Peaches Geldof died due to heroin overdose**MOD NOTE: NO JOKES**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Poca Nose

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The closest I came to having a role model was thinking that MacGyver was the coolest person ever and wishing I could be as resourceful as him.

OMG, I did have a role model. And, despite my tits and ass, it was also MacGyver. :o But hey, he was admirable, and the fact that he had a phobia made him more accessible. :P :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

Poca Nose wrote: »
    Ì've never *got* the role model thing. Even as a child, I never had any celebrity role models. People in my own sphere, yes, but not high-profile people I didn't know.

Not everyone is privileged enough to have family members, teachers, etc. they can look up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Poor girl, all very sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Olive8585 wrote: »
    Not everyone is privileged enough to have family members, teachers, etc. they can look up to.

Sorry but thats just rubbish. In the poorest communities in the world there is always somebody to look up to. Certain sections of the first world population have been raised to be so shallow and image conscious that they overlook ordinary people that they come into contact with in their own community who may be admirable for working hard etc. in favour of a face in a magazine or on the TV, just because that face is pretty pale thin and wearing lipstick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    Sorry but thats just rubbish. In the poorest communities in the world there is always somebody to look up to. Certain sections of the first world population have been raised to be so shallow and image conscious that they overlook ordinary people that they come into contact with in their own community who may be admirable for working hard etc. in favour of a face in a magazine or on the TV, just because that face is pretty pale thin and wearing lipstick.

Nobody should be idolised. Sure, appreciate the good that they do, but everyone is human and everyone makes mistakes.

You're saying people only idolised peaches because she was on the TV and had a pretty face- people found her to be a role model because of the type of person/mother she appeared to be, the people in your community could very well be making the same mistakes she did behind closed doors- pretty face or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Tasden wrote: »
    Nobody should be idolised. Sure, appreciate the good that they do, but everyone is human and everyone makes mistakes.

You're saying people only idolised peaches because she was on the TV and had a pretty face- people found her to be a role model because of the type of person/mother she appeared to be, the people in your community could very well be making the same mistakes she did behind closed doors- pretty face or not.
    Nobody idolised Peaches and she was considered to be a privileged, spoilt, pain in the arse attention seeker until she had her kids. The turning point in public opinion was when she held her own with Katie Hopkins on This Morning. People could see her maturing into a young woman who took her responsibilities as a mother seriously. It's shocking now to find out that it was all a front and she was still struggling with her demons, with ultimately cost her her life. Her story is tragic, rather than inspiring.

What do poor communities in the third world have to do with anything? Plenty of children in Ireland have no real role models to look up to. I used to volunteer at a kids club and there were plenty of kids where the only adults in their life were addicts, heavy drinkers, criminals, their parents were permanently on the dole, actually ridiculed them for doing homework and doing well at school in some cases in case they got ideas above their station...a lot of those kids did look up to drug dealers as role models because they had fancy cars and designer clothes...so it didn't seem all that 'out there' that a lot of them wanted to be like Kim Kardashian.

Having adults in your life who make good role models is something not all children have. Sorry you find that so hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Nobody idolised Peaches and she was considered to be a privileged, spoilt, pain in the arse attention seeker until she had her kids. The turning point in public opinion was when she held her own with Katie Hopkins on This Morning. People could see her maturing into a young woman who took her responsibilities as a mother seriously. It's shocking now to find out that it was all a front and she was still struggling with her demons, with ultimately cost her her life. Her story is tragic, rather than inspiring.

There was something really weird about her that morning. She never looked at the interviewers; she kept staring at someone/something off camera and seemed to be responding to a cue whenever she launched an attack at the other woman.

What do poor communities in the third world have to do with anything? Plenty of children in Ireland have no real role models to look up to. I used to volunteer at a kids club and there were plenty of kids where the only adults in their life were addicts, heavy drinkers, criminals, their parents were permanently on the dole, actually ridiculed them for doing homework and doing well at school in some cases in case they got ideas above their station...a lot of those kids did look up to drug dealers as role models because they had fancy cars and designer clothes...so it didn't seem all that 'out there' that a lot of them wanted to be like Kim Kardashian.

Having adults in your life who make good role models is something not all children have. Sorry you find that so hard to believe.

Would it seriously never occur to you that you in your volunteer role are actually a role model for the kids in your club!? I see the kids you are talking about playing out in the road in front of our house all weekend for 12 and 14 hours a day in all weathers. F**ked out of the house in the morning to torment the neighbours for the day, fed out of the Centre deli counter and the ice cream van the littlest boy in particular will follow the postman around or any passing adult just to get a bit of adult attention. Its a pity there are not more like you and a bit more cash made available for transport and days out etc. Fair play to you for trying.

Maybe, but what about those who didn't come to the club, had no club in their area, etc.? All I'm saying is maybe don't be too harsh on those who look up to celebrities. It's easy for those who had good, inspirational parents, grandparents, siblings, etc. not to need famous role models, but it's not too hard to see why some people do look up to the Kim Ks of this world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

brooke 2 wrote: »
    There was something really weird about her that morning. She never looked at the interviewers; she kept staring at someone/something off camera and seemed to be responding to a cue whenever she launched an attack at the other woman.
    I've only seen people say that recently. No one picked up on it at the time (or at least not to the best of my knowledge).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Maybe, but what about those who didn't come to the club, had no club in their area, etc.? All I'm saying is maybe don't be too harsh on those who look up to celebrities. It's easy for those who had good, inspirational parents, grandparents, siblings, etc. not to need famous role models, but it's not too hard to see why some people do look up to the Kim Ks of this world.

I doubt any kids look up to Kim K and co. for moral guidance. They like their appearance and lifestyle. It's a stretch to call these little crushes "role models".

Kim K basically sells an aspirational lifestyle, I don't think anyone would be stupid enough to want to know her thoughts on world peace. As Muise says, she's not going to sought after for moral guidance.

Candie wrote: »
    Kim K basically sells an aspirational lifestyle, I don't think anyone would be stupid enough to want to know her thoughts on world peace. As Muise says, she's not going to sought after for moral guidance.

The issue is that a lot of kids don't know to look for moral guidance, that's the point. They've got their ****ty lives, they look at people like Kim K and think, she's pretty, she's got nice clothes, nice jewellery, goes on amazing holidays. That's the whole point of the idea of 'bad role model'. Kids are looking in the wrong places for the wrong things.

I suppose the wrong things and the wrong places are matters of opinion, comparative as they are.

Although you reiterate what I said in my post, it's her lifestyle that they seek to emulate, not her opinions on world peace or drug use or care homes for the elderly or whatever is currently an acceptably worthy cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

And this lady had the nerve to go on TV and advise other Moms how to cope in bringing up their little ones. The reason that TV stations fell across one another to get her on daytime shows was because of her celebrity status. Surely they too didn't believe the b/s that she spouted:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/79-syringes-burnt-spoons-and-weekly-drug-tests-peaches-secret-drug-addiction-revealed-30453693.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

her one-year-old son was left alone with her body for up to 17 hours after she died of heroin overdose in room littered with syringes and drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Hitchens wrote: »
    her one-year-old son was left alone with her body for up to 17 hours after she died of heroin overdose in room littered with syringes and drugs

Source for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Hitchens wrote: »

Did the inquest before not say the kids were out with family when she died?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Did the inquest before not say the kids were out with family when she died?
    seemingly not

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2702535/Peaches-Geldof-heroin-addict-took-methadone-two-half-years-died-inquest-hears.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Relevant.
    Peaches Geldof Now Just A Heroin Addict Decides Media

The media have confirmed that mother of two Peaches Geldof will no longer be referred to with any semblance of empathy or afforded any dignity following confirmation from an inquest into her death that she had been taking heroin.

“Sometimes you idiots don’t know what you need to get from certain news stories, so we take little nuggets and feed them to you, in the vain hope you won’t choke,” read a joint statement from the editors of several prominent tabloids.

Newspapers, which count hounding and stalking celebrities amongst their core values along with journalistic integrity, have chosen to lead with headlines that read ‘Peaches Geldof Was A Heroin Addict’.

Variations on these headlines sit proudly alongside coverage of her initial death which saw journalists arbitrarily collate tweets which decried Geldof’s apparent drug use and then criticised the people responsible for the tweets, calling them ‘despicable’. It is not thought any of this coverage is eligible for this year’s Pulitzer Prize.

Many readers of newspapers admitted they were confused by some of the media’s coverage.

“I don’t understand, I thought this was supposed to be a tragic loss of young life, a loss for her young children but now the media really want me to dwell on the fact this woman suffered from a crippling addiction, I’m confused as to what they want me to think. Maybe they should just print ‘you should hate her’ o the front page instead,” confused reader Sarah Dunne remarked.

“That’s the way the media works,” responded one journalist as he winked at this reporter. “It’s our responsibility to the public to allow them to pour over the sordid details of someone’s personal life. We also like to confirm for them that they should probably intensely judge at every opportunity”.

“21st century media is a credit to society,” explained freelance tabloid journalist Richard Head, “we’re just trying to foster and validate a ‘valley of the squinting windows’ approach but with the technology today, from that window, you can watch in HD, live-tweet, live-judge, the works,” explained the journalist masquerading as a human being.

As of yet no complaints have been made to broadcasting authorities over the coverage as the public are busy reading over the inquest details.
    Several tabloids are already hard at work collating all their coverage in a scrapbook for the Geldof family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Anyone thought of interviewing Kieth Richards for the voice of experience?

Subtitles mandatory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I read this thread before... sure I even posted in it before... But I shake my head at the comments still.

If this was some junkie from Ballymun who overdosed. There is no way in hell this would be 29 pages long. But yet, some how, because it is a celebrity. People care.

And before someone quotes me and tries to play the "compassion" angle with hopes to jerk off while being right (this is after hours after all) ... It's sad what happened to the woman. It is.

But I still can't get my head around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I read this thread before... sure I even posted in it before... But I shake my head at the comments still.

If this was some junkie from Ballymun who overdosed. There is no way in hell this would be 29 pages long. But yet, some how, because it is a celebrity. People care.

And before someone quotes me and tries to play the "compassion" angle with hopes to jerk off while being right (this is after hours after all) ... It's sad what happened to the woman. It is.

But I still can't get my head around it.
    It's inevitable that people you can read about in the media will be the people whose deaths people talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's inevitable that people you can read about in the media will be the people whose deaths people talk about.

I know what you mean Teddy :)
    It's just.... it's wrong to hold one up to a point of conversation and not the other. It's like the other is "ah fuck them, who cares"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I know what you mean Teddy :)
    It's just.... it's wrong to hold one up to a point of conversation and not the other. It's like the other is "ah fuck them, who cares"

Hi :)
    I understand your point, I guess it's impossible to really mourn for the death of someone we never knew existed though. Also it's not really like she was famous for the sake of being a drug addict, she was fairly well recognised journalist in her own right.

The attention of somebodies death doesn't really reflect on anything other than how many people they were known to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Hi :)
    I understand your point, I guess it's impossible to really mourn for the death of someone we never knew existed though. Also it's not really like she was famous for the sake of being a drug addict, she was fairly well recognised journalist in her own right.

The attention of somebodies death doesn't really reflect on anything other than how many people they were known to.

She wasn't. She got a column as a teenager based on her celebrity status, then presented a couple of documentary TV shows on Sky One in 2005 and 2006, again based on her celebrity status. That's where the 'journalism ends. For the next 8 years she just hung around, doing the occasional modelling gig and presenting a chat show on ITV2.

Also, if she did consider herself a journalist, she should have never revealed the identities of the two women jailed in the Ian Watkins of Lostprophets trial. Very poor ethical judgement and illegal too, as it broke the UK's Sexual Offences (Amendment) Act 1992 section 1.

A good piece on that here: http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/peaches-geldof-twitter-dont-mix-2864519

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,696 ✭✭✭✭rob316

She filled the pages with her tripe when she was alive and we have to look at it again after she snuffed it.
    Good riddance, no child deserves a mother like that, better off dead. The father seems like a decent bloke so the kids will have one loving parent atleast to raise them.

I read an article by a proper journalist whose son died from a heroin overdose shortly after he started ""experimenting" with the filthy muck. I'll have a Google in a while see if I can locate it.
    Anyhoo this journalist claims that Peaches phoned him the day his sons body was found, literally hours after he had identified him, and begged him not to disclose the fact that she had not only introduced the lad to heroin(he had dabbled in drugs already, a troubled boy) but she was with him that day.
    She said her dad would kill her.
    That was her only concern. No regrets about the dead boy, no sympathy for the bereaved family, just consumed with self pity and concern about her image.
    And all this while she was appearing on daytime TV doing her stepford wife routine.
    A manipulative selfish person with no discernible talent who seemed to have put vulnerable impressionable people under her spell. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I read an article by a proper journalist whose son died from a heroin overdose shortly after he started ""experimenting" with the filthy muck. I'll have a Google in a while see if I can locate it.
    Anyhoo this journalist claims that Peaches phoned him the day his sons body was found, literally hours after he had identified him, and begged him not to disclose the fact that she had not only introduced the lad to heroin(he had dabbled in drugs already, a troubled boy) but she was with him that day.
    She said her dad would kill her.
    That was her only concern. No regrets about the dead boy, no sympathy for the bereaved family, just consumed with self pity and concern about her image.
    And all this while she was appearing on daytime TV doing her stepford wife routine.
    A manipulative selfish person with no discernible talent who seemed to have put vulnerable impressionable people under her spell. RIP.

I read that article too. Think it was posted here, didn't he write in his diary something like "tonight peaches is coming over and were going too do H together, too take the pain away" again lads I stress it was something along those lines not word for word