Local quirks & eccentricities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Went to view a car near Pilltown once. It's on the border of Kilkenny & Waterford.

Anyway the seller was talking about a pal of his. Kept referring to him as his 'butty'.

Never heard the term before.

Is it common down that neck of the woods?

Yeah, hes a good butty of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Zed Bank wrote: »
    Yeah, hes a good butty of mine.

Sound, sure we're all buttys here.

Or is that butties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

In Cork city, women being called lads threw me a bit! :confused::)

In farming circles they say they like their wives to be 'men by day & women by night'.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Muise... wrote: »
    Nollaig na mBan/Little Christmas. Epiphany, the 6th of January, when all the cooks of Christmas - usually the Mammies - gather in one of their houses with food and drink they've brought to share, and get hammered as a reward. It's popular out west too. :)

In its modern incarnation it results in most of Cork city ending up like the world's largest hen party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Quare is also common amongst auld boys in Derry and Tyrone but it is phasing out with the word 'wild'

It takes a true native to know when to use quare, wild, some or brave in a sentence correctly e.g.

'She's a quare day hi'
    'I'm wild tired'
    'There's a brave change in the evenings'
    'That's a quare lock of spuds'
    'She's some wagan' speaking about a car

Wid, Quare and brave usually mean 'very' but occasionally if wild is used in a sentence such as 'That's wild hi' it doesn't mean very, in that occasion it means 'awful' another example would be 'you're a wild looking man'.
    'Some' means 'very good', it would not fit into a sentence like 'i'm some tired'.

I always find that this video is a perfect example of the pure raw culchiness of the region
    http://youtu.be/5awrptkZ-YE?t=2m47s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

We have our own numerical system in Donegal

Wan
    A Couple
    A Wee Wheen
    A Right Wee Wheen
    A Wheen
    A Right Wheen
    A Wee Lock
    A Fair Lock
    A Lock
    A Right Lock

here a couple is 'wan or two' and a right lock is a 'quare lock' and somewhere in the middle is 'a bundle' pronounced 'a bunel' an example would be 'nahin but a bunel ah heures' usually an auld boy talking about women in short skirts walking about the town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Any numerical unit above 2 can described as a 'rake'

E.g. I have a rake of chaps at home.

Which means I have many children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

I think girls are referred to as lads in more counties than Cork, I would have grown up calling both girls and guys, lads.

I was thinking of a few others that would be common enough:

Says I to him, boys/toys being pronounced as buys/ties, register being regESter, lunch being referred to as dinner, if anyone says "I was in Clonmel" - we immediately think they had a stint in the mental hospital, donkey being pronounced as dunkey, sound person = nice aul' skin, threw is trun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

A summary of donegal-english:

A..........I
    Aul....... Old
    Aul Boy....Father
    Aul Doll...Mother
    Aye........Yes
    Bother.....Hassle
    Canny......Cannot
    Class.... .Good/Great
    Dinny......Don’t
    Doll......Girl or woman
    Foundered .Extremely cold
    Fray......From
    Gan.......Going
    Gaff......House/flat
    Geesa.....Give me a
    Gissa.....Girl
    Glack........Good luck...........Good bye
    Gon.......Please
    Hanlin....Trouble or Fight or Argument
    Hi........Used at the start and end of every sentence
    Hay.......Have
    Hey?......Phrased as a question meaning what
    Juck......Boy or Man
    Ker............ Car
    Lock......Small amount of something
    Mind......To remember
    Mon.......Come on
    Naw.......No
    Nuance....Unusual
    Pure......very
    Purdies...Potatoes
    Rare......strange or unusual
    Staish....Oh wow or Look
    Thon......That
    Tight.....Cruel
    Wan.......One or 1
    Wan.......Refering to a person. E.g. "Look at that wan there"
    Wee.......Small
    Weins.....Babies or children
    Well......Hello
    Wile......Very or Terrible
    Yes.......Hello
    Yis Sir...Slang, Hello
    Yes Horse........Hello to someone u like
    Yock......... different types of ladies

And here is an example of the ulster scots dialect in east donegal:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Is this your vaaaaay hick el? said the Garda

They learn that in training college in Templemore ;)

+1 for well as both a greeting and an answer. All over the midlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

From back home in Clare the ones I can remember off the top of my head are;

Lurk - Someone of a dubious nature who hangs out on the periphery of social groups (best way I can describe it)
    Mong - A feckin eejit
    Beor - A ride, generally a woman but I've heard men being called beors by women too
    A fiend - A weirdo
    "Slur" (pronounced schlur) - Err... not really how to describe this lol... In fact I won't even bother. I hope someone else recognizes it and will explain it for me. Example: "I got shat on last night" - "Aw slur!"
    Gack - gross
    Any ska - Any news, any craic

Not sure if these are Clare specific but I haven't heard them used outside of Clare (and if I did I didn't notice it!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

There's another saying from Clare as well;
    "There's no nature in him" - meaning he's a bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

In the West you have to put 'h' after 's' in a word like 'shtop'!

Also 'een' can be put at the end of any word that you so wish.
    It's a real Galway and Mayo thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Howya horse, or how's she cuttin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

ahh shtop,dont be doin dat now.we also say" she is a fine little careen,calfeen ".etc, adding een to words to emphasize how small something is,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Something that I think is unique to where I live is "over the bridge" being used as slang for visiting a prostitute..... ....The town of Cobh being over the bridge and apparently full of nothing but prostitutes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Ara musha, look at the poor craythureen.

Translates from the West as 'ah would you look at that poor unfortunate soul'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I can think of about 100.. but off the top of my head, the word 'tight' has 3 meanings locally.

Tight = overly careful with money
    Tight = drunk, as in half-tight
    Tight = phyically strong, as in 'he'd be a tight buck'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Damp yoke - attractive female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Ara musha, look at the poor craythureen.

Translates from the West as 'ah would you look at that poor unfortunate soul'.

I'm looking, WesternZulu, but I can't see the poor divil anywhere. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

In Cork we have this strange habit of being brilliant, all the time, forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

In Cork we have this strange habit of being brilliant, all the time, forever.

Local quirk that people from cork can't stop talking about cork

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Thargor wrote: »
    My father often puts The Curse of the Crows on me when Im being a lazy cnut.

Are you from Westeros?

My father's family have a load of expressions that seem to originate and die in their house.

'fung' - as a hair tie
    'foo-faw' - for a hames
    'haggart' - for a shed (although a few other people seem to have heard of that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

wazky wrote: »
    Damp yoke - attractive female.

really?? anytime i hear damp yoke mentioned its in reference to an unattractive woman of easy persuasion,with a questionable history and loose morals...

Clock.

I clocked ya. = I saw you.

I clocked that lad. = I struck that fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Are you from Westeros?

My father's family have a load of expressions that seem to originate and die in their house.

'fung' - as a hair tie
    'foo-faw' - for a hames
    'haggart' - for a shed (although a few other people seem to have heard of that)

more von haggard
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75441249

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

really?? anytime i hear damp yoke mentioned its in reference to an unattractive woman of easy persuasion,with a questionable history and loose morals...

Dad's side of La Familia are Dublanders and I've lived here for 8 months now and visited plenty throughout my many years wandering this small island and I've only heard "damp" and "wet" as a means of describing a female as being rather attractive.

eg: "look at that damp yoke, bleedin rappih*" (*no one in my fathers family says bleedin rappih, it's added for effect).
    or:
    "She's a little wet thing, I'd rather like know her on an intimate personal level*" (not a direct quote but more plausible than the first example).

One thing I've noticed from working with the young people of north inner city dublin (mostly D1 area) is that while a lot of the rest of Dublin say "bud" the young people I interact with during my work tend to say "bro".

The classic "starry bhud" has become in that area "starry bro".

oooh, one I nearly forgot.

I grew up in Athlone. About 20km north of Athlone in Co. Longford, there's a small town/village called Ballymahon, and every single person I have ever met from Ballymahon addresses other people as "sham" and says "sound" a lot. Everyone, without fail.

"how's it going sham, cheers for that favour the other day, pure sound of ya sham!".