Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,338 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

But I don't think it is over at all and I'm surprised at how people are throwing in the towel.

Maybe we've only got a 5% chance of winning the title now, but City still have to go and do the business and secure at least 4 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

kildare75 wrote: »
    for the love and honour...we have gone from 7th to top....
    if we loose the league, it will be to a team who have spent millions....
    tonight is a sickener for sure...but lets be honest. And forget all the fecking comments...we know our club...we know where we have come from, we still will finish at least 2nd, and we will learn.................... we will learn from this season....
    with the right investments we will improve...don't let the haters get you down...they only hate cause we are top! and that's a fact as a wise man once said,
    we probably wont finish top now alas, and I tip my hat to city if they win it.....but feck it....don't bite with the hatred coming from we all know who....
    still top of the league...YNWA

What happened tonight is unforgivable for any team fron under 8's to a team in a WC final!

I'm not letting the players off the hook that easily for tonight I'm afraid!

We were attacking with 7/8 men up when it was 3-2 ffs. Ridiculous stuff.

I love Rodgers and what he has done this season but this stuff has to stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Ardent

Don't understand why this team can't defend a lead? Incapable of sitting deep and protecting what they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,340 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

From the sublime to the ridiculous in 15 minutes.....a bonkers end to a bonkers season.

This season should be judged as a success based on where we've come but still feels like a major missed opportunity....like getting 5 numbers in the lotto and winning a hundred grand instead of five million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Gerrard now knows how Milan felt on 05.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,662 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

F ckin pricks !
    Players i mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,188 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I may not always agree with Alan but he's entitled to his ( very valid ) opinion

Oh that's fine express your opinion. Calling other posters and I quote "cheerleaders" is a "you were wrong I was right".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

rarnes1 wrote: »
    We were attacking with 7/8 men up when it was 3-2 ffs. Ridiculous stuff.

I love Rodgers and what he has done this season but this stuff has to stop

No one should attempt to argue with this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

viper006 wrote: »
    You certainly are the worse kind of arsenal fan on these boards, straight into another teams forums after bad result spouting vindictive crap. Liverpool on another level to arsenal this season so jog on back to your forum ya whooper
    daRobot wrote: »
    Get off the thread will you. You know f*ck all.

Please remember the charter of the forum before you post, lads. No further warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Bad night for Steve peters liverpool 3-0 up and Sullivan 10-5 both fail to win

Jamie Carragher being harsh on Rodgers and the Liverpool team,give it up Janie,you retired without winning a league.

He's a pundit now and he's fairly spot on, even if it is hard to hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

kildare75 wrote: »
    for the love and honour...we have gone from 7th to top....
    if we loose the league, it will be to a team who have spent millions....
    tonight is a sickener for sure...but lets be honest. And forget all the fecking comments...we know our club...we know where we have come from, we still will finish at least 2nd, and we will learn.................... we will learn from this season....
    with the right investments we will improve...don't let the haters get you down...they only hate cause we are top! and that's a fact as a wise man once said,
    we probably wont finish top now alas, and I tip my hat to city if they win it.....but feck it....don't bite with the hatred coming from we all know who....
    still top of the league...YNWA

this should be stickied :P

Like lads... its chronic, and what I'm going to say here is as cliché as the hating, but were gutted to be top of the league by a point. Oh my how standards have improved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Turtyturd wrote: »
    They have the upper hand counting fourth place trophies.

Karma came your way tonight BUT I actually wanted you to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Jamie Carragher being harsh on Rodgers and the Liverpool team,give it up Janie,you retired without winning a league.

Not harsh at all. We bottled it tonight. Forget the title, we let a 3 goal lead slip in 9 minutes. That for any professional footballer is nothing short of disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

That should at least provide incentive for next season. If we won that and lost the season on goal difference it would have been very much "oh well, tried our best." This will sting for a long time, good enough for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

rob316 wrote: »
    Oh that's fine express your opinion. Calling other posters and I quote "cheerleaders" is a "you were wrong I was right".

Who are you?

Do you disagree with my post? Or do you just want to have a tantrum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Seriously slagging off a legend who is paid to give his opinion **** off I'll take the ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

**** it, we'll see how Wednesday night goes, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Knex. wrote: »

If City lose, we riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,188 ✭✭✭✭rob316

This will take a while to get over. I'm immensely proud of Liverpool this season but that was totally unacceptable.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'm delighted to be a Liverpool fan, and this season has given far more highs than lows and the players and manager deserve immense credit for all that.

However, that doesn't exempt them from criticism for tonight at the end. We could well have been 6-0 up, but we weren't, and once it went to 3-1 attacking with the amount of numbers we had committed forward was madness. I think we had about 8 players in the Palace box in that attack before they made it 3-2. It was sheer madness. It's small margins, but that's how leagues are won and lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,919 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

that team has more to learn than we maybe first realised.

so incredibly naive it's untrue.

these are basics lads. you go 3-1, that's it. go tight. shut the game down. make City win the games. we were never going to catch up the GD, so just win the game and make it difficult for City.

just gutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I suppose you have to hand it to palace, as soon as they spotted the chink in the armor they hammered their point home.

Its been a great season so far, its not over yet.

Hopefully lessons will be learned from this experience, defending a lead is something that needs to happen much better next season, its all well hitting the team with a blitzkrieg in the first half but when they regroup and start making tactical changes you have got to be able to change tactically very quickly with the entire team as a unit. Which is something chelsea can do as a team very well as we seen over the past few weeks

Defensively poor for alot of the season, but its more than defenders that were responsible for tonight.

Some big decisions to be made on some established players this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Knex. wrote: »

Yep. City still have 180 mins to play but it's theirs now.

Just play for the win on Sunday. Be proud of the 2nd place but we do need to sort out the defensive side of our game before next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭brevity

Carra is just saying what a lot of us were thinking, the strikers couldn't keep bailing us out.

****ing hell what an absolute cock up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I don't want to see Johnson play for us again. He faffed about all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Freak goal against the run of play caused a meltdown, what can you do. Nice of people to stick the knife into Rodgers when they were happy to take the 5-3 and 6-3 type results btw.

Haven't had a drop tonight but jesus I'm brokenhearted. Had to stop myself from telling people what I thought of them in no uncertain terms on Facebook. I'll say it will be even better craic on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Augmerson wrote: »
    I don't want to see Johnson play for us again. He faffed about all night.

He faffed about for the last three years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

Have an awful feeling tonight will make up Suarez mind to move if Real come calling, he was gutted
    anyone else think we may have seen his last away match for us ?