Local quirks & eccentricities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

wazky wrote: »
    If she's not red, leave her in the shed.

Are you a massey man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Town pronounced Towin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Saying "Well" instead of "Hello" when you meet someone. I thought I was being asked a question when I first moved. I think it's a common greeting throughout the midlands though.

This is a Waterford thing.

Zed Bank wrote: »
    This is a Waterford thing.

It has spread so as I don't live in Waterford. Is there any references to the original "Well" and who uttered it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

In Donegal, if anyone asks you a question it has to be answered with 'not so bad' or 'its wild' (pronounced while)

Grand day
    Not so bad

How'd yous get on at the doctors?
    Not so bad

Right and wet
    Aye it's wild

Wasn't it tarra bout them wains in Korea
    Wild

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

It has spread so as I don't live in Waterford. Is there any references to the original "Well" and who uttered it?

Possibly, maybe not an exception to Waterford, but extremely common. Nobody ever says hello here, its always "Well Boi" which is used for both men and women interchangeably.

Funny enough I've gotten some strange looks saying well to people up the country and abroad, but its burned into my subconscious at this stage, I can't stop myself :O

Possibly, maybe not an exception to Waterford, but extremely common. Nobody ever says hello here, its always "Well Boi" which is used for both men and women interchangeably.

Funny enough I've gotten some strange looks saying well to people up the country and abroad, but its burned into my subconscious at this stage, I can't stop myself :O

This is how I first felt as the wellee, rather than the weller:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Round here, "Good man yourself" means you're a bit of a bollix... and "fair fecks to you" tends to mean you were an utter gowl but no-one feels morally able to judge you as they did it themselves in the near past..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I am from a small town in Waterford, and most of the families who have been here for a few generations have a nickname (mainly handed down through the men) ie: father, son, grandson, great grandson would all be called the same nickname

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

In some parts of Wicklow, people refer to children as "chaps".

"How many chaps have ye got?"

"Ah, just two chaps - a boy and a girl"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

nice_very wrote: »
    I am from a small town in Waterford, and most of the families who have been here for a few generations have a nickname (mainly handed down through the men) ie: father, son, grandson, great grandson would all be called the same nickname

Not to mention calling your missus "the lack".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

beano345 wrote: »

" our lad" instead of lad

balbriggan is the only place I've heard that,and sometimes its shortened to "our"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

balbriggan is the only place I've heard that,and sometimes its shortened to "our"

Definitely originated in Balbriggan it seems to have migrated to neighbouring towns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

in strabane, they speak at a million mph.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

in limerick city they have bonfires every April 30th(Wednesday night) I've no idea why and i havnt seen it elsewhere in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

in limerick city they have bonfires every April 30th(Wednesday night) I've no idea why and i havnt seen it elsewhere in the country.

Might be a Viking throwback?

In Galway, you must kick the wall at Blackrock after walking the prom, and you must bless yourself at the top of Buttermilk Lane (the Augustinians is sort of visible down the other end but the blow-ins don't know that).:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

wazky wrote: »
    Quare is used as a substitute for the word very around here.

Quare hot, Quare cold, Quare nice, Quare queer etc etc.

You're some culchie bollix!

In Cork, "I will Yeah" means No. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

kerry favourites are - perfect!- and - no bother/trouble-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I'm from Carlow too. "Look at the head on yer man" or "go home with yer big head on ye" are considered scathing insults here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I'm from Carlow too. "Look at the head on yer man" or "go home with yer big head on ye" are considered scathing insults here.

A favourite of mine when I was younger 'Hey you with the head'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

In my area of the capital we often say things such as " Good evening, how are you?", to which a common response could be " Quite well, thank you for asking, and how is your good self?" Tipping one's hat upon meeting, especially to members of the fair sex, is also a common trait.

They have some sort of second Mothers Day just after Christmas down Cork and Kerry way? Little Christmas is it? My Cork mates looked at me like I had three black tits when I said I had never heard of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

They have some sort of second Mothers Day just after Christmas down Cork and Kerry way? Little Christmas is it? My Cork mates looked at me like I had three black tits when I said I had never heard of it!

Nollaig na mBan/Little Christmas. Epiphany, the 6th of January, when all the cooks of Christmas - usually the Mammies - gather in one of their houses with food and drink they've brought to share, and get hammered as a reward. It's popular out west too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,541 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

My father often puts The Curse of the Crows on me when Im being a lazy cnut.

Muise... wrote: »
    Nollaig na mBan/Little Christmas. Epiphany, the 6th of January, when all the cooks of Christmas - usually the Mammies - gather in one of their houses with food and drink they've brought to share, and get hammered as a reward. It's popular out west too. :)

That's her.

I heard of it maybe two years ago. There were some dropped jaws :pac: 6th January my end is the day the tree must be taken down to avoid bad luck or some bollocks :p

I was thinking it was a throwback to pagan times, (from wiki)

Throughout Ireland, bonfires are lit on the night of 31 October to celebrate Halloween[4] or Samhain. Bonfires are also held on 30 April, particularly in Limerick to celebrate the festival of Bealtaine and on St. John's eve, 23 June, to celebrate Midsummer's eve, particularly in County Cork where it is also known as 'Bonna Night'.[5]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Gift Grub ha!
    When I heard it on that didn't realise it was that common

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Went to view a car near Pilltown once. It's on the border of Kilkenny & Waterford.

Anyway the seller was talking about a pal of his. Kept referring to him as his 'butty'.

Never heard the term before.

Is it common down that neck of the woods?

it is boi, well butty being the greeting :) I assume butty = buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

nice_very wrote: »
    it is boi, well butty being the greeting :) I assume butty = buddy

Yeah, buddy is what he meant alright. Hadn't heard the term 'butty' ever before & was wondering was I dealing with the village crank.