We're in Early Days of Celtic Tiger 2 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

As a taxpayer I'm not seeing the recovery with another €2bn in hikes coming in the next budget and services such as hospitals rapidly deteriorating. I think we will be in a mess for a long time but i hope I am wrong. I consider this talk of economic recovery just soundbites from FG ahead of the elections. Shortage of property in Dublin is gearing up for part 2 of Celtic tiger but on a smaller scale and similarly highly unsustainable.

We've had two banks perch just outside our canteen at work in the past two weeks offering mortgage advice and promos. There's only about 300 working here. They even have gimmicks on paying some of your stamp duty. It's all revving up lads!

Your post brings up the image of two large vulture's siting our side your office window eyeing ye all up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

The ring came off my pudding can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

Speaking to a garage guy the other day, he said the service dept couldn't even get the garage cars serviced because they had so many services in.

Think I'll get a credit union loan to go buy some new clothes and maybe book a holiday:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,023 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The real Celtic Tiger 1 happened between 1995 and 2000. It was a real opportunity for sustainable positive growth in the country primarily driven by FDI.
    The years between 2000 and 2007 weren't really the Tiger at work as it was primarily driven by the Euro changeover and all that that entailed including mass vote buying and lax regulation.

We are unfortunately well away for the start of any other proper tiger (the good times 95-00) as the country is in massive debt, massive issues over mortgages etc and most importantly a raft of potential changes due in the medium term in the US and europe trying to squeeze our main tool to attract FDI (tax rates etc) away from us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Take my penknife my good man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

the economy is becoming more and more urbanized. i live an hour from dublin and anyone who has got a job recently from my town is working in Dublin. the country is still bollixed. dublin is like its own little country at the moment. house prices here haven't changed at all.

What's good for Dublin is good for the rest of the country. It's not like there's a fixed amount of money which, if going to Dublin means it's not going elsewhere. If Dublin's economy is pumping it will work its way all over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

michellie wrote: »

Think I'll get a credit union loan to go buy some new clothes and maybe book a holiday:)

I was thinking of doing the same myself, for Cocaine and Russian hookers. only 'til the money from the sites in Leitrim comes in though, I don't want to be like those irresponsible people last time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Joe prim wrote: »
    Have helicopter booked for my mistress's sweet sixteen party. ( Hard enough to get a booking too, bhoy)
    Ha ha..:D:D Better fire up de ole yank import Limo... Randolph.. we're back in business:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

lazygal wrote: »
    The ring came off my pudding can!

Take my penknife my good man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

kippy wrote: »
    The real Celtic Tiger 1 happened between 1995 and 2000. It was a real opportunity for sustainable positive growth in the country primarily driven by FDI.
    The years between 2000 and 2007 weren't really the Tiger at work as it was primarily driven by the Euro changeover and all that that entailed including mass vote buying and lax regulation.

We are unfortunately well away for the start of any other proper tiger (the good times 95-00) as the country is in massive debt, massive issues over mortgages etc and most importantly a raft of potential changes due in the medium term in the US and europe trying to squeeze our main tool to attract FDI (tax rates etc) away from us.
    Now now Mr Hobbs.... Be nice;) Let us have our fantasies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,082 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

the economy is becoming more and more urbanized. i live an hour from dublin and anyone who has got a job recently from my town is working in Dublin. the country is still bollixed. dublin is like its own little country at the moment. house prices here haven't changed at all.

This is it in a nutshell..
    Even if the major urban centers see a full blown boom I just can't see any knock on hitting rural areas..
    I have a friend who works weekends on sited in Dublin and he says its like a different country. For Sale sign only lasting a week or so on houses and he was in a small estate recently ~ 50 houses, where five sizeable extensions were ongoing and two houses had sale agreed signs put up in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Does this mean that Donie Cassidy will be coming back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

My job worried we will lose staff in the next few months and have put us on succession planning.

Celtic Tiger 2: The revengerance is alive and well.

People on welfare, with kids getting a free house living the live of luxury.

People in the middle class on the 30-40k getting absolutly destroyed by the government! Until this is sorted then NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 wetdarknight2

now ye said it. the country is still bollixed

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 38 Troy Lumberjack

kippy wrote: »

I for one welcome any opportunity to have my tool squeezed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

yawhat! wrote: »
    People on welfare, with kids getting a free house living the live of luxury.

People in the middle class on the 30-40k getting absolutly destroyed by the government! Until this is sorted then NO!
    Who is it that is forcing you to work? If life on welfare is so luxurious then why don't you do it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"This can't be the Celtic tiger 2 until our financial problems are fixed".

What short memories people have. During the boom, our health service was a shambles, average-to-low income workers were unhappy with how little they could afford the basics, the unemployed were living the life of Riley and the middle class were the ones getting squeezed for taxes and cuts. So, pretty much exactly how it is today.

I'm not saying we're in a boom, but equally it can't be claimed that the recession is ongoing just because there are people in financial difficulty.

The only difference then was the free availability of credit. Few people were better able to afford things than they were now, they just had a lot more access to credit, hence the property bubble.
    People do have short memories though. I've heard people talk about how delighted they are that increasing house prices means they will soon be able to sell up and get out of negative equity, and in the next breath talk about buying a new property as soon as they can because, "Rents are really expensive and property prices keep going up, I don't want to be locked out of the market". :facepalm:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Need to stockpile some patio heaters.

I'm ordering a hot tub, there's going to be a run on them.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Celt Tiger 2 already? And I still don't know what a tracker mortgage is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

seamus wrote: »
    "This can't be the Celtic tiger 2 until our financial problems are fixed".

What short memories people have. During the boom, our health service was a shambles, average-to-low income workers were unhappy with how little they could afford the basics, the unemployed were living the life of Riley and the middle class were the ones getting squeezed for taxes and cuts. So, pretty much exactly how it is today.

I'm not saying we're in a boom, but equally it can't be claimed that the recession is ongoing just because there are people in financial difficulty.

The only difference then was the free availability of credit. Few people were better able to afford things than they were now, they just had a lot more access to credit, hence the property bubble.
    People do have short memories though. I've heard people talk about how delighted they are that increasing house prices means they will soon be able to sell up and get out of negative equity, and in the next breath talk about buying a new property as soon as they can because, "Rents are really expensive and property prices keep going up, I don't want to be locked out of the market". :facepalm:

Buzzkill

Every county bar Dublin, Cork and Galway is fecked really. Kilkenny and Waterford is really bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Bring back Roddy Molloy to sort out all the electrical and plumber apprentices for the phoenix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

What should we build first?

A popsicle stick skyscraper?
    A 50-foot magnifying glass?
    An escalator to nowhere?

Monorail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

There can be no sustainable boom. Well that's a truism. But we still have to factor in interest rate increases. The 2008 crash was a generational crash. We are like drunks who are trying out the hair of the dog but we don't have enough money to stay drunk and the headache will be worse. Eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

The Dublin boom is based on an artificial paucity of supply which won't last either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 wetdarknight2

We are like drunks who are trying out the hair of the dog but we don't have enough money to stay drunk and the headache will be worse. Eventually.

+1. The government is still borrowing tens of billions just to keep paying its employees, even after all the tax it talks off us. Its not sustainable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

The "Celtic Dodo"