Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snooker World Championship 2014

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 john_parrott

squadro wrote: »
    depends on how old ya are. cliff thorburn aka the grinder, eddie charlton who specialised in breaks of 12 and then running for cover, terry griffiths the welshman who went looking for snookers even if he didnt need them.

barely remember thorburn and dont remember chalton

terry grifiths took around five mins for each shot , he even speaks slow

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

15-12 to Selby, never would have predicted that score yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭melon_collie

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Why are so many people hating Selby here? He normally is a great player to watch but his potting is off form, so he's relying on safety and tactics. It's working, what would people rather he goes out there and leaves every ball open to Ronnie and loses 18-4? Safety and tactics are all part of snooker and when your off form at one area of your game you need to use the other to compensate and that is what Selby is doing.

well said. Ronnie is a great man to play and win frames that are straight forward but lacks a bit of grit in the not so straight forward. Fair play to Selby. Have a think about how hard he has fought to be in this position. Especially over the semi final and a terrible day yesterday where he managed to hold on to be only 3 frames behind at the end of play. Ronnie has had a relatively easy path to the final in terms of match durations. To be honest I was expecting Selby to be burnt out today. Fair play to him. I think he is certainly the hungrier of the two players.

15-12 Selby. Selbys superior safety is telling. He is dictating the game now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Results always come before entertainment. Its a loser mentality to think otherwise.

Quite frankly, what you want to see when you sit down and watch snooker is irrelevant to players in this position. Selby is not out there to please you or anyone else, hes there to win this trophy.

Fans are fickle creatures, Ronnie fans will be bitter and frustrated and will piss and moan about Selby and his tactics, Selby fans will be delighted with his performance and will appreciate his tactical prowess and magnificent match play.

Its up to Ronnie to combat Selby's style, hes just not good enough to do it today it would seem.

I don't disagree with you. But as I said before we are entitled to a good moan about boring snooker. The neutral certainly wouldn't be too happy about it, let alone the Ronnie fans. We're fans and are allowed to act accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I don't disagree with you. But as I said before we are entitled to a good moan about boring snooker. The neutral certainly wouldn't be too happy about it, let alone the Ronnie fans. We're fans and are allowed to act accordingly.
    Don't mean to be disrespectful, but I'm sure Selby and his supporters couldn't give a sh1te what neutrals think of his style.

If you want entertainment, go to the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

Gritty frames can be entertaining,one chance one frame snooker while higher quality doesn't have much drama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

The only way you'd beat Ronnie with anything other than 'boring snooker' is if Ronnie didn't show up. Selby is out to win this, not throw it away.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

10-2 to Selby since Ronnie went 10-5 up. He's running away with it and Ronnie is playing right into his hands at the minute.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭cruasder777

Had £350 quid on Selby about an hour ago at evens.

Stats are on his side, I think he will grind it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Terry Griffiths, one of the most annoying voices on TV.

Screenshot or GTFO.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

The only player I would argue that can beat Ronnie at his own game would be Judd Trump. Saying that Judd Trump just like Ronnie all depends on his mentality going in to the match.

BNMC wrote: »
    Screenshot or GTFO.

Betfair

Temped to get more on, now down to 4/11

If I had bottle I would put grand on if he starts the next frame well. Alas I dont.

Only 3 players in the last 30 years have come back from behind at the start of the last session.

Also Selby has a good temperament to grind it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

picture of betslip please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Pic of betslip or close your account in a huff plz

(RIP Eight Ball)

Stephen Fry in the bloody studio now.

Jesus.

Betfair

Temped to get more on, now down to 4/11
    GTFO have better odds. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,593 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Anyone update me on the score real quick?..They're just ****eing on atm

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Blay wrote: »
    Anyone update me on the score real quick?..They're just ****eing on atm

15-12 Selby.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Between Stephen Fry, and John Parrott/Steve Davis poking at a smart screen and reading out twitter comments from all and sundry, the studio bit of this championships has hit rock bottom this year for me. I want to hear experts, dammit, not the opinions of random punters (I don't care how knowledgable they are).

Not to mention the early rounds matches being unceremoniously cut off at crucial points.

God be with the days of reverential, practically 24-hour coverage of the WC back in the eighties and nineties heydays :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What's the score lads?

Just switched back, half time in the Liverpool game.

Thought I was watching QI for a sec.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Not over yet, Ronnie was in massive trouble against Perry too at 9-11 but won 4 in a row without giving Perry a chance.

squadro wrote: »
    picture of betslip please

I dont know how to do that stuff.

Ronnie is 5/2 on PP if anyone feeling hell pull it around

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Fecking mobile phones :mad:

There's ALWAYS one - in church, in the theatre, in the cinema (there's usually loads), at a bloody snooker match. How hard can it be to put it on silent, seriously. This would make me legislate for blockers.

:mad::mad:

I really want this to end up 17-17 and then one tense last frame...it would make my day.

Ronnie is 5/2 on PP if anyone feeling hell pull it around

To win hes going to have to blast Selby off the table, he hasn't done that this tournament, apart from short bursts.

I really want this to end up 17-17 and then one tense last frame...it would make my day.

I dont:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

if he does not turn it round wonder what odds pp would give on ronnie announcing hes retiring(again).:rolleyes: