Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how stupid can you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

There but for the grace of God go an awful lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

In before internet craze killing people should ban internet comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Paddy Power won't be taking any bets on the winner of this years Darwinian award.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Death by Stupidity springs to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Thank god the other driver was unharmed. It's one thing muppets risking their own lives for a fcuking selfie but to take someone else out with them is tragic. I have sympathy for her family but find it hard to have much for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

Darwinism at work........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That's nearly as dangerous as posting on boards while driv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Really happy that the truck driver was uninjured; stupidity killing the stupid person is one thing but killing another non-stupid person would anger me greatly.

RIP but that's wreckless driving, in any case. Very foolish act that unfortunately cost her life. Hopefully the story will help save some more, though.

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    RIP but that's wreckless driving, in any case.
    Wreckless? That's not what the story said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Is natural selection and Darwinism the same thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Poor family. Losing a daughter/ sister etc by such an avoidable way must be so hard.

131spanner wrote: »
    Is natural selection and Darwinism the same thing?
    This person was not naturally selected. It was quite unnatural in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    RIP but that's wreckless driving, in any case. Very foolish act that unfortunately cost her life. Hopefully the story will help save some more, though.

Reckless it may have been, but there was definitely a wreck... :P

Definitely a candidate for a Darwin award, feel sorry for her family though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Yeah it wasn't a clever thing to do but for fks sake she lost her life in the process! No need for finger pointing and all that. A woman is dead, she is somebody's daughter, somebody's sister have some respect.

lukesmom wrote: »
    Yeah it wasn't a clever thing to do but for fks sake she lost her life in the process! No need for finger pointing and all that. A woman is dead, she is somebody's daughter, somebody's sister have some respect.
    Fair point. But she could have very easily ploughed into a bus full of other peoples daughters, sisters, brothers etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

I was thinking dumb **** too, but then saw her pic, she looked like a great person, feckin tragic tbh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Sad but I guess it would have been worse if she had of killed an innocent pedestrian. That's the sad honest truth of it.
    A strong message to lackadaisical drivers on the road.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Crazy one moment of madness or naivety is all it takes. Poor girl. RIP. :(

Regarding not hitting others. It's lucky but even if she did, she'd still deserve sympathy. Her family has to cope with the loss one way or the other and in the case of something naive or silly this they probably feel a lot lot worse and baffled. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Looking at bad drivers on their phone is the single biggest distraction to me while driving.

MS.ing wrote: »
    I was thinking dumb **** too, but then saw her pic, she looked like a great person, feckin tragic tbh :(
    So.....

If she looked like the back end if the truck she hit, it wouldn't be 'feckin tragic'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

If I was a dumb enough fcuk to die from something like this I would expect you all to go to town on me. Jesus Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I can't muster any sympathy, she could have killed someone else. Stupid woman. Modern medicine seems to have put an end to evolution culling the morons from the herd, looks like modern technology took care of that particular moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

endacl wrote: »
    So.....

If she looked like the back end if the truck she hit, it wouldn't be 'feckin tragic'?

No. Ugly people don't matter. Well they matter about half. Celebs count for 10x and royals 20x.

I can't muster any sympathy, she could have killed someone else. Stupid woman. Modern medicine seems to have put an end to evolution culling the morons from the herd, looks like modern technology took care of that particular moron.

Your all heart :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Your all heart :(
    Ah come on, it was 8.30 in the morning. She could have caused major destruction if she'd ploughed into a school bus or some such, lots of people on their way to work/school, not expecting someone to put a phone in front of her face while she drove, putting their lives at risk.

There wouldn't be much sympathy for her then. Fortunately she only managed to cause her own death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

It was a fcuking stupid thing to be doing and she put her and other peoples lives at risk but people do stupid and dangerous stuff all the time.
    Its not a great example because this woman also risked other peoples lives but if some one OD's the acceptable response these days doesn't seem to be 'they were an idiot' if someone tries to climb everest they have a relatively high chance of being killed. Why is someones death doing one type of risky thing acceptable to mock but from another ok, at the end of the day from a 'Darwinian' perspective its exactly the same thing to remove yourself from the gene pool by engaging in risky behavior without 'real' reward taking a selfie in a speeding car or climbing a massive mountain for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

...engaging in risky behavior without 'real' reward taking a selfie in a speeding car ...
    Erm... what about all the "likes"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

When did it become fashionable for people to vent their spleens over this stuff? And you gotta love the irony of people talking about natural selection and 'morons' while having absolutely no idea of what natural selection even means.

Morons indeed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

u ok hun xxoxoxo ? chat babez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

“The happy song makes me so HAPPY.”

It's weird that she felt she had to take a picture of herself being happy and upload it to Facepuke to validate her happiness.

When did it become fashionable for people to vent their spleens over this stuff? And you gotta love the irony of people talking about natural selection and 'morons' while having absolutely no idea of what natural selection even means.

Morons indeed :rolleyes:
    Broadly speaking, natural selection killed off the stupid, or rather their stupidity killed them off. Stupid woman does stupid and selfish thing that results in her killing herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I was just wondering if there was some kind of technology that can automatically switch a phone off when the user is driving. I Googled it and apparently there are apps that do that. If this is possible phone manufacturers should be required by law to fit their phones with this app and make it impossible to turn it off.

Super idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How do you differentiate between a driver and a passenger though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭shuffles88

I witnessed idiocy like this one day driving home from college when the car in front of me started to swerve coming up to a bend. I slowed down and put some distance between my car and his and just then I saw the idiots arm come out the window of his car while holding his phone. The moron was either taking extreme selfies or a picture of the sunset (I'm not sure which was worse).

At this point a bus came around the bend and this moron had crossed partially into the path of the bus all the while presumably snapping pics. I beeped the horn to get his attention and he still didn't stop with the pics so I lay on the horn and the cretin righted himself just in time not to hit the bus. Maybe people like him will see what happened to this woman and realise they're being idiots and there are extreme consequences to their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Love jokes about a dead person.

She is not irish, so therefore doesnt count.

Thats just daft. Loads of people and occupations require a mobile phone. I use my phone in the car all the time. I have bluetooth.

But taking selfies/texting etc on a mobile is criminal. Literally. This persons widely publicised demise may persuade other morons to leave the phones in the glovebox until their trip is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

What a pointless way to die. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It would be interesting to hear what your opinion might be if it was a relative or friend of yours who she ended up taking with her either as a passenger or the in the oncoming vehicle. It is only sheer good fortune that someone else wasn't killed. Unfortunately she lost her life and fortunately nobody else did. Respect ? Respect other road users is the lesson that can be learned here I think no more and no less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Broadly speaking, natural selection killed off the stupid, or rather their stupidity killed them off.

Crocodiles aren't the smartest creatures in the world and they've been around for millions of years and have propagated much of the planet.

The assumption that intelligence leads to greater survivability is false.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Hell Ram

Fudge You wrote: »
    Love jokes about a dead person.

She is not irish, so therefore doesnt count.

Imagine the faux outrage if she was!? There'd be bannings and mod warnings, but hey, not from here so lolz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Strumms wrote: »
    It would be interesting to hear what your opinion might be if it was a relative or friend of yours who she ended up taking with her either as a passenger or the in the oncoming vehicle. It is only sheer good fortune that someone else wasn't killed. Unfortunately she lost her life and fortunately nobody else did. Respect ? Respect other road users is the lesson that can be learned here I think no more and no less.

Even if she took my own relatives and survived herself. I'd still be empathetic towards her. She's been punished for a mistake in the cruelest way possible. Unless she was some cold blood evil psycho who preplanned the suffering of others, I'd always have sympathy. Especially when mistakes happen due to naivety or carelessness. If she just avoided hitting them I'd be annoyed. I'd be even more annoyed if she continued to repeat the habit after a close call. But nobody deserves to die or accidentally kill or maim another person. It's a horrid experience. One which anger never helps either party recover from.

/That's how I'd like to react anyway. How I react may be totally different. Such is being human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

God I feel for her and her family. A silly mistake, but we are all human but she paid a huge price-very sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

there's this one, which is worse than that girl. guy, drunk, driving like mad tweeting YOLO about it, before he crashed and kills himself

http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/09/19/aspiring-rapper-drunk-tweets-yolo-just-before-fatal-car-crash/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I think there are some positives from this, at least the way it happened society is that little bit safer without this person in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

It's no longer survival of the fittest, it's survival of the smartest, who in their right mind would take a selfie while driving a car, how ****ing selfish can you get, she put herself and other people at risk, I'm just glad no one else was killed by the silly girl.

Also can I just take a moment to say how much I ****ing hate selfies, I can't help but look at anyone who takes one as vain, vapid and self obsessed. There is loads of **** to take pictures of why the **** is your duck face in my newsfeed you pointless, irritation of a human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

Natural selection from my understanding, (and I am open to correction) refers to 3 things:

1) Variation - Some people have black hair, some people have red hair. (Must be a genetic basis) In this case some people have a need for constant attention and validation from others, some people don't. You could argue this behavior is genetic on some level.

2) Differential reproduction - The world can't support unlimited population growth, there are limited resources - land, food, shelter, etc. If we all reproduced to maximum potential, we could potentially have 80-100 children each. Anyway in relation to this story, people who inherited that "insecurity" gene will die more often, meaning the people without the gene will reproduce more.

3) Heredity - This means (and again this all depends on there being a genetic basis to her stupid behavior), that people with a "good" gene, where they aren't insecure people and don't require constant attention, will pass that gene onto their children.

The net result is the "bad" gene eventually dies out in the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

1) Variation - Some people have black hair, some people have red hair. (Must be a genetic basis) In this case some people have a need for constant attention and validation from others, some people don't. You could argue this behavior is genetic on some level.

No, just no, not at all in any way, behaviour is 0% genetic. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Turtwig wrote: »
    Even if she took my own relatives and survived herself. I'd still be empathetic towards her. She's been punished for a mistake in the cruelest way possible. Unless she was some cold blood evil psycho who preplanned the suffering of others, I'd always have sympathy. Especially when mistakes happen due to naivety or carelessness. If she just avoided hitting them I'd be annoyed. I'd be even more annoyed if she continued to repeat the habit after a close call. But nobody deserves to die or accidentally kill or maim another person. It's a horrid experience. One which anger never helps either party recover from.

/That's how I'd like to react anyway. How I react may be totally different. Such is being human.

You know what... That's how even I would like to react. But yes we are all human and how one would like to approach a situation as supposed to how we would react as human being to a tragedy like that is different. I think it's fanciful and nieve all the same to suggest that you wouldn't feel an overwhelming sence of prolonged anger at someone who would have acted would such calculated reckless abandon that would take the life of a loved one.