how stupid can you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

“The happy song makes me so HAPPY.”

It's weird that she felt she had to take a picture of herself being happy and upload it to Facepuke to validate her happiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

When did it become fashionable for people to vent their spleens over this stuff? And you gotta love the irony of people talking about natural selection and 'morons' while having absolutely no idea of what natural selection even means.

Morons indeed :rolleyes:
    Broadly speaking, natural selection killed off the stupid, or rather their stupidity killed them off. Stupid woman does stupid and selfish thing that results in her killing herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I was just wondering if there was some kind of technology that can automatically switch a phone off when the user is driving. I Googled it and apparently there are apps that do that. If this is possible phone manufacturers should be required by law to fit their phones with this app and make it impossible to turn it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I was just wondering if there was some kind of technology that can automatically switch a phone off when the user is driving. I Googled it and apparently there are apps that do that. If this is possible phone manufacturers should be required by law to fit their phones with this app and make it impossible to turn it off.

Super idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How do you differentiate between a driver and a passenger though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭shuffles88

I witnessed idiocy like this one day driving home from college when the car in front of me started to swerve coming up to a bend. I slowed down and put some distance between my car and his and just then I saw the idiots arm come out the window of his car while holding his phone. The moron was either taking extreme selfies or a picture of the sunset (I'm not sure which was worse).

At this point a bus came around the bend and this moron had crossed partially into the path of the bus all the while presumably snapping pics. I beeped the horn to get his attention and he still didn't stop with the pics so I lay on the horn and the cretin righted himself just in time not to hit the bus. Maybe people like him will see what happened to this woman and realise they're being idiots and there are extreme consequences to their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Love jokes about a dead person.

She is not irish, so therefore doesnt count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

Thats just daft. Loads of people and occupations require a mobile phone. I use my phone in the car all the time. I have bluetooth.

But taking selfies/texting etc on a mobile is criminal. Literally. This persons widely publicised demise may persuade other morons to leave the phones in the glovebox until their trip is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

What a pointless way to die. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

lukesmom wrote: »
    Yeah it wasn't a clever thing to do but for fks sake she lost her life in the process! No need for finger pointing and all that. A woman is dead, she is somebody's daughter, somebody's sister have some respect.

It would be interesting to hear what your opinion might be if it was a relative or friend of yours who she ended up taking with her either as a passenger or the in the oncoming vehicle. It is only sheer good fortune that someone else wasn't killed. Unfortunately she lost her life and fortunately nobody else did. Respect ? Respect other road users is the lesson that can be learned here I think no more and no less.

Broadly speaking, natural selection killed off the stupid, or rather their stupidity killed them off.

Crocodiles aren't the smartest creatures in the world and they've been around for millions of years and have propagated much of the planet.

The assumption that intelligence leads to greater survivability is false.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Hell Ram

Fudge You wrote: »
    Love jokes about a dead person.

She is not irish, so therefore doesnt count.

Imagine the faux outrage if she was!? There'd be bannings and mod warnings, but hey, not from here so lolz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Strumms wrote: »
    It would be interesting to hear what your opinion might be if it was a relative or friend of yours who she ended up taking with her either as a passenger or the in the oncoming vehicle. It is only sheer good fortune that someone else wasn't killed. Unfortunately she lost her life and fortunately nobody else did. Respect ? Respect other road users is the lesson that can be learned here I think no more and no less.

Even if she took my own relatives and survived herself. I'd still be empathetic towards her. She's been punished for a mistake in the cruelest way possible. Unless she was some cold blood evil psycho who preplanned the suffering of others, I'd always have sympathy. Especially when mistakes happen due to naivety or carelessness. If she just avoided hitting them I'd be annoyed. I'd be even more annoyed if she continued to repeat the habit after a close call. But nobody deserves to die or accidentally kill or maim another person. It's a horrid experience. One which anger never helps either party recover from.

/That's how I'd like to react anyway. How I react may be totally different. Such is being human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

God I feel for her and her family. A silly mistake, but we are all human but she paid a huge price-very sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

there's this one, which is worse than that girl. guy, drunk, driving like mad tweeting YOLO about it, before he crashed and kills himself

http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/09/19/aspiring-rapper-drunk-tweets-yolo-just-before-fatal-car-crash/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

I think there are some positives from this, at least the way it happened society is that little bit safer without this person in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

It's no longer survival of the fittest, it's survival of the smartest, who in their right mind would take a selfie while driving a car, how ****ing selfish can you get, she put herself and other people at risk, I'm just glad no one else was killed by the silly girl.

Also can I just take a moment to say how much I ****ing hate selfies, I can't help but look at anyone who takes one as vain, vapid and self obsessed. There is loads of **** to take pictures of why the **** is your duck face in my newsfeed you pointless, irritation of a human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

Natural selection from my understanding, (and I am open to correction) refers to 3 things:

1) Variation - Some people have black hair, some people have red hair. (Must be a genetic basis) In this case some people have a need for constant attention and validation from others, some people don't. You could argue this behavior is genetic on some level.

2) Differential reproduction - The world can't support unlimited population growth, there are limited resources - land, food, shelter, etc. If we all reproduced to maximum potential, we could potentially have 80-100 children each. Anyway in relation to this story, people who inherited that "insecurity" gene will die more often, meaning the people without the gene will reproduce more.

3) Heredity - This means (and again this all depends on there being a genetic basis to her stupid behavior), that people with a "good" gene, where they aren't insecure people and don't require constant attention, will pass that gene onto their children.

The net result is the "bad" gene eventually dies out in the population.

1) Variation - Some people have black hair, some people have red hair. (Must be a genetic basis) In this case some people have a need for constant attention and validation from others, some people don't. You could argue this behavior is genetic on some level.

No, just no, not at all in any way, behaviour is 0% genetic. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Turtwig wrote: »
    Even if she took my own relatives and survived herself. I'd still be empathetic towards her. She's been punished for a mistake in the cruelest way possible. Unless she was some cold blood evil psycho who preplanned the suffering of others, I'd always have sympathy. Especially when mistakes happen due to naivety or carelessness. If she just avoided hitting them I'd be annoyed. I'd be even more annoyed if she continued to repeat the habit after a close call. But nobody deserves to die or accidentally kill or maim another person. It's a horrid experience. One which anger never helps either party recover from.

/That's how I'd like to react anyway. How I react may be totally different. Such is being human.

You know what... That's how even I would like to react. But yes we are all human and how one would like to approach a situation as supposed to how we would react as human being to a tragedy like that is different. I think it's fanciful and nieve all the same to suggest that you wouldn't feel an overwhelming sence of prolonged anger at someone who would have acted would such calculated reckless abandon that would take the life of a loved one.

GarIT wrote: »
    No, just no, not at all in any way, behaviour is 0% genetic. Fact.

[citation needed]

Like I said I am open to correction, I enjoy learning about this kinda stuff. But I would find it difficult to believe that all behavior is 0% down to genetics. Which is what you are saying.

[citation needed]

Like I said I am open to correction, I enjoy learning about this kinda stuff. But I would find it difficult to believe that all behavior is 0% down to genetics. Which is what you are saying.

I'm not going digging up articles at 5 past 12 in the morning for some discussion, whether people take selfies or not has no genetic basis. Behaviour is all learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

lukesmom wrote: »
    A woman is dead, she is somebody's daughter, somebody's sister have some respect.

She didn't have any respect for other road users, so why should we have respect for her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

I'm not going digging up articles at 5 past 12 in the morning for some discussion, whether people take selfies or not has no genetic basis. Behaviour is all learned.

I must admit I am curious also, where did you find the scientific studies that show behaviour is all learned?

Well, I'm not getting into a heated argument at this hour either. But there is substantial research being done into this area (I just did a quick google, and found this - can't post links because I'm a newbie but google the title and you'll find it)
    Study connects dots between genes, human behavior
    from the Salk Institute for Biological Studies.

To just come out with a sweeping statement like "behaviour is 0% genetic. Fact." and then backing down when you are pulled up on it says a lot to me.

Just to clarify, I am not disagreeing with you - it could be discovered that behavior is 0% genetic but from what I've seen not enough research has been done in the area, and not enough is known about neuroscience to fully understand the issue or draw conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    There but for the grace of God go an awful lot of people.
    I really think this bears repeating.

Who hasn't done something stupid behind the wheel that could (and sometimes should) have ended in disaster? I know I have.

Turtwig wrote: »

The rest of the world are extremely lucky that she only killed herself, that type of behavior could easily have caused a serious crash with multiple fatalities. If it was a car, and not a truck that she crashed into, occupants of the car would most likely have died too. Would you think differently if she killed a close relative? All it takes is one act of stupidity from someone else to wipe out your life.

Behaviour is all learned.

Not quite true. Lots of behaviours are instinctual (swimming babies, suckling, grip-reflex etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

At least she died Happy !
    Too soon? I don't think it is. I think it is an appropriate time to take the pi$$ out of the flippin eejit for being the first one to bring a sad connotation to what was one of the most positive, happy pieces of humanity this millenium (Thanks again Pharrell). Thanks a friggin million for taking it too far #theresalwaysone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tragic but hell, that was a stupid thing to do.