Most Terrible Date?

I posted this in the LL thread. All in all it didn't have a bad outcome, as another poster pointed out at least I made a friend. There are a few doozies on that thread! :)
    I had liked someone who was temporarily in my job to complete a project and was delighted when he asked me out before he left. He picked me up and straight away I knew he was ill, he was grey around the gills and his eyes were bloodshot, but he told me he was good to go and was looking forward to it too much to cancel.

Poor guy, by the time we sat down to dinner he was shivering, and I was insisting we abandon ship so he could go home to bed, but no, he kept insisting he was fine. He couldn't eat, could barely talk, was shivering away and looked whiter and whiter as the minutes ticked by. I was getting more and more uncomfortable and worried and eventually just refused to stay another minute.

I stood up and so did he, and he literally buckled at the knee. Anyway fast forwards two hours and he's in hospital after an ambulance ride, with pneumonia and a 'flu infection, a temperature of 103, and no one who knows him in my city. I had to pack up his belongings at his hotel, keep them at mine, buy him pjs and slippers for hospital, visit him daily for the 3 days he was in with whatever he needed, and take his mum to him when she arrived to take over on day two.

By the time he went back we were getting along great but there was no romance in that situation, I gained a friend anyway .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I hate these threads. I always think I am going to read what someone has posted and have awful flashbacks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Candie wrote: »
    I posted this in the LL thread. All in all it didn't have a bad outcome, as another poster pointed out at least I made a friend. There are a few doozies on that thread! :)

he mustve really liked you to not have cancelled :)

HugsiePie wrote: »
    he mustve really liked you to not have cancelled :)

More like off his head with a temperature :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Last year. That really was something else in my books. You know things aren't going great when you start studying the patterns on the mirror frame, think about how would you turn around all the liquor bottles so the labels face the same way and every person in the room becomes more interesting. I felt so awful because I just couldn't stay focused. It was more of an interrogation rather than a conversation, I think he was ticking off the boxes in his mind while he fired the questions. I'd have a better chat with a bar stool.

Saw him couple weeks ago, which is strange because I don't think I've ever bumped into a date before, and it made me shudder. He was chatting to some girl and both were smiling, glad to see that went better.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

RayM wrote: »
    July the 19th. The day the Ice Age ended.
    The ice age ended 11,717 years ago, and yes you can be that precise about the end of an ice age.

11,703 years before 2000 AD the climate flipped back into a warmer mode where it has remained ever since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Tilly wrote: »
    There's nothing in my box....

That's what she said!

Oh wait, she did...Ouch man..

• Site Banned Posts: 2 aahnow cmon

9/11

That day in November I'll never forget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭livemusic4life

Thats an easy one for me. About 10 years ago i was set up on a blind date. I arrived first. Guy walked in, looked me up and down. Said "I'm sorry" and walked out. Still haunts me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Thats an easy one for me. About 10 years ago i was set up on a blind date. I arrived first. Guy walked in, looked me up and down. Said "I'm sorry" and walked out. Still haunts me

Don't worry, it's not you who should feel ashamed. Fcukin hell! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

It shouldn't. He should be ashamed of himself. What harm would it have done to have a drink?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

When I was about 13 I invited a really nice girl ice skating. I'd been once before and I thought it would be a laugh.

She was a county figure skating champion. I still shudder at her gliding round the rink and looking back at me - metal mickey arms flailing before crashing onto the ice again.

I don't think my confidence ever fully recovered.

What a bastard - it should haunt him not you ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's now eight hundred, and forty five, years of oppression

May 1st 1169

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Don't think I've had a really terrible date.

I did embarrass myself when I went for a drink with a guy from boards. He made me laugh and I sprayed red wine all over the window beside us. :o

He's now a good friend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

A blind date I was set up with. She was very nice but we had absolutely nothing in common and struggled to come up with any topics of conversation. We ended up in a nightclub and I decided to put an end to the torture by saying "Goodnight so". However, the person who'd set up the date came over to me and told me that the girl had a massive crush on me and was desperately nervous so I should give it another go.

Anyways, we were both rather drunk by now so, I'm sitting on the floor with her in my arms. All of a sudden, she slurs "I love you!" and goes to kiss me, misjudges the distance and headbutts me, cutting my lip and giving herself a huge lump on her forehead. I'm sitting there, pouring blood down my chin while she's crying and saying she's sorry while the whole nightclub looks on. As I was leaving, the bouncers take one look at my face and barred me "For fighting". I never saw her again. Which is lucky as I might have lost a limb the next time me met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I'm not sure which was worse, the one where it became evident the guy had just sat his LC even though he has pretended to be 25, or a different one where the guy got ****faced & abusive so I got a taxi , then the next day he remembered nothing and rang to ask if I left my earrings on his bedside locker.

The cheek. I wasn't even wearing earrings or near his bedside anything!

Upon reflection the latter is obviously the worst, first guy was just ambitious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Fadó fadó back in my fifteenage days, I got up the courage to ask a girl out. It was a nice evening out as we talked and even held hands. I decided I buy her an ice cream in the shop so I hopped on my bike, got her to sit on the crossbar and away we went. Cycling down the hill we were laughing at the wind in our face however my laughter turned to sheer panic when I realised she was sitting on the brake cable to the only brake on my bike. Her screams are burnt into my memory as we crashed through the shop door at the end of hill. Her broken wrist, twisted ankle and my 12 facial stitches were too much for our 3 hour love affair to survive (plus her Dad told me he'd kill me if I ever came near her house again).

Plazaman wrote: »
    Fadó fadó back in my fifteenage days, I got up the courage to ask a girl out. It was a nice evening out as we talked and even held hands. I decided I buy her an ice cream in the shop so I hopped on my bike, got her to sit on the crossbar and away we went. Cycling down the hill we were laughing at the wind in our face however my laughter turned to sheer panic when I realised she was sitting on the brake cable to the only brake on my bike. Her screams are burnt into my memory as we crashed through the shop door at the end of hill. Her broken wrist, twisted ankle and my 12 facial stitches were too much for our 3 hour love affair to survive (plus her Dad told me he'd kill me if I ever came near her house again).

I know i shouldn't laugh but :D that really did make me laugh out loud

Plazaman wrote: »

I think we have a winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

ohhhhhh no!!!!

I had something similar -

I turned up for a blind date and the guy walked up behind me and said "oh you must be katgurl." I turned around and his face actually fell, really really obviously. I was completely baffled (i mean i might not to be to everyone's tastes but i'm not the elephant man). He offered me a drink but as he was trying to get barman's attention he kept glancing back at me and grimacing. I was about to put my coat on and leave, i thought he was horrified at my appearance and being completely indiscrete about it.

By dreadful coincidence; two days before immediately after we had scheduled the blind date (without any photos) via email, we had both headed to the same pub and met accidentally. I was banjaxed drunk and snogged his friend after having an argument with him, himself. We never made the connection until we appeared at the blind date. In fact i was so drunk I didn't even recognise him.

Actually i'm waiting for his version of this story to appear here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

Was he blind by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Bad dates kill monkeys.

Eggy Baby! wrote: »
    Was he blind by any chance?

God, i hope, not got he got in his car and drove off :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I went on a date with a guy but I'm not even sure it was a date. Met in a bar in Dublin, chatted, he asked me out, we went out, got on well enough but no spark my end, tell him via Facebook that I wasn't interested in him that way but that he was sound and I'd a good time...and he tells me it wasn't a date to begin with!

Maybe he did just ask me out as a friend? I was genuinely baffled over that one as we did all the datey stuff.

I went on a date with a guy but I'm not even sure it was a date. Met in a bar in Dublin, chatted, he asked me out, we went out, got on well enough but no spark my end, tell him via Facebook that I wasn't interested in him that way but that he was sound and I'd a good time...and he tells me it wasn't a date to begin with!

Maybe he did just ask me out as a friend? I was genuinely baffled over that one as we did all the datey stuff.

That is what you call, his attempt to save face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

I need to qualify this story by saying I am only in my mid 20s but constantly get mistaken for my mid 30s. I probably do myself no favours by dressing in suits and dispising todays music that the young folk are so into.

About a year and a half ago I asked out a girl I had met a few months ago for a few drinks. She was only 21 or so but I suggested meeting up in a whiskey bar I wanted to try out. She showed up in those hot pants that were all the rage and to be fair looked well, but we did look like a serious mismatch.

We got talking and we're getting on ok. She suggested a change of venue and I said fair enough. Where does she choose we go? Sin. F*cking SIN!

Immediately out of my comfort zone which I'm not against but surrounded by 19 year olds getting a sugar rush off WKDs is a little too far. She ran into her mate and immediately mimics their manky skanger accent. The whole night coupled with her appearing more and more fake was getting on my nerves. I was just about to drop and "emergency phone call" line when she beat me to it. Absolute disaster.

Night wasnt a total loss. Dropped by the gypsie rose and caught a pretty good band and some free pints from the bar/bouncer after sharing my (as they described it) "traumatic experience" in sin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Went on a date with a girl from boards once. Real giggly sort of one. Anyhow I'm telling her a real serious story but she must have missed some of it and burst out laughing and spat red wine all over the window beside us.
    She is always texting me on a friendly basis and I just don't have the heart to tell her to leave me alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

God, i hope, not got he got in his car and drove off :D

Into a river hopefully!