.
    But like I said we went too gung ho in the first place. When their first goal went in they should have been thinking "right, the goal difference is gone, lets just get the 3 points here and be done with it". (thats what I was thinking at home anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

The positive I can take from our failings this season, is that a lot of it has come about through youth and naivety, and Rodgers has already shown a capacity to learn and adapt.

As a team, we should be in a lot better position next year, especially if we can add to the group. Someone already pointed out today the lack of options on our bench, and it really is below par.

I have no doubt that the last two games have been massive learning experiences for both Rodgers and the players. The real shame for me, and the thing that makes it harder to take, is Stevie G and how he is getting on in age. He doesn't quite have that time to see out the process like the others do, which is a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I think/hope Rodgers will learn a lot after spending a summer reviewing team, performance, shape etc. He has to take a lot of the credit for us scoring so many goals, for putting us in a position to win the title, for bringing on players like Sterling, Henderson, Flanno etc. He also has to take some of the responsibility for a disturbing number of points dropped from winning positions, or winnable games. I still don't think we have a formation that is the right balance between solidity and adventure. Whether it is the 4-4-2 or the diamond, we look very porous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Positive distraction...

Raheem Sterling is 19yrs old. Its scary to imagine how good he could be.

All the goals seemed to happen when he went off the pitch too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Benimar

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    When their first goal went in they should have been thinking "right, the goal difference is gone, lets just get the 3 points here and be done with it". (thats what I was thinking at home anyway)

Agree 100%. Was thinking exactly the same.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

the jury is still out for me when it comes to Sakho but I am expecting a better season next time from him if he can get a good few games in and avoid anymore injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭slingerz

Henderson was on the field for every other game where the opposition came back at us and we had no answers.

It wasn't him who kept Swansea/Norwich/Sunderland/Villa from getting equalizers against us.

he wouldt have allowed delany the time to take the shot for the 1st which started it all off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

The morning after the night before......Still sickened. Hopefully the experience will stand to us next season, where for example, Coutinho and Johnson take one for the team and get a yellow on a fast break, instead of being too honest. The likes of Silva/Zabaleta would have taken a card and slowed the game down. Any Chelsea player would have done the same.

I love the way we play football, but at times I wish BR would add a bit of steel to our MF. Alonso had Masch and/or Sissoko. Gerrard needs the same type of player. We may score a few less goals, but we will concede less also. City paly like us and they have Fernandinho, and I feel he is the type of player we need.

Did anyone (or was it just me) notice that a lot of the players looked tired last night?

Agueroooo wrote: »
    the jury is still out for me when it comes to Sakho but I am expecting a better season next time from him if he can get a good few games in and avoid anymore injuries.

I'd agree completely.

I wouldnt have any of the defence there if i was in charge. Sakho cost 17M! there should be a decimal point in that figure.

For me Johnson was the worst defender that we had last night beaten several times especially at the end and even in an attacking sense took so many wrong options.

Flanagan gets away with a lot as a local player but reality of it is he's not good enough. Skrtel escapes with the goals he's scored but he's not good enough either.

The morning after the night before......Still sickened. Hopefully the experience will stand to us next season, where for example, Coutinho and Johnson take one for the team and get a yellow on a fast break, instead of being too honest. The likes of Silva/Zabaleta would have taken a card and slowed the game down. Any Chelsea player would have done the same.

I love the way we play football, but at times I wish BR would add a bit of steel to our MF. Alonso had Masch and/or Sissoko. Gerrard needs the same type of player. We may score a few less goals, but we will concede less also. City paly like us and they have Fernandinho, and I feel he is the type of player we need.

Did anyone (or was it just me) notice that a lot of the players looked tired last night?

While I agree with your sentiment they were setup in a different way as they only had 1 striker in Torres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

That was Rodgers fault last night. No question. 10mins to go he should have changed the style and put men behind the ball. Pathetic management .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

What exactly happened? I missed the game.

Were Liverpool going out and out for goals for the GD? I actually fancied them to beat Newcastle 6-0 or 7-0 os thought they might have a go.

1 point from 2 games (Chelsea/Palace) is a shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The scary news is that City want Fernando Reges as well. Mind you if the FFP fines stick (see thread) that may not happen.

and yes the players are increasingly looking shot towards the end of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,921 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

lubnatsi :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭McSasquatch

SlickRic wrote: »
    lubnatsi :(

And you had done a good job cheering me up earlier and all... So ffo kcef.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    When their first goal went in they should have been thinking "right, the goal difference is gone, lets just get the 3 points here and be done with it". (thats what I was thinking at home anyway)

Ah now, there were only 11 mins left!
    Not many teams fear drawing a game at 3-1 against an inferior side (with feck all to play for) with 11 mins left.
    Not many PL champions would let 3 goals in during 10 mins at Selhurst Park.
    Liverpool should have buried them and goal difference was still vitally important. I reckon Livepool will destroy Newcastle so it really was a blown opportunity in many ways.

Squeaky bum experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

How are you feeling today lads? I feel Rodgers deserves a lot of criticism over the past few weeks. Not here to wind anyone up btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Ah now, there were only 11 mins left!
    Not many teams fear drawing a game at 3-1 against an inferior side (with feck all to play for) with 11 mins left.
    Not many PL champions would let 3 goals in during 10 mins at Selhurst Park.
    Liverpool should have buried them and goal difference was still vitally important. I reckon Livepool will destroy Newcastle so it really was a blown opportunity in many ways.

Squeaky bum experience.

We should have seen the game out regardless of who we're playing. Once they scored the goal difference was gone for me. Should have just concentrated on the three points and manage the game better.

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    How are you feeling today lads? I feel Rodgers deserves a lot of criticism over the past few weeks. Not here to wind anyone up btw.

Why?

How many other managers could have this Liverpool team going into their final league game, still with a chance of winning the league?

The same team that everyone said was 'midtable quality' a mere 9 months ago.

Also, food for thought, he only turned 41 in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

And you really need to point this out today on the Liverpool thread where they are hurting?

Of course youre not here to wind anyone up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Rodgers showed his inexperience, but considering he is inexperienced that's hardly surprising. I still firmly believe we lost the title against Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭joe123

Then you know nothing about football.

I would agree

He done well up to the time when it became apparent that Liverpool were set for the title.

Should have approached the Chelsea of the opinion that a point would be sufficient and changed the formation and setup accordingly especially as Henderson was out.

I know it had worked but perhaps Lucas into the defensive mid position and Gerrard pushed forward would have been a more pragmatic approach to things

Similarly last night 3 up was fine but needed to keep the players in check to keep concentration and security. Once the first goal went in he should have put Agger on to shore up the defence and maintained the victory.

The run in should be about picking up points but 1 point from Chelsea/Palace isnt title winning form in the run in. 3 more points there would have Liverpool in control of the title on the final game of the season

murpho999 wrote: »
    Why wouldn't they turn it down?

I'm sure the club will look at Spurs and see what damage letting your best player go can do.

I'm under the impression that the club want to build a team around Suarez as they have stood by him so much in the past and wouldn't sell him last season.

Now that they're in the Champion's League they will want him in the squad.

No evidence either that any other clubs are in for him either.

That was the Spurs board fault by there silly transfer activity, Andre Villas-Boas had hardly any control over them. Nothing got to do with how Liverpool would handle the money.

Evidence or rumors? It's already been swinging about the tabloids and it's going to speculation all summer. He was wanted last year, after his season he's probably wanted even more now.

"Here, Rodgers, ya know that final run in? Yeah, when you won 11, drew 1, and lost 1, all while still being in with a shout for the league that previously only the 'deluded' thought you could win? Yeah, well turns out you were pretty shite.

Have a bag of abuse and a side order of criticism, and go think about what you have done."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭0028673

absolutely spot on there :pac:

Look it the team made a few mistakes which ended costing us the league but any Liverpool fan will tell you that they have been magnificent this season.

Rodgers is only 41 and I do believe he is building something special with the club.

The thing that crates the most for me is that time is running out for Stevie G to win that premiership medal :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

We've got one match left to play and we're top of the league. Rodgers will do for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,764 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

So much grief in here tonight, but we're not in that much a different position to a few hours ago. A massive favour is still reqiured from outside our control. Making up the GD was never likely.

Except it's even more massive now.

I could actually see West Ham or Villa grind out a 0-0 victory against City. But a win? No way.

I'm still amazed at what I saw last night though.

:mad:

:(